Boreham House - Chelmsford Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
30% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Location

  • Venue

  • Food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Boreham House - Chelmsford - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Boreham House - Chelmsford

Boreham House - Chelmsford

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Lovely Venue. Awful venue. Say bye bye to your deposit.”

Written on: 29/11/2013

We recently attended the venue for a wedding and were unfortunate enough to meet the owner. She is awful and probably the worst people I have ever met. On looking at the various negative reviews they appear to keep your deposit without explanation and view this as a profit making opportunity. Due to there dishonest nature and awful manner I would urge you to consider looking at a different venue on moral grounds… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Boreham's Comment

Written on: 20/01/2015

I dont want to go into too much detail on a public site but this person did something that we were not happy with and unfortunately decided to slander us the bride & groom of this day were more than happy as you will see from another review. Unfortunately when you do not let people do what they want they can go onto review sites and say exactly what they want damaging an amazing venue.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“The best wedding day ever”

Written on: 22/08/2013

We got married at Boreham house three weeks ago it was absolutely amazing everything was perfect. The advisor was so helpful and attentive from the beginning to th end. The build up to our wedding was so special so many events that we were invited to all free. We felt like we were a part of the family. The food the service everything was amazing. Anyone wanting something special look no further. I have withdrawal symptoms it was so much fun. Thankyou Thierry, Abby and all if you need anyone to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“The best day of my life”

Written on: 20/06/2013 by Michellerea (1 review written)

What can I say we were looked after from the minute we walked through the door until the minute we left. She was amazing spent hours working with me to make my dream come true. The build up was so special attending all of the extra events that were put on . The food was to die for and the service was second to none. I am now missing all of the team at Boreham and am hoping to catch up for a wine and photo evening. Thank you Boreham you are simply the best… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“unaccommodating”

Written on: 06/05/2013

The setting of Boreham House is beautiful but the owner is not the friendliest person you'll ever meet. I felt uneasy about asking questions or raising issues because of the way they responded. Not the best experience. On the plus side the maitre d' and his team were lovely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Vaulty1's Comment

Written on: 20/06/2013

This wedding was not organised by us it was a dry hire and therefore the caterers were responsible for all of the dealings with the Client we only hired them the space we have addressed this with them and hopefully they now understand how this work.
I do have to say that the Manager on Duty was a member of our staff and thankfully there were great comments about him.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mumsy84's Comment

Written on: 24/06/2013

You did indeed organise my daughters wedding last year... I found Teresa Ward to be extremely rude and abrasive. Your office staff gave us conflicting information about certain aspects of the wedding. I was concerned about raising my concerns as i was worried it might impact on the wedding day. What a shame you made me feel like that when organising my only daughters wedding day.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Great venue, terrible service”

Written on: 11/06/2012 by J11911A (1 review written)

We had a wonderful wedding here, everything went well, the venue complimented the day perfectly. However, nine months down the line, we are yet to see a penny of our deposit returned (dry hire) and are having to go through the courts to get this back. It has soured the memory somewhat… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Romawils's Response to J11911A's Review

Written on: 19/03/2013

This is the same review as before the only reason deposits are not returned is if damage is caused and in this case it was

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

J11911A's reply to Romawils's Comment

Written on: 20/03/2013

Just to correct you, and for the benefit for future visitors, it's not the same review as before.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“I recently had my wedding here and it was a dream come...”

Written on: 07/04/2011

I recently had my wedding here and it was a dream come true. The moment we saw Boreham House we knew this is where we wanted out wedding to take place. From the start all the staff have been so helpfull answering any questions i had within an hour! Teresa the owner helped plan our day, its so nice to be able to speak with owner and get her views and opinions, she came up with some great ideas for our wedding! i really couldnt thank her enough. All the admin team were so helpfull.
The food was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I had my indian wedding here over a year ago and am...”

Written on: 06/01/2011 by ssingh79 (1 review written)

I had my indian wedding here over a year ago and am still waiting for my deposit to be returned. Have called and e-mailed numerous times with no response from Teresa, which I have been promised numerous times by Claire, Linda, Natalie and Abbey. I'm having to go through the small claims court to get it back (I wasn't notified of any damage, so return should be simple). Also during preparations we were misinformed multiple times about where we could have the indian ceremony, within the house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Romawils's Response to ssingh79's Review

Written on: 19/03/2013

Just to let you know that this was a complete dry hire a hire of the space only and unfortunately we had several problems at this wedding. We were not co-ordinating this wedding and the reason the deposit was not returned was because there was malicious damage this had never happened before remember there are always two sides to a story

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ssingh79's reply to Romawils's Comment

Written on: 20/03/2013

It is true it was a dry hire. However, in all the correspondence from that time, which I still have, there was no mention of damage (malicious or otherwise). I can only therefore presume that this is untrue. Surely if there was any damage I would have been notified and told about the reduced sum I would receive from the deposit.

In truth I received the full deposit plus interest, after claiming in the small claims court. I'm sure this would not have been the case, had there been any true damage.

I can understand you are trying to negate any negative PR, however it seems ridiculous to do this by fabricating damage that was never done,

I would be interested in any correspondence that you have from the time that mentions it, because as I said I don't have any that even mentions it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
overview