GoldCar Rental Reviews - www.goldcar.es

★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
5% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

GoldCar Rental - www.goldcar.es

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★☆☆☆☆

“Bedrock cars are Us ! ...”

Written on: 17/04/2018 by RKELLYhonestReviews (1 review written)

Fred Flintstone would be happy with the scrap cars they hire out. Scratched, Dented and dirty. Then you get charged 500 euro for damage you didn't do. NEVER HIRE FROM THE WORST HIRE COMPANY EVER! Pay the extra and go elsewhere it will cost you less in the long run. You have been advised!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Steer clear ”

Written on: 15/04/2018 by JimChamb (1 review written)

Rented a Corsa in Malaga Airport from Goldcar the last week of March 2018. Clocked up less than 200km over the week - no issues with car which was in good condition. Had it checked by employee on return who signed my sheet to say all was ok with the car. 6 days after coming home I checked my credit card to see if fuel charges had been reimbursed to find they have applied an additional charge of nearly €400! No correspondence or communication beforehand. Rang their number (international rates)… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Hired a car through Holiday Autos with Goldcar and...”

Written on: 09/04/2018 by adrianpoint (1 review written)

Hired a car through Holiday Autos with Goldcar and they told us everything was included except additional driver. Charged nearly £40 in additional 'extras' that we did not agree to and charge you in GBP instead of EUR. DO NOT USE THEM. No Customer service either… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this company. Recently hired a car from...”

Written on: 08/04/2018 by joanne68dobson (2 reviews written)

Do not use this company. Recently hired a car from them and they have charged us €400 for damages that were not caused by us during our rental. They do not provide any evidence just take money from my account. I have video footage of the car before and after. I will never use this company again. They charge for airport taxes but this is not upfront at the time of booking. They have a track record of unscrupulous practices but seem to get away with this. It will be interesting to see the… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“rip off car hire from Alicante airport - do not use”

Written on: 05/04/2018 by kyHammond67 (1 review written)

I have tried to email my complaint to Goldcar rental directly, but cannot find a email address anywhere. If Goldcar rentals do read their reviews pls check your records and get in touch with me directly. I will keep copies of my complaints for my next visit to Alicante. pls read below Dear Sirs I fail to see how we can be charged for additional fuel, plus a penalty, as we filled the car up just before we dropped it off, to the point where it would not take any more fuel. I have… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay well clear ”

Written on: 05/04/2018 by Samirp176 (1 review written)

Hired first time from gold car 25/03/2018! Never again ! Rude pressure selling staff and now trying to rip me off of 250 euros for a broken door lock. How can a faulty door lock in a new car be charged back to me ? I used the electronic switch at all times to lock and unlock the car ! Never again you shower of ripoff merchants. Reporting to uk trading standards as they are covered by EU laws. STAY WELL CLEAR !!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service! No go!!”

Written on: 26/03/2018 by MDokter (1 review written)

I arrived a bit late to pick up the car because of a delay of the plane. It was not a problem said the employee of goldcar but I had to buy the insurance of 130€ otherwise the car was not available anymore. I could not believe this and asked to make a new booking as that would be cheaper.. this was also not possible.. in the end I needed a car so had to buy the insurance ;-( never ever again with these people! I said I was going to write a terrible review and then I got 30€ discount!!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Ripoff ! NEVER - NEVER- Goldcar agian ”

Written on: 25/03/2018 by Oltedal (1 review written)

It`s the "insurancething" with me also, they charge you for an insurance covered by your creditcard (at least for mine), in my case they even charged me without even asking! My car was prepaid to Rentalcars at (350 Euros), but at the desk in Las Palmas I was charged another 334 Euros. I find this way of treating your customers appaling, and I will therefore warn all of my friends and colleagues from ever interacting with Goldcar whatsover ! Stay away ! On this site you`ll find thousands of… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst car hire experience ever”

Written on: 25/03/2018

Felt pressured to purchase their insurance - even though I did not want this. Constant pressure to buy insurance incl. 1500 Euro credit card hold, 3500 Euro payment I'd have to make if car stolen, 150 Euro to answer breakdown phone plus 2 euro per km recovery cost. When I agreed reluctantly this was ok, strangely my credit card would not work All these costs disappeared when I agreed to pay insurance apart from my credit card not working. Worst car hire experience ever, insurance cost 3.5 times… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“When I arrived at the desk in Bucharst , the man...”

Written on: 15/03/2018

When I arrived at the desk in Bucharst , the man assisting me was very abrupt and rude and asked for 162.00 Ron (approx £35.00) for winter tyres. To my understanding winter tyres are a legal requirement between Nov-March , therefore they should have the rental cars equipped as law imposes. Another man brought me a car (Dacia Logan) and took photos of it from all angles , front and back, no copies have been given to me. Outside was already dark (17.50 hrs local time) and I identified few… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 19/03/2018

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, you have to know that our policy establishes that if when the car is returned we found any damage that wasn’t marked on the check out sheet we give our customers when they pick up the vehicle, it would be charged to them as we understand that this damage was made under their responsibility.

Please keep in touch with our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website, as they are the only ones capable of manteining contact with Bucharest offices. That way,they'll talk with them an contact you backr ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The absolute worst!”

Written on: 27/02/2018 by AlsJen (1 review written)

Unbelievably bad!! Do not rent a car from this company. £200 for a new tyre and £250 for a new fog light that was already broken - WOW. We didn’t even use the fog lights. The worst service. Can’t believe a company such as this exists. Do not be fooled by the cheap prices. No one checks your car beforehand so make sure you give it a thorough check - including any prior damage such a nails in tyres and damaged fog lights… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Goldcar have stolen 200 euros from my bank account. We...”

Written on: 26/02/2018 by JulianHancock80 (1 review written)

Goldcar have stolen 200 euros from my bank account. We returned a car to Malaga airport in the same condition as it was collected. They say that there was damage to the bumper which was completely untrue as we have pictures of the vehicle. They have not sent proof of the damage so do I just accept this or fly back to Spain and confront them. I am very tempted to do this no matter what the cost. But concerned that I will be arrested when I demand my money back as I may not be able to control my… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, you have to know that our policy establishes that if when the car is returned we found any damage that wasn’t marked on the check out sheet we give our customers when they pick up the vehicle, it would be charged to them as we understand that this damage was made under their responsibility.

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We flew from Karlsruhe to Girona and came back 4 days...”

Written on: 21/02/2018 by Kendallrc66 (1 review written)

We flew from Karlsruhe to Girona and came back 4 days later. We rented a car for this 4 days in a good internet offer. When we arrived to the Goldcar office in Spain they didn´t accept our visa credit card to ensure the car and said we had to pay 74 euros more just because the card was not the adequate one. We had never had a problem hiring cars or paying anything with our visa card. We were too tired to discuss and we paid the extra 74 euros. When we checked at home in internet, we realized… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

We have been investigating this matter and, as we saw that we had other customers with the same issues, we have found that some cards are treated as credit in the country of issue, but outside, they work as normal debit cards. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★☆☆☆☆

“unethical behaviour”

Written on: 19/02/2018 by DavyWilliam (1 review written)

I rented a car from 17.12.2017 to 31.12.2017, picked up at, and returned to, Fuerteventura airport. When picking up the car I photographed all parts of the car, including the scratches and dents with date and time on pictures. When returning the car I also took photographs of all the car to show it was being returned in the same condition. I also washed and hovered the car before returning (as this is my normal practice to do). Once before goldcar had deducted 0ver 200 euros for 'extra'… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. According to what you are telling us, we consider that the 200€ charge can't be related to a Special cleaning fee, given that the maximum amount for this breach on our policy would be 150€. We consider this may have been related to other things that may have been unnoticed by you on your contract. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“INSURANCE SCHEME STILL BEING ALLOWED - RUDE STAFF”

Written on: 19/02/2018 by NaimaWebb (1 review written)

appalling in every way. paid £109 through expedia - total cost/no hidden charges/etc - great! looking forward to my trip been a stressful year! get to airport - oh what a shock 20 deep que and people shouting and ranting at the staff - every single person was complaining about the insurance scheme- booking sites like expedia give a price - gold car undercut everyone then rack the charges up when your tired on holiday and want to just get to your hotel. disgusting company. expedia price… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

We'll need to run a further investigation of the issues you described, to indentify where was the issue on your case and help you clarify it right away. Please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract, so this would have also to be taken into consideration when assessing this matter. Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“we have used Gold car for the last four years and have...”

Written on: 15/02/2018 by juliadaunter (1 review written)

we have used Gold car for the last four years and have always returned the car back full I returned the car back on the 13th of Feb after hire to be told by the guy looking over the car everything was fine plus it was full of fuel. only to receive a invoice on the 15th of feb for 57 euros 7 euros for fuel and a 50 euro fine , looking back at a hire I had in dec they did the same again with out sending me notice… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, you should know that there's a penalty for not returning the car full when you have arranged the contract with a Full/Full rate. Please note that according to provision 7.b of our General T&Cs if the customer doesn't return the car full again "the cost of the amount of fuel needed by Goldcar to top up the tank will be deducted from the deposit, plus a €40 penalty. Where the deposit is less than the amount owed, the customer agrees that the difference should be charged to their credit or debit card, and ultimately withdrawn from their personal bank account." This is usually notified automatically by our systems as long as the customer have wrote down their e-mail on the system when they register the booking. If you didn't receive anything, this may have been related to this. You can now refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“cleaning fee”

Written on: 13/02/2018 by KBiel (1 review written)

Goldcar charges for cleaing additional fee wheras you got dirty car or no justified reason for such cleaning. This fee is charged few days later after car return and no possiblity to prove that the car was not dirty during return or you have been delivered with dirty car. If you ask the staff to check the condition of the car return the staff refuse to do it. It is not fiar practice. … Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, please note that all of our basic procedures are stated on your confirmation voucher as well as on your contract. Please note that according to our T&Cs' there's a “charge for 'special cleaning' for the costs incurred from an additional valeting service arising from the clearly inadequate state of the vehicle at the time of its return, with a maximum charge of €150.” This was stated on your contract as well. According to it, we expect our customers to valete the vehicle before returning. You can always refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I hired a car through Holiday autos. They give it 6.9...”

Written on: 12/02/2018 by andy21jones (1 review written)

I hired a car through Holiday autos. They give it 6.9 / 10 for t heir own review. I had a Nissan with 7500 km on the clock. I was told that it had no breakdown cover and that unless I paid an extra 110 euros I would have to pay for any recovery / repairs to the car in the event of a breakdown. I argued that the car should have a manufacturers warranty and breakdown cover but it doesn't. They will charge you 50 euros plus the cost of fuel if you don't bring the car back full. They block 1400… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.
We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, please note these transactions are not as fast as normal refunds, because our central bank has to process many operations of this kind. This usually could take between 3-5 working days after the contract’s end, so it should be already completed.

Kindly advise that as this was a release of money withheld previously, you shouldn’t expect to see a refund, but a quantity that should be shown as “available” again on your account as we never charged it.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I so wish I had read your previous reviews about...”

Written on: 12/02/2018 by 218Torres (1 review written)

I so wish I had read your previous reviews about Goldcar and listened to advice from friends to avoid at all costs. I have rented many times from Alicante who really push you hard to take out their own very expensive insurance and get quite aggressive when you don’t. I have always had small additional charges which they cannot explain but I accepted perhaps foolishly. In February 2018 I was hit with a 1200 fraudulent charge which they cannot produce evidence no matter how much you try. My… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.

We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.
On the issue you described, you have to know that our policy establishes that if when the car is returned we found any damage that wasn’t marked on the check out sheet we give our customers when they pick up the vehicle, it would be charged to them as we understand that this damage was made under their responsibility.
Our staff will always inspect the car after each use and will mark the damages on the check-out sheet, however, we always ask customers to double check it before leaving our facilities. This way both parties are aware of the existing damages before departing. On return, if our agents find damages that were not marked, they proceed to investigate and, if it's considered that they occurred during the rental period, the customer will be charged the corresponding amount as per our matrix (detailed on Anex I on our website's T&Cs')

Please refer your case to our Customer Service department by opening a query through our website. That way, they’ll get in touch with you and manage your case ASAP in order to clarify this matter.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE”

Written on: 07/02/2018 by OldBones59 (1 review written)

I booked a car from Goldcar 2 weeks ago to be collected at Alicante Airport. I’d already bought separate insurance to cover the 2 days I was in Spain. The chap behind the desk was trying a very hard sell to take their insurance and became quite aloof when I declined. I had to hand over my credit card details and I had to authorise a £1200 deposit in case I damaged the car I picked up the vehicle which had already got significant damage to it. This was not a great advert for the company to… Read Full Review

By Goldcarrental

Written on: 06/03/2018

Hi,

Thanks for your comment.
We're trying to improve our services and your opinion is essential to do so.

On the issue you described, I must say that I'm very surprised by the situation. It's a very uncommon situation the one you had, because if the procedure of marking damages on collection is followed correctly, there should not be any misunderstandings on this matter. I'm glad to know you finally got a refund of the amounts charged by mistake. Kindly advise that you can always contact our Customer Service department to settle this matter down and clarify why these amounts were taken by error.

Kind regards.
Victoria R.
Goldcar Representative.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
overview