Apple iPad Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Apple iPad
★★★★☆
3.9
75.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality

  • Value For Money

Summary

Unless you've been living under a rock for the past year, you'll be well aware of Apple's tablet, the iPad. Dubbed the next generation device, it is hoped that it will plug the gap between small laptops and Smartphone mobiles.

At first glance, the iPad looks like everything that was predicted. Its touch screen looks like a bigger and squarer version of the iTouch and iPhone. It features multi-touch interaction with print, video, photo, and audio multimedia, internet browsing, and runs most iPhone OS apps.

The device has a backlit LCD colour display and uses a virtual keyboard for text input! The iPad has a Wi-Fi connection to the internet, or you can download video, music, books and newspapers while on the go whilst connected to the web via 3G.

Do you own an iPad, or will you be queuing up to get your hands on the latest iPad 2? If yes, come back to Review Centre and be the first to leave a review and tell us what you think of this popular gadget.


? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Apple iPad - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Apple iPad

Specification for Apple iPad

- Apple’s own 1 GHz Apple A4 chip
- 16 – 64 GB of Flash storage
- Bluetooth 2.1
- 802.11n
- 10 hours of battery life
- Speaker, microphone and 30-pin connector
- Fully multi-touch
- 9.7 inch IPS LED backlit LCD
- Half an inch thick
- Accelerometer and Compass
- 3G UMTS/HSPDA and GSM/EDGE data (optional)
- Assisted GPS and Digital Compass (3G version only)
- 3.5mm headphone jack
- VGA out support or AV out via dock connector and converter cable

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

“we bought my ipad for my business it is ideal for...”

★★★★★

written by markypoos on 30/01/2011

we bought my ipad for my business it is ideal for taking orders on-site and showing my customers photos it is now also used by all the family even my 5 year old loves it there are so many free aps on-line there really is something for everybody and the battery life is brilliant.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Life changing device. How did I get through life...”

★★★★★

written by FrancoisR on 29/01/2011

Life changing device. How did I get through life without it.

I hope the new version doesn't come out soon though because I can't afford to buy two of these ever year!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The iPad is changing the way we access information. ...”

★★★★★

written by amber347 on 09/01/2011

The iPad is changing the way we access information. However, for reading, I still like my Kindle from Amazon. The Kindle is smaller, lighter, and the screen is better for reading. I was unsure whether I should buy a Kindle for a long time but after I read this report: ebookreaderreport.net

I decided to buy a Kindle in addition to my iPad. The report give some strong points against the Kindle but overall I felt the Kindle was the best ereader for me but the same may not hold true for you. You will have to read the report to find out why.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As an android user I wasn't sure whether to go the...”

★★★★★

written by samspade79 on 04/01/2011

As an android user I wasn't sure whether to go the iPad or Galaxy Tab route but ultimately decided on the iPad due to the fact it has been out longer and has more apps available.

I was a little hestitant about the screen size and whether it would be too big for me on the train (which was its intended use) but its just right for me (A large man with big hands). I think thought that if you are a smaller person then a smaller device might be more comfortable if you are aiming to use this for commuting.

There are apps available for everything and am very happy with the range and price and the screen is fantastic. Another thing which pleased me is the long battery life, I can use this a whole week commuting without needing a recharge (obviously wouldn't last that long if you used it at home a lot too).

Overview I can see why Apple are selling so many, the only slight downside overall is the expensive price.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bought in place of laptop. Great for web browsing and...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 01/01/2011

Bought in place of laptop. Great for web browsing and e-mall but why no ADOBE FLASH PLAYER Access? This is a big letdown as places tight limit on web use, games etc.
Come on Apple! Surely some arrangement could be made to access this ap
I suggest laptop first with I-pad used as extension of this as good handbag size.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Conclusion: It's a "cool" gadget that everyone wants,...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 05/12/2010

Conclusion: It's a "cool" gadget that everyone wants, but nobody needs.

I have the IPAD 20 days and have come to the conclusion that it is a real cool gadget with an impressing user interface, the typical excellent Apple build quality, its fast, and excellent battery life. But unfortunately there it stops.

There is a lot not so good with this device. First, there is no "adobe flash" support. This is probably its biggest and most serious flaw; many internet sites do not work well and that is really annoying. All the time I have to get the netbook out of the dust to access sites that requires flash. The other is that the typical applications are very "shallow"; it does not look or feel very sophisticated. Its just like a very big iphone; limited application power. The other is that the WiFi is not sensitive for signals like other WiFi devices. Many times, my net book picks up a good signal, and the IPAD does not find one at all. And I just break my head on it what the Apple folks where thinking not putting a webcam in the IPAD!

Do not get me wrong, I like the IPAD for its super interface, but coming to terms with the initial great blindness caused by the IPAD, there is also a lot of disappointment. I should have bought the Android device and do not have the annoying limitations set upon me by Apple; There are just too many limitations in the use of the IPAD.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I borrowed an Ipad for 30 days and tried to keep an...”

★★★☆☆

written by reviewkitten on 30/11/2010

I borrowed an Ipad for 30 days and tried to keep an open mind as I'm not an Apple fanboy. My first thoughts on handling it, pretty and pretty heavy! I wasn't sure what to use it for and had a play on a couple of apps, Beatbox and Angry Birds Lite. I quickly became addicted to playing Angry Birds but could find no other reason to use the iPad once I had three starred the levels.

The iPad looks very nice and feels lovely with a sensitive and intuitive touchscreen but past that it felt redundant to me. I use my phone generally to look up stuff quickly and prefer my PC to do serious browsing. To me the iPad is nothing but a very expensive Angry Bird machine. Many of the apps I tried out felt soo gimmicky and very quickly tiresome. Unless you really have a gap in your technical needs or have some money to flash about I wouldn't worry too much about buying one. Stick with your iPhone, at least you can pop it in your pocket or handbag when you don't want to use it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Coold gadget to own. Although I feel the only thing...”

★★★★★

written by anuptn on 30/11/2010

Coold gadget to own. Although I feel the only thing that Apple should have taken care is the weight of the device. Its pretty heavy to use as a e-reader for long time.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I purchased an Apple 36gb wi fi Ipad from the Apple...”

★★★☆☆

written by Lcornwell on 09/11/2010

I purchased an Apple 36gb wi fi Ipad from the Apple Store, Lakeside Shopping Center on 3rd November 2010. Staff at the Apple Store were very pleasant and offered to set up tunes and my email on my Ipad before I left the store. This is something I would recommend if you do not own another PC as the Ipad has to be registered like any iphone. I did decline this service but thinking about it, I should of taken it up as it would of been easier.

The Ipad is a nice size, height 9.56 inches by width 7.47 inches. The Ipad is not thick at a depth of 0.5 inches. It weighs 1.5 pounds for the wi fi model and 1.6 for the 3g model. The Ipad looks like a giant iphone!

It didn't take me long to set up and register my Ipad and download all my itunes. Setting up for it to connect to your wi fi is very easy.

The ipad's plus points are:

Its not too big
Not heavy
You can download apps from itunes to it
Very good for playing music videos from itunes

Minus points

Being a tablet PC it's flat so it might drive you nuts holding the Ipad at an angle so you can view the screen easier. You can buy a case which allows the Ipad to be set an angle but I didn't find it very stable and the edges of it rubbed against your hands.

The wi fi keeps dropping out (loosing its signal strength). It would suddenly drop from a full signal to just one bar on the wi fi status bar. I would then have to turn the wi fi off and then on again and it would go back up to a full signal. I repeated this process probably 7 -8 times in an evening, which was really annoying. I looked on the internet about the ipad's wi fi dropping out and there are pages and pages of people saying that the same thing has happened to them. One of them said that if you adjust the brightness of the screen it makes the wi fi signal stronger (there is a video of this on you-tube) Another person said that if your wi fi is set to WEP and not WPA or WPA2 the Ipad won't like it and the signal will drop. My wi fi is set to WPA2 so there shouldn't be a problem, and I have an iphone and my partner does and they never have trouble with the signal. I looked on the Apple site to see if they are preparing a fix or update on the wi fi signal dropping out and they are but didn't say when. Apple therefore know there is a problem.

I returned my Ipad because I couldn't put up with the wi fi dropping out and there was no hint of a solution :(

The staff in the Apple Store were very pleasant and refunded my money straight away. I think Apple have a 14 day period after purchase where you can take items back for a refund if they are not faulty.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I haven't bought it yet but i don't know however...”

★★★★★

written by surayna on 08/11/2010

I haven't bought it yet but i don't know however everybody is saying that it is completly useless but when i actually used it in store i thought it was an outstanding tablet it is small,light and great web surfing.I would reccomend it to people which have a few little brothers and sisters they would be able to see the film your watching or something.I would even reccomend it to people which are going abroad.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Its is a fantastic device although it dosent have the...”

★★★★☆

written by dansgas1000 on 04/11/2010

Its is a fantastic device although it dosent have the features what it has in an ipod touch 4g and iphone 4. I would still recommend to a friend, because it is a very good device.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I've got Apple iPad 32G as a gift. ”

★★★★☆

written by photoman on 08/10/2010

I've got Apple iPad 32G as a gift.
It is light weight, feels very well made and the design is very nice.

Battery life is great, it lasts about 10 hours of internet surfing, including movies watching in youtube.
Very user friendly interface and outstanding touch screen which is automatically adjusts brightness according to light conditions. The size of the touch screen is exactly what I need, smaller 7" screens strain my eyes.

Currently I have operating system version 3.2.2 and waiting for a new version that shall be released in November. New version shall have very good features, like printing and folders support along with multi tasking - these things are really missing for me in the current version.

Safari browser is nice, but it crushes sometimes and if I open few memory consuming pages it "forgets" inactive pages which are reloaded when I switch back. If you have open unsaved WEB mail letter it may be a trouble.
I think if it had twice more RAM, it would solve this issue.

Wireless LAN works great, but on a long distance from the access point, when the signal is weak, the performance isn't great comparing with my laptop.

iPad is not for a heavy browsing or intensive work, but provides very good portability and connectivity in a small sized device with very long battery life and an amaizing quality screen. In my country, iPad is quite expensive, and costs between 3000~4000 NIS, it is the price of a portable computer which has much shorter battery life and much heavier.
Overall, really a great gadget.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I'm no Apple fanboy (read my other review on the HTC...”

★★★★☆

written by londonguy78 on 30/09/2010

I'm no Apple fanboy (read my other review on the HTC desire), but I have to admit I love my ipad. I basically never use my laptop any more (goodby poor battery life and getting hot after 5 minutes), as all I ever did was really browse the web and maybe remote-desktop to other pc's and send email, all of which can be done by the ipad (admittedly you have to buy an app for RDP, but its only a fiver or so).

The touch screen really responsive, and the safari browser is super quick and slick. There's some great apps if you have the money, although most are pretty cheap, and I love the fact they brought monkey island back as an ipad game. The only problem is believe it or not with all of the hype about apple rejecting this and that is some of the apps don't seem to work, and you've no chance of a refund if that's the case, which is quite annoying if rare.

Overall a great product, although i'm sure i'll be annoyed when the innevitable upgrade comes out!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“ ”

★★★★★

written by on 26/09/2010


This is an absolutely, amazing, outstanding piece of technology, I am going to recommend it to all friends and family, I sit here while I am using it and just think, How???
If any of you have bought this and seriously not happy with it, then no piece of technology will ever make you happy.
Ok, there are minor complaints, but nothing to moan about, great work Apple, mind blowing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“So, what is the fuss all about? The iPad essentially...”

★★★★★

written by themaninthevan2001 on 20/09/2010

So, what is the fuss all about? The iPad essentially revolutionises the concept of a tablet computer. Previously tablet devices addressed a legitimate consumer need (casual, lazy, couch-bound computing), but left most people frustrated with a stylus-driven handwriting recognition system and an operating system that was really designed to be used on a desktop PC.

While it's not the perfect implementation of a tablet computer, the iPad is quite simply the best yet. The use of the iPhone OS and its clever data-entry scheme - virtual keyboard, multitouch gestures and all - turns the iPad into an immeasurably more usable device than any Windows-based tablet PC we've seen.



The iPad has finally landed in the UK couple Months ago. The launch was put back while Apple scrambled to manufacture enough units to satisfy US orders.

This has all been down to unprecedented UK demand - clearly anybody who thought the iPad's hefty UK price tag meant it was going to fail on these shores has already been proved wrong.

The Wi-Fi-only iPad starts out at £429 for the 16GB version, then goes up to £499 for the 32GB and £599 for the 64GB. You can add another £100 onto the price for the 3G model, but here we're looking at the 32GB Wi-Fi version. If you want to consider the 3G model, check out our iPad 3G review






If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I have bought an ipad apparently, I have a bar coded...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 20/09/2010

I have bought an ipad apparently, I have a bar coded receipt and everything! I have been trying to find some way of contacting some sort of customer service or chat or anything really to let them know that some poor sod thousands of miles away has paid out hundreds of pounds on an ipad and other stuff and has no receipt. If I lived nearer I could go and pick it up for him!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Before you buy an ipad or anything from apple try contacting someone, anyone, just imagaine you have some major problem like your goods have arrived in a thousand pieces. If you get to speak to someone, real or virtual, congratulations. IF you don't then is this really a company you want to hand over hundreds of pounds of your hard earned cash to?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dansgas1000's Comment

Written on: 04/11/2010

I found this review not helpful because... it didint say anything about the actual product

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Flake99Please's Comment

Written on: 29/12/2010

I found this review not helpful because... accessing customer support is very simple as the details come with the product. Can also be found using something that perhaps the reviewer hasn't heard of.... A Google search!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alweb's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2010

I found this review not helpful because...The reviewer hasn't bought or apparently used an iPad.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 3

“This is a sleek piece of kit but don't confuse it with...”

★★★☆☆

written by on 20/09/2010

This is a sleek piece of kit but don't confuse it with a Tablet PC. If you have a laptop and a iPhone then this is for you for a bit of luxury in mobile computing for example checking email, interneting, bit of gaming but thats about it. It is an overgrown iPod Touch and incompatible with anything other than an Apple device. I would recommend the bigger hard drive. The bluetooth is only for keyboard and headphone connection. Also you won't be able to print from it, Apple say there is an App for that but I couldn't find it. Also there is no webcam.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Well i bought this tablet pc iPad a couple of weeks ago, ”

★★★☆☆

written by mbimad1011 on 12/09/2010

Well i bought this tablet pc iPad a couple of weeks ago,
I like the touchscreen,but looking at it too long hurts my eyes.
I think on this basis it is good as a tablet pc ,but not as an ereader.
has anyone else had problems with wifi stability??
Build quality seems good,but i think maybe it is not good value for money really.
So if u want a tablet pc and have money to burn-then get one.
If u want an ereader-dont

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 1

“This is the coolect gadget since the iPhone - I had...”

★★★★★

written by MummyG on 09/09/2010

This is the coolect gadget since the iPhone - I had one delivered last week and it's a mervallous tool, the huge range of free apps and simplicity to use, I can't fault this in any way except perhaps the battery life (but you can't have everything)

The wi-fi package and use is smooth and funtionality is outstanding. I spend every evening on Facebook, YouTube and on the apps that I downloaded.

Everyone should have one in their life!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I really like the Apple Ipad. ”

★★★★☆

written by glenc on 02/08/2010

I really like the Apple Ipad.

Its very small, light and portable and yet the functionality and power of it is fantastic.

The interface is so intuitive that my 2 year old was able to switch it on, find her favourite app and happily play with it on her own after only been shown how to do it twice. That's pretty good.

As its essentially a large iPhone there are already loads of apps available (although ones specifically written for the iPad are better, you can still use the iPhone apps on it).

I think the cost is too high, which is why I marked it down by 1 star, but apart from that its a fantastic piece of kit.

I do question though where it fits in - I use it when the screen on my phone is a little too small to get the info Im after and I can't be bothered powering up / lugging over my laptop. However, I'm not sure this is a large enough gap in my technology portfolio to really justify the very high costs of the Ipad. If it were more in the £200-£300 price bracket it would, but at the current prices it seems like a very, very expensive toy.

That said, its a great toy, so for that Apple should be commended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Christine777's Response to glenc's Review

Written on: 07/09/2010

I found this review very helpful because I am toying with the idea of purchasing an ipad but was not really sure if I really would use it, so many thanks for your frank review

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview