Cottages4you Reviews - www.cottages4you.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.6 / 5
36% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Cottages4you www.cottages4you.co.uk - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)
★★★★★

“first class service from a dedicated team”

Written on: 11/10/2015 by angieandtony (1 review written)

we are more than happy with the way we had our booking dealt with the lady who took our call was so help full and knowledgeable of the cottage we was interested in and about the local area. we were more than happy with the service your company gave us the whole experience is first class.we will not hesitate to use you in the future and could recommend you to anybody thanks … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“We had to cancel a holiday booked for my parents due...”

Written on: 08/10/2015 by Sutherland355 (1 review written)

We had to cancel a holiday booked for my parents due to my mothers illness getting progressively worse, she has dementia, I booked with my fathers card paying £25 deposit, but used my name and address, we gave plenty of warning of cancellation, a good reason, and enough time to rebook the cottage. But they have taken me to court for £225 and now I'm being threatened with a bailiff to try and scare me into paying it. Such threatening behaviour and a terrible way to treat people. I suggest you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Company total let down obviously do not check their...”

Written on: 22/09/2015 by Sasseychapel (1 review written)

There was no reception for a phone in this cottage and that was not mentioned in the itinerary If anyone had needed an ambulance you could forget it no lighting down to the back gate from the car narrow little path and a step halfway completely Black. No instructions for washing machine had to leave wading in it was assured someone would be round never checked up to see if anyone had been Then cottages4you has the nerve to say l should have chased them up Not only that none of the plugs… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“OVERATED. OVERPRICED. AND WELL UNDER THE REQUIREMENTS...”

Written on: 31/08/2015 by minniminx (1 review written)

AT FIRST THIS COTTAGE (TARONGA)seemed ideal, perfect location and doggie friendly. However on arrival things soon appeared not to our liking,(1) a toaster that was to small for any sized bread, an ironing board that has no cover, no decent sized cups for tea/coffee. A smell of stagnant water in the main bedroom on-suite.as a result of an antiquated shower unit and an ill fitting door, A definite health problem. Should have been picked up on your inspection/s. rather than being accused of being… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“ruined our holiday. DO NOT RECOMMEND. NEVER HIRE THIS”

Written on: 27/08/2015 by AFSFAAS (1 review written)

This is hands down the WORST family trip i have ever been on in my 45 years. we had hired 2 cottages near the area, one for our family friends family and one for our family. often we went out together and they came to our cottage so we could leave together. The cottage owner who has absolutely atrocious customer service kept coming into our cottage WITHOUT KNOCKING and shouting and everything. one time she came in at 12 at night and started shouting when 2 people were asleep. furthermore, she… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Will never use cottage4you again!!;”

Written on: 24/08/2015 by Marleyl1953 (1 review written)

We rented a filthy cottage in a beautiful village. When we complained cottages4you would do nothing about it as they said cottages were not owned by them. After the poor service will never use them again. Nor will my friends… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“do not recommend!”

Written on: 21/08/2015

I was looking for a small dog-friendly cottage near to St Austell, available form August 15th for one week. Our choices were limited as the trip was a bit last minute! But I found the Gig House in Mevagissey on Cottages4you, and although it looked small, I thought we could manage as we would only be using it as a base. As soon as we arrived, even before we had time to unload our belongings, a neighbour came out to ask us to move our car as it wasn't parked in far enough! This left us a little… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Money-grabbing Misrepresentation”

Written on: 19/08/2015 by j-mo-scot (4 reviews written)

We arrived at our holiday destination to find that it stank. Each room had it's own peculiar but characterful smell, the worst being our bedroom which smelt so badly of damp and half a bottle of febreeze that we couldn't sleep. The kitchen, which had an ancient cooker and no food prep area, smelt of a mix of rotten veg and pig slurry, probably due to the pig just outside the window. The sitting room smelt of peat, which is no-one's fault, but they said it was a wood burning stove, not peat… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“NEVER AGAIN”

Written on: 11/08/2015 by GageGriffin153 (1 review written)

Just returned from what should have been another wonderful annual week with family (South Wales). After a spoiled holiday, due to water coming through the roof, into the lounge and children's bedrooms and following lengthy, conversations with Cottages for You, Owner and Repair Man (Living on site in a caravan in the grounds)??? not informed of this of course, Cottages for You agreed to refund us for £698, stating that the money would be in our account by Friday evening. Today (Tuesday, he… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

J-Mo-Scot's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2015

I feel your pain. Going through the same with them. I think you're very generous giving them two stars!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't ever make a complaint to this company-they don't...”

Written on: 06/08/2015 by Zimmermanfn1971 (1 review written)

I stayed in one of their higher standard (gold) properties and was a loyal customer since 2009. This year, July 2015, the standard of the property was extremley poor and there was a major infestation of flies, some of which were in the food cupboard, probably attributed to the large pile of rubbish bags outside the back of the property. I rang customer services to highlight the issue whilst on my holiday and then as discussed followed it up with a written complaint. Did I get an apology no… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“26th july 2015”

Written on: 04/08/2015

lodge was in very good location views 1st class nice and peaceful lodge had everything you need, but it lacks a bit of TLC is in need of a good clean (out-side, windows,mats, etc)we arrived no welcome pack no 1st fuel for fire(which had ashes all over hearth) as stated in brochure went to use cleaner thought it was going to go on fire pipe was fully blocked don't know how they use it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Scandalous !!!!!”

Written on: 04/08/2015 by mariatinsley (1 review written)

My parter booked a cottage for us in Cornwall for October of this year. As we later decided to get married, we changed the booking so that we could go for our honeymoon in June of next year. The original deposit was £150, and the cost to change the booking was £30, total now accruing to £180. The balance was due a few weeks prior to the departure date. In the meantime, due to unforseen circumstances, we are unable to go in June, after the wedding, so we decided to cancel the whole thing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Balwearie Mill Ref:30225”

Written on: 05/07/2015 by AlanD55 (1 review written)

Absolutely outstanding property which the website photos and descriptions certainly undersell. Very spacious accommodation, well equipped and presented it was absolutely ideal for our three generation family break for 10. Children loved the pool and the adults loved the hot tub. Games room was a welcome bonus too. Just off the main road, down a track and very rural and secluded yet only five minutes from a supermarket and other shops, restaurants and parks. Gas BBQ meant that we chose to stay… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Not A Private Cottage”

Written on: 19/06/2015

The cottage is owned by a butcher who stores his produce in the garage beneath the cottage and comes twice a day to empty and load his truck. The windows and doors have to be kept closed due to the many cats that roam the property. The garden is overgrown with weeds and the back terrace is unkempt. The pool is good and the view is great… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Who writes the cottage details?”

Written on: 14/06/2015 by 27Nicholson (1 review written)

Went to one of their cottages, Mallows, Seaford. Said parking for two cars. Turned out to be on an unmade road (very unmade.) Large tree stumps, danger of falling down a steep slope. Obvious long term parking disputes with neighbours. Why were we sent into this dispute? Parking available, as stated, means parking in a drive, not in a narrow, unmade road. One car possible with difficulty, two cares not possible unless you want an argument with neighbours. Also TV on arrival didn't work. No house… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“riverside cottage roadwater ref 28943”

Written on: 12/06/2015 by swancentre (1 review written)

disappointed to the fact swimming pool was not likely to be in use in the near future.wash machine did not work had to ask for heating to be put on,no welcome pack and no logs as suggested in brochure.when I did complain to cottages for you, did get a rebate.But would have been nice if we got what was in brochure Shame as it was a lovely setting… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Hidden Cottage Lowick nr Coniston Lake District ”

Written on: 24/05/2015 by ThatJeffro (1 review written)

From setting foot in the cottage my wife and I knew we had made the right choice. Exactly what we wanted for our "get away from it all" holiday. Comfortable, warm, cozy, clean and well equipped. The website description was spot on and booking was easy. Paying was really simple with booking confirmation and all the necessary details arriving by email in seconds after completion. All in all a very stress free process. The only problem was with the directions missing a turn off which sent us a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“8 Rue De Rousquebrune, Saint Martin Choquel, Northern...”

Written on: 17/05/2015 by sbarlow1 (1 review written)

Previous review stated owners speak English, this is not so, hardly any at all would only recommend going there if you like horses and speak French. It is very isolated and shops in nearest town never seemed to be open. Also it states on the Cottages 4you advert that you must pay 150 euros security deposit which is incorrect as the owner did not want this No information in English in accommodation what so ever all leaflets in French!!! Good idea to bring an English guide book with you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“A great cottage”

Written on: 09/05/2015

A lovely cottage in a wonderful location.We had a great week of walking and we were able to completely relax in this beautifully presented property. It was well-equipped, clean and very comfortable and we would definitely return for another visit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“polgrath port issac”

Written on: 29/04/2015

What can I say! Nice cottage but should be called cobweb cottage extremely dirty I would think about gettin new clearner! Everywhere covered in dust dirt and shower broken. Sink rotting away. Had 2 sticks of kindling supossed to be bag of logs,! Cant get over how many cobwebs there were some the size of bird dirty .sponges in kitchen wiv old food all over them .fridge dirty .I run a clesning company and if my staff left premises like this we would go out of business… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview