Caffe Nero Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
51% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Caffe Nero - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Caffe Nero

Caffe Nero

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★☆☆

“Great Coffee, Poor Customer Service ”

Written on: 24/02/2012 by austin.smith360 (2 reviews written)

I am a self-confessed coffee addict. I spend most of my time at Café Nero. I like their coffee, wraps and a few appetizers. Their menu is pretty good in my opinion. But they have a pathetic customer service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ Rude staff posh coffe shop”

Written on: 18/02/2012 by rockhead (1 review written)

I must alert your atention to the appaling service I received at the above menthioned branch this afternoon. First of all the staff (two women ) were too busy chating and had their backs turned for over a minute when one finally turned to the till she was rude saying just "a second " in a dismisve manner after she took my order she plonked my change down on a wet tray normally when I go in a coffee shop they give you the change in the hand and talk in a better way to customers. The women was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Johnwataboy's Response to rockhead's Review

Written on: 28/05/2013

Hi 'Rockhead ', Just what were you doing in a 'POSH ' coffee shop in Birmingham. You come over to me as an ordinary respectable kind of guy, and I am somewhat a little muddled as to why you should support such a coffee shop as NERO when there are so many decent down to earth coffee shops in Birmingham. Surely you could have chosen one of them where your custom would be welcomed and appreciated. Such conduct of staff should be brushed aside out of your mind, and accepted as normal behaviour for their kind.. Maybe they believe they are 'one cut above' customers such as your good self, when in fact quite the opposite is more of a reality. I am sure you would rather remain a 'Rockhead' than a 'Blockhead'. Running a business in this way, by staff idly standing by, is not going to be successful and survive for long. Ironically, NERO THE EMPORER, WAS ON THE FIDDLE AS HE WATCHED ROME BURNT TO THE GROUND. My advice is stay away from the place, and that way the only time you will have your fingers burnt is when you are holding a decent cup of hot coffee in your hands at a good café who will appreciate your custom.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“place to be”

Written on: 22/08/2011

Oxted Cafe Nero is the place to b. The staff are all so friendly and helpful and the service is good too, especially Mark who keeps the whole thing together. The choice of panninis and wraps are great . My fav is the ceasor salad wrap. I have tried all the coffee shops around and their coffee has the best flavour going. Not too bitter but lots of flavour. Its a great meeting place for all your friends as well. CHEERS CAFE NERO . KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“C,mon an envelope thin panini is not quality!!!!!!”

Written on: 15/06/2011 by sortitout (1 review written)

What do they have to offer. Nice setting BUT. Dullest menu on the planet. Even when heated the paninis and napkins are a close race. Stringy,thin,tasteless food.,..............in short glad I was not with a European friend. If you want coffee then OK because that IS good but please eat somewhere else instead of encouraging this type of food to proliferate the high st S… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“I bought cappucino and cake at the Croydon branch on 9...”

Written on: 19/05/2011

I bought cappucino and cake at the Croydon branch on 9 May. The service was excellent but the coffee was bitter and strong and I had to leave most of it. What a waste of money. I was later told by a friend that the customner has to ask for just one shot of coffee instead of two. How is one to know in advance that the coffee is to be so strong? I have been to Italy many times and have never encountered a capuccino this strong. It would be nice if the staff were to ask the customer if they want… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I was a regular drinker at cafe Nero which is fine if...”

Written on: 13/04/2011

I was a regular drinker at cafe Nero which is fine if you drink in because if your order is incorrect then you can take it back, however beware if you order any takeaway drink the staff will only half fill your cup if you are lucky and the rest is froth, i have complained several times and the answer is we will give you a free coffee next time. How about giving me the drink i have ordered and a full cup as well after all nobody likes to be short changed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 25/07/2012

I wonder if the owners actually read these negative comments.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“I can't understand why the staff are told to serve two...”

Written on: 16/03/2011

I can't understand why the staff are told to serve two people at once?? Find this very impersonal,how can they give full attention to me when they have to ask the next customer in line what they want?...
Found the staff very pleasant but was not impressed with the way the manageress spoke to them in front of customers.She was especially rude to a young male member of staff,we felt so sorry for him,there's a time and place to correct your staff,and that's not in front of paying customers.
I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2011

I agree that it's appalling for senior staff to undermine other staff members in front of customers. It happens all too often, not just in Cafe Nero and sadly, from my experience, it's normally female managers who do this. The thing to do is complain at the time and if you're not satisfied, tell the manageress that the complaint will go to head office. Believe me, Cafe Nero area managers WILL deal with complaints like this. As for the strong coffee ~ I like strong coffee but it's no pleasure if you don't! I'm in the habit now of asking for my coffee strong, wherever I drink, as most places it's like a cup of hot milk. Oh, you can also ask for a pot of hot water!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Nat29's Comment

Written on: 20/11/2012

I don't understand either this is VERY VERY VERY stupid as what happens to me is that customer behind me get served before me as they explained to me last weekend that by Cafe Nero 'rules' they have to take 3 orders from 3 different people so even if someone is free to serve you they will serve a person behind you first. I wrote letter to head office about it. Nero is the only place that has this 'rule'.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Served by a young guy who spoke softly,also hardly...”

Written on: 19/01/2011 by BarbaraS (1 review written)

Served by a young guy who spoke softly,also hardly moved his lips so I couldn't even lip read and could not be heard above the music that was playing, got my order wrong & didn't charge me for my latte, had to redo my bill during which time he was also serving the next customer and yes I landed up with a luke warm latte. What annoyed me the most was the'Bloomer tuna salad sandwich £2.95'. My idea of this sandwich was nothing like I received. The bread was thin and floppy, no butter, a thin… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“My husband and myself visited Chester on a coach trip...”

Written on: 18/12/2010

My husband and myself visited Chester on a coach trip in November 2010. We had been on the coach for two hours and needed toilets and a hot drink. The first cafe we saw was Cafe Nero. My husband is a wheelchair so I went in first to ask if they had a disabled toilet. The girl serving snapped "no we haven t, and if you look on the window outside you will see that we haven t" . It was would have taken the same time to have smiled and apologised for not having a disabled toilet!! When we looked… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Nice layout but decor looking tired.Toilet cleanliness...”

Written on: 14/12/2010 by RuthH (1 review written)

Nice layout but decor looking tired.Toilet cleanliness not up to an acceptable standard. Staff vary in their relationship with customers. A welcoming smile and greeting is often lacking.

We like the atmosphere created by fellow customers and the convenience of the location and early hours of opening… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“On Monday 13 December I visited the Old Brompton Road,...”

Written on: 13/12/2010 by nottinghamfella (41 reviews written)

On Monday 13 December I visited the Old Brompton Road, London outlet. Service was poor; the member of staff who attended to me was slow and forgot what I ordered when he got distracted by another member of staff. Whilst I was paying for my double espresso another member of staff wanted to take my order, no clear management. The coffee was weak and the temperature of the coffee was luke warm… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Caffe Nero in Sidcup, London is as usual very well...”

Written on: 06/10/2010 by Ismat J 10 (2 reviews written)

Caffe Nero in Sidcup, London is as usual very well designed though now a bit dated. The panelling is vey nice but very masculine and the poster pictures of two girls enjoying coffee in Italy is very appealing but not very realistic. I've heard of the 'happy hour' in Tuscany where everyone enjoys a coffee with friends but I have recently been to Pisa and I didn't see any people enjoying coffee aa certain hour. You really should have a adverts that reflect the country you're selling coffee to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“One of the best cafe nero's I've been into and I go...”

Written on: 03/08/2010

One of the best cafe nero's I've been into and I go into alot. They have recently had a new Manager and she is great! Very polite and helpful and happy to serve. The rest of the staff are a credit to her as they all work in the same way and have a smile on there faces. While I was there a very loud awkward customer came in ordering coffee and then complaining it was not warm enough. The young lady handled her very well was polite and offered to make a frsh coffee. The customer refused and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2011

The Cafe Nero's I use in Cardiff are such a pleasure to be in that I use their Cafe's wherever I go. Your comments are 100% how I see the chain.....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“WE WENT TO THIS CAFE NERO YESTRDAY AND WE RECIEVD THE...”

Written on: 27/07/2010

WE WENT TO THIS CAFE NERO YESTRDAY AND WE RECIEVD THE WORST TREATMENT AT A COFFEE SHOP EVER BY A MEMBER OF MANAGEMENT STAFF. IF U WNT SPOKEN TO LIKE CHILD AND SHOUTED AT IN FRONT OF PEOPLE THEN THIS IS UP UR STREET.MANAGER PICKS AND CHOOSES WHO SHE CAN ALLOW TO EAT FOOD FROM ELSE WHERE IN HER CAFE BECAUSE SHES 'THE MANAGER' BAD SERVICE NO APPOLOGY AND YOU'LL LEAVE UNHAPPY AND DISRESPECTED. DON'T GO TO CAFE NERO ON WILMSLOW ROAD MANCHESTER… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“i visit cafe nero in glasgow airport nearly every day...”

Written on: 26/03/2010 by glasgow airport (1 review written)

i visit cafe nero in glasgow airport nearly every day and its always linda thats working i dont even have to tell her what i want she sees me coming and has started making before i get there and i like it made a particular way and she has it down to a tee .... great service ... great coffee ..... starbucks ????? starbucks who cafe nero always… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I picked up a "star Barstas leaflet and then...”

Written on: 24/03/2010 by Ron White (1 review written)

I picked up a "star Barstas leaflet and then registeredonline. As I did so it crossed my mind that it takes more than 1 person in a cafe to make a difference. I use Caffenero daily and not always the same one. I travel with work and find that the nero suits both my pocket and my taste buds.
Having said this...yet again I have to commend the Chichester East Street Nero...It is different to others in its ambience, Retro has been fashionable from time to time!The anachronistic Chichester nero has… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Not the most salubrious of locations for ANY coffee...”

Written on: 10/02/2010 by lethers (1 review written)

Not the most salubrious of locations for ANY coffee shop but the moment I walked in it felt welcoming. The staff were efficient and friendly and even though busy where able to treat their customers as people rather than objects on a production line. The coffee is excellent as is the Hot Chocolate Milano… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Having been a Nero fan, my loyalty is on the wane....”

Written on: 20/11/2009

Having been a Nero fan, my loyalty is on the wane. Their coffee is more to my taste than S'bucks or Costa, but the service and value for dosh is falling rapidly. For instance, at the central York branch at lunchtime today, service was dreadfully slow, depite there being only a moderate amount of customers, with only one fully trained member of staff in charge(and I remember HE was wearing a learner tee-shirt only the other day). I queued for am age, my tuna paninni took 20 minutes to arrive; it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Such polite and hardworking staff.Service is really...”

Written on: 09/10/2009

Such polite and hardworking staff.Service is really quick.
Staff from other Neros should be sent there for training! Shrewsbury Nero is so very slow!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Caff Nero is by far the worst place in halifax. I'm...”

Written on: 05/10/2009

Caff Nero is by far the worst place in halifax. I'm never going there again and i certainly won't be recomending it, this needs reviewing Immediately. When i went i bought god knows what and spend £10 and quality of food was rubbish and a large coffee is not very large compared to nice places just like Costa coffee. I hated so much i had a closer look at the equipment and they was dirty, FILTHY infact and personly i HATED it as does everyone else i know that has been there. Not only am i NOT… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Massiveuk's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2009

I welcome comments and reviews on anywhere I intend to visit or have visited in the past. However if you are going to comment on a individual place, please make sure you are not an ex member of staff nor a customer who has had a bad day. judging by your in-excusable spelling and use of the English language I can only assume you are more suited to your back street cafe which will do the full fried English Breakfast at £1.99 with salmonella eggs. I can state that upon experience Caff Nero (As it is actually spelt) is the best place for service, Coffee and price. And can easily call itself number one in the list of Coffee giants

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 12/06/2011

I fully agree with the previous response to this review. I too have been in many Caffe Nero's around the country and have yet to find one where the service and products fail to impress. The staff are always polite, the coffee good, the food fresh and everything impeccably clean. If I did find something lacking, I'd quietly mention it to the manager. However, staff in any shop will be more easily polite to a reasonable customer and to be honest the reviewer doesn't exactly come across as reasonable. I wonder why they didn't just go to the 'nice' Costa Coffee? From my very few encounters in this 'nice' shop, I feel the reviewer would have been far more at ease there! One more point though ~ if you're going to comment on someone's bad spelling and grammar, you should at least check that your own is good!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
Read 2 Comments
overview