HomeAway Reviews - www.homeaway.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
21% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
HomeAway - www.homeaway.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for HomeAway - www.homeaway.co.uk

HomeAway - www.homeaway.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT BOOK THIS VILLA ON HOMEAWAY IN ORLANDO:”

Written on: 30/09/2020 by LScott123 (1 review written)

DO NOT BOOK THIS VILLA- ORLANDO: #4257329 I would like to make other travellers aware of the very strict cancellation policy of this property owner. During the COVID-19 epidemic, we were naturally forced to cancel our Florida holiday in Easter 2020. The property owner refused to reimburse us any of the money apart from the damage deposit of $750, which left us $2574.40 out of pocket. I assume we would have been receiving this damage deposit after our stay regardless. The property owner even… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst holiday booking experience! AVOID!”

Written on: 23/09/2020 by Jade191 (1 review written)

We chose a cottage yesterday and were told it would cost £1180 approx with an immediate deposit of £396 approx. Gave c/c details for deposit. Showed kids the house; everyone happy and excited for next years holiday. Then, later in the evening the owner emailed me saying the house would cost £800 MORE than the first price to reflect next years fees. With HomeAway, all communication is faceless and there is no redress or person to complain to, no emails, no way of raising the issue! The owner… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Have booked many villas over 10 yrs or so when it was...”

Written on: 12/08/2019 by soozypoo (6 reviews written)

Have booked many villas over 10 yrs or so when it was owners direct and never had an issue, this year was a nightmare villa owned by English couple. After arriving it was clear the pool hadn't been cleaned, a filter on the bottom was missing leaving a hole, one pool light was smashed and had half the surround missing.pool cleaners were due twice a week they came twice in a fortnight. Half the light bulbs had blown in and outside the property, there was snot and bogies wiped down the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Booked appartment, cancelled by owner after taking money.”

Written on: 01/07/2019 by KWIN (1 review written)

I booked an apartment in Paris for 8 days through Homeaway.  The rental monies were taken and I then received an email from the property manager to say the booking was cancelled. No more information than that, just cancelled. Asked for more information, but nothing. Raised a claim with Homeaway. Still waiting for refund - property manager has literally just refunded 10% of the cost, so back to Homeaway. I won't be using them again and I'd recommend that you don't either… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NOTICE - read the cancellation policy and AVOID”

Written on: 03/04/2019 by Porterfieldfu135 (1 review written)

I booked Meadow View House on HomeAway for a weekend away with my mum and the family. She has a brain tumour, time is limited and we wanted to spend some quality time with her on mother's day weekend - I would like to add that the Dr said she was fit to travel at the time of booking. I made the owner aware of this at the time of booking and she very quickly accepted the booking and my £850! Unfortunately, my mums symptoms worsened and she was admitted to hospital 11 days after booking and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never Again”

Written on: 24/11/2018

Will never use again. Owner was slow to give refund and all they did was send him a couple of emails saying he had 48 hours to do the refund or his listing would be removed. He didn’t and his listing was not removed. HomeAway then suggested I contact my credit card company and try to get a refund off them first, and then (if they wouldn’t) come back to them with a letter from the bank saying why, along with copies of passport, credit card statements etc. Ridiculous customer service. 6… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“booking cancelled at last minute”

Written on: 29/08/2018 by taffie999 (6 reviews written)

Homeaway.co.uk We've just had my cottage booking cancelled two days before our start date, in a semi detached property in Highcliff, Chritchurch, Dorset, having put all my plans in place,and having booking events etc. No reason was given. There is no facility to leave a review on the site if your booking is cancelled, so beware of all the positive reviews on the site. Others have said it's almost impossible to leave a bad review. In the case of cancellations it is impossible because no link is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disastrous Experience Just Like The Other Hundreds”

Written on: 13/06/2018 by MohammedDavis (1 review written)

Disasterous Experience just like the rest the of hundreds of good people who have made similar complaints with TrustPilot and/or Sitejabber. I booked the apartment on Homeaway website. I was charged with the first payment. Subsequent to my booking I had to make a cancellation due to the original apartment booked not being available from the property owner. I eventually managed to obtain a partial refund from the property owner - without the processing and service fee charged by HomeAway… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“horrible stealers”

Written on: 02/05/2018 by Myerstd269 (1 review written)

dont loose your money with them As owners stop pay subscriptions or make bussiness with them.THEY DONT PAY BACK THE OWNERS AND THEY KEEP THE PAYMENTS FROM THE GUESTS Make dispute to your bank and get your money from subscriptions and close them horrible stealers… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“impersonal disinterested attitude”

Written on: 16/01/2018 by dwDawson75 (1 review written)

Having seen continuous homeaway TV adds I decided to browse their site and found a holiday rental of interest. Next day phoned to book but before booking needed to clarify parking facility. Was told I would have to phone the helpline who would give a contact Tel no to contact the owner to answer that question however this was wrong information as Tel no can't be given unless you have already booked but the lady said she could e mail the owner who would email me back but nothing at all has Come… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Fabulous spacious Villa”

Written on: 08/08/2017 by Taylor382 (1 review written)

Fabulous villa with lots of space good size pool and very quiet but close enough to the old town for evenings out, good facilities bbq, pizza oven in a covered area, very pleasant & helpful owners… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“What a disgrace”

Written on: 19/07/2017 by StuffedbyHL (4 reviews written)

Be VERY VERY careful if advertising on Homeaway. First you pay a £300 subscription, then they force you to one of their booking systems that earns them another 5-10% commission. If you refuse that they suppress your advertisement so you get no bookings. In the process of issuing a County Court summons to get my money back but very hard to find the name of anyone senior… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyat's Response to StuffedbyHL's Review

Written on: 05/04/2018

Hi there,

How did you get on in court? I have just started using their online payments system too, and found out that they have set up the properties so that even though guests paid deposits in February and March for rentals for rentals in August, they will not hand over my money until the renters check in. I can't change it on the website and have had to contact their payments host, so we'll see how that goes.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Stuffedbyhl's reply to Wendyat's Comment

Written on: 06/04/2018

So true, in the good old days we could speak to our potential guests understand their wishes etc before asking for money. Now Homeaway grab their money before we can even speak to them. If ultimately Homeawy send us a guest wo has not paid before arrival ,they will not be allowed in. Sorry but that's not how we want to do business.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“Comfortable and convenient”

Written on: 22/08/2016 by Fasouliotis (1 review written)

A bright,quiet,comfortable and well-equipped apartment.In walking distance to restaurants,shops,beach and station - so no worries about driving,parking etc.... Enjoyed our evening drink on south facing balcony,before heading into Antibes for dinner.A very relaxing and enjoyable stay and would love to return… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No help at all, beware”

Written on: 27/05/2016 by AngryOldWoman (1 review written)

Booked an apartment in London 9 months in advance, apartment cancelled less than 24 hours before staying there. No offer of refund from either apartment owner or HomeAway, beware of this site they will not help. Lost over £400 with no apologies from anyone. Do not use this Company, customer care negligible just point you to their Terms and Conditions and do nothing. Not safe to use, obviously do not vet the property owners otherwise this would not have happened. … Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“These clowns took 226 euros from my credit card on an...”

Written on: 11/04/2016

These clowns took 226 euros from my credit card on an apartment which was already booked and are still struggling over a week later to refund me because "the computer says no". They also have just released a further 3 pending payments after a week from my credit card for provisional bookings which never went any further because the owner didn't respond. They are a total bunch of idiots at the end of the customer "help" line. One caveat- their financial processors in Dublin are great and rally… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“25 amuley mar1 fuerteventura Casa caleta”

Written on: 10/12/2015

Very nice house close to supermarket bars nightclub nice patio good for sunbathing very close to pool area and gardens 10 mins from airport with prompt pick up if required by the lady who looks after the house we have had many happy holidays here… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“I got a great hotel for for the best price. ”

Written on: 18/03/2014 by Riveraqa392 (1 review written)

I got such a good price that my daughter booked the next day… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“They don't listen”

Written on: 27/01/2014

No end of problems with this site, customer services is non-existent, they don't even read the email so they can respond correctly and therefore send out misleading and incorrect information. Keep getting fobbed off, told things are being changed/improved/checked, when they're not - as Holiday rentals they were great - now they just want to keep hiking annual fees and couldn't care less about the owners… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Sad what has happened to the once fantastic...”

Written on: 14/04/2013

Years ago when we started letting our apartment we found the site Holiday-rentals.co.uk (or .com) and signed up. What a great site at the time ... then about a year ago they were purchased by HomeAway and since then it has been nothing but disappointment, and in the end NO MORE bookings coming in AT ALL through the site - what a WASTE OF MONEY my last advert has been. A total waste. We used to be full for summer by this time of year (Easter) -- now we have not gotten ONE SINGLE booking for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Lynlou's Comment

Written on: 28/05/2013

I totally agree. I have been with holiday rentals for nearly five years and have had very steady bookings, always booked for high season by end of January, this year one booking which was made in January, since then nothing!
I have phoned Home-Away and complained, I told them that at the time I took out my subscription, I was not told of any changes, they said that in the terms and conditions they can change things whenever they want to. So I have paid my subsciption for the year and now have no bookings. I was looking at holiday-lettings as an alternative but reading the reviews on this site, they also have the same issues.
Everyone needs to get together collectively and leave Home-Away and Holiday- Lettings, probably the only way they will take notice.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Trulloinvilla's Comment

Written on: 11/01/2014

Dear Friends,
thank you for your info. Is it getting better now? I would like to join home-away, but after your review i have changed my mind. What do you think about homelidays? I rent a Villa in puglia in south Italy.
thanks
Stefano

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Dalesman2's Comment

Written on: 17/08/2018

Homelidays is now in HomeAway’s stable.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wendyat's Comment

Written on: 05/04/2018

Thanks for writing this. We renewed with them in January and were forced onto this online bookings system, for which they charge hefty charges. Now I have found out that the way the property is set up, even though renters have paid booking deposits for dates in August, the website will not transfer these funds across until the tenants check in - 5 MONTHS LATER!!! So they have the use of our money until that time and we can't pay the bills! I am in the process of trying to get them to change to instant payment instead of upon check in, but we'll see how that goes.....I am going to start asking potential renters to send the money directly to us and save themselves the booking fees.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 4 Comments
overview