Plates For Cars Reviews - www.platesforcars.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.7 / 5
44% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Plates For Cars - www.platesforcars.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Plates For Cars - www.platesforcars.co.uk

Plates For Cars - www.platesforcars.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★★★★

“Overall a very good product and service!”

written by DJmixing on 08/06/2013

Purchase a set of their gel resin plates with next day delivery, i actually ordered at 4pm and their cut of for next day delivery was 1pm, but they still dispatched the plates same day, received the next day at 8am, 16 hours from placing the order i had the plates!!! Very impressed they look fantastic on my bmw. Their website is easy to use, prices are very competitive, and the quality is by far the best i have seen. Would recommend.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant quality & excellent aftersales service, read...”

written by Brightspark3 on 07/06/2013

Ordered plates 2 years ago, arrived within a couple of days, excellent quality. Recently complained that the rear plate had developed a problem so I emailed a photo and they replaced it no bother even though it was "out of warranty" of 12 months. Would recommend them to anyone. You speak as you find, nice one.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE AVOID”

written by on 04/06/2013

I ordered a set of plates and they never turned up, Out of pocket for £30. Left messages with no return, I have now done a chargeback on my card.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Brightspark3's Comment

Written on: 28/06/2013

Not my experience, looks like a spoof from a rival company?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Very pleased”

written by RossAshley on 01/06/2013

I ordered two sets of gel plates for my CRX's with honda logos on them. After i ordered them i then read the reviews on here and got concerned. Its not for me to say that maybe competitors are spreading misinformatiion but i am totally pleased. Ordered them at midnight. Got a confirmation email straight away. Got another email eight hours later to say they were in the post. I paid for standard delivery and they arrived three days later. Well packaged. Each plate had a cover sheet and was individually wrapped in bubble wrap and the quality of the plates is perfect. So i would recommend them. I spent £105 in total on two sets of gel plates with logos and i got what i paid for. :)

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NO PLATES ARRIVED.”

written by on 26/05/2013

If you want number plates go to Halfords you know you are going to get them...i am £50 out of pocket great service.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful response time”

written by billywilgar on 05/05/2013

I paid for next day delivery and recieved my plates three days later, there is no contact phone number, and the e-mail responses are only sent out of normal working hours (I got a res[ponse at 11.17PM)!!

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Response to billywilgar's Review

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Wish I read these reviews before I ordered!”

written by Raju1110 on 25/04/2013

As the title suggests, I regret buying from these guys. I opted for 2nd class delivery as I wasn't going to be in all week, and came within 4 working days which is pretty good. However as soon as I opened them I knew something wasn't right, the yellow number plate is more orange and seems just like a sticker on some arcrylic, not really reflective and definitely poor quality. Hope all can read these reviews before wasting money on these things!

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Response to Raju1110's Review

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“rubbish”

written by on 25/03/2013

Plates didn't arrive E mails bounce back No telephone no to contact Agree with previous reviewers

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor quality cheap and nasty not what I expected at all”

written by on 21/02/2013

I wouldn't recommend Plates For Cars and now doubt whether buying plates on line is wise as there is no way of establishing what exactly is being supplied. Despite all the "positive feedback" on the website I could not be more disappointed in the quality of the plates. They are in my opinion cheap and nasty. The number is printed on a cheap piece of reflective sticker which is stuck to the backing plate. Had I known that this is what was on offer I would not have purchased them. Quality plates have a transparent front plate with the sticker on the rear which is better protected from the elements, road grime and the stress of washing. I have no doubt that both plates will useless in less than a year when the poorly trimmed overhanging edges and burrs start to peel inward and detaches itself from the backing plate. As such I will not be fitting them on my car.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Did exactly as on the tine”

written by Andrew_UK on 22/12/2012

I only started Googling reviews for Platesforcars after I'd placed my order and noticed there was no order confirmation given on the website. This immediately made me slightly nervous and once I read the reviews on this site, I started kicking myself for not reading reviews first and thought I'd completely made the wrong choice. But... I recived an order cponfirmation within 2 minutes showing my order number. I recieved an email early the next day saying they were preparing the plate... then another one early afternoon saying it was dispatched. Plates arrived tody (two days after placing the order) exactly as I expected and cannot fault the service given. I'm just knocking off one star because as others point out there is no landline number given (which can often be an alert for suspect websites).

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Poor Quality and Poor Service”

written by on 20/12/2012

I ordered a rear number plate with the guarantee the product would be of top quality, this is what their website leads you to believe. Paying nearly £30 for one number plate (that includes shipping) you would expect the product to be of top quality. However when the plate arrived a couple of days later the finish was not up to the standard I would expect for a plate costing as much. There are visible scratches and scuffing on the front surface of the plate, some are obviously behind the top layer as the black lettering is showing yellow through the scratches in a couple of small places. Otherwise the quality is acceptable but I've had better plates from other websites for less than half the price that are finished to a higher standard. To be fair when I emailed I was offered a refund but not a replacement plate to the correct quality, which is what I wanted. My emails were replied to within the 24 hour deadline they advise even if I didn't get the response I was expecting. The platesforcars.co.uk website is easy to use and if the quality of their plates was any good I would happily use them again. However when you pay top dollar you expect top quality and at least a product which is 'as described'. The product I received was not a quality product and you can get a better finished plate for less than half the price I paid elsewhere. For this reason I can't recommend.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“rats!!!!!!!!”

written by on 04/11/2012

DO NOT BUY FROM THESE PEOPLE AS THE PLATES NEVER ARRIVE

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“A simple job, done right. ”

written by on 12/10/2012

I've seen a few bad reviews here but I must say, my experience has been completely uneventful. I ordered them, paid and then they arrived exactly as promised. I almost have nothing to say because is was just a simple transaction.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mamtool's Comment

Written on: 07/11/2012

I agree, i think people only write reviews when they are unhappy, its nice to see someone else with a positive experience.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“No phone number - steer clear”

written by SRB123 on 11/10/2012

It seems that if you get good plate from these guys then all is well, however, run into a problem and your stuffed, it seems... and there is no phone number to call this company on either. Mine arrived damaged in the post, which of course is not their fault, and they did offer to send a replacement. However, the quality is quite poor with sharp burrs around the edges, revealing the black plastic backing and thin laminate layer. These do not look like they will last very long at all. Furthermore the 3D effect numbers were badly printed and the rear plate numbers showed the yellow through the grey part and totally spoiling the 3D effect. They refused a refund, but then I asked about an upgrade to gel plates, which they quoted me for £15/plate. Wow, I could have had these made from real carbon fibre at this price. Anyway not wanting to throw away the £30 I already spent I agreed to one rear plate. They asked me how I wanted to pay, so I thought paypal would be easiest. No, have to pay by card. Ok, so no tel number, how do I pay you? Oh, you have to do it on our website. Ok, so so how to I do that as it only lets me buy at full amount? No answer. Nudge. No answer. Steer clear unless you really fancy wasting hours of your time.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Response to SRB123's Review

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service!”

written by on 08/08/2012

I placed an order and paid for first class delivery. One week later I did not receive the product even though I had paid for the product and first class postage. When I complainted they refused to reimburse me. They are not a reliable company, I would never use them again or recommend them to a friend. In the end I was out of pocket but I did report them to trading standards and waiting to hear.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“I mistakenly ordered two sets of plates. From these...”

written by eltel62 on 24/07/2012

I mistakenly ordered two sets of plates. From these cowboys. Tried to cancel soon as I saw my mistake. They would not let me as they said they had already ordered the material. I cancelled as soon as I saw the invoice which was a matter of hours

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Response to eltel62's Review

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“ DONT USE THEM! - Problem acknowledged - replacement...”

written by R.Ray on 13/06/2012

I received poorly finished number plates, emailed PFC and received a reply 4 days later acknowledging one of my issues but denying the other. There was no offer of a replacement or reimbursement. When I pursued this I was told if I sent them back at my own expense (they are based in Dublin not UK) they would refund me the cost of the plates only (£23) but not the £10 I paid for delivery or any return postage costs. Their response was at times a little rude and at all points like beating your head against a wall, which is the last thing you want from an online company. I contacted Trading Standards and they confirmed that if the goods were not finished properly and not fit for purpose then they should either be replaced or all money returned - neither of which were offered to me. After exchanging a daft number of emails with someone there and getting no further I decided that I had to write a review of this poor service to warn others off. I only used this company because I was keen to make sure I got the plates made properly - having used halfords previously I found the staff inexperienced with their equipment and the plates had air bubbles and were misalligned. Having read their boastful guarantee I thought I'd be ok with these guys - I wasn't. Copy of my concerns and their quality teams response below:- MY INITIAL EMAIL - Hi I just received the new plates in the post and have a couple of concerns about the finish. Please see the attached image. Concern 1 - the blue of the Euro GB badge on both plates looks like its been "coloured in with felt". Appreciate this isn't the case but the finish is poor. Let me know if you need further images. [I cant attach an image here otherwise I would - it really looked like someone had used felt tip pen, was not the standard Euro badge blue and the blue background was not reflective as it should have been] Concern 2 - On the back plate the stickers are not positioned properly and there is an overlap which shows. A lesser issue is that the border does not look silver and is a different colour on both which had I known I would have opted for a darker border like the dark grey or black so the colour was distinct and consistent. For what its worth, I chose to use you guys because I've tried halfords and others before and was not happy with their product. I felt yours should be better given your guarantee. What is your process for replacing? Thanks THE RESPONSE RECEIVED AFTER 4 DAYS- Basically the front plate is fine, the colours are not meant to be looked atfrom a close, they are designed to be looked at from a distance as platesare designed for this purpose. The rear plate, does have a fault in that the vinyl which we apply to therear, which stops the blue looking dull due to the yellow reflective, hasnot been applied correctly, ie not inline. This then has gone over the border showing the silver up on the border. With regards to the border not looking silver, on the rear unfortunatelythis is due to the yellow reflective as there isnt much we can do aboutthis, but on the front we can confirm it is correct and silver as per oursite.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Response to R.Ray's Review

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Faulty plate”

written by AndyJ13 on 28/10/2011

I have used Plates for Cars now on several occassions. In June 2011 I purchased some plates for my wifes car, they arrived next day put them on and one happy wife. Unfortunately 4 months down the line and the rear plate started to delaminate so I got in touch with their sales team and the next day I had a replacement F.O.C. That is service. This is a company I can highly recommend. Andy J

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not deal with platesforcars.co.uk.”

written by on 11/10/2011

I scouted the net and decided to go with plaresforcars.co.uk after reading all about how the best quality in the UK, not cheep, but how cheep means poor quality. They advertise that they are acrylic / reflestive. Well when I received my plates I was extremely disappointed. The quality was not what I expected. Very thin,pressed edges,not smooth,rough and sharp. They came all smeared with no protive cover that you peel of just before fitting. I have bought number plates over a number of years and can honestly say that these are the worst quality I have ever purchased and not up to the standard I expected after reading their advert. I sent them an E Mail and explained that I was not happy with them. They just said return them and that they would refund me. Which I have done this morning. Hint:- The moral of this is not to belive everything you read.

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ratbag32X's Comment

Written on: 01/01/2014

This company's warranty & guarantee are worthless and I suggest you avoid them.
Any company that claims a jiffy bag and a sheet of plastic constitutes a safe and secure delivery, is not providing a proper service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Top class product and plates! I have ordered plates...”

written by on 11/04/2011

Top class product and plates! I have ordered plates online for 5 years + and i have not received better quality and better service. Im one very happy customer! Mike

Click here to buy Car & Motorbike Accessories on Amaon
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview
Buy Products