Good Energy - www.goodenergy.co.uk Reviews

Click here if this is your business
Good Energy - www.goodenergy.co.uk
★★☆☆☆
1.9
23.0% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Good Energy - www.goodenergy.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Good Energy - www.goodenergy.co.uk

Refine your search

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

“Good Energy- The worst customer service ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 10/07/2013

I wouldn't recommend good energy to my worst enemy. They have owed me £200 for months and refuse to accept mine, my landlords or my tenancy agreement word on when I moved out. I have been asked to send documents by three seperate people only then to be told these documents make no difference. It almost seemed as though they hoped if they wasted enough of my time I might go away and let them keep my money. Blisteringly inefficient, Polite but inept, confused customer service staff, who seem to all have received completely different training (if any at all) conspire to make you want to give up the money just so you will never have to talk to another ill informed customer service "analyst."

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Pray you never have difficulties paying!”

★☆☆☆☆

written by TJReviews on 30/05/2013

I'm afraid the bad reviews on here are not rival companies. I have had a very similar experience which has been devastating financially. I work away from home a lot. After switching bank accounts (and my notes say a D.Debit was set-up, although Good Energy have no record) I continued my busy working life, with much time spent in various countries abroad. Being so busy I, admittedly, didn't keep on top of my personal paperwork. In brief, I came home from a trip to find a disconnected electrical supply. No phone messages, no emails (only Good Energy marketing offers?!) although they maintain they left/sent both. I explained that paper letters were not practical for me to keep on top of correspondence (all my other bills are via email). Tried to work out a really sensible up front sum and payment plan to clear their considerably higher-than-estimated bill and extortionate disconnection charges, they were very unsympathetic and were consistently argumentative, despite the fact I was very polite and assured them my aim was to pay everything owed quickly. They won't let you speak to the mysterious individuals who accept or deny your payment offer, it's all very smoke and mirrors with phone operatives having to go off to present your offer to some Wizard of Oz style characters who you will never encounter. Citizens Advice got involved and told me Good Energy were the most unreasonable supplier they had dealt with, were astonished they wouldn't agree a payment plan based on my generous terms of clearing the debt as fast as possible and advised me to switch to a major supplier who have more sensitive customer service. Only when you offer to pay the cost of electric in full and then agree an aggressive payment plan to clear the rest, will they start the reconnection process, with no guarantee it will be done swiftly. Good Energy may be Eco-friendly, however they are arrogant, unsympathetic and would clearly rather you were without heat or power than accept a fair and sensible payment plan. Go green, but for heavens sake never have financial difficulties....

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Excellent service”

★★★★★

written by ThreeLitre on 20/05/2013

At last, an energy company that listens to what I say. I've been plagued by previous companies resetting my direct debit and trying to build up silly amounts of credit, there was even one that insisted on refunding all my credit in October, just before the central heating kicks in. Good Energy were helpful and I now have a direct debit that is actually one twelfth of my bill. I can't recommend them enough. Great service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“A genuine review.”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 01/03/2013

It pains me to say so but Good Energy may be good insofar as where they source electricity from but (in my view they fall way short of the mark in pretty much every other way. Meter readings are almost always estimated. Problems with payment are deal with very severely indeed. Not a company to give your money to.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Recommended ”

★★★★★

written by Trailerparkharry on 20/02/2013

I recommended them to my dad as I've been with them for a couple of years. Had no problems and it's much better for the environment. And only slightly more expensive. If more people would switch maybe the UK would not be in the top 10 countries in the world for greenhouse gas emissions.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Don't trust the negative reviews”

★★★★★

written by jimmyjazz1975 on 28/11/2012

I'm think the negative reviews on this site have been created as part of a negative campaign by a competitor. This sort of anon review site is easy to game, so if someone wanted to give customers a terrible impression of the company, it's just a case of registering a collection of negative reviews. You'll notice that there are essentially two types of review: Balanced, positive reviews versus "this is the worst company in the history of the universe reviews", which could easily have been copied from some of the worst offenders. Disclosure: I'm not even a Good Energy customer, but I hate seeing this page near the top of the Google rankings. I'm planning on talking to the company directly to gauge whether I should go with them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Unhappyenergyuser's Response to jimmyjazz1975's Review

Written on: 03/12/2012

I AM a customer, I am not a competitor, you are not even a customer so what do you know about it.
All I can imagine is that YOU must have some vested interest in the company to defend them when you know nothing about them. How can you say that they are good value for money etc when you don't know is curious.
I honestly wrote what I experienced and you have rubbished that. I hope you are ashamed of yourself. They are terrible, and this is the first and only review I have EVER done on this kind of forum, or any internet discussion site of any sort. Good luck if you do swap to them! I for one don't trawl the internet to find a company with many unhappy customers and then say "yes, I think I will call them to gauge whether I should go with them".

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Jimmyjazz1975's reply to Unhappyenergyuser's Comment

Written on: 03/12/2012

Fair enough, but that doesn't change the fact that online review sites are fundamentally flawed and easily gamed - so shouldn't be trusted. And it terms of having a vested interest, nope, but I can't prove it to you ... and that's exactly the point. A bunch of anonymous, unproven reviews are a poor basis for making such a decision. Sorry if you are genuinely unhappy with them, if so then definitely quit them if you can.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Roxyandziggy's Response to jimmyjazz1975's Review

Written on: 05/03/2015

That's a very ignorant and incredibly insulting thing to say about people that have genuinely encountered severe problems with this company. Don't be so silly as to assume that you understand others problems especially when relating to energy companies. I can only assume that you work for this company and that it is in fact YOU, that are creating a negitive campaign against people with genuine, sometimes legal and ongoing problematic accounts with this company. Wake up and try to stop making insulting comments about things you know nothing about!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ant76's Response to jimmyjazz1975's Review

Written on: 10/12/2012

Your five star rating and defence of Good Energy leads me to believe you are a Good Energy employee. I agree reviews can be bias in just basically slating companies but quite frankly if a company is bad then its anyone's right to say so on a forum of their choice. There may be companies that waste their time on drumming up bad publicity for others but these are usually obvious. If you are honestly trawling Google to look for a provider I would be suprised. I don't know of many people that would make a random statement like you have, give a five star rating and add a disclosure to boot when looking for an energy provider.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Aggressive and inconsistent ”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 07/11/2012

The worst of all the Energy companies for aggressive collection. After being on an estimated usage, we had a lot to catch up on when they took a reading as their estimates were out. They had not come round and read the meter for a long time and we had not checked. When they did revise the bill it was for over a thousand pounds, they were inflexible and rude and one point and charming the next, followed by rude the next. Often when speaking to the same person. You really did not know where you were with them. We were polite and apologetic to them at all times so as not to annoy them for what good that did. They said we were going to be de-energised, would not listed to the fact my wife had just lost her job. They would not listen to a reasonable repayment plan. They are just awful, horrible to deal with. The worst experience ever.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not as bad as the other reviews suggest. I am more...”

★★★★★

written by on 11/07/2012

Not as bad as the other reviews suggest. I am more than happy with my service and will continue using them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Easy, no fuss and no problems.”

★★★★★

written by iuama74 on 12/05/2012

We have been with good energy for a year now. We have had no problems at all. We send our own meter readings in which may be why we get fewer problems than some. I was quite surprised by the reviews here as I think the company has been very easy to deal with. I would recommend them.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Logden's Response to iuama74's Review

Written on: 15/08/2012

Good Energy are always expensive on price comparison sites. Are they really that expensive?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Not so much good as distinctly awful”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 28/03/2012

We recently moved into our flat and decided to continue using Good Energy, as set up by the previous occupiers. Within a week of moving in we sent them a direct debit order whch they promptly lost. When i rang up to enquire what was happening they said that if we sent them another form they would get back to us promptly and gave us an estimate of the direct debit amount. Several more weeks passed with no word, we recieved an estimated bill which we confirmed was very close to our actual usage. When we rang up to see what was going on, they confirmed that they had recieved our direct debit order, just hadn't bothered to tell us, and that despite having sent us an accurate bill, they were going to take a monthly direct debit of nearly double the value. When I pointed out that we were not using that much electricity and that they were clearly hugely overcharging us, they finally ran our information through their computer system again, and raised our direct debit further. Needless to say we cancelled it that afternoon and switched our energy supplier immediately. The staff are incompetent, unhelpful and I wouldnt trust a word they say.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“BadEnergy, bad energy company go to your room”

★☆☆☆☆

written by ant76 on 20/02/2012

Had the misfortune of joining Goodenergy, thinking they must be good considering the environment. After a year of paying above the standard rate for our electricity we planned to move flat. Advised Good Energy of our meter reading, paid everything and left our property. We then got presented with a final gift which was another bill, when we queried this as we were no longer at the property and the reading didn't coincide with what we had, we were told that there was another meter which was for the stairway lighting(Which we didn't know existed being on the ground floor) and we were forced to pay £60. Its a bit odd they waited for us to leave and then charged us for a meter we weren't aware existed and based on where we moved to, it would have cost us more to prove them wrong not to mention interest they would likely put on top. In short GoodEnergy is bad. I would sooner pull out my own teeth before I give them a second chance. Steer clear!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Im-Here-To-Review's Response to ant76's Review

Written on: 10/12/2012

Who did you think was paying for the stairway lighting? Doesn't seem fair your ignorance means a bad review for a company providing you a service.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ant76's reply to Im-Here-To-Review's Comment

Written on: 10/12/2012

Your arrogance is astounding, you don't know the layout of the building yet you assume I am ignorant and Good Energy are indeed good. I was nowhere near the stairs and being on the ground floor away from the stairs they had no impact on me whether they were lit or not as I didn't need or use the stairs. I had not received a monthly bill for stairway lighting yet I had for our flat for over a year. Why would anyone expect it acceptable to be charged for something more than a year after moving in and only after moving out do I receive a bill for lighting I knew nothing about. I am not ignorant, common sense prevails. Your response to my comment 10months after I left it leads me to believe you are a some what bored employee of Green Energy. If Good Energy were indeed providing a service and it was warranted I be charged for stairway lighting why wait for over a year until I leave to then send me the bill for it?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Good, if initially underestimating bills”

★★★★☆

written by SeasideAnt on 07/02/2012

Alot of bad reviews here, not sure why. I have never had any problems, except that they initially under-estimated how much electricity we'd use. They upped the DD to compensate and it will all be paid off within a year or so (depending on use). Was a bit of a pain, but then I really should have been comparing the estimated reading on my statements with the actual reading (everyone should). I have called them a few times and they always answer quickly. I always get someone who's polite and speaks good English in a UK call centre. Another great bonus was they were one of only a very small number of energy companies to NOT hike their prices this winter - I felt very smug! This is the reason for 4, rather than 3, stars for 'value for money'. The only small worry I have is how I know they're only buying from renewables? My fear is that some time down the line there will be an expose on them and it turns out that really they're Exxon in disguise. Well, I have no reason to, so for now I really must let my morals guide me - even if it does cost a little more, this will only encourage me to use less! Bottom line - like most energy suppliers, for the most part I don't really notice they're there. When I've had issues, they've dealt with it, not given me any hassle and were polite and helpful. What more could I ask for?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Absolutely awful, I would wish cancer on my worst...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by craigus666 on 23/03/2011

Absolutely awful, I would wish cancer on my worst enemy, but I wouldn't be so cruel to wish good energy upon them...

I had been using good energy for 6 months before I decided to relocate; I move out to find I owe another 300 pounds on top of the 300 they already have. Their customer services take 3 months looking into the issue and then come back saying 'yeah, it all seems to be fine I guess, but now you have to pay it all right away because it's been outstanding for so long'. The house was a cottage with a log fire; the electricity was used for lights, a hob and a laptop, not exactly Edinburgh festival...

Thanks to good energy, I plan to lay waste to every renewable energy source I can by 2020. Well done good energy, you've made somebody else hate the environment for all the right reasons; to stop companies like yours leaching off people who want to do the right thing.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“They still haven't sorted out their meter reading...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/10/2010

They still haven't sorted out their meter reading problems. We've been with them 7/8 years and had two readings by them some very considerable time ago. Unfortunately we have a digital meter and the readings we provided excluded the last digit, so we now discover we owe them thousands because we've only paid for a fraction of the units used. We realised our error and told them and the response is 'Oh OK, we'll send amended statements going back to the beginning of your account with us'.
It would have been nice to know at the outset that they had no method of checking what you said. We weren't being fraudulent, we were just used to the old style meters.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I've got some issues with Good Energy's billing. I was...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 02/12/2009

I've got some issues with Good Energy's billing. I was recently horrified to receive a bill showing my account as £370.70 in arrears. I had assumed that they took regular meter readings and that they adjusted my monthly direct debit to keep payments on track. Apparently not. I've just paid the £370.

With the arrears now cleared I naturally assumed that the monthly direct debit would resume at a relatively modest rate. The property in question is a holiday home, occupied only on alternate weekends. Electricity use is minimal. However, I have now received another bill that shows an estimated reading and that asks for payment of another £135.00

Good Energy say the property consumes 10.1 kWh/day. But the property is unoccupied for 20-plus days each month and just has a small fridge and freezer in operation; nothing else. In contrast, my Bristol home, where we also buy our electricity from Good Energy consumes a mere 3.8 kWh/day, and this property has a panoply of electrical appliances.

How can the virtually empty property be using more than three times as much energy as the our main residence? I'm hoping that their customer service people can resolve this matter -- but after reading some of the reviews here I'm none too confident!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 29/08/2011

estimated readings are just that... estimated! Most energy companies estimate your readings - unless YOU provide actual readings, all you need to do is provide regular readings for a few months to build up an idea of your ACTUAL usage.. is it really that difficult?

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“As per many of the other reviews I have had a dreadful...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 25/11/2009

As per many of the other reviews I have had a dreadful time with Good Energy. I have had a problem with my meter which has been mismanaged and their customer services, albeit small, do not seem to talk to each other. There are so many options out their for renewable energy and certainly more pleasant ones to deal with. I can only imagine that the five star rating review was put there by Good Energy themselves and even it admits to being more expensive. Keep away.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We choose Good Energy for the environment. However we...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by on 11/09/2009

We choose Good Energy for the environment. However we had such dreadful experience with them for two years that we switch to Green Energy, a good renewable electricity supplier.
In these two years with Good Energy, 80% our bill were issued incorrectly. Customer services were unhelpful and rude. It was unbelievable that such unprofessional behaviour would exist in a UK company. They literally shouted on the phone. 13 month after we switched to Green Energy and supplied by Green Energy, Good Energy demand further 13 month of standing charge from us. It was outrageous. The letters to the chief executive were ignored. We were threatened a court action. We were quite happy to go to the court, but they stopped harass us for unknown reason.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“I moved house, took a meter reading, rang Good Energy...”

★★☆☆☆

written by jennidots on 04/02/2009

I moved house, took a meter reading, rang Good Energy to give the reading....no one there as they had all apparently gone out tree planting. This was fine as they were offering a call back system for those leaving a message. I left a message but have yet to receive a response! So I rang back myself, and spoke to a chap who took my meter reading and took our new address and took our information re wanting to have Good Energy as our new providers in our new property. A few weeks went by and I had still received nothing! So.....I called again and spoke to another chap - it appeared there seemed to be no details of my previous calls on the database. Again, I gave me meter reading, explained I wanted to carry on with them as providers and waited. We received no bill from last property and no info re providing for new place. So......I rang again. I was told apparently the bill for the last place had been sent back to them with no explanation....I was told that apparently this was an error on Royal Mail's part! Ok! So, I wondered why they didn't seem to have appeared send me the bill again? Oh...the bill only seemed to have the final payment reuqired ( £80.00!).I also didn't know there were problems setting me up with them at the new house. Well, not impressed. They may be small but in my opinion if they can't provide me with a service for customers then I don't see the point in giving them any more of my money!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“Their phones are never answered, and they rang back...”

★☆☆☆☆

written by Dr Green on 07/01/2007

Their phones are never answered, and they rang back days later at inconvenient times, and they sometimes don't answer emails. I had a problem with a meter reading discrepancy and simply couldn't get it resolved with them, even after complaining to EnergyWatch. Their responses - when I finally got one - were unhelpful. They only have six customer service staff, and electricity performance standards (replying to customer queries within a reasonable time) do not apply queries about accuracy of meter readings, only the meters themselves!

Good Energy seem to think that customers willing to pay a premium for renewable power will put up with anything if they ignore them and stonewall long enough.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

“We first went with Good Energy (then known as Unite)...”

☆☆☆☆☆

written by Stonehead on 19/11/2006

We first went with Good Energy (then known as Unite) about five years ago when we lived in North Yorkshire. We set up a direct debit, and the money went out every month, with the bills showing that we'd paid. Then the company changed to Good Energy and the money stopped going out on the direct debit. We contacted the company repeatedly, each time having to explain the situation from the start, and thought we'd got the situation sorted.

Then. three years ago, we moved to Scotland, and purely from our own stupidity in wanting to continue with a 100% renewables company, decided to stick with Good Energy. Bad mistake!

We paid out a final bill for North Yorkshire; and set up a new direct debit for Scotland. But the new direct debit went wrong and we kept having the same problems with the Good Energy call centre, so we switched to Scottish Hydro. We paid a final bill to Good Energy.

We thought that was it. It wasn't.

Eighteen months later we received a final demand from Good Energy saying they'd sent us bills, reminders and default notices (they hadn't), and they were demanding a payment of more than £200 in seven days. As usual, their call centre was terrible, and I said we couldn't possibly have the bills with payments made that I was quoting details from, and disputed everything.
In the end, we just paid the money to be rid of them.

End of story? No. A further 18 months on and we've just received another final demand, saying that Good Energy has sent us bills, reminders and default notices, and demanding £96. Actually, there's been no communication in the 18 months since we paid the £200.

Our advice - there's no point in going for an all renewables electricity supplier if their accounting is this bad, if their staff are unhelpful, and if their customer service is this bad.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview