SCS Sofas - www.scssofas.co.uk – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Babs592 on 10th June 2017 Report this content
We are not getting anywhere with SCS We bought 2 reclining Sofas which cost nearly £3000. They were dilivered March 2017. Straight away the Sofas started looking shabby. 2 of their technicians on separate occasions said it was normal. Although when we took photos to the store where we bought them, said he wouldn't like them if they looked like that. But couldn't do anything because his hands were tied.  Has anyone else had this experience?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Daytr on 15th November 2016 Report this content
Would you buy anything from SCS?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content Saddielady Written on: 17/11/2016
I would not purchase anything from SCS............. their after sales is rubbish, we purchased a G Plan three piece in which we found a problem with and they were not interested in. G.Plan would not get involved unless SCS admitted their was a problem so we gave up and so tend to avoid them.
Report this content taff1950 Written on: 17/11/2016
NO, DEFENETLY NO, This is the worst Company I have ever Delt with, when we bought our sofa we were pressured by the sales person, the store Manager, and evdn the area Manager on the Day, on delivery goods was damaged store staff wanted nothing to do with complaint, after almost TWO Years and three replacements sofas we are still not satisfied with goods they take your money at store level, and after not one bit interested, head office will not refund goods, be "WARNED".
Report this content Sprohop Written on: 17/11/2016
Never ever again. We purchased a carpet for 3 wks I heard nothing I rang the store and was told carpet in arranged for them to fit it then got a call to say it wasn't in this happened 3 times. On the 3rd time I had had enough and got a refund.
Report this content fatlips Written on: 04/03/2017
yes I would buy, when problems as when arise they sort them not like mickey mouse companies out there.
See All Answers
Asked by longday1974 on 6th October 2016 Report this content
I ordered a sofa that took 3 months to come and I paid £79 to get it delivered on a Saturday, it did not come on the Saturday. I had to ring them at 4.00 after taking the day off work to be told it had a hole in it so it was no good, I was told I would get another one on the Wednesday. How could they make a new one in 3 days? Anyways it came and it was the wrong one as it was a corner sofa. No one rang me to speak to me, we had to go to the shop at metro center to be told we amended the order which we didn't was told by the manager that she would ring the next da. She didn't, she got one of the sales people to tell me they don't normally order new ones, but they will this time and that I have to wait another 3 months customer service is disgusting being a shop manager myself I would never treat customers the way they have. She was to ring me at 5.00pm when I finished work. Still waiting and it is 6.00pm now.  What are my rights? Thank you.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by Mickeymost1 on 22nd April 2016 Report this content
Has anyone ever had a awful smell from a three piece suite from SCS?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content Zuummm Written on: 22/04/2016
After my wife farted on it yes!
Report this content Saddielady Written on: 22/04/2016
We have never had this problem but the experience we had with the 'G'plan 3 piece suite from SCS.... they would not acknowledge there was a fault.......... We would never buy from SCS again'
Report this content rickwillis Written on: 25/04/2016
It's probably due to the smell of buIIsh1t the salesmen emit. I would never buy a three piece from SCS. In fact, I would never buy ANYTHING from SCS anymore.
See All Answers
Asked by ryanjones2704 on 17th October 2014 Report this content
Has anyone on here purchased any item from the endurance range that SCS have on offer? I almost purchased one myself today and as I was just about to input my pin number (for £1700 worth) when I recalled being told to stay away from 'endurance leather'. Can anyone give me any advice or reviews? Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content clowesr Written on: 17/10/2014
Avoid SCS at all cost's the trouble I had with the company isn’t worth it, going off other people's reviews it paints the same picture. Great getting you in but the second the paper is signed it goes downhill. I had to do 4 finance agreements because they kept missing things off, then sent the wrong colour and didn’t replace it for 6 months then it broke and it took them over a year to sort the issues out which have happened again. My advice is to go to DFS or any other sofa company even if it's more expensive. Thanks
Report this content Ta-dah Written on: 17/10/2014
Hi I have the endurance sofas. A four and a two seater. . I have two cats and this has been great as far as them catching their claws on it. The sofas look nice but my hubby hates them as the backs aren't high enough for him in his humble opinion but I love the look and so he can sit on the floor lol. . What concern is it that you have specifically about the Endurance.
Report this content ryanjones2704 Written on: 17/10/2014
How long have you had them? My concerns are the condition of the leather after a period of time. Will it crack and/or split? I understand they come with a 10 year warranty but reading reviews the aftercare is absolutely diabolical from SCS. I don't think you can go wrong with the look as they really are attractive pieces of furniture. What is it you have from the range? I'm looking at a sofa with chaise and swivel chair from the diamond range. Really keen to place an order to ensure delivery before Christmas I just want to make sure I'm buying the right thing as I'm a first time buyer and cant afford to buy rubbish!
Report this content bobf36 Written on: 17/10/2014
My experience of Endurance Leather and indeed that of SCS in general is exceedingly poor. What you see in the showroom is not what you get. General build of the suites is poor (made in China) and the colour of the leather varies from section to section. After sales service is the worst I have ever come across, when they have your money, they don't want to know. Due to the experience I have had I have now resolved to try and avoid national companies again, if I did it would be one that belongs to the 'Furniture Ombudsman' (look up online). You will not be surprised to learn SCS do not belong to this organisation. I will try and stick to reputable LOCAL dealers from now on who care more about their reputation and customer service. Hope this helps.
Report this content terryhs Written on: 17/10/2014
Hi we purchased the endurance sofa we have had since February, we had a small amount of stitching that came away but scs fixed within a week, it's been great apart from that still looks like new it's a family sofas and get used heavily no stretching of the leather or any signs where it would wear and looks great.
Report this content Ta-dah Written on: 18/10/2014
Hi there I have the Endurance Eternity sofas in black. I have had the sofas a over a year and they still look great. I did have a small problem with a catch spring in the sofa seat but SCS have been absolutely fantastic as far as customer service is concerned. I think it's easy to find negative reviews more than positive but as far as the leather is concerned they look like leather but it's composite is such that it won't crack and split like leather as it's a man made material. I had sofas from DFS which were leather but if someone has a pocket zip or something sharp that scuffed the material it was difficult to hide even with boot polish or leather treatment. One of my cats in mischievous play scrambled across the ScS sofa and I was amazed that it hadn't marked unlike it would have if it was real hide leather. I think in future I would go for endurance over leather. Just like my previous sofas I clean regularly and plump too .i hope this helps in your decision. If it doesn't feel right keep looking. Good luck. Feel free to ask further
Report this content dannylee80 Written on: 18/10/2014
Well SCS are not very great from my personal experience. i had the headoffice being abusive to me, also make sure it is 100% a sofa you want as they do not work like any other company and don't have any cancellation period. Look about 1st Land of leather, DFS and many others that are much better. I have only just won a 2 and half year battle to get my sofa repaired due to SCS delivery team smashing the arms up and a manufacturing issus that has caused all the foams to breakup. My durable leather has survived the dog claws but not the cats. Don't be a fool and take the leather care kits as you can get galons of the stuff from ebay or amazon for the prices they charge.
Report this content maninwales Written on: 11/11/2014
Its a mix of 70% leather and 30% man made fibre. This type of leather has been used by airlines and car manufacturers for years because of it's durability.
Report this content Debbage Written on: 05/02/2015
Do not buy from SCS .Service is poor. Just spent a couple of grand on recliners and they are not fit for purpose and after sales is poor at best
See All Answers
Asked by scs1988 on 23rd July 2014 Report this content
Hi, just a quick question. Has anyone had the helena from SCS?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content magstrev Written on: 23/07/2014
Hi...our suite wasn't helena...but as far as im concerned I trouble we had from them....I would never..ever..buy from this company again...you dont get the same suite thats in the showroom. ..when you finally have it delivered...it doesn't have the same stuffing as it should have...it sags within 4 weeks....its been made very shabbily. ..not worth a penny. ..and the help from the shop is diabolical. ..eventually we got our money back after 2 deliveries it came to nearly a year. ..I would definitely go to ikea. .As I wouldn't trust any of the furniture companies. ..they are all the same...you dont get what you ordered..and getting a refund is a nightmare...
Report this content Beau11 Written on: 23/07/2014
Suprised iv been emailed to give you feed back with the trouble ive had to be honest. Cant remember what the name of the sofa is how ever i will never by from scs again! product unsafe,has broken about 3 times, my one year old was finding screws that fell out from it after having it for about 4 months, other bits have fallen off it, foot rest snapped in half. Customer service was appalling, apparently you have no managers that your customers can speak to. And many of the service staff were rather abrupt whist on the phone. Overall completely unsatisfied
Asked by Tess967 on 27th January 2014 Report this content
Purchased stock sale sofa 14 hours ago from scs paid by credit card but now having doubts. Told can't cancel. Is this legal? As s stock item can we just cancel order?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

questionAnswer