Activity Superstore Reviews

★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
14% of users recommend this
  • Facilities

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Activity Superstore - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Activity Superstore

Activity Superstore
Activity Superstore

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“no laughing matter”

Written on: 11/05/2018 by emHewitt203 (1 review written)

I was bought as a gift comedy fun house package for 4 people.I tried to book 2 months in advance at my nearest venue {Northampton}but was told there allocation for vouchers was taken.I then tried my 2nd nearest venue {Towcester}which as the 1st was listed in the comedy club menu,and was told they do not accept vouchers,but there were tickets available if i paid for them,i was also told this at 1st venue.What should have been a pleasant experience has turned out to be a waste of time… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 17/05/2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. I apologise for the delay in getting back to you and I am so sorry to hear of the disappointment you have experienced with your voucher so far. I can completely understand your frustration as a result of not being able to be booked in at a location, date and time of your convenience.

If you could please email us with your contact details and voucher number, with "ReviewCentre Review" quoted in the subject line of your email, one of our customer service agents will certainly be happy to help you find a suitable date and solution. Alternatively, you are welcome to contact us via our live chat facility.

I hope we can resolve this situation and you ultimately enjoy your comedy experience.

Kind regards,

Eleanor
Activity Superstore

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“My sister-in-law kindly gave us a gift experience...”

Written on: 20/02/2018 by Pedros497 (1 review written)

My sister-in-law kindly gave us a gift experience voucher from Activity Superstore for Christmas. Originally it was for a comedy night, but after finding we would have to travel many miles to a very ordinary venue, with no-one we had heard of (exclusions applied which meant a number of dates were not available, especially if any one known was appearing, or if it was a holiday date), we changed it. Most of the experiences in our area were terrible! They either were at times when we would have… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 21/02/2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I would like to apologise that you were unable to book your original voucher due to certain restrictions and availability issues.

In regards to exchanging to the Italian Dining Experience, I can see that this is advertised as being available at Prezzo with us even having the Prezzo logo as the only picture shown in the description online. We also state "Enjoy a three course meal for two at a Prezzo restaurant, accompanied by a 175ml glass of wine or a 300ml bottle of Peroni or a soft drink per person. You and your guest can choose three courses from the extensive full menu." Having looked at the menu if you were to select the cheapest starter, main and desert this would cost £15.70 per person, then when adding on the drink included this could range up to £21.05 per person, again selecting the cheapest options possible. The voucher allows you to select near enough anything from the menu, therefore in most cases the value of food will far exceed the amount paid for the voucher.

I can only apologise that you felt this was not the case.

Kind regards

Charlotte Howland
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Bought two experiences spent over £149.00. Due to...”

Written on: 05/02/2018

Bought two experiences spent over £149.00. Due to circumstances beyond my control (internet went down couldn't book) vouchers ran out. Phoned activity superstore to try and extend. Not helpful So money waste unhelpful customer services. Don't understand why I couldn't extend the vouchers. (Never had any trouble with red letter days). Avoid this company at all costs… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 07/02/2018

Hello

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you were unable to book your vouchers due to poor internet connection. However the vouchers would have been valid for quite some time depending on when the vouchers were purchased. Had we been contacted before the vouchers expired, we would have been happy to help further.

Again I am very sorry that we were unable to help on this occasion.

Kind regards.

Charlotte

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Buyer beware!”

Written on: 24/01/2018 by AmiyaMorse353 (1 review written)

We were given this voucher for a 2 night getaway for 2, by a relative. Booking was difficult from the start - many locations listed on the box are not on the actual wesite. In addition, most hotels only take vouchers sunday to thursday, so not much use to those of us who work weekdays. Having paid a £20 suppliment to extend the voucher by 6 months, we were still told by our chosen venue that they would not accept vouchers within our voucher time. Activity Superstore were kind enough to extend… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 29/01/2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I am sorry to hear of the initial problems you experienced when booking. However we do advertise that some venues will restrict, certain days of the week or months of the year. In regards to the problems you encountered at Shore View, I can confirm that breakfast is not included with our two night getaway pack and this is advertised. If you would like to contact me in regards to your experience, please do so and I will gladly look into this further with you.

Kind regards

Charlotte Howland
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Had the two night getaway bought as a Christmas...”

Written on: 07/01/2018 by closes (1 review written)

Had the two night getaway bought as a Christmas present from my boyfriend LAST WEEK! As I was eager to get a couple of nights away booked in very soon I got round to booking the experience well before the expiry date (December 2018) and with a definite 4 weeks notice as requested, I called to arrange bookings on 2nd January 2018. Having had my first two separate dates refused by one hotel due to some local events meaning that we weren't their top priority (since they were expecting to fill up… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to closes's Review

Written on: 11/01/2018

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Firstly I would like to apologise that such a special gift is causing you problems. This is never what we expect our customers to receive. With our hotel breaks, at some locations we will only have a certain amount of allocated rooms, which may be why you have been told the rooms are fully booked.

In regards to the compulsory upgrade and breakfast, I am not aware of any hotels within our scheme that make this compulsory, therefore if you could kindly contact me direct with your voucher number and your choice of hotels, I will gladly investigate this further.

I look forward to hearing from you, in hopes of resolving this situation.

Kind regards

Charlotte Howland
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I have been trying to contact Activity super store for...”

Written on: 14/12/2017 by AndresMatthews403 (1 review written)

I have been trying to contact Activity super store for some time and only just had a reply funny enough the replay came after the validity date of the voucher now they are refusing to allow me to extend the voucher in which I have offered to pay. As an offer of good will they offered me 15% discount of purchasing the same thing again ! really... … Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 22/12/2017

Hello

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry that you received a delayed reply, however our response time was up to 5 working days at our busiest period and we are now responding within hours. If you would like to forward me all your correspondence, showing the dates of the emails sent, I will gladly review this for you.

Kind regards

Charlotte
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment

Vaughannicola's Comment

Written on: 01/06/2018

Hi, my drive runs out today and I am trying to make an appointment but no one will help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Non-existent customer service”

Written on: 11/12/2017 by tayloda (1 review written)

Echoing the other reviews - avoid. I will NEVER buy anything from them. I received an experience as a gift and was not aware of the expiry. Although it was only 5 days over the expiry when I contacted them, they stuck to the 'it's expired, nothing we can do' line. Feels wrong with the introduction of a validation and then expiry designed to avoid delivering what was paid for. I don't care if their offerings change over time (their excuse for expiry), I am will to take a booking in a year's… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to tayloda's Review

Written on: 13/12/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I am sorry if you did not see the expiry date, however this is stated on the packaging and on the voucher itself to make this as clear as possible. We also state you must register, book and take the activity before the expiry date, therefore I can only apologise if this was not done.

Kind regards

Charlotte
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid! Avoid! Avoid!”

Written on: 03/12/2017

Avoid, avoid, avoid! Terrible customer service, lack of responsibility for dealing with issues, blame the customer for problems in booking! Wouldn't touch again - one of the worst companies I've had the misfortune to deal with… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 06/12/2017

Hello

I am very sorry to hear that you have not received great customer service on this occasion. We will do our best to help our customers enjoy the gifts as they were intended. If you could elaborate on the situation, I will be happy to see what I can do for you.

Kind regards

Charlotte
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't use this company”

Written on: 28/11/2017 by Pewis (2 reviews written)

Do not use this company – Activity Superstore/Gift Ideas for Two/Gastro Pub and Restaurant Dining or any of its other guises. Here’s why: • There are very few options to book, we had to drive an hour for the nearest place. • The choices of available restaurants were uninspiring – gastro pub is a misnomer. • The restaurants then have limited availability re dates for this ‘offer’. • You are then limited on what you can buy at the restaurant. • It just makes so much more… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to Pewis's Review

Written on: 28/11/2017

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I can only apologise that it was not a positive one on this occasion. We have 38 locations nationwide for this activity, however we are always trying to offer more locations to cover all areas. However these are advertised on purchase and redemption to ensure there is one suitable in your area.

Each venue differs in what they offer for our customers, some may be money off the bill, others may be tasting menus.

We hope all of our customers book and enjoy their activity before the expiry date, which is why we state this on our information and packaging. Furthermore we have an option for the vouchers to be extended, which does come at a fee.

I am very sorry that you were unable to use the voucher before the expiry date, however if you would like to contact me personally, I can talk you through our exchange and extension options to ensure you can make use of the voucher.

Kind regards

Charlotte
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No choice”

Written on: 28/11/2017 by JanetB4 (1 review written)

I had a voucher purchased for me last Christmas. I have tried to use it earlier in the year, but unfortunately the activity I wanted to do was available on the day I required it. The voucher was not particularly valuable, probably £25, but when I asked to extend it I was asked for £10 for 6 months or £20 for a year! When I then tried to use it I was only given ONE choice of activity which was a 7 hour round trip from my house for a 1 hour activity. I tried to call or message someone real… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to JanetB4's Review

Written on: 28/11/2017

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. However I am unsure who has provided you with this information, as we are only able to offer an extension for a maximum of 6 months. If you could kindly contact me directly with your voucher number, I will be more than happy to look into this for you.

Kind regards

Charlotte
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not waste your money”

Written on: 15/11/2017 by owCooley447 (1 review written)

Nightmare company to use. If you have more than two vouchers they will not let you put them together for one big thing. Apparently their system doesn't allow it. If you are in any doubt try calling the Customer Service number. It's just a recording that sends you back to their website. I opted for the Live Chat in the end and spoke to the person I dealt with. Rude and long delays before answering me. Frustrating beyond belief and haven't even booked anything yet. I'd be worried about giving… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 18/11/2017

Hello

Thank you for your review.

I can confirm that if you wish to combine two voucher values together we are happy to do this, they do however need to be from the same company/retailer. Please feel free to call us and we will gladly help you further.

Kind regards

Charlotte
Activity Superstore

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Activity Superstore Booking”

Written on: 26/10/2017

We were bought the Country & Coastal Getaways for a Christmas present in 2016. It was purchased in Debenhams. Due to family commitments and bereavement we were not able to take up the hotel break until now. The break expires on 1st December 2017. We have been desperately trying to contact Activity Superstore. We have constantly rang the contact number, only to receive an automated message. Which we have now found out we have been charged a premium rate for. We have constantly emailed and once… Read Full Review

Dmmf's Comment

Written on: 30/10/2017

Same experience as I've trying to book a Jazz night! Appalling. First attempted in May, needless to say voucher now expired. Going to have to count this one as a loss I think...

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Jack the Ripper.....rip off would be more accurate!”

Written on: 17/10/2017 by Tyr65 (1 review written)

I was given this experience as a gift from my daughter on her wedding day ( which is what REALLY sticks in my throat)! After several attempts to arrange this day, and with the vaguest of instructions from Activity Superstore ( note to them ; there are FOUR exits from Aldgate East Station, so try and be more specific! Also eating at ' a curry house in Brick Lane'( try narrowing it down a bit or get a name)! We were notified of the date, time & place to meet our guide. We arrived in plenty of… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to Tyr65's Review

Written on: 18/10/2017

Good afternoon,

I am sorry to learn that you had such problems when using your voucher, especially as it was such a special gift! This is not the level of service we expect our customers to receive and I can only apologise that your tour guide did not turn up. Could you kindly contact me with your voucher number and I will be more than happy to investigate further for you.

Kind regards,
Charlotte

Reply to this comment

Tyr65's reply to Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2017

Voucher number is 676968. Thank you for finally getting back to me. Your site states reply within 24hrs and I emailed you on the 15/10/17 unless that just refers to the automated reply!

Reply to this comment

Activitysuperstore's reply to Tyr65's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2017

Thank you for getting back to me. I can see that your email has been received and my manager is looking into this with the relevant department and will respond via email once we have investigated.

Kind regards
Charlotte

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Activity superstore go karting ”

Written on: 11/10/2017 by Foxybingo1234 (2 reviews written)

IHad a gift voucher from this company ACTIVITY SUPERSTORE for go karting or paintballing so decided to go karting, after looking on the options for locations we decided to go with the Nottingham one as it’s the closest one even though it is still a 40 mins drive, decided to book it for 09.am on a certain date giving 4 weeks notice which specified on the website, got an email back days later saying that they haven’t got that date as an available date but gave me a list of dates and times… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to Foxybingo1234's Review

Written on: 18/10/2017

Thank you for leaving your review. I am sorry to say that as this particular activity is the first race of the day, it can be quite early. If you would like to contact me with your voucher details, I will be happy to look into this further for you. I would also like to apologise that you felt like a second priority customer when booking, however I can assure you that this is not the case.

Charlotte

Reply to this comment

Foxybingo1234's reply to Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 19/10/2017

I’ve gave up trying 5 times I’ve emailed, the link Iam getting for the exchange has not worked properly on all occasions, only letting me look at one page when it says there’s six pages of activities,when ya click on one a the other pages it’s comes up with error.

Reply to this comment

Activitysuperstore's reply to Foxybingo1234's Comment

Written on: 20/10/2017

Hello,

I am sorry to hear of the further problems you have experienced. Can you kindly call us and we can help you further.

Thank you and kind regards.
Charlotte

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT PURCHASE VOUCHER FROM THIS COMPANY”

Written on: 20/09/2017 by OrlaghN (1 review written)

I received a voucher for Christmas from my mother in law and unfortunately all that it has caused me is stress, upset and disappointment. FIVE of the hotels 'Advertised' as an option to visit as part of the voucher have said they know nothing about this company and they should not be advertising their hotels. I sent a total of 5 emails without one response. I have dealt with rude, ignorant staff on the telephone. The outcome? I have completely lost out and my Mother in Law has wasted… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to OrlaghN's Review

Written on: 05/10/2017

Thank you for your review.

I am very sorry to learn of the problems you have experienced when using your voucher. If you would kindly contact myself directly at with your voucher number and the five locations you are referring to, I will be happy to look into this further for you.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Charlotte Howland
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment

Activitysuperstore's Response to OrlaghN's Review

Written on: 18/10/2017

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am sorry to learn that this was not a positive experience for you, however we do advise that this activity typically runs on a Sunday and will do our best to book you for the date desired. I regret that as the activity does not run every Sunday, on occasion the dates may not be that of your first choice. We will always offer any and all dates that we have and as this activity is the first race of the day, these can occasionally be quite early. If you want to check back in a few weeks we will have been given more dates from Teamsport which may offer a more suitable time for you. In regards to the hotels I am sorry that you felt second priority, however I can assure you that this is not the case.

Kind regards
Charlotte Howland

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Complete lack of local locations”

Written on: 19/09/2017 by Padilla205 (1 review written)

Bought the couples experience as a gift, but when we decided to choose an event, there was nothing within a 2-3 hour drive except driving days and my partner does no drive. White water rafting was Snowdonia along with the sailing and archery, a SPA day was Liverpool, sailing lunch was Norfolk, and so on. If you must buy one of these gifts please ensure you check locations are suitable, but also looking at the prices for these events save yourself some time and effort and book directly with… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry that the locations are not suitable for you, however we do advertise the locations before purchase or registration to ensure the activity is convenient for you to get to. If the locations within your pack are not suitable you are welcome to exchanging online at our site

I hope this helps.

Charlotte Howland
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment

Meanfiddler's Comment

Written on: 06/10/2017

Hi
Thank you for your response, but I beg to differ that locations are available before purchase. Certainly not if you buy the experience in-store as I did.
The packaging proudly boasts over 300 locations which implies you have great coverage which is misleading. I would happily drive a reasonable distance (100 miles), but many of the experiences advertised on the packaging are only offered at one location and if you live in the South of the UK they are just not realistic.
I would suggest your team needs to sign up more suppliers for the experiences to give a better geographical coverage, or warn customers more clearly at point of purchase of the limited locations for the events.

Luckily the major well known retailer who sold it also agreed with me, saying they get a lot of complaints about these and offered a full refund.

Kind regards

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“First & LAST time!”

Written on: 16/09/2017

Sadly you can't give no stars! I decided to buy a driving experience voucher as a Christmas present for my boyfriend last year. I started looking through the options on WHSmiths website and decided on a half day rally session – the fact that it was available to use at Elvington, North Yorks. was a big part of this decision as this is within a reasonable distance from us, only a couple of hours each way. Voucher arrives – and it is from activity superstore – looks legit. Shortly after… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 05/10/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I would firstly like to apologise that your mother was seriously ill and can fully appreciate that the voucher was the last thing on your mind. I hope she has now made a full recovery! The information you have been given is correct, as with many products a refund can only be offered within the first 28 days of purchase. We are unable to offer a refund on the difference on a voucher exchange, so I am sorry that you were incorrectly informed. We are however happy to exchange your voucher to another via our site and if you select a cheaper activity, the difference remains on your original voucher for you to use towards another activity until the expiry date. If you would like to contact me directly, I will be happy to help you process the exchange. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you and kind regards.

Charlotte Howland
Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Post returned 'Gone Away'. Gone out of business?”

Written on: 11/07/2017 by truthfulreviewer (1 review written)

We were given a voucher for a cream tea and steam train ride. On the box it says usable at 8+ locations. We wanted to use it at one railway but the Manager there said they are advertising us as a venue but we have never agreed to accept their vouchers. Sounds a bit dodgy to me! We then looked on line and it is only accepted at 3 locations rather than 8 so we sent the voucher back to them per the instructions on their website to be swapped for a cheaper experience. We sent the voucher Recorded… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Response to truthfulreviewer's Review

Written on: 28/07/2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am pleased to confirm that Activity Superstore is still trading and you can contact us over the phone, via live chat or via email.

The activity originally offered 8 locations but unfortunately this has since dropped to 6, we are however looking to replace the 2 locations as soon as possible.

If you still have your voucher and would like any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment

Truthfulreviewer's reply to Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2017

I have just looked on your website and according to that the steam train with cream tea is valid at only 3 locations not 8 as shown on the box that was bought for us as a gift or 6 as you are claiming. When I emailed the railways that are shown on the box several came back to me and said that AS have been advertising their acceptance of the voucher WITHOUT THEIR PERMISSION OR PRIOR AGREEMENT. When I raised this with your 'customer service' team they told me that had the marketing material printed before reaching agreement with the railways and therefore though they realised the packaging was incorrect they sent the boxes out in any case. They have subsequently decided NOT to recall them. So may I suggest that before you use this forum to try and kid other customers that you have a product worth buying you a) look to see what is on your own website and b) speak to your 'customer service' team. As far as AS still trading if you don't change your ways based upon the horrendous feedback you are getting you will not be in business for very long.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Forget it”

Written on: 10/07/2017

Still in the process of trying to sort everything out. Activated voucher, chose location, called location, gave location all ref numbers etc, said not recognised. Told to contact groupon which we did, answer message at 4 p.m, tried online answer service, said it was closed. 74 hour response to email now being sent out. Now what? How much money have these people had? The service is shoddy and now considering legal action as too many people have complained about the service. Rip Off Britain might… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 28/07/2017

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear of the experience you have received, however we are not Groupon nor do we work with them. Can you please kindly confirm if you have an Activity Superstore voucher.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Activity Superstore Ltd

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Please Avoid”

Written on: 27/04/2017 by Mead467 (1 review written)

My wife was lucky enough to have been given a gift voucher for an overnight stay in a selection of B&B establishments around the country. Firstly the choice was not great but we managed to find one suitable. Secondly the availability was not great, managed to get a free date on the forth attempt Thirdly trying to make contact with an actual person is a total nightmare, there is an automated email response saying you might have to wait 72 hours - try 4 or 5 days if you are lucky. And then there… Read Full Review

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2017

Hello

I am sorry to hear of the troubles you have experienced when trying to redeem your voucher. We have recently changed systems to try and make the process as easy as possible for our customers but unfortunately these have come with a few teething problems, which we are looking to resolve. I hope you are now able to enjoy your overnight stay!

Thank you and kind regards.

Charlotte Howland

Reply to this comment

Activitysuperstore's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2017

Hello

I am sorry to hear of the troubles you have experienced when trying to redeem your voucher. We have recently changed systems to try and make the process as easy as possible for our customers but unfortunately these have come with a few teething problems, which we are looking to resolve. I hope you are now able to enjoy your overnight stay!

Thank you and kind regards.

Charlotte Howland

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
overview