Chiltern Railways Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Chiltern Railways
★★☆☆☆
2.1
32.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Reliability

  • Cleanliness

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Chiltern Railways - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Chiltern Railways

Refine your search

“Simply the best ”

★★★★★

written by on 06/05/2016

The staff in high Wycombe were great I had a single ticket for me and my daughter, we were going to pick a car up it did not work out so went to get a single return I we had a single to high Wycombe. They retrieved the ticket from the barriers on the other side of the station and only charge me excess instead of two single ticket that did not have to do this. What other rail company would do this, I will travel with them again. Very helpful and friendly service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Simply the best ”

★★★★★

written by on 06/05/2016

The staff in high Wycombe were great I had a single ticket for me and my daughter, we were going to pick a car up it did not work out so went to get a single return I we had a single to high Wycombe. They retrieved the ticket from the barriers on the other side of the station and only charge me excess instead of two single ticket that did not have to do this. What other rail company would do this, I will travel with them again. Very helpful and friendly service

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Member of staff very rude”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Reidaf443 on 29/04/2016

I always use this train service and I don't have a problem with the train services provided whatsoever. Different opinion of the member of staff. Yesterday I was meant to purchase a new ticket in the train as I change my destination while I was on the move and the guy who validate the tickets in the train told me that I didn't need another ticket, and that the one I got was valid. I was surprised by the fact that when I got to the torn in my destination and I explained to the member working at Chiltern train what happened he did not believe me and he was extremely rude to me. There is not need to be rude whatever will be the situation, I think.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do not accommodate to anyone ”

★★☆☆☆

written by zarah10101 on 07/03/2016

This company is usually quite reliable but lately there have been countless amounts of broken down trains and cancellations. Particularly on the 07:08 train every morning at least once a week. They never accommodate to anyone traveling to places such as South/West Ruislip often making me extremely late. I will be looking elsewhere to travel from no one. Terrible company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Train manager decided to stay on the staff room”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Jocelyny1989 on 24/01/2016

Sat on the 2057 train from snow hill and the "guard" decided to look out the window. Ignore us and stay in the mess and made us all late. Shocking service and needs managing. I heard that this isn't the first time in Birmingham and that many of the cred have attitude. Sort it out

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Driver never turned up!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Grahamhhhhhhh on 07/11/2015

Travelling on the much publicised route from Marylebone to Oxford Parkway. The 16.05 was cancelled due to the driver not turning up and there's no replacement! Unacceptable Chiltern. Won't be using this service again

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Simply brilliant”

★★★★★

written by Trevor11music on 19/08/2015

The service offered by Chiltern Trains is a simple one, essentially running from Birmingham, Kidderminster and Stratford upon Avon to London Marylebone with all stations in between including major destinations like Leamington Spa and Bicester. The Chiltern service is brilliant. Super trains which are always clean run on time can't be beaten.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Made to feel like a criminal”

★☆☆☆☆

written by DJandSu on 02/08/2015

My fiend booked us return tickets with a discount card, unbeknown to me, but I travelled home alone.. Apparently that invalidated my ticket so I got fined £22.. Much more than the original ticket would have been and very embarrassing.. Made to feel like a criminal.. Sorry but that's not right

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Assisted Travel”

★★★★★

written by Francesca293 on 17/07/2015

Yesterday was the first time I had travelled on Chiltern Railways (or with any train operator) with a disabled person in a wheelchair. The experience exceeded my expectations with staff at all the stations pleasant, helpful and courteous.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Efficient, effective, clean and regular”

★★★★☆

written by on 18/06/2015

I've been catching the train from Princes Risborough two or three times a week into London for the past year. The trains are rarely late and and I can nearly always get a seat. Parking is never a problem and the station staff are helpful and friendly. Having moved out of London I dreaded the commute but I much prefer it to using the horrible packed tubes that are hot and stifling in the summer and cold and damp in the winter.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Easily the worst train service I've ever used ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tom312 on 15/02/2015

Unfit for purpose. Not only a relentlessly terrible service that frequently makes me late,but often find the timetable has seemingly no logical design. Packed trains at rush hour leave people sitting on the floor for hours at a time while empty midday services have additional carriages bolted on I'm both directions. I understand that there are logistical considerations around running such a service but the sheer scale of the ineptitude exhibited is vast, repeated and unacceptable. I could maybe forgive all of this laughably incompetent operation but the staff simply couldn't care less about customer experience. They have no interest in offering a good service or keeping the people repeatedly paying ever increasing fares happy. If it weren't for their monopoly on all services out to where I work I would be happy to add substantial journey time to my commute simply to deprive them of my money which they so zealously demand in exchange for transporting me with a level of efficiency akin to a team of heavily drugged sloths dragging me face down to my destination. The only notable difference being that a sloth might occasionally crack a smile.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Never refunded!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/12/2014

Wanted to go to London for business. Tried to book my tickets online with Chiltern. Got to the payment page, entered the payment details, clicked Continue and received an error message saying that they could not process my payment. Thought it was weird. Checked my account and 25 pounds gone like thin air but no record??? It was alright the first few times I used it but after October, this started to happen. No refund, no nothing. Called them, said they will refund but nothing. The trains are not bad but be careful when ordering from their website.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Only the loo let them down”

★★★★☆

written by Wilbursferret on 10/11/2014

Being rare train users it is always with a sense of foreboding that one buys into the system. Lots of adverse comments make you wonder if you've made an error of judgement. We had a great day in London, thanks to a relaxing, trouble-free trip. The train - 8.40 from Warwick Parkway - was dead on time, clean and comfortable. We arrived in London early. The same is true of the return trip. We had seats both ways, some people weren't so fortunate, and in these days of computerised bookings we find that amazing, but if booking of 'anytime' tickets is permitted, there is bound to be overbooking. Our only complaint was that the loo wasn't clean, and I must admit to liking the idea of ticket inspectors on board with whom such issues can be raised. Would I use Chiltern Railways again? Certainly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Fraudulent sales?”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/08/2014

See how this works for you: Me: I'd like a day return for 1 adult and 1 child, leaving abt 8:30 arriving London 10:30. Returning from London abt 6:00 Online booking system: 08:23 dep:10:39 arrival 17:15 dep London - Cheapest option for that journey is a Family Travelcard Me: Booked, paid, got confirmation email. But's let's check with Chiltern by phone what happens if we miss the return train we've booked Chiltern: You can't use that ticket (you know, the one we sold you) for that journey (you know, the journey we sold you)! You can't arrive in London before 11:30 and anyway we've no record of you even booking the journey Me: Better go and pick up the tickets now in case there's a problem ..... ...... no problem, the tickets I apparently didn't book are printed and issued by the machine. I know, let's check with station staff to see if they are valid for the 8:30 train Station ticket staff: Yes that's a valid journey on those tickets, we've been selling that ticket for the 08:23 for ages with no problems. Me: Hmm, methinks someone doesn't know their **** from their elbow? Watch this space because if we get on that train tomorrow morning and there's a problem I shall hit the roof.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Parking at their Banbury Car Park”

★☆☆☆☆

written by MatthewBroadbent on 08/08/2014

I parked in a Chiltern Railways car park at Banbury Station. The train (a Cross Country, says Chiltern) was late to take me to Birmingham Airport. So, I concentrated on the task in hand and ensured I could still check in - which for 2 hours, put my parking payment on hold. I paid for the parking - over £9 - but because I was late, I got charged a parking fine of £100. I thought that Chiltern were a reasonable crowd. But the "Customer Services" representative was happy that MET Parking Services had issued the parking ticket within the rules - ie if you don't pay straight away, you get a fine. So, sorry Mr Customer sir, we're happy to side with MET Parking Services and not our customer - I can quote that apparently. Shame on you Chiltern - a very poor "Customer Services" attitude which does you no good at all.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“liars!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Donte268 on 19/06/2014

Booked my ticket but the service was disrupted. Trying to get a refund is impossible and customer services lie and are generally uniformed. Got a ticket from Virgin which was £10 cheaper and MUCH better service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Rubbish”

★☆☆☆☆

written by g1bb0 on 11/06/2014

Bought the wrong tickets and they wouldn't even refund me even after they said they would. Terrible

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Punctual and excellent service”

★★★★★

written by on 21/09/2013

I travel to London every day from Denham and the train is rarely late. I always get a seat, trains are clean and staff are friendly. Would not go back to Met Line which I used to take from Rickmansworth!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Punctual, clean, comfortable”

★★★★☆

written by on 02/09/2013

I commuted for a year (2012-2013) using chiltern railways between Bicester north and Oxford. When I first started using the service I was pleasantly surprised at the punctual service,which almost without exception ran like clockwork every day, I always got a seat, there is a quiet carriage option and free wifi aboard. Compared to first great western ( runs between Oxford and paddington) which is blighted with delays almost daily and severe overcrowding, my experience of the chiltern service from Bicester was, on the whole, an extremely positive one. In addition the journey time is a mere 57 mins into marylebone on the fast train, avoiding the endless traffic and tedium of driving on the m40/ m25 and m4, which was my alternative. My only complaint would be the cost. Getting the train started to become a luxury, one I'd treat myself too once a week due to the prohibitive 62.50 for a return ticket during peak hour travel. It was cheaper for me to fill the car up and drive into London and park at Westfield for a fiver. Overall though, excellent service that runs to time, comfortable journey and overcrowding doesn't appear to be a problem from Bicester.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Worst seat in the world”

★☆☆☆☆

written by tomjerry on 07/05/2013

This train is the worst place to sit. Unbelievable crap!! Seating need to be improved.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview