GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
5% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“complete rip off!!!”

Written on: 01/09/2017 by jimbo6999999 (1 review written)

Useless customer service and hidden rip off charges! I advise people never to use this company and will certainly not be recommending this company to anyone else!!!!!… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear customer,

We’re very surprised with your comment. Our staff is trained to offer an efficient, personalized, satisfactory and polite customer's attention. Furthermore, we have one of the youngest and most extensive fleets in Europe with over 50,000 vehicles which, on average, are less than one year old.

On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar are simply dishonest thieves”

Written on: 01/09/2017 by jduthie (1 review written)

Returned the car and it was given the all clear. Returned home the following day and received an e mail alleging damage to the car, and charging me 250 euros. No time or date on the obviously generic photograph. Customer services are a non existent joke. Avoid at all costs, don't take my word for it, just google it(wish I had before I booked with them… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain our clients have two options of coverage. Both appear clearly detailed during the booking process, in FAQ section of our website and in Terms and Conditions of the contract you accepted.

First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Outrageous practices of hiding fees”

Written on: 31/08/2017

Goldcar prices may be attractive, but beware of hidden fees! None of them have been explained to my at the desk (I'm sure it's in the fine prints though) If you don't take the insurance to cover damages to the car, say, because you've already got such insurance, then they charge (take the money out of) your credit card. This is fine in principle, but if the currency isn't the same, you're being charged by your bank (~50 euros). No other rental car companies I've used do this. The "service" to… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Regarding the charge for "refuelling", this is the Flex-fuel fee. In the first place, you can choose Flex Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for a full fuel tank the day you pick the car up, and when you return it, the amount of used fuel will be charged by Goldcar and your deposit will be refunded. This rate has management costs due to several advantages attached to the own service, and they are specified on our website.

On the other hand, you also can choose Full Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for full tank, receive the car full of fuel and you have to return the same way, with the full tank. If the fuel tank is not full, the amount of missing liters will be deducted from money you initially left as a deposit.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Inefficient and dishonest”

Written on: 31/08/2017 by Reynaldo490 (1 review written)

Long way from the airport, very slow and poor shuttle. Push their own insurance very hard and then try to claim damages from a credit card deposit when there was no damage… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note we are trying to solve the waiting time issue by opening auxiliary offices. We are also doing daily schedules to serve our customers in the fastest possible way depending on the number of bookings at every moment of the day. Also, please note that a Priority Check-in service is available for a reasonable extra fee.

Please let us also explain our clients have two options of coverage. Both appear clearly detailed during the booking process, in FAQ section of our website and in Terms and Conditions of the contract you accepted.

First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking experience never to be repeated”

Written on: 30/08/2017 by McWilliams476 (1 review written)

The car was great, the quoted price was good and competitive. The woman who served me at Faro airport was horrendous. She was rude, rolling her eyes at me, refusing to serve me unless I bought additional insurance and paid 100's of additional euros unless I purchased fuel, paid taxes, additional insurance, prepaid tolls, extra cost for airport pick up and more. I am skilled at working with challenging people in high pressure situations and it took all my assertiveness, patience, reasoning… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

We’re very surprised with your comment. Our staff is trained to offer an efficient, personalized, satisfactory and polite customer's attention. Furthermore, we have one of the youngest and most extensive fleets in Europe with over 50,000 vehicles which, on average, are less than one year old.

On the issue you described, please let us explain we're surprised that you had a bad experience when you collected your vehicle. Our colleagues should remain courteous and respectful at all times. Customer feedback is a key part of our staff appraisal process so your comments are important and will be taken into account. We invest continuously in training so that our colleagues understand and adhere to our standards and guidelines for Customer Services.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Freud”

Written on: 30/08/2017 by Holmesha355 (1 review written)

We have been cheated by Goldcar reservation at the airport Alicante Spain! He put me as an additional driver and charged us 80 euro. I would never drive in Spain! He told us this was the contrakt we signed. When we told him we have a full covered Insurance. He told us we do not. He tried to cheat us. Twice!! But he stoled 80 euro from us. I have friends working in Swedish media and I will surely give them this stuff fora FrontPage in the Swedish news paper. " Do not ever rent from Goldcar -… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 12/09/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.

Please let us also explain our clients have two options of coverage. Both appear clearly detailed during the booking process, in FAQ section of our website and in Terms and Conditions of the contract you accepted.

First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dishonest ”

Written on: 26/08/2017 by philhawthorn (1 review written)

Don't touch them, if something looks to good to be true, it generally is. They charged me extra for a fuel deal (which they explained very badly) whereby I apparently wouldn't have to return the tank full. It sounded dodgy to me, so I filled the tank up anyway and then they charged me again for fuel. I'll be going with the more reputable firms in future… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, , please let us explain that fuel policy is clearly indicated on our website.

In the first place, you can choose Flex Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for a full fuel tank the day you pick the car up, and when you return it, the amount of used fuel will be charged by Goldcar and your deposit will be refunded. This rate has management costs due to several advantages attached to the own service, and they are specified on our website, in the SDR section.

On the other hand, you also can choose Full Fuel system, with which you leave a deposit for full tank, receive the car full of fuel and you have to return the same way, with the full tank. If the fuel tank is not full, the amount of missing liters will be deducted from money you initially left as a deposit. You can check this information by visiting our FAQs website.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment

Seang79's reply to Goldcarrental's Comment

Written on: 13/09/2017

This is incorrect! At the rental desk, I specifically requested a full to full fuel option and was categorically told that this was not possible but that I would be refunded for any unused fuel.

I returned the vehicle fully fuelled and low and behold your company charged me over €50 euros for fuel, to fill a tank that was brim full!

Regarding additional insurance, at the desk, I was told that I had to prove I had 100% insurance or take the Goldcar insurance, which was €220 for a rental that I only paid £60 for! I was told I could go elsewhere, but the hire had already been prepaid!!

Regards

Reply to this comment

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 26/09/2017

Dear customer,
For future bookings, during booking process (not at vehicle collection/desk, as this is chosen when making your booking), we also offer the option to choose a Full/Full fuel policy: you collect your vehicle with full fuel tank and return it the same way. This fuel rate has no additional charges, other than the deposit you leave for full fuel tank, refunded if you return the vehicle with 8/8 of fuel tank. If you fail to do so, a 50,00€ penalty fee will be charged as well as the remaining amount, in litres, needed to refill the vehicle's fuel tank. However these cannot be changed at the desk as this is chosen when booking (it's the rate you choose).

Regarding the additional cover, after reading your comment we understand that you booked a third party's coverage.
Therefore, we'd like to explain you how our coverage policy works. We always make the customer choose from two different options: you can purchase our additional coverage or you can leave a deposit in which you'll be liable of any damage made to the car, as our agent explained you at the counter.

We are aware that third parties offer customers their own coverage, as in your case, but it should be explained that this coverage is only applied when a charge is debited from the deposit left by the customer to the rent-a-car company, this is how the third party's coverage policy works. This information must be given by your broker.

We always recommend our additional coverage to customers for their peace of mind because thanks to it, they will be fully protected in case of an accident and we won't be liable if any damage is made to the car.

Regarding you returning the vehicle with a full fuel tank, please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★☆☆☆☆

“LOTS OF HIDDEN COST, LIMITED MILE, BE CAREFUL in Marseill”

Written on: 25/08/2017 by JaidenGallegos414 (1 review written)

Deposit EUR1200 was required immediatelly in renral counter. If you don't have EUR credit card, YOU NEED PAY OVER GBP70 in addition as foreign currency commission. Also it was limited mileage. BE CAREFUL LOTS OF HIDDEN COST hence low price. (16-22Aug in Marseill)… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Regarding the deposit, our customers have two options of coverage. First of all, you can choose a basic rental. With this rate it is needed to leave a deposit that remains blocked in your credit card until the day you return the car. If, unfortunately, the car has any damage, amount of repair costs will be deducted from the excess fee initially blocked.

On the other hand you have Super Relax coverage, with which you don't have to worry about anything because all incidents may happen are covered.

We always recommend our clients to take out Super Relax cover for their own safe and tranquility on the road, but they're completely free to decide about it.

Finally, regarding the payment method. Most of our offices accept both debit and credit cards, however some of them may only accept credit cards. This is all clearly stated during booking process, as well as in our T&Cs, and also in the booking confirmation voucher you received.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We have rented a car for 3 days from 20 to 23 of June...”

Written on: 25/08/2017 by Stewartce355 (1 review written)

We have rented a car for 3 days from 20 to 23 of June 2017 in San Miguel (Azores) from Goldcar company. We have booked a car in advance using internet service rentalcars.com. We used this service not a fisrt time but for some other car rental companies and did not have any problems. But with Goldcar it was suspicious from the beginning. Goldcar does not have a parking place in the airport Ponta Delgada and they provide shuttle to their premises. The instruction says that we go out and the… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

After reading your comment, we understand that you booked a third party's coverage.
Therefore, we'd like to explain you how our coverage policy works. We always make the customer choose from two different options: you can purchase our additional coverage or you can leave a deposit in which you'll be liable of any damage made to the car, as our agent explained you at the counter.

We are aware that third parties offer customers their own coverage, as in your case, but it should be explained that this coverage is only applied when a charge is debited from the deposit left by the customer to the rent-a-car company, this is how the third party's coverage policy works. This information must be given by your broker.

We always recommend our additional coverage to customers for their peace of mind because thanks to it, they will be fully protected in case of an accident and we won't be liable if any damage is made to the car.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Excess Milegae”

Written on: 23/08/2017 by ifMacLeod397 (1 review written)

I returned from Malaga to find charges on my credit card of 313.20EUR. I hired a car from GoldCar and when I contacted them to find out what this was for I was told to download the invoice from online. When I did this the invoice just had ‘Alquiler Veh!culo’ and the fee on it. I called them back and they said it was for excess mileage. My agreement allowed 90km a day, or 1800km over the trip but apparently I used 2583km. This is impossible. I worked out the trips I took and I would be… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear customer,
Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain we record the vehicle's mileage on their collection as well as on their return. Therefore, we suggest you to refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“For me, Never again”

Written on: 19/08/2017 by Nicolasq59 (1 review written)

They should pick another slogan since they don't really care about customers. Customer service is terribly bad. they say one thing and then charge you more than what they said. Never again… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that initial prices on our website are for basic rentals. Then, our customers are free to add as many services as they need, with the consequent increase of the price. But it any case the decision of adding an extra depends only on them.
Also we would like to tell you our prices and conditions are clearly detailed during the booking process as well as in Terms in Conditions our clients accept.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from them ”

Written on: 18/08/2017 by Chafi123 (1 review written)

The pick up of this car with Goldcar was the worst experience I had in my life in picking up a car. And I certainly rented a lot of cars all around the world.  the first instant, when they told me that what I had paid for the full insurance with AXA was no good at all, saying that AXA sold me a useless insurance. They clearly do this all the time as they had a copy of AXA's T&Cs all overwritten with the alleged undercovers. They mentioned ridiculous costs for repairs as examples. Then, the… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

After reading your comment, we understand that you booked a third party's coverage.
Therefore, we'd like to explain you how our coverage policy works. We always make the customer choose from two different options: you can purchase our additional coverage or you can leave a deposit in which you'll be liable of any damage made to the car, as our agent explained you at the counter.

We are aware that third parties offer customers their own coverage, as in your case, but it should be explained that this coverage is only applied when a charge is debited from the deposit left by the customer to the rent-a-car company, this is how the third party's coverage policy works. This information must be given by your broker.

We always recommend our additional coverage to customers for their peace of mind because thanks to it, they will be fully protected in case of an accident and we won't be liable if any damage is made to the car.

Regarding the damages on the vehicle, please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgraceful”

Written on: 18/08/2017 by Hinda (1 review written)

We booked this week a car with goldcar from 10th September to 8th Oct. Paid for it on visa and never got confirmation...we called for 2 full days and no reply. Eventually yesterday we called again and finally got through,she sent us an email mail, with wrong dates for car hire. We called again, no answer. E mailed, no response. Got through to them this morning, and they say we CANNOT CHANGE THE DATES. We did not mess up dates, why would we put in 24th Aug, leaving car back10th October… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that when talking about a Crazy Smart or Crazy Full/Full rate, these do not accept any changes or modifications, in exchange of being able to book at a much lower rate (as this rate includes a discount).

