PaymentSense Reviews - www.paymentsense.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
30% of users recommend this
  • Ease Of Site Navigation

  • Quality of Content

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
PaymentSense - www.paymentsense.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for PaymentSense - www.paymentsense.co.uk

PaymentSense - www.paymentsense.co.uk

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Worst company ever”

Written on: 12/09/2022 by Winemart (1 review written)

This company is a joke. Started off ok, within 6 months my rates went through the roof. They then said they would bring them down again and the didn’t Tried to say I was in a contract. Avoid this company or you will have problems !!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!!”

Written on: 03/07/2022 by Michealp129 (1 review written)

Signed up and cancelled within 2 weeks. Company processed card payments by did not pay into our account, nearly put us out of business. Hours on the phone and 50 emails later it still hasn't been sorted. Still had the nerve to pile on some hidden charges via direct debit for money they never even paid! Shameful company, Avoid at all costs!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this company..! ”

Written on: 10/09/2020 by Bernardcon (1 review written)

Avoid this company. We just got rid of payment sense. Never again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad bad bad”

Written on: 11/06/2020 by Hayleeq491 (1 review written)

Hidden charges worse company make verrrrrryyy sure and read before u sign contract.after contract will never go back to them.They alway over charge and have stupid reason.Dont forget when u sign contract u sign with three different company(3 different charges)

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Stay away from the company”

Written on: 17/01/2020 by Gilberto388 (1 review written)

This company locks you in to a contract and “conveniently recorded all calls apart from the relevant one and won’t take the evidence I have just the fact that they can’t find the call STAY AWAY!! I’ve since looked into the company after being bit and found they have a low rating of D and have so many negative reviews it’s unbelievable!! Wish I did me research before hand!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware......you will be out of pocket!!”

Written on: 26/09/2019 by Stack5 (1 review written)

How are this lot still in business? Having read the reviews it seems that its not just me that's been having problems. I wouldn't normally write a review but someone came into my shop and complained about a guy from the company illegally forging their signature & after what ive had to put up with I have to say I'm not surprised. Just disgusted that they think this is ok. I wanted to get a card machine for my shop and rang them only to be rushed through a contract that I wasn't allowed to read as "the offer" would expire soon. I electronically signed it however I found they'd set up the payments to my personal bank account. When I asked if I could swap accounts to my business one they said yes its easy. It isn't. They took charges out of both accounts for a year & a half until my accountant kicked off and they refunded me about 30 quid as the "payments went too far back" and had missed the cut off for over-charges. The hidden charges are disgraceful & they arbitrarily take out whatever they feel like, it doesn't relate to any charges on their invoices, its just whatever they think they want to have. Again got refunded a pathetic amount for my trouble. You cant get hold of the same person on the phone twice so whoever you speak to just fobs you off. They hate their customers & want to shaft you royally if they possibly can. I don't know why they don't just be honest about it as I'd have more respect for them. I sent them a letter 9 months ago saying I was leaving and going with another company as they'd essentially set me up as a sole trader not a limited company and I could get out of the contract after 18 months. So I took this opportunity to escape. Only I cant escape them fully as they continued to charge me. Until I cancelled the direct debit. They then obviously still had my other bank details as they started taking money out of my personal account again. So I cancelled the direct debit for this too. They wont accept receipt of the letter telling them I was leaving & just keep charging me each month plus late payment fees. Yep.....im still not paying. You are not bullying me into paying dirty money for me to leave. If they've not received my letter why did people from the company come into my shop to ask me why ive left? Why did I receive a letter asking for the card machine back? Its laughable The will do anything in their power to make money including duping their customers so please avoid at all costs

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Over charges ”

Written on: 10/05/2019 by Glassxe442 (1 review written)

I hate to leave a negative review or have time for this. I have had several card providers over 6 years and this is the worst experience i ever have had and several shops within this area have the same opinion and experience. He visited me once and spent most of his time praising himself and his company and repeatedly telling me how wonderful his service is. He wrote my charges down on a scrap piece of paper and the application date appointment and then was very keen to do the installation as soon as possible and never to be seen again throughout 2 years, gone like the wind. He promised to cover my fees from the previous card provider and said don't worry about a thing including help with PCI Compliance. Around £300.00 is still owed to me and will never get this back now after sending my paid VAT invoice. First Data dealt with the transaction costs of the terminal which i could see the charges for on the merchant statements. My rep told me about the rates and the terminal costs ONLY and there was many other charges. The main charges are the add on charges that were taken directly out my bank account PCI Compliance and Non Compliance charges, Statement charges and many other charges that added up to well over £100.00 each month with no emails or letters breaking down the extreme charges that i was never told about when signing the contract, i had to phone Paymentsense so many times to ask what the charges were and even they could not explain some of the hidden charges, you just get passed from pillow to pillow. In a 2 year period i have been over charged by triple figures, its disgusting. It seems my Rep is getting a bad name for him self around Torbay and beyond and really does not surprise me. The company are more than happy to let you go at a cost and do absolutely nothing to resolve any issues whatsoever. I am keeping this review short as it goes and could say plenty more but its a bad memory that i would like to forget but i thought my bad experience should be shared. Thankyou.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Disgusting Service AVOID ”

Written on: 11/04/2019 by MeerkatTyres (1 review written)

Customer service has been disgusting. They have kept the business money. They have refused to let me cancel my services with them even though it is within the cancellation period and are now trying to charge me over £1600 + vat for the privileget. The woman who came to my place of work has also entered me into a 5 year contact that was not agreed to. AVOID THIS COMPANY AT ALL COST.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“BE AWARE,.....HIDDEN CHARGES, ....”

Written on: 02/04/2019 by ofMadden1967 (1 review written)

BE AWARE,.....HIDDEN CHARGES, ..... A representative called at my shop to offer payment sense services and i asked him all the relevant questions about charges, contract length,cool off period, etc , but all his answers were far from the truth. I told him that i will not sign a thing until i have a proper look at the T&C's. He told me that i need to sign an empty box on his iPad in order to receive the T&c's via email, so i could make up my mind in the comfort of my home. Stupidly, i did, don't know how he managed to manipulate me, but i guess they train them to do that, and to my surprice i received an email with all the contracts and T&C's with my signature on them. The representative has tricked me into online signing the documents and it appear that the cool off period and all free cancellations he promised were in fact not true. I have spent a month , providing Cctv proofs and other types of proof that i was tricked into signing a contract and luckily i got out of it. It was hard work providing all the evidence. I was not ever going to work with such a company and was ready to pay the £1500 cancellation fee, only to get our this contract if i had to.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I'll get straight to the point - my issues with this...”

Written on: 20/03/2019 by AGMan435 (1 review written)

I'll get straight to the point - my issues with this company are: 1. Their sales people will tell you there are no hidden charges but there are plenty of them. 2. In my experience they sent me an electronic contract and the sales person said I should call him as soon as I receive it as he would need to guide me on where to sign. They do this to ensure you don't see the 5 year contract they sign you up for and all the extra charges. 3. The contract they send you is titled 'Regulated by the Consumer Credit Act'. This is NOT true if you sign the document on behalf of a limited company. 4. Due to point number 3 they have full confidence in sending you on to the Financial Ombudsman to settle any disputes as they know the FO only look into cases involving regulated activity with individuals rather than limited companies. Please don't just take my word for it. Go on to google and look at review sites for terminal service providers and you'll be overwelmed with how many identical complaints about Payment Sense there are. There are also a number of cases on the Financial Ombudsman website you can look at that show what these people are. Don't be fooled by the glossy corporate image. Due to their financial clout they have been doing this to people and individuals for years with impunity. I will be starting a Facebook and Twitter group that will allow the public to review this company with their experiences. They do a very good job of filtering the complaints on their Facebook site to give you the impression that all of their customers think they are great. I will post the link here once I've done it. After my review above here is the response from Payment Sense: " Good afternoon Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am truly sorry to hear you are disatisfied. I have reviewed your FDGL contract. In section 1 this does explain who the Consumer Credit Act covers, such as individuals and partnership, which is not applicable to body corporate. Unfortunately, Limited Company and Body Corporates do not fall under The Financial Ombudsman's jurisdiction. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may cause. Kind regards, Paymentsense Ltd " Note that they make no mention of additional charges or any of my other concerns. This company specialise in duping you into a 5 year contract after which they can do as they please. Pathetic and disgusting that they see nothing wrong in their conduct. My next stop will be Watch Dog, Money Box and You and Yours.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Most underhanded deceitful company i have ever dealt with”

Written on: 07/02/2019 by Big_Simkin (1 review written)

The sales people will say anything to get you to sign up. This was my first experience of taking out a card terminal contract I asked the sales representative for a quote and what their charges would be, I was told there's a monthly terminal hire, a small percentage charge for each transaction and the PCI Compliance fee. Sneaky extra charges that this company will add to your account are... Plus Rewards Program
 A Minimum Monthly Charge
 A Till Roll Subscription
 A Restocking Fee
 Client Line Service
 Account On File Fee 
 PCI Phone in Service All of these charges were added to my account without authorisation, why couldn't they be more upfront about all the added extras in the first place. Also be aware that you will be signing up to a 5 year contract even though i was told it was an 18 month contract.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“When the Payment Sense agent called into my shop and...”

Written on: 17/01/2019

When the Payment Sense agent called into my shop and signed me up for taking card payments with them I felt under pressure and rushed. He had an I-pad and you are supposed to read and digest and sign everything whilst they (and customers) are in the shop. I was told nothing about any early termination of contract payment that I may incur, just that I had to give a months notice. I am retiring at the end of February as the lease on my shop is up, but Payment Sense are charging me £372 to terminate my account as they say I have 14 months left on my 4 year contract. This was totally unexpected as I had even mentioned to the agent that I was thinking of retiring soon but he assured me it wouldn't be a problem. The wool was certainly pulled over my eyes and I'm paying through the nose for it! Don't use Payment Sense unless you are certain you can co-ordinate the closure date of your business with end date of your contract!

Cacha's Comment

Written on: 21/01/2019

Update - After conversing with one of the customer service managers at Paymentsense they have agreed to reduce my payment! It's nice to see that big companies are able to show a little compassion and help out small businesses by being flexible. Thank you Paymentense - my faith is somewhat restored.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Please do not use this company”

Written on: 20/11/2018 by omagraeme (1 review written)

We were sold a system from this company that promised a 1 year contract and no transaction charges for unto £4000 per month.  The get you to esign dozens of contracts on an ipad and you get so flustered your are not sure what you are signing. They ended up catching us for a 4 year contract. Please look elsewhere for you payment provider. Don't accept any cold call from them, I wish I had followed my own advice. Now having to take a case to the Finical ombudsman to try and get rid of them.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY !!!!!!!!”

Written on: 15/08/2018 by onevoice (1 review written)

The worst thing I ever done. simple.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolutely awful service”

Written on: 26/07/2018 by alantaylor101 (1 review written)

Absolutely awful service. Equipment is not fit for purpose, is the slowest of connections, clears contactless payments straight back to main menu, so if you do not watch it, you do not know if the payment was approved. Customer service is shocking. Added someone to our account that we have never heard of,when queried, we were simply told they would take the person off, did not answer what they had access to,so can only assume personal data is at risk. There are much better card operators out there, with much better equipment. Ignore all the hype about pricing, the age old rule applies. You pay for what you get. Avoid at all costs.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid at all costs!”

Written on: 15/06/2018 by AntiquesC (1 review written)

Avoid at all costs! I could go on for ages with the multiple issues we have had but im just going to keep it short. We are a small limited company and have nothing but issues with this company. Contacting a person is a 20 minute job and then 4/5 times you get told you've rang the wrong person. 3 telephone numbers later I can speak to someone - this happened every time! You have to pay for everything even when its their fault. They make promises they can't keep and go back on their word. They cant get eplacements machines out in the time they say. The machines hardly ever work! refurbished machines. Nothing but hassle - trouble and false promises! Stay clear - small companies can't afford to use Paymentsense!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 4 1
★☆☆☆☆

“YOU HAVE 14 DAYS!!! to Cancel your contract..TRUE”

Written on: 13/05/2018 by AldoWalsh198 (1 review written)

I'm not sure what just happened!!! A rep gave a great sounding deal...I chose to go ahead...but...after rep had my application completed...it was difficult to get confirmation on the deal...I was seeking the contract in the emails I was sent...there was no contract...no confirmation paperwork of our agreed rates, fees' etc only the terminal rental info. I had to telephone payment sense to request the contracts and fee schedules. Which I really REALLY read through. What it does not state clearly is you have 14days to cancel. The fact that was omitted, made me double check everything. (I had read the 1 star views on Trust Pilot - the 5 star ones are fake as all that is needed is a merchant ID number to make it look legit, and unless there are alot of stupid retailers out there...? There seemed to be additional charges and fee's listed on a page called 'Charges Schedule' I'm no genius but it certainly looked like added transaction fees under a different name. There were also other additional monthly charges...outside of the rental. Contract very unclear. Expect 'Assessment Fees' on top of your transaction fees. So the deal you think you may be getting...you certainly are not getting. Plus it looks like the contract is between 3 - 5 years - with high penalties to cancel. I decided to cancel (within 14 days). READ YOUR CONTRACT FULLY. I would hate to see someone get swindled and be too trusting...The contract is very confusing and unclear...

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 1
★☆☆☆☆

“NO...NO...NO...JUST...DONT!!!!”

Written on: 11/05/2018 by AldoWalsh198 (1 review written)

I'm pretty certain nothing in these contracts is enforcable...the rep has filled out the application and signed the documents digitally on your behalf...then a terminal turns up, and no documentations or contracts are either in the post or sent by email. Likely you have not agreed to anything in the contract. Therefore dont be scared by them. I had to phone up and request the contracts were sent to me. Read them very carefully. Very unclear, Decided to cancel 10 days after... But they are sneaky...if these guys ever walk in your door/shop/retail...just tel them, you have just renewed, no thanks, and have a nice day... What concerns me now is there is a sales rep out there with documents and copies of my bank details, business statements etc...basically...everything possible to fill out those forms again for anything...it was far too easy... Yeah...looks painfull...stay clear...

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid ”

Written on: 16/03/2018

Avoid payment sense Hidden charges Poor advice Misleading We are back and forth with the same person ....apparently customer complaints team member who isn’t answering our questions in full they must teach the staff to skim over answers in training! The business has gone that was using the PDQS which was a ltd company we explained this to them in Oct 2017 and gave notice The long story is when we took the PDQs we had just open the ltd business and was awaiting the bank acc so in the meantime payment sense happy advised ourselves to use another bank account (poor advice) so we used another companies bank account, we asked at the time would you keep that said company liable at any point as they were not the company agreeing to the PDQs or the contract , in which the salesman said no we would not at all.... we as in payment sense will simply change all over as soon as you have the bank account sorted with no charge etc.... Well they clearly did not keep to their advice or word. So in Oct unfortunately the business was gone we phoned payment sense to explain and they said not to worry send the dissolved paperwork for *** that was using machines and that they fully knew what they were dealing with.... Well again payment sense did not stick to their word instead we have dealt with so many untruthful statements and versions of events. It’s strange they lose phone records and notes when it suits them They are basically trying to charge the company that provided the bank account that was listed as a favour which was going to be changed but never did over £4000 in costs and charges and refuse that in Oct when we spoke to a customer service member who advised us it’s fine send all in the dissolved paperwork for *** that was using PDQs and there will be no further costs, we thought that’s great so we waited until received which takes a few months They even agreed to reduce the costs to £4.91 (never did) in the same call Strange they seem to have that on record but not him advising us of the rest- should be all sacked!!!!!! They also have no records of the sale which was when we was advised to take a contract and just sign it and use another companies bank account to get it done when the contract was generated well just another questionable area! I have asked for a full breakdown in which I’m not getting at all No invoice nothing. They have also said we hadn’t given any notice but we were advised in Oct after telling them the company went bust to just send paper work in and it will all be fine...... misleading? I’m going to take it to the ombudsman and trading standards they are trying to now hold the other company liable (bank acc) this is a sneaky move, they also have never sent any paperwork to that company and that company never signed for anything including the machines, machines have never been in that business at all, that company has never had anything from them. They took advantage of the desperation to have everything ready in time to open a new business They said that We**** was a trading name of the said company...... this is simply not true Now the company that kindly helped out are apparently liable this is a disgrace and surely given that facts and the mislead advice from payment sense a case to be won I’m clearly taking this further Any help would be appreciated

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad customer support and lots of hidden charges”

Written on: 12/03/2018 by 199Pollard (1 review written)

You get passed around from department to department trying to sort out you problem in the mean time your phone bill is racking up as it is premium rate. Beware there are a lot of hidden charges and the paperwork is a joke. Trying to decipher it is impossible and there is no VAT breakdown. Within 12 months I’ve had 2 machines replaced and have had to loose out on 3-4 days trading each time. Why a replacement machine be delivered the next working day is beyond me.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
overview