Buy A Gift Reviews - www.buyagift.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.7 / 5
71% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk

Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk
Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk
Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk
Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk
Buy A Gift - www.buyagift.co.uk
★★★★★

“special love heart trinket ”

written by on 13/07/2012

I've just received the trinket for my wife 40th with personalized writing its well worth the cost only £12 over the moon with it now fingers crossed the wife will love it

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Sprecial Birthday Gift”

written by mabee on 13/07/2012

Thought this would be an ideal gift for my Daughter's birthday. Found so many options @buyagift would be great for any occassion. This item is ideal as you can choose the date yourself.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Easy and userfriendly Experience”

written by on 13/07/2012

Just a quick not to say that i've used Buy a Gift quite a few times now and never had a problem. Its very userfriendly and easy to follow.. Such a good choice and always a chance that your find something you never thought of.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The Perfect Gift”

written by Royjosie on 13/07/2012

A perfect way to purchase a gift for anyone, there is such a large range of gifts and experiences to choose from and so easy to purchase with total help from the customer service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Swift”

written by julie.p on 13/07/2012

Fast delivery and gift arrived just as described. No hassle ordering form. Very pleased. Would definately recommend to friends and family

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Waste of Money and Time ”

written by on 26/06/2012

Given 5 minute helicopter ride for birthday gift. Booked in 20 May, cancelled by them as they double booked, moved to 16 June, cancelled day before weather, which turned out dry and not windy. Have to wait over 1 week to re-book, the dates good for me were not offered, two weekends offered I am away. Finally give 4TH NOVEMBER, (yeh like thats really going to go ahead!!) and they are doing me the favour by extending the voucher. Would highly recommend people DO NOT buy these "experiences" as gifts as you feel guilty when it proves almost impossible to actually get venue/date that suits the customer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“robbers, terrible customer service, badly run”

written by phaidi on 19/06/2012

i purchased a voucher and they forgot to send on my voucher number to my email so when i requested it they said they couldnt find it that it didnt exsist this is 75pounds worth of a voucher i might add! they have just taken 75pounds off me and wont send me the voucher or refund! has this happend to anyone else with this dreadful company?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buyagift Helper's Response to phaidi's Review

Written on: 21/06/2012

Hi Phaidi,

We would really like to find out some more information as it is not clear to us from your review exactly what has happened.

Could I please ask you to email: [email protected] and try to include as much information as possible about your purchase. We will then do our very best to locate this for you.

Thank you & we hope to hear from you soon,

Hayley & The Buyagift Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not waste your time or money! Absolutely awful.”

written by on 16/06/2012

Buy A Gift and Encore Tickets work together, and they both deliver the WORST customer service I have ever received. My boyfriend booked the Theatre and Meal Deal for my birthday at the beginning of May. We received no confirmation email; when we rang, the man assured us our tickets would arrive by post for the theatre. On the morning we were due to head to Covent Garden, we hadn't received anything. We rang Buy A Gift once again and they said we can pick the tickets up at the theatre and they had booked us into the Boulevard Brassiere restaurant. We arrive to the restaurant to find that we were NOT booked in, and they had no idea who we was. Therefore we had to find somewhere else to eat in the pouring rain, as their customer service lines close at 5:30pm. Once we arrived at the theatre, we realised they had changed our seats without telling us and we were no longer in the Grand Circle. Needless to say, the experience was terrible. However the customer service received over the next 2 months was going to be much worse. They promise to call you back, and they never will. A special thanks to a lady who works there called Hemmy, who promised to call us back and never did, same with Alex and Helenie. I thought we had a breakthrough when we got to speak to the manager Rachel Hess and she said a 'full investigation' would take place. She has never got back to me, and when I have rang to speak to her, she is conveniently always 'out the office' or 'in a meeting'. Paul Corpuz, supervisor at Encore Tickets, tried his best to help us but this has got us nowhere either. They are either very lazy at Encore Tickets, or just very stupid. Do not waste your money (we paid £159 for theatre seats we didn't want, and a meal we didn't receive) they have offered no refund or compensation. And do not waste your time on their pathetic customer service team! Will never ever use this company again. Disgraceful.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buyagift Helper's Comment

Written on: 21/06/2012

Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you experienced on this occasion. This is very upsetting to read and I can assure you we will investigate this matter internally and with Encore Tickets.

We'd really appreciate it if you could email us your voucher details along with your contact details to: [email protected] so that a member of our customer service team can do their very best to help.

Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest regards,

Hayley & The Buyagift Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Atom Driving Experience”

written by SianHarris on 07/06/2012

I am disgusted with the service I have received when booking this experience for my boyfriends birthday. My boyfriend called and booked this experience for 2nd June, the idiot girl on the phone said she would send a confirmation email straight away. No email was received, we tried calling the whole day on the 1st (friday) and could not get through all day. Again on Saturday before we left and still could still not get through. We live 150 miles away so did not want to drive all the way up there without any kind of confirmation. We received the confirmation email 4 days later and to be told we could not re arrange or have the money back!!!! the idiot on the phone blamed us! So i am now £80 out of pocket and boyfriends birthday present is down the drain. I WILL NEVER BUY ANYTHING ON THIS WEBSITE EVER AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buyagift Helper's Response to SianHarris's Review

Written on: 21/06/2012

Hi Sian,

Can you please email your voucher reference number to: [email protected]

We will then be able to investigate this with our supplier and see what we can do to help.

Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon,

The Buyagift Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BUY HOTEL VERY POOR BUY A GIFT TAKE NO...”

written by 122lisa122 on 10/05/2012

WHEN BOOKING MY GIFT TO USE ON HOTELS FULLY BOOKED EVERY WEEKEND FOR 3 MONTHS HAD LITTLE CHOICE ONLY HOTEL WE COULD BOOK FALLING APART WATER COMING IN THROUGH CEILING WHILE EATING BREAKFAST, BEDROOM CEILING FALLING DOWN, STAINED FLOOR IN BATHROOM, TOWELS STAINED, BEDDING STAINED ECT ECT WHEN WE COMPLAINED TO THE HOTEL THEY SAID TO TAKE IT UP WITH BUY A GIFT WHICH WE DID BEFORE EASTER SENT PHOTOS NO REPLY RE-SENT COMPLAINT NO REPLY. ONCE THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY THEY ARE NOT INTRESTED

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buyagift Helper's Response to 122lisa122's Review

Written on: 21/06/2012

Hi Lisa,

We are very sorry to hear this. Can I please ask you to forward your emails to [email protected] and include your voucher reference number. We will then investigate this matter further.

We hope to hear from you soon,

The Buyagift Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Nothing relaxing about this Spa Day”

written by on 09/05/2012

Disappointed doesn't cover it. As a gift to my mother for her birthday my sister arranged a spa day at Hillmotts Retreat. When I contacted them to make the hotel reservation and book the treatment, we had no idea that the hotel wasn't in the same location as the treatment. In fact it was a 30-40 minute drive away - how is that relaxing? Nowhere on the website, or in the confirmation was this ever disclosed. There wasn't even leisure facilities at the Pinewood hotel (another place I will never stay again), if you wanted a gym or sauna you had to go to the 'Cannon's' health facility which was another drive away from the hotel. The 30 minute massage was only 15 mins long. When I had the treatment and said to the technician that was a quick massage, she said 'yes, 30 mins does go quick', but when I dressed and checked my watch it was 4.33pm and I arrived in the treatment room after 4.10pm. We arrived 15 mins ahead of our treatment time but apparently the party ahead of us arrived late. Why should my treatment be cut short. Cheaper is definitely not necessarily better, I guess you get what you pay for. But if 'deception' is how you make your money, then I'm happy to take my business elsewhere.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service, quality company”

written by on 26/04/2012

I've been given quite a few gifts from buyagift.co.uk and I must say it is a quality outfit. Unlike some of their 'shadier' competitors, you can swap your voucher easily for a different experience day, you can upgrade it and when you go to book you wont find that you're treated like a 3rd class citizen with the "I'm sorry, if you've got a voucher our waiting list is quite long" Really good company - recommend.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gkp30's Comment

Written on: 06/07/2012

Maybe there is more than one buyagift.

Have not been able to get into the 54 Boutique Hotel in London at all and now they are fully booked every day until after the olympics - when my voucher expires.

By a waste of time and only give vouchers to people you don't like

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Glenc's Comment

Written on: 09/07/2012

if it's buyagift.co.uk then that's the same company.

On my vouchers I have the option to exchange my vouchers, extend them etc - really quite flexible

I haven't used them for hotels though - just experience days - so maybe for hotels they're not so good?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Voucher was Used”

written by DebbieBlake on 12/04/2012

My son had a gift Helicoper Ride bought for him by his girlfriends mum Bev Nagle when we tried to book up the ride the voucher had been used by this person for a pamper day. Please be aware that the voucher always remains the property of the person booking not the receipient of the gift.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Buyagift Helper's Response to DebbieBlake's Review

Written on: 21/06/2012

Hi Debbie,

We are sorry to hear that your son was not able to take his experience. Unfortunately we are unable to stop the purchaser from using the voucher if they no longer decide to give it as a gift.

Kindest regards,

The Buyagift Team

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“3rd class unless you upgrade”

written by Yetanothersmith on 09/04/2012

The hotel itself is stunning, but unless your upgrading you’re better off in 'Lennys' favourite chain of hotels. Buyagift customers are allocated the Woodland lodge by default, this is nothing more than accommodation for students on training courses and have 4'6" beds squeezed into an 8' space, mind your head on the drawer units when you try and sleep on the over-squeaky beds. Not recommended for those who don’t like to advertise whatever activity’s they are taking part in. The shower lacks any power so watch you don’t get cold. Mind, the entrance to the cell block gives you clue, yes that is the front door! Better to stay else ware and go for afternoon tea giving you a chance to look at the splendid main building and get that good night’s sleep. The rest is up to scratch and the staff are well trained and friendly, the food is very good but the plates leave the chef little room to make it eye catching. It would be a good idea to hide that horrendously ugly conference block you see first as you travel up the drive, the contrast is comparable to the royalists vs the parliamentarians. What were you thinking? I would recommend a trip to Lincoln, the castle with its jail, the cathedral and surrounding area is delightful and the steep hill is just that, however there are several coffee shops to help on the way up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BUYAGIFT.CO.UK more expensive than booking direct!”

written by barrowvian on 05/04/2012

Hi, I bought a Two Night Getaway for Two for £175 from buyagift.co.uk as this initially was a pretty good deal to stay in the centre of London. I called a few of the hotels that are included in this deal. Every single one of them was considerably cheaper than the voucher. For example, the Pinewood Hotel for a two night deal with breakfast was only £138. Two other hotels were approximately £145 and another was £156. Yet I paid £175 with buyagift.co.uk to stay in these hotels. I contacted buyagift.co.uk and to enquire about refunding me the difference or at least giving me the remainder as credit so that I could use it towards another gift. They wouldn't do either! I would strongly advise anyone that before buying a voucher from buyagift.co.uk that you check directly with the source because no doubt you will be able to get the experience for a considerably cheaper rate.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancelled... Cancelled... yet only valid for a year”

written by Disappointed001 on 12/03/2012

I chose a helicopter experience for my partner and myself. My initial impressions were good, however Buy a Gift pass you over to the company organising the experience and then no longer take any responsibility. The first flight we could booked with the helicopter company was 3 months after purchasing the gift card. This flight was cancelled due to bad weather. When trying to rebook we were told it was closed over winter and to call back in February when they start taking bookings again. We did and were booked on one of their first flights in the following year which started in March. Again this was cancelled due to bad weather. I just tried to book again and have been given a possible 3 weekends, none of which work well for my partner and I. I have had to accept one of these weekends or lose the couple of hundred pound I spent. They also said they were closed for the duration of the Olympics. Olympics and bad weather I understand but waiting months to be rebooked is unfair! The gift is only valid for a year. I have had to lose two days pay so far in hoping to take this flight. I know it is not Buy a Gift that cancelled and delayed however they are the ones accepting money on the promise of an experience. An experience to be carried out by a company that has more people booked to fly than it can process. I have learnt my lesson and will not hand over money in advance again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Luxury in the New Forest”

written by on 19/01/2012

Bought a Von Essen spa break in the New Forest for my girlfriend and myself. Using the site: seemed fine. Fairly quick and painless. Ordered at lunchtime and delivered the next day. Given 5 stars for Value for Money because I used a discount code, so that was nice. The spa break itself: excellent outdoor hot tub, good treatments (though I'm not exactly an expert on these things) for both of us, and the room was great. Not sure that the "executive luxuries" magazine in the room was really relevant for us but hey ho. The restaurant was quite pricey, but that's kind of to be expected at a place like that. Also a bit of a mix up with the wine bill when checking out but the staff were happy to get it all sorted out. Never really thought of myself as a 'spa break' type person but it was definitely nice to spend a day out of the city and just relax. Would recommend for a nice occasion or anniversary or similar.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful- don't bother, no experience given and they lie”

written by on 13/01/2012

Bought beauty treatment gift for myself, my 2 sisters and my Mum in dec2009 so we could have a treat before I got married. Checked on website before purchase and there was a salon in Bucks where my mum lives and convenient for all. When trying to book told that salon no longer part of the offer and no others in Bucks, told to wait as they are getting new salons soon. They would not allow us to go to salon in any other area. Way after my wedding all they could do is extend voucher for 10 months to July 2011. Around comes July 2011 and still no salons, again wont let us go to salon in another area but agree to change to haircut experience instead and extend for 10 months but NOTHING happened despite being told the local hair salon would be in touch. Some months pass for various reasons (serious car accident and oncology appointments to name but a few) Called them recently to find out what's going on, due to last extension should still be able to get haircut until end May 2012 but told as they had contacted a salon the vouchers are no longer useable. Salon say they never received any instruction from them and this happens frequently. Contacted the bookings line again, I was informed this is my problem and the vouchers are no longer being honoured. I was also told that it was my fault as they allocated a salon in sept 2009 and I did not use it so tough..... That was before I had even bought the vouchers so THEY LIED! Save yourself the phone bills, stress and disappointment as you may walk away with a bad experience and no beauty/hair treatment.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rubbish Customer Service”

written by on 20/12/2011

An error on their website didn't place my order yet they still took my money. 6 phone calls later and numerous promises broken i had to cancel the order. We shall see if the promise to refund my money happens. I will never use this mickey mouse company again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 17/04/2012

My daughter bought us a voucher for christmas this was for a hotel break for two nights The voucher was valid until the end of April. Through illness we were unable to use the voucher. On the 14th April I attempted to extend the voucher which would normally cost £20.00 but when I atempted to do this I got a message saying, this voucher expiry date could not be extended as it was bought at a discounted cost. Because it is getting near to the expiry date the hotels are mostly booked up. I contacted buyagift who said it could be exchanged but it would have to be done before the expiry date and would still only be valid until the end of the month. Because it is our 50th wedding aniversary soon we have too much to do organising the event therefor we are forfitting the voucher, we will book our own break latter in the year then if for any reason we had to cancel at least we would get a some kind of a refund, but it appears ,not with this company

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Gift Box - Strange”

written by on 02/12/2011

I have just purchased an Afternoon Tea for my elderly Father and his Wife as a Christmas present. I decided to pay the extra £6.50 for the gift box, it arrived next day which was good but I was a little dumfounded by the contents. The voucher itself and an information leaflet were packed in a tin box and inside were two matchbox size boxes. I thought nice touch there is some biscuits or chocolate in keeping with the gift? Not so, in one there was a strap (not sure what it was for, camera maybe) in the other a luggage padlock possibly! Both had Buy a Gift written all over tham so I can only conclude they were just marketing stuff. If I had known this I would not have wasted my money. I cannot commnet yet on the gift until next year, I am hoping that it will be a nice day, wait and see!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by chloelouise98 on 16th May 2022 Report this content
I have a voucher, got to the end where l presumed l put my voucher code again after already doing it at the beginning? It only has options for payment on debit card? I want to use my voucher.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content GordonNewlands69 Written on: 23/08/2022
I think you need to click on the "I have a voucher" or "Use my voucher" button and then enter the code and pin. Then select the activity you want to book. I believe the website is designed to be so complicated that you eventually give up or die of frustration, so they can keep your money. Good luck!
Asked by dudesims on 8th October 2017 Report this content
Can we extend the validity of the voucher? If so, how?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Carlamay Written on: 19/10/2021
I was given a buy a gift voucher as a present for a 2 night stay in london. When I try to redeem my voucher on the website and book, I am told I need to pay for it and am instructed to enter my card details, even though it was bought as a present?
Asked by nicolax589 on 8th December 2013 Report this content
I have entered the wrong delivery address what can i do?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

overview