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid Unethical practices ”

Written on: 17/08/2017 by Anthonyking (1 review written)

AVOID, AVOID, AVOID! - 1249.10 euro for 12 days(700 euro damage charge for damage that was already there and documented as being there.). Unfortunately I cannot rate 0 stars. I returned a vehicle to Lisbon airport where they mistakenly proceeded to mark the check-in sheet for damage that we had marked on the sheet collecting the vehicle. I have sent photos of the sheet to Goldcar. No response. I have also not been refunded 72.28 for fuel, and a mystery charge of 14.60 has also been debited from… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extra charge now for diesel rather than petrol”

Written on: 17/08/2017 by percypickles (1 review written)

I will never use these robbers again. It appears that now, through no choice of my own I was charged an extra 96 euros just because I had a diesel. I didn't choose a diesel, I just hired a car and yet because they gave me a diesel which they always have in the past they charged me more. Clearly the man at the airport didn't tell me this. When I asked what the extra charge was for, he said it was a deposit which would be returned. Obviously once you're home there is absolutely nothing you can… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain this charge relates to diesel engine vehicles. We offer customers a choice of petrol and diesel vehicles. There is, however, an extra charge for diesel, which reflects additional benefits as lower fuel consumption, lower fuel price and usually a more powerful engine.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cleaning 150 Euros!”

Written on: 16/08/2017 by Salma254 (1 review written)

I hired a car and returned it in good condition and was told all was fine and there would be no charge. 2hrs later (once I had clearly left) I was sent a txt telling me they were charging me 150 euros for cleaning.There were some photos with some sand on a seat and leaflets that were left. This charge equates to 6hrs cleaning! I appealed only to get a stock reply. I responded for more information and have received no response. ABSOLUTELY APPALLING… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please let us explain that vehicles are seldom returned to us in a spotless condition but we do expect them to be reasonably clean. Where additional cleaning is required an extra charge is incurred. This is in line with our Terms & Conditions.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I felt mugged”

Written on: 15/08/2017 by JuneHodgson (1 review written)

GoldCar hire.  Blue Seat Ibiza. Was charged for a mark at the bottom of the rear bumper that was undetectable on collection of the car but on return the "checker" went straight to it. It was barely visible. We didn't put an extra mark on that car. They charged us 300 euros and said we were lucky not to have had an excess valet charge for the sand in the car! It's Spain. We are on a beach holiday! They will pull the same ruse on the next rental. Never ever use them. I since found out they… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

On regards to the special cleaning, ehicles are seldom returned to us in a spotless condition but we do expect them to be reasonably clean. Where additional cleaning is required an extra charge is incurred. This is in line with our Terms & Conditions.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very expensive and no clear information”

Written on: 13/08/2017 by Gianni2017 (1 review written)

I returned the car in perfect conditions two hours before the time limit so we had plenty of time in order to check everything. The person who was in charge at the airport (in Madrid) did not say anything to me. Then I discovered that Goldcar charged my credit card for more than 300 euros. I did not sign anything! An email informed me that I had to pay 59 euros for fuel (9 euros for lacking fuel and 50.00 euros for penalty) and 30 euros for an extra car cleaning. Both these reasons are… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

We're concerned to hear that you felt the information on the broker website was unclear. We will review it and provide feedback to your broker. Insurance options are set out on our website and also on the voucher you receive when you make your booking.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

We hope that the rest of your experience met expectations. We value your custom and will continue to strive to improve our service.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware”

Written on: 13/08/2017 by Viviana487 (1 review written)

Dropped a car off at Almeria airport yesterday, picked up up on Sunday. Only motorway as we have our own car at our villa. I had to walk the car at pickup as the paper work claimed no damage yet their were a number of small issues. They marked down two, and said no worries on the others as they were normal wear and tear. On drop off the office was closed so no inspection., just a letter box for the key! Just been charged 300 Euros for a dent/ scratch I know we did not do… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“goldcar larnaca cyprus”

Written on: 12/08/2017 by Jaydint251 (1 review written)

horrendous..located miles outside airport..recieved a damaged car with scratches everywhere, then charged €1000 for further scratches.€50 for after hours service,no means of leaving car back before 9 am as dont organise shuttle service;thus another €50 charge be very careful folks… Read Full Review

Click here for great deals on Expedia

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 27/08/2017

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comment. We're always trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note that in order to pick up a car it is compulsory to block a deposit on a valid credit card. Our staff will always inspect the cars after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check this since the cars can receive damage during their stay in the parking lot. This way both parties are aware of the damage that the car has on it before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and if it's considered that it occurred during this rental period, the customer will be charged for it.

The out of hours service charge is in line with our T&Cs, this is a fee to be paid when collecting the vehicle out of office opening hours.No charge is incurred when returning the vehicle out of office hours, however this charge may be for fuel.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case personally ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview
Deals on Expedia