Halfords Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
18% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Halfords - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Halfords

Halfords

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

★★★★★

“Small purchase”

Written on: 04/04/2018

Only bought 2 pipe clips but could not have been treated better if I had bought the shop. All down to the advisers who I can't wait to meet again. Must buy something else and so can you. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Customer Service”

Written on: 20/02/2018 by DenisekJones (1 review written)

It is a shame I can not mention staff members especially, one member in the Llanelli branch who was very attentive. I had been to the Carmarthen branch and seen a car seat for my son for £150. The same car seat was in Llanelli for £165. I enquired about the price and was told the one in Carmarthen was the wrong price but would be charged the price I had seen £150. The member of staff told me that the car seat was not in stock in their branch where I was disappointed as we were going away… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bike knowledge”

Written on: 02/02/2018 by Tmac599 (1 review written)

I visited my local Halfords in Enfield as I was interested in a road bike. My budget is £1000 and I was looking at the Boardman range . I asked for some help in understand more details of the specifications. The manager had no idea on what was on the bike and asked a younger member of staff for his advice. He too had no idea !!! What a shambles how can you sell bikes for a £1000 and not have a clue of the frame size, gears, brakes ,tyres etc . Shocking really !!!!!!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor Servicing Service”

Written on: 06/01/2018 by Gisselle204 (1 review written)

Leeds York Road Halfords. I used them for the first time today, dropped the car off at 08:30 as requested. No one rang me to let me know my car was ready. When I rang at 17:00, I was told they had been too busy to ring me. My car had in fact been ready since 13:00 hrs. I could have done something useful instead of sitting around waiting for a non-existent call. When I checked the service log book, the mileage had been written as 28,000, next service due 29,000. My mileage was in fact 23,849. If… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I Paid £700 for a full service & cam belt change but...”

Written on: 21/12/2017 by RubenScott320 (1 review written)

I Paid £700 for a full service & cam belt change but they could/would not give me a detailed check-list of what was done. They said "we don't do em no more". Rang head office who seemed sympathetic, but that was weeks ago and outcome nill. How can I know what needs doing ? So now I must get a proper garage to do it properly. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Extremely Poor !”

Written on: 12/12/2017

Avoid Halfords Auto Centre Dover at all costs ! Will promise you the world when you book your car in for repair. We had an engine management light showing. After plugging it in their diagnostics machine, they advised us to take our car to the main dealer as they did not want to continue with finding and fixing the problem. They could not give a specific answer what the problem was and said it could be the oil pump. The car was taken to our nearest main dealer who diagnosed the problem which… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“faulty bulb”

Written on: 06/12/2017 by Simon160109 (1 review written)

Given good advice about type of bulb for my car and then fitted by Halfords… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“4 new tyres”

Written on: 01/12/2017 by Emilioa7 (1 review written)

If you got a lot of time to spare Halfords is for you but not for me booked online for 4new Tyres thought this be quickest way to go gave me a time of 3.30 got there at 3.15 took them 1h45m to change 4tryes don't get a job at quick- fit lads your never last the pace.Used Halfords poole Ringwood road… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“6 words describe the work done for £690.”

Written on: 18/11/2017 by TrentSimmons1985 (1 review written)

Booked my car in a for a full service and a full cam belt & water pump replacement plus all the ancillaries at Folkestone in Kent. I expected a full check list of what was done and a written warranty. All I got was a receipt for the hard earned money. When I phoned and asked for a breakdown - I was told we don't do em no more. Customer service confirmed this and said my complaint would be passed on - no reply, statement of work done - nothing - still waiting. I don't know yet if the work was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst garage ever”

Written on: 14/11/2017 by Xxxxx11111 (1 review written)

Took my car to halfords north bridge doncaster for mot, after about hour was told it had failed, steering rack gator split, it would be £179.00. I thought that I had no choices when it came to mot so booked for following Friday, repair and retest. When I got home I googled price of gator and found it was £8.70, so rang a garage I had used few years before and asked how much to fit new gator, they said £53.00 and I had them mot it, so total was £93. I rang halfords and told them, he sounded… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NOT A CLUE ”

Written on: 08/11/2017 by Mickoco (1 review written)

Unbelievably bad.when I arrived a couple were having an argument with the LAD behind the counter ( not a good start )Our Car wouldn't start so spark plugs replaced.still wouldn't start .suspected fuel contaminated? ,daughter adamant right fuel was put in ,Halford staff confident it would rectify the problem so fuel system was cleaned total price £360.collected the car it wouldn't START !.Then told no petrol in it .Petrol put in still wouldn't start.Demanded a refund .Two other customers in the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“battery fault”

Written on: 27/10/2017 by NeveahMcKinnon102 (1 review written)

after driving 300 miles to devon i stayed at a hotel where i didnt need the car for 2 days when i tried to start the car the battery was flat and i had to buy another one on returning home i took the battery back to halfords chrystal peaks sheffied and explained the battery would not hold it charge ,18 month left on warranty the battery was tested and i was told it was ok it just wanted chargeing for 24 hours ,i explained even when charged it went flat after 2 days .iwas then told nothing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Very poor quality service”

Written on: 28/09/2017 by rippedoffbeware (1 review written)

Concerning Darlington, Woodland Road Halfords for MOT. Always keep you waiting for no discernible reason before completing paperwork. Told failed MOT and needed brake work, cost of £750 (apparently reduced).Collected car and had only failed on headlight aim (which they could have rectified). As the brakes were a red flag I had them replaced at a cost of £320. Returned car for re-MOT. Kept waiting again as man on reception apparently busy elsewhere. Told by one of mechanics they were too busy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Shambolic service”

Written on: 15/09/2017 by juliet.mercer (1 review written)

I went to Halfords Blackpool store to buy a car radio. I asked for advice on the radios on display and was told they were all very much the same. No mention was made that I could have a DAB radio fitted in my car which is what I would have chosen had I known. I booked in for the radio to be fitted. The fitter confirmed my in car phone was still working. On discovering that my phone wasn't working since the radio was fitted I telephoned Halfords and asked if I needed to book in again for it to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 1
★★★★★

“Care ,Attitude , & Knowledge”

Written on: 14/09/2017 by KadinRice (1 review written)

Halfords at squires gate Blackpool handled a very complex & difficult job of having my sat nav wired in my BMW which was already wired up with the parrot system & my phone.All staff were extremely efficient & friendly. I really would have no hesitation in recommending them . They were excellent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Car problem free, took for an not, wouldn't start...”

Written on: 12/09/2017 by ArmaniLindsey495 (1 review written)

Took it local for mot , have no problem starting it , went to drive it away and it wouldn't start, I mentioned that it can't be the battery as I had a new one 8months ago, they said it was the starter motor, and now I have to pay £170. Am I right to be suspicious? In any other industry you wouldn't be blamed for thinking you were being taken in. one guy said the brushes in the starter motor don't work when the car is hot...its stone cold now and still ain't going anywhere. The staff were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful staff and work”

Written on: 10/09/2017 by Lesliet18 (1 review written)

I left a very good condition car for service, charged me 500gbp saying breaks are gone. After service break lights are not working, annoying sound from dashboard, got three appointments and on every appointment they refused to look saying the don't have staff. Still waiting for the fix… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“mot re test”

Written on: 06/09/2017 by jjWentworth290 (1 review written)

i booked mot at halfords and asked was there a charge for re test and i was told twice there is no charge so when the car fialed mot the quote for the work was close to 200 pnds i thought this exsesive for pads and discs ang head light bulb so i took the car to a nother garage and the price was 110 pnds 85pnds cheaper if you the phone to have re test and i was told there would be a charge of 17pnds 50p so beware if u dont pay theyer high prices u will be charged a re test fee the garage is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad service with two cars”

Written on: 05/09/2017 by Scrillopad123 (1 review written)

Serviced my insignia left halfords and lights flashing they did not fill the radiator had to go back. Then took the CElica in and had a bill for work that needed doing cost of 579.00 took it to another garage and all the jobs done for 238.64 they should be inspected by rogue trader on watchdog… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad car service”

Written on: 03/09/2017 by Scrillopad123 (1 review written)

Worst garage to take your car they don't even do the work you've paid for. Had a bill for work needed doing at567.00 took it to another garage had everything done for 227 00 pounds . they should be on rogue traders on watchdog… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview