BT Vision V Box Reviews

Click here if this is your business
BT Vision V Box
★★☆☆☆
2.0
25.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Features

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
BT Vision V Box - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for BT Vision V Box

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

“Useless pause button”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gemcorma on 25/04/2013

When I press the pause button the screen freezes OK but a black information band appears obscuring the bottom half of the screen, this stays there till I press play. I cannot see any detail of the frozen picture in the bottom half of the screen while the black band is there. It means I cannot examine anything at all in detail; sports, documentaries, quizzes, etc. What is the point of this ludicrous feature? The manager of the help-desk I spoke to was no help, he just said all the BTVision boxes now operated the same and nothing can be done to fix the problem. Someone has made a fortune designing this new set-up and must be laughing all the way to the bank but MY next step is a cancellation of BTVision and hello SKY or Virgin.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Greenhows's Response to Gemcorma's Review

Written on: 06/07/2013

Absolutely agree.
My response from BT Vision was that it was a result of 'Customer Feedback'.
Make sure you complain to BT Vision and they might respond to customer feedback!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolute junk”

★☆☆☆☆

written by mogmad on 22/04/2013

I joined BT Vision 6 months ago, constant lock-ups on the box meant that it had to be changed after a few weeks. On Saturday 20th April, I turned on and the screen notified a software update, this failed several times and the box again locked up. BT Technical help had to manually update the box, all recordings were lost and we were without a system over the weekend. This equipment is not fit for purpose, it is rubbish of the first order. I was promised a follow -up call today within 45 minutes, didn't happen. I had Sky beforehand, with no problems over more than 10 years, I also have a Free-Sat box in a spare room, again no problems. I have given BT notice that I will not be renewing the contract,I will also be writing to Watchdog. If you need the BT address it is: B.T. Correspondence Centre, Providence Row, Durham, DH98 1BT

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The most expensive cheap deal ever!!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Gowans999 on 19/04/2013

Changed from SKY to BT as told by a telephone sales person it would be much cheaper to have full package from BT. My first 3 bills totalled over £350 with the last bill over £170 for 1 month. This did include line rental, internet (infinity) 1 call from land line and 3 films from BT on demand service. No warnings were given before they took the money from my bank via direct debit, so watch out if you have changed to BT the bills are coming, if you haven't changed yet DON'T stick to free view and get a cheap recorder from your local ASDA and save yourself a fortune. I have cancelled my account at a cost of £370 but at least I know thats as much as they can take and that's the end of that.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mogmad's Response to Gowans999's Review

Written on: 22/04/2013

I have had BT Vision for 6 months, the box has already been replaced once due to locking - up.
On Saturday, an automatic update failed and the box froze, it had to be unlocked and updated manually from BT technical help.
This kit is not fit for purpose and I will not be renewing the contract.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“New Vision Box”

★☆☆☆☆

written by sandrian on 04/04/2013

The new vision is service is awful, I feel sure that someone, somewhere, was paid a fortune to look at every other platform, including YouTube, to come up with a trendy, modern service. What they actually achieved was to produce a service that is cumbersome to use and nowhere near as good as the old one, when we originally were told that there would be changes we were upset to hear that we would lose all our recordings and that there was nothing we could do about it but, we hoped that a new improved service would be worth it and maybe BT would eventually join the 21st century and supply, for free, things like HD channels, but no, not only do we get a worse service than previously supplied we lose services like the red button. This new BT vision is nothing like the service we signed up for, will we be able to cancel? I doubt it the same thing happened when we were told by BT to upgrade to infinity, we were not given a choice and telesales implied that there would be no extra cost, when we complained we were told that we could not go back to the old version and that we were at fault for not asking about price rises and as we had signed up we were in a new 18 month contract for broadband, vision and telephone so could not cancel unless we paid the 18 months in full. BT are a shambles, they lie to you, provide a comparatively poor service, charge extra for services other providers supply for free, change the service without consultation and remove services that were integral to to the reason you joined in the first place, they care nothing for the customer and if you are foolish enough to telephone them they speak to you as though you are an idiot, then promise to look into your complaint and call you back, that's the last you'll hear from them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mogmad's Response to sandrian's Review

Written on: 22/04/2013

The update on Saturday 20th failed and all our recordings were lost, absolute junk, and I will be writing to Watchdog on this.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“The worst service for you and your TV .”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Budevets on 02/04/2013

This TV service is so poor , which combined with an atrocious customer services team who now have resorted to lying, meant that I have just paid £500 pounds to terminate this joke of a service, that's how bad it is . When I return to Virgin however I will save more than that over the first year .BT you have now lost a customer for life, and I really hope you all expire painfully of Ebola .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“What has happened to BT VISION”

★☆☆☆☆

written by annihalation on 28/03/2013

We have had BT Vison for the last year having had virgin media. Bt vison was upgraded a few days ago. This has now turned into the worst TV experiance I ever had. Several friends also hate it and people will leave BT if they dont give us the option of returning to the old system. There is nothing to like about the new system as you have to go through to many layers to get to the program you want.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dickfrance's Response to annihalation's Review

Written on: 20/04/2013

I agree fully with this review. Firstly, the new interface is awful. On the TV channel selector you move the TV channel and all the channels move making it a sick making experience to look at the screen. Secondly when you press hold on the screen all the gumph about the chanel is held on the screen blocking 1/4 of the screen. Also when you press play again the gumph stays there for about 5 seconds. This is incredibly annoying for those watching sports as the screen is then blocked out at the base when searcing for such as a goal. Thirdly, you cannot set a record time precisely which can be very annoying as tied to BT set channel'programme times. Fourthly, Sky sports channels price jumped from £12 per month to £21 per month. Fifthly, it will not show HD channels. Sixthly, the sound quality is nowhere near as good as the basic TV sound through the arial. Seventh, the visual quality is not as good as normal TV,. Eigth, the catchup channels crash regularly or are so slow to load it is irritating. This upgrade is the most unbelievably retrograde step. To cap it all I just cancelled sky sports with the required months notice and it was turned off within a week!! Had planned a few matches and rang up and they could not understand why it had been terminated so soon!! Maybe it is because I am a loyal customer that they can abuse me!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Greenhows's Response to annihalation's Review

Written on: 06/07/2013

Absolutely agree.
My response from BT Vision was that it was a result of 'Customer Feedback'.
Make sure you complain to BT Vision and they might respond to customer feedback!!!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“What on earth happened??”

★★☆☆☆

written by Jfw13 on 25/03/2013

Well we were all quite looking forward to a new look bt vision. We had all the bumps through and it all looked great. It was a little disappointing to know that all that great tv we had recorded would be lost but we could just about live with that!! At the weekend we got the update screen, and having navigated thru the set up mode we waited with anticipation. The process was quite quick. We loaded it up .... So what used to be a very easy process to get to iplayer etc, now takes significantly longer, and, as it is streamed it quite often does not load properly much to the annoyance of eagerly awaiting children. Loading cbeebies has never been so complicated. The fonts and colours etc are rubbish .. Even when you get to an end of a catch up program it ends in a blank screen .. No navigation options back ... Loading I player takes several seconds of spooling, and then it tells me iplayer is loading ,, navigate across to channels ... 3/10 nothing happens ... This is a terrible upgrade .. Inconvenienced and a rubbish user experience.. come on bt ... You are going to have to do something remarkable to keep your loyal customers. I am off to virgin media TiVo having used bt vision for about 3 years ...

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“absolutey shocking all round tv freezes and so i'm...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 15/03/2013

absolutey shocking all round tv freezes and so i'm left no picture and even when i rebot it still goes off after about 10 minutes it happen's 5-6 times A night so i rang bt and they are aware of issues with the box and its still not fixed and bt's customer service really sucks as they can't fix the problam i have with the box as its been 4 months of this so take my advice stay well clear of bt and go with sky thats what i'm doing at least they won't me as a customergot some really good deals with them unlike what bt offer.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Lost ESPN subscription,asked to pay a extra £50 BT Vision”

★★☆☆☆

written by on 01/03/2013

Myself and my partner had got BT vision in our previous address we had the infinity package as it was offered to us. I enquired about having ESPN sport channel so I could watch the football, no problems they said just pay £10 and it's yours. So far so good. When we moved to a new property and moved over are BT service to the new address a problem arose. I came home ready to watch the football, switched to the ESPN channel and nothing, tried to reset box it did'nt register the card. Followed the instructions from the bt vision box again no ESPN so phone call to BT. At first got through to wrong department. Switched to broadband department again the wrong department eventually got tech service. Several attempts to switch on viewing card, no joy. Put through to costumer service who after much trying from the operator could'nt activate card, then she had been alerted on the computer to a problem. She informed me that I should have ESPN as I've had before but now I need a new box!!! For free I guess? No £50 I was informed would be the cost. So for service I had initially paid £10 and should be still working now I'd be paying £60 altogether!! And she also stated that this would've happened at the previous address at some time. What a joke we have to buy a new box just so I can have one channel! Right now I'm off to look for The contact number for virgin or sky!!!!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Disgusted!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/02/2013

Before this changeover our Iplayer worked perfectly. Now it is a nightmare to navigate. Please bring back the original version which was so much easier to manage,

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bad service even worse after 'upgrade'”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/02/2013

The service was never good but since the recent software upgrade the search function is so slow and unresponsive as to be useless; the menus, which are awful to navigate around, frequently freeze and the box regularly hangs up and then reboots itself for no apparent reason. Also, at least once a week, the system has hung up completely and required a manual reboot. There is on-demand content available in HD but you can't get HD freeview channels. If I had to restrict my advice to a potential BT Vision subscriber to one word, I'd say 'avoid'.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BT Vision Youview”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Myrianxxx on 13/02/2013

Had the new box five days and it's dire! Picture freezes, on demand constatly buffers, many on-demand selections throw up an error message and are simply not selectable. BT's support department are either clueless or in denial. If you do choose this viewing package make sure you have a good selection of books to hand! Avoid at all cost!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“LYING CON-MERCHANTS... DO NOT SIGN UP FOR THIS!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/02/2013

I cannot believe BT can get away with this and I'm sure I am not the only one to fall for their lies and promises! I was contacted by BT and promised that with the BT Vision Unlimited package I would get all my current channels including Sky and Sky Movies that I currently enjoyed with Virgin Media, but the cost would by a 1/3 of what I was paying so naturally I signed up with them. I have been with Virgin Media for over 15 years and had no complaints about them, but the price offered by BT for the same deal was too tempting. Before installation I spoke with 3 different members of staff on 3 separate occasions to verify that the package I had signed up to contained all the Sky and Sky Movies channels, I even questioned whether I would need a Sky dish installed because I found it odd that they insisted that it was not needed with their box. We turned over to the Vision box on Friday (8th Feb '13) and guess what.... the only channels you get are freeview and you do get a movie section, but they are all years old movies. Plus, the broadband is absolutely useless and if you want to watch any catch up TV you can't because it stops and starts every few seconds because the broadband speed is slower than dial up!!!! Friday night I phoned BT to complain and the lady I spoke to was very sympathetic (although this doesn't help me), but she could only log a complaint to a manager who will call me about it within 5 working days! I then called Virgin Media and explained, to the very helpful lady, all about what had happened and she is arranging re-installment ASAP for me (we couldn't just put the Virgin box back because we had to rip it out for the BT box). She also made me aware that although BT told me that they would cancel all my services with Virgin, they actually cann only cancel your phone line and not the TV or Broadband so I would have been charged for this as well. I asked if she had heard of any other complaints of this nature about BT and she said yes we hear it all the time! So, please, please be warned! It amazes me that a company such as BT can get away with lying and conning people to such an extent. I, myself, have been in Media Advertising Sales for over 20 years and if I ever lied to a customer to secure a sale I would be sacked on the spot!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Last resort”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 27/12/2012

Me and my partner decided to get bt vision as a last resort due to the fact we couldn't get virgin media in the area we were living in. We have recently moved home and the service has been terrible. It took two weeks to get our line cleared for broadband therefore no bt vision until it was working (that I understood) Once broadband was working it took one more night for btvision to work. Realised we had lost our sports viewing card (our fault) It took a whole hour and 6 departments to get a new one sent out. F**king idiots. Every time someone anwsered they would ask why I was calling. Are they actually for real? That took a week to turn up. A day before that arrived we got a new bt home hub which i did not ask for and a lovely voicemail saying i would need to wait another two days to activate the card as we were getting our third bt vision box???? i thought the one i had was upgraded. Once all the equipment had finally arrived I had to ring up again as our sports card would not work on our new fully upgraded box which was what we apparently required for it to work. That call took me half an hour to find out that they had removed our subscription for no apparent reason and would take till midnight to be activated. That worked for a day. Soon after it was saying i had to pay for every show i wanted to watch on demand even though i was paying full price for unlimited that took another one hour call and 5 people until i realised i would have to spell it out for them WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS.and another f**king night to wait for it to be sorted. Today I have had the same problem. first operator:"ok sorry to hear about that but I will need to put you through to our technical team so you dont have to pay the cancellation fee" 2nd operator: "hello what is the problem?" .... I explain " sorry about that i'll put you through to (whoever he fricken said)"... third operator "hello what is the problem?" AGAIN i explain.... "sorry about that i'll put you through to the technical team" HAHA NO! . After a fight with the people in whatever country they are based in to just write some simple notes saying i do no want it anymore it has officially been cancelled and im going to sky!! Rant over

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Do not buy ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 22/11/2012

Got Bt vision when I moved house when I rang Bt to change details they told me about Bt vision I was out of contract with sky and Bt vision sounded good and cheaper how I wish I stopped with sky from day one I have had problems freezes every time I use the on demand constantly getting error messages this has nothing to do with by broadband speed that's fine when I rang Bt they admitted they were having problems with the service when they sold it to me !! They did an up grade of my software while I was on the phone and it worked for about a day several calls and updates later I'm still in the same situation if this worked it would be a great service but it doesn't save your money and stress levels don't buy

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BOX NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE BT IN BREACH OF CONTRACT”

★☆☆☆☆

written by BKLatham on 27/10/2012

The previous BT Vision Box generally worked well though occasionally froze (possibly associated with Freview channel changes). On 12th Sept I installed the latest box. The Box is a nightmare. It frequently freezes, fails to record or only partly records programmes especially when attempting to record two programmes simultaneously. Living in Northern Ireland all these problems have been compounded by glitches associated with digital switchover. BT,to be fair,have responded quickly and helpfully to my complaints but the problem has not been resolved. By onscreen message, email and phone BT admit that there is a software problem which they are attempting to fix. As the problem is caused by BT I maintain that they are in breach of contract and that there should be financial recompense by refunding charges made for services not provided. Below I have labelled the features of the Box as 5 star.. which they would be if it worked properly.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Bt vision”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/10/2012

Box regularly crashes. Channels go missing, fast foward and rewind buttons comically inaccurate, call centre support unresponsive, extremely slow and basically just not that interested.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Poor customer service”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Tristosh on 20/10/2012

I was persuaded to go with BT vision 5 weeks ago since which I have no service. I was not told that I needed to buy and have fitted an indoor afield and instead of trying to negotiate they are going to take another 10 days to listen to the recorded sales call and blamed me for not reading the daily e mails sent, which do not mention this anyway. A big company like this, arrogant and defensive! Don't go there, much better deals and customer services around who know how to get problems sorted

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Southlondonguy's Response to Tristosh's Review

Written on: 21/01/2013

I have to totally agree re BT's customer service I have been a long standing customer(over 15 years) and had problems with my wireless. I am very computer savvy but they treat you as you are stupid. They only value new customers and no matter how many chances I give BT they never ever state they value their existing customers. I am currently looking to shift my broadband tv and phone away from BT. So much for customer loyalty - it means nothing to them

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BT STINKS”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Barking_Mad on 20/10/2012

My broadband is so slow I could send messages faster by carrier pigeon. It takes ages to get into most websites and constantly freezes, and when it does thst the only thing I can do is to switch off and start again, which means losing anything I was working on at the time (and that's when it works at all, sometimes I have no connection whatsoever) BT Vision is a pain in the ****, I've lost count of the number of times channels have disappeared from my TV guide for no apparent reason, the excuse I get is always that the Freeview signal isn't strong enough and that I should upgrade my aerial, but how can the aerial be to blame if the reception was fine a few hours ago, and will probably be fine again tomorrow ? I would never recommend BT to anyone (unless it was somebody that I REALLY hated !)

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I want a refund”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 18/10/2012

It keeps crashing so you have to re-start it, although sometimes it restarts itself! Recordings get missed. The fastforward and rewind functions are very unresponsive. The good point is the on demand music so you don't have to listen to adverts in between - it's also very up to date. BT have admitted that there are softward glitches - funny how I wasn't told that when I was ordering. If you can get a cheap sky or virgin subscription (use Quidco) then I would suggest avoiding BT Vision, especially as they are behind 'You View' which isn't compatible with BT Vision - I wonder which platform will survive?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview