Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
2268
94% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Simply the Best”

Written on: 16/07/2017 by robertdavidcooper (1 review written)

This company is simply the best car hire in Spain. The staff are really friendly and explain the whole process in great detail. They set up the sat nav for me for an easy journey. I was offered a choice of cars and was really pleased with the Astra which was brand new. The map of the return point from the airport was easy to follow. The car return process was very efficient… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Great cars and great service”

Written on: 14/07/2017 by Schoutenlp (2 reviews written)

I have rented many times now with Drivalia and I am very happy with the service! Great cars and once you arrive at Alicante airport, you will have you're car within 15 minutes. I always take the full insurance, so no worries… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The best experience”

Written on: 14/07/2017 by Sparks239 (1 review written)

Staff was very friendly, collecting car procedure was very quick without unnecessary paperwork. Very good value for the money. Low booking cost , and no hidden costs. Easy payment options : cash, credit cards or visa. Everything went smooth, car in excellent condition, spotless clean. I will definitely use Drivalia again and will recomend to my friends… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The "Ultimate" car hire service”

Written on: 10/07/2017 by NadiaBradley8 (1 review written)

DRIVALIA ULTIMATE HIRE CAR PACKAGE After going through the Drivalia booking direct online was offered 13 days for "Basic" service of about £120 but reading into the details meant you were not covered for cdw insurance etc so went for the "Ultimate" package at £235 fully inclusive of Fully comprehensive insurance and no CDW Excess etc which at about £18 a day is still a very good price for Alicante Airport where I have hired cars for many years Got picked up quickly at Alicante Monday 26th… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 14/07/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the service received.

We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“EVIL! Could have ended in the death of a small child”

Written on: 27/06/2017 by TheBrewerFamily (1 review written)

The 'welcoming' hard sell for their own insurance is overly rude, aggressive and uses scare tactics (2000 euros on your card for 2 months, 400 euros minimum for a 1cm scratch, no assistance at all if you crash/ car breaks down- you are alone!) They tried to charge a fee for some sand in the foot wells on drop off. They refused use of their own hoover or to allow us to go to a fuel station and vacuum ourselves. THEN as a parting gift, they forced us to walk 3 km to the airport in the blazing… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to TheBrewerFamily's Review

Written on: 07/07/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I should start by saying that if you made a previous post that was not lited this is completely out of control of Drivalia as this site is independent and all reviews are completely out of our control.

Our staff do have a responsibility to explain the contract and it is true that on our basic package a deposit of between 1000 and 2000 euros must be left. The deposits are simply blocked and we do tell clients that they should allow one billing cycle for the funds to be available again as this is out of our control and a matter of the individual banks as to how they deal with releasing funds.

We don´t expect cars to be returned in showroom condition, it´s normal for them to be returned having clearly been used but in exceptional circumstances where a car is returned excessively dirty we do make a charge for extra cleaning. This is only the case when a client returns the car in such a condition that our contractors will pass on a charge to us because the car is extremely dirty.

We should mention that it is extremely rare for us not to offer our courtesy shuttle bus service although on the very rare occasion that a client refuses to fulfil their part of the contract (for example if they refuse to pay for something like cleaning on those rare occasions) then we may inform the client that the courtesy bus is not available until the matter is dealt with. This is rare and an occurance that I have only been aware of a small number of times (perhaps four or five) in many many years. It must be an extreme situation for us to refuse the bus but on this occasion we always offer to call a taxi for the client and would never tell a client to walk to the airport.

We are sorry if you feel dissatisfied with the service received.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware!”

Written on: 13/06/2017

BEWARE!  I arrived at Palma airport in the evening. I had phoned them the day before to ensure that they had my flight number and would be waiting for me. They assured me that they would wait. My flight arrived at 11.30pm (delayed by 30 min) and by 12.30 I was at the designated spot for shuttle pickup. The shuttle wasn't there. I phoned the local agent and they said that they waited an hour and then left. I cannot believe this is true unless they never checked flight arrival status online… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 07/07/2017

Dear Customer,

We apologise if there was any issue here. Situations of customers not getting the pickup are rare and there must have been some mix up in communication.

If you want to email our customer care team they will of course look into this issue and provide a full response.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid avoid avoid!!!!”

Written on: 12/06/2017 by Farrellgn150 (1 review written)

Absolutely horrific experience with this company. Firstly tried to make us take out additional insurance even though we had already purchased it. Very pushy and rude. We had booked 2 cars both selected to take 3 cases. The cars they gave us were much much smaller & could only take 2 cases. We tried to fit the additional cases in, but it was impossible. If we have booked and paid for a car which is big enough to fit 3 cases then that is what we expect to get. The 3 girls in the office were… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off company. Do not use”

Written on: 11/06/2017 by drivaliaiscrap (1 review written)

We collected the car from Alicante that had damage listed, when checking over the car we noticed 2 more problems on the car that the lady wasn't keen on writing down. She eventually did. On returning the car she pointed out 2 more scratches and billed us 320 euros. We must have missed these. They even laughed in my wife's face as she explained it wasn't us!!! Stay away… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service in Mallorca in May 2017”

Written on: 21/05/2017 by newo (1 review written)

We booked a car for a week on the ultimate package - this was done online and paid for everything at the time of booking. Upon arrival at Palma de Mallorca airport we made our way to the Drivalia pick up point (go up a floor just after baggage collection and over the road to a lane populated by car rental pick up vehicles) and were taken to the Drivalia office which was a short trip. The welcome, efficiency and friendliness of the staff were exceptional and we were given the keys to a very… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to newo's Review

Written on: 09/06/2017

Dear Customer,

Thanks for putting your trust in Drivalia and giving us a try! We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed hiring from us and we thank you also for taking the time to write about your experience.

The Ultimate package really is by far the most popular package that we offer because it delivers completely transparent car hire where what you see is what you pay without any surprises and what we like to think of as the best service in town. People are starting to realise that booking a fair and honest package like Ultimate is much more sensible than booking a low cost package that usually ends up far more expensive!

We hope that you will choose Drivalia on your next visit to Spain and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Never fail to ”

Written on: 11/05/2017 by Penn21 (1 review written)

This car hire company are in my opinion the best in Spain they never fail to impress.. They collect you from the airport take you to the car collection point and everything is so easy and straightforward. They return you back to the airport on your return of the car. what more can you ask. Top service well done. I dont use anyone else now these are the best around. Fantastic service, totally reliable, friendly staff, top job every time... … Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 09/06/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for hiring from us regularly and trusting us to care for your car hire needs. We are delighted that you are pleased with the service you receive and thank you for sharing your comments.

We hope that we can continue to serve you for many years to come and look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Forced me to buy insurance.”

Written on: 24/04/2017 by 167Weber (1 review written)

I booked a car at Alicante Airport with no insurance as I have that from Denmark where I live. When I had to pick up my two cars the employee started to tell me that I was an idiot not to buy insurance. I kept saying no. And then he had a look at my credit card and said that he could not use that card because it was a debit card. I have rented cars with this card before at it should not be a problem as it has a lot on money on it. I was then told that they would cancel my bookings of a value… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for renting a car with us. We are sorry if you felt unhappy with the service you received. To clarify, for clients that choose not to take full cover with us then a deposit is required. This is done by means of a preauthorisation against a credit card. We cannot use a debit card for this type of transaction for various reasons but we make very clear (as do all the brokers that we work with) that debit cards are not accepted for deposits.

For making payments for extras such as child seats or of course full SCDW cover then a debit card is fine because this is a sale rather than a preauthorisation and so most types of cards can be used and will work fine.

Unfortunately as with most car hire companies there are no refunds for cancellations made at the last minute and if you booked through a broker they would not be able to refund if you have not adhered to the conditions of supplying a debit card. We do not get any money from brokers until we supply the car so in the event of you not taking the car we do not get paid either from brokers.

I hope this has clarified the situation.
Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Warning!!”

Written on: 18/04/2017

WARNING!!! Don`t ever rent with them..... Sad I was rude because I didn`t want to buy extra insurrence, and did not give me my car I already paid for. They did not want to pay me back one cent. Sad if I did not leave the office, they would call the police. The office is 3K away from the airport an you have to take a shuttle bus to get there. They did not want to take us back to the airport to rent another car, so had to walk back with my wife 3k on the freeway with all our luggage. I have never… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 20/04/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Although we cannot comment on specific clients here we would always welcome the opportunity to address your issues personally if you email us including your contract number.

The only time we would refuse a car is if the customer is not able to meet their obligations, for example if they have not contracted our full cover and can´t or won´t leave a deposit with their credit card.

The overwhelming majority of our bookings are on the full to full fuel policy where you simply take the car full and return the same. On the full to empty packages that are offerd through some brokers the car is reduced in price but the fuel does incur a refueling fee which is clearly stated on the documentation and on our website where we even list the fuel tank prices so that clients can make an informed choice which package is best for them.

As mentioned, if you would like us to look at the matter in full please do contact us by email.

Kind regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Coche y atención de 10”

Written on: 08/04/2017 by Egreenjo (1 review written)

Alquilamos un coche de gama media en Drivalia en el aeropuerto de Alicante. El vuelo desde Londres llegaba fuera de las horas de oficina, pero un agente nos estaba esperando puntualmente en el aeropuerto para llevarnos al punto de recogida . El coche , un Nissan Qashqai 1.5 DCI, dio un fantástico resultado. Mínimo consumo y muy buenas prestaciones. El servicio y atención del personal, inmejorable. Lo recomiendo sin lugar a dudas… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“WYSIWYG”

Written on: 26/03/2017 by philandles (1 review written)

Having previously been tempted by "cheap" rental deals from other providers we wanted to know exactly what it was going to cost before we committed. The price quoted by Drivalia was exactly what it cost, no more, no less and we got everything that we had asked for - a clean and recent model of the car we had chosen that was ready and waiting at our arrival. Prompt and polite pickup on arrival, likewise for the administration at the office even though we were new customers. Don't be put off… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to philandles's Review

Written on: 02/04/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for hiring from us and for leaving a great review. We are pleased that everything was to yoru satisfaction and that we delivered the levels of service that we work so hard to achieve.

We hope that we can look forward to serving you again many times in the years to come and thank you for putting your trust in us.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to philandles's Review

Written on: 02/04/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for hiring from us and for leaving a great review. We are pleased that everything was to yoru satisfaction and that we delivered the levels of service that we work so hard to achieve.

We hope that we can look forward to serving you again many times in the years to come and thank you for putting your trust in us.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“excellent service”

Written on: 19/02/2017 by annsiss (1 review written)

once again we had fantastic service when collecting and returning our car. The car was pristine as usual and the upgrade very much appreciated. The staff are always very courteous and friendly especially the bus driver - I wish my Spanish was as good as his English ! we shall be returning again for our future visits to our holiday villa… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to annsiss's Review

Written on: 04/03/2017

Hola

Thanks for the lovely review. We are delighted that you are pleased with the service you received and we look forward to seeing you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“ Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com”

Written on: 08/02/2017 by Stevenslq348 (1 review written)

Do not book from this company because you have to pay for insurance more then you paid for the car o leave more then 1000 euros as insurance for them !!! don't be cheated!!! I rented car from this company in tenerife!!! and you can't get a refund if you want to cancell your order!!!… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 04/03/2017

Thank you for your review. It is true that like with all car hire companies a deposit is required. We allow this to be removed if you purchase our full cover but if you choose not to then a deposit is required to protect us in the event of any damages.

We do not have offices in Tenerife however so I can only assume you have made a mistake. Our offices are in Alicante and Mallorca only.

Best regards
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“bullies”

Written on: 31/01/2017

I booked a car for pick up at alicante airport. When I booked I also bought Platinum Car Hire excess Insurance from the broker. When I got to Drivalia I was told by the Representative that this insurance was "rubbish"and was Bullied into buying their own insurance at 198.05 euros. I was told that if I didn't take out their insurance they would take 1000 euros from my credit card and wouldn't get refunded for 50 days!If there was a mark or scratch on the car the MINIMUM cost would be 400 euros &… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 04/03/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry if you felt pressure, this certainly is not how we strive to achieve customer satisfaction. There is a fine line between explaining the contract and customer responsibility under the contract if they choose not to take full cover and of course applying undue pressure and if this fine line was crossed we apologise.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Great service”

Written on: 20/01/2017 by Kevej (1 review written)

Just come back from a 4 day trip to Benidorm and surrounding area with a car hired from Drivalia. Firstly I must say I purchased the ultimate insurance package that meant I did not to have to pay a deposit on my credit card that gave me peace of mind. We were met swiftly at Alicante airport and driven to the hire company site about 5 mins away a quick check of our drivers licence and passport and we were away. The full to full fuel agreement works so much better as it only cost us 25 euros… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to Kevej's Review

Written on: 26/01/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for the great review. We are delighted that everything was good for you and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Good hire but awful pressure sales office”

Written on: 17/01/2017 by RobbonDebs (2 reviews written)

A really good hire.. great value, quick pick-up (much faster than the airport desks) nice clean car.. but omg... the attitude when I didn't take out their extra insurance!! I was spoken down to very rudely, had lots of threatening and I'm sure inaccurate facts shouted across the office at me.. ie.. you will be liable upto £8000, every scratch will cost £400, we will not give any receipts so you can not claim back of your own policy. if you break down you will have to pay th4e towtruck... blah… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to RobbonDebs's Review

Written on: 26/01/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry if you felt pressure, this certainly is not how we strive to achieve customer satisfaction. There is a fine line between explaining the contract and customer responsibility under the contract if they choose not to take full cover and of course applying undue pressure and if this fine line was crossed we apologise.

We are pleased however that the rest of your experience was positive and we hope that we can look forward to welcoming you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Best car hire in Allicante”

Written on: 16/12/2016 by Stephenson267 (1 review written)

Came across them via a broker, but since have booked direct. Always first class service, no messing about and can bring back the car with a full tank.Pick up from airport is always prompt and staff always helpful. Wouldn't consider using anyone else… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 13/01/2017

Hola

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are pleased everything was good for you and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again soon.

All the best
The Drivalia Team

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview
Deals on Expedia