Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com Reviews

★★★★★
4.7 / 5
94% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Drivalia Car Rental - www.drivalia.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★☆

“Saved the day !!!”

Written on: 03/10/2012

We have used them before but last time when leaving to drive to the airport the car would not start !! We called and then somebody called us back ,they then send a car to come and pick us up,and we just made our flight ! So thanks Martin who saved the day. We have always found them to be helpful and polite… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

Thank you for your kind review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon and we're confident no future rescues will be needed.
But if the impossible happens we'll always do our best to be there for you!

KR

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“I always think the worst will happen.”

Written on: 27/09/2012

This was the first time we have ever hired a car anywhere. After eventually finding the shuttle bus for Drivalia we were whisked away to their compound. The driver was very helpful with our luggage and with advice on the directions for returning the car. When we arrived at the office the woman took my credit card details for the full tank of fuel which i knew about and then asked if i would like to take out the extra insurance for tyres and windscreen and wing mirrors. At first I thought this… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

Thank you for your excellent review of our service.

We do not include the extra insurance in our basic pricing because it is an optional item and I am sorry if this was not made clear to you by the broker.

You are correct in your assumption about the post-hire inspection. Given that you had taken out the extra coverage there was no need to inspect the vehicle since any damage would be covered by the policy and our staff always check the cars again thoroughly before the next rental. This saves our customers their valuable time.

With regard to fuel, we would like to mention that we have recently introduced a full/full option available on our website: pick the car up with a full tank of fuel and return it full.

Thank you for using Drivalia and thank you again for your review.

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“A fantastic experience.”

Written on: 26/09/2012

Arrived in Alicante some forty minutes late but having passed through baggage and security we took the lift down to the 2nd floor and our transfer bus was waiting for us. Arrived at the Drivalia compound having been advised by the driver of how to get to it when we returned the car. Reception staff were very polite and the paperwork was soon completed and within fifty five minutes from touching down we were on our way to our holiday destination. On our return we parked in the return area and… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

Thank you for your lovely review.

We always love to know when we've done things well!

At the same, we also like to know if (and what) we've done wrong so we can continue improving our service daily.

All comments and opinions are always welcome and highly appreciated and can be posted on Reviewcentre and/or sent to customer@drivalia.com

Thanks once again and KR from Spain,

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Wouldn't use again. ”

Written on: 16/09/2012

When we collected the car, the lady behind the desk was very polite and helpful. She advised to take their extra insurance out even though we already purchased it from the agent. After reading the reviews I'm glad I did!! When returning the car, the guy this time was very rude just demanded the keys and walked off with his little piece of paper. I had to go outside and find him to ask if we could get the shuttle and remind him we had extra insurance! He then dismissed us with a wave of his… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

Thank you for your review.

I will look into our return procedures and revise our staff's customer service, and surely amend where possible.

I am also sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with our vehicle, as we try our utmost to provide new cars with low mileage.

If you wish, I would be glad to look into this matter further, so if you could please send me an email to customer@drivalia.com with your rental details it would be a big help for us to improve.

We handle over 25.000 rentals a year from our Alicante Airport office and our goal is to achieve 100% level of satisfaction so your comments are highly appreciated.

Thank you once again for your time and please accept my appologies on behalf of our company for not meeting up to your expectations.

KR

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★☆☆

“Why are we paying for unused fuel”

Written on: 05/06/2012 by xeberdee (1 review written)

Having used car hire many,many times from Alicante airport I decided to give Drivalia a go. Overall it was a pleasant experience. The staff were very helpful and the courtesy bus was easy to find and very frequent. However, yet again as with all Spanish car hire companies, I was charged for a full tank of fuel and expected to bring it back empty. My experience is a weeks holiday will never use a full tank (approx 400 miles). This is such a money making exercise for the company. If Drivalia wish… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Skippy56's Response to xeberdee's Review

Written on: 06/06/2012

Hi xeberdee
I am a regular Drivalia customer because they do have a full-full fuel policy rate!
Check out their website: I think its called "standard rate".
They told me that unfortunately the full-empty rate is what the internet brokers demand because all of their competitors (Goldcar, Centauro even the likes of Hertz and Europcar) operate this way and thats why they can't refund for unused fuel.
Hope this helps!

Reply to this comment

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Response to xeberdee's Review

Written on: 11/10/2012

Dear Xeberdee

Thanks a million for your review.

I would just like to confirm what Skippy56 has mentioned. We do run a full to full fuel policy available on our website.

At the present 80% of our bookings are sold to Tour Operators or Internet brokers on a Full to Empty fuel policy rate, as this product is still highly demanded and offered by all of our competitors.

Please visit our website and if we can help you at all in the future with any queries don't hesitate in contacting us.

KR

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“The worst car hire company in the world”

Written on: 24/05/2012

We unfortunately hired a car from Drivalia on 12th May 2012. On 14th May 2012 while driving back to our apartment it expired. Fair enough these things happen. But when we called the company ~ 17:30hrs they were not interested. They could not bring a replacement until the breakdown had been verified by an engineer. An engineer might be available by ~21:00. We were 12km from our apartment with no knowledge of local public transport. A local resident directed us to a bus stop in time to catch a… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2012

"Thank you for your review.

In the unlikely event of mechanical or electrical breakdown, Drivalia will always send a road assistance tow truck (free of charge) to our customers regardless of whether or not they have taken our top-up insurance. If the vehicle can't be repaired on-site and needs to be taken to the nearest garage, the response time in issuing a new replacement vehicle will then depend on if there is top-up coverage or not, as towing and Taxi costs (for replacement vehicles) are not included in the basic rental rates. This should have been clearly stated upon vehicle collection.

Customers who take our top-up insurance (currently from E5 per day) are guaranteed an immediate (during opening hours) despatch of a replacement vehicle, when the first car can't be driven, without further inquiry.

Also, replacement cars are always available for immediate collection at our office (during opening hours) for those who do not take out the additional cover.

Where distance makes that impractical, as I suspect was the situation in your case, the matter becomes slightly more complicated. Since the costs of taxis and sending replacement vehicles on a tow truck are not included in the standard discounted hire rates, it is a common and necessary practice to make an assessment of each case before deciding the best course of action. This way we ensure a minimum additional cost, if any at all, to all those clients without the top-up coverage that don't can't come to the office to pick up the new vehicle.

I am sorry that you felt we were disinterested in your situation. That was certainly not the case as it is our utmost desire for ALL our clients to be completely sastisfied and, since we always aim to learn from our customers’ feedback, we have reviewed the way we communicate with our customers during such an incident. We understand this can be a stressful time and we aim to more clearly communicate our actions.

Many thanks again for your feedback.

Regards

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“TROUBLE FREE - DRIVALIA CAR HIRE”

Written on: 11/04/2012

I reserved with DoYouSpain as I normally do and this time I asked for an off-airport supplier at Alicante to avoid the long queues with the likes of Goldcar so we were allocated with Drivalia. After reading some of the previous reviews I was quite dissapointed with what I may find upon arrival. I will say that it looks like that people only write reviews to complain about things they may even have done! We arrived at the meeting point located at the main bus stop to find two, yes two, brand new… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Drivalia_Car_Rental's Comment

Written on: 11/10/2012

Thanks for your review

It's great to hear you enjoyed our service!

KR

Martin
Drivalia Car Rental

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Would not use again dont be fooled by the cheap price!!”

Written on: 10/11/2011

Firstly I dont want anybody else to go through what we did, its not nice! Being a very regular traveller and having hired cars many many times i am careful with which company i pick to hire from and have had no problems. . . . until i used Drivalia. The car they supplied us was nice, but You are charged 67.50 for a tank of fuel we returned the car with half a tank left and they refused to refund us for the unused fuel, which they will then charge the next people for a full tank, scam!! If you… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Adio's Comment

Written on: 22/07/2012

hi we have just had the same tyre experiance, a small nick out of the side of the tyre wall, unfortunatly we didn't think about looking at the tyres when we picked the car up, however i did not drive into any curbs or hit anything and am 100% confident this was not done whilst we had the car.
i would love to know the details of the car you had and the tyre with any pictures if you have them as i wouldn't mind betting the are the same!!
please contact me if you have any details that would help.

Reply to this comment

Fortunero's Comment

Written on: 13/08/2012

Same scam with us. We are very regular Car Hirers at Alicante and were disgusted with being conned out of 80euro for "a small nick in the side wall of the tyre". 100% sure I didn't cause it. Don't use this company and if you hired through a broker like DoYouSpain, let them know about your experience.

Reply to this comment

Adio's Comment

Written on: 22/07/2012

Hi we have just had the "tyre con" and it sounds exactly the same as yours, a small nick in the side wall of the tyre. I am 100% convinced that this was not done by us, we did not hit any curbs or drive into anything and parked carfully, we had only used 1/4 of the full tank that they sold us and had not done many miles.
thy are trying to charge us for the whole wheel!!!!
this is a rip off and they should be stopped!
I would love to know the details of your car and see any pictures of the damage if you can as i wouldn't mind betting this is the same car and tyre!
please contact me with any details you have.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware...too many extras”

Written on: 26/10/2011 by LauraTurner (1 review written)

Our arrival via shuttle bus was smooth and quick but when I came to pay, the initial estimate of 47.78 euros had exploded to 163 euros. They said that it included 79 euros of diesel, 36 euros of excess insurance inc tax. I was completely shocked, firstly I said I had excess insurance with Mondial which I had purchased with the rental with Argus Car Hire, but they said that they didn't accept that insurance and I had to take theirs. Furthermore I heard another customer say they didn't want to… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Tommye88's Response to LauraTurner's Review

Written on: 21/11/2011

this sounds very familiar and similiar to our experience, i would never use this company again!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Best car hire company we've tried so far!”

Written on: 18/07/2011 by Skippy56 (1 review written)

We hired a car a couple of weeks ago at Alicante airport and booked through Argus and were issued a voucher with Drivalia car rental. At first we were a bit concerned as we had never heard of Drivalia before and we have been to Spain at least 15 times in the last 10 years. When we arrived at the Airport we proceeded to the bus parking were they were waiting for us with their shuttle service. In less than 2 minutes we were at their office which was very new and spacious and just a stone throw… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Drivalia are a new company at Alicante Airport and our...”

Written on: 14/05/2011 by sea167 (1 review written)

Drivalia are a new company at Alicante Airport and our experience was excellent, stress free and no hassle. Although beware of the fuel policy, we used only a small amount of the fuel charged and although the terms stated "no refund", we persevered and got refund on unused fuel. There is an admin fee but still worth it for us.
If you book through comparison site, its not worth taking the excess insurance offered as Drivalia have excellent cover for the same price.
Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Guest's Response to sea167's Review

Written on: 17/06/2011

Hi,

I have just booked the same company, how far is it from Alicante airport?

Reply to this comment

Juleswaring91's reply to Guest's Comment

Written on: 14/10/2013

3 mins away but they are there to pick u up+take u straight there thats how good they are

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
overview
Deals on Expedia