Hammonds Furniture - www.hammonds-uk.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by BobsndtBib on 19th December 2017 Report this content
I wrote a review and later had an e mail from Hammonds offering £20 M&S vouchers. I have contacted Hammonds but they don't answer my mail, can you tell me why Hammonds offer voucher with no intentions of giving them? It a pity, I did not ask for the vouchers and now it could spoil the companies image

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content JaeC Written on: 20/12/2017
I was offered the chance to be entered in a draw to win £100 M&S vouchers by leaving a review, but was never actually offered the vouchers themselves. I was, however, offered a year’s free single membership of the Woodland Trust, but didn’t take it up.
Report this content dragonfly666 Written on: 20/12/2017
I had wardrobes fitted by Hammonds, om completion I recieved an e-mail saying that if I did one review i would recieve a £5 M&S voucher and if I did two (Trust Pilot and the Review Centre) I would recieve a £20 M&S voucher. I did the two reviews, you have to send the confirmation of the reviews to Hammonds, which I did and I recieved my £20 M&S voucher within the week. Can I suggest you resend back to Hammonds the confirmation of your review from whichever one you did to recieve your voucher. I did the two to get the £20 which makes me think if you have only done the one this would be £5. But I will say I dont have any details just what you have written. Hope this is of help.
Report this content HoneybeeHackney Written on: 20/12/2017
Hi, I had the same issue with Hammonds. I needed some adjustments made to my new furniture and phoned them at the time of the call I mentioned the M&S vouchers not yet received... They apologised for the delay and I received them in a few days. Try phoning them. I'm sure they will respond. Good luck.
Report this content ericgill Written on: 20/12/2017
We too had a wardrobe fitted (beautifully) and was asked to write a review by a separate company(cant remember the name) on behalf of Hammond's with a promise of M & S vouchers and naturally we wrote a glowing review - which was well deserved - and thought no more of the vouchers, but low and behold about 4 or 5 weeks later we received two £10.00 M & S vouchers in the post. I initially thought that it was a bit of a ruse to get me to write a review but to be perfectly honest we were so happy to write it anyway because we were so pleased with the wardrobe it didn't really matter, but it was a very pleasant surprise when they eventually came in the post.
Report this content Alshe369 Written on: 20/12/2017
After having wardrobes fitted by Hammonds I was asked to write a review & if I did two for two different review sights I would receive £20 M&S vouchers .... This I did & in no time at all I was sent the vouchers..Try resenting your reviews again to Trust Pilot & The Review Centre.. Good luck
Report this content Laughinggas Written on: 20/12/2017
I was offered the £20 M&S vouchers and after leaving a review I received the vouchers, no problem. Haven't used them yet. Sorry to hear you are having problems.
Report this content FarmerDodge Written on: 21/12/2017
As previously answered, you need to do the 2 reviews and then forward the confirmations, which you should receive from the 3 review sites, to Hammonds. They will then send the vouchers. This is a genuine offer. If you are uncertain, ring them, they are very helpful.
Report this content BobsndtBib Written on: 21/12/2017
Why want Hammonds respond
See All Answers
Asked by MonicaTM on 30th January 2017 Report this content
Has anyone had misaligned or chipped edges on newly fitted furniture? Hammonds told us that is a normal finish for Hammonds, just hoping that someone can give us a different experience. Thank you

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content CWoodcockUK Written on: 31/01/2017
I've had two installations of hammonds furniture the first had multiple flaws with the installation and supply of parts - all of which were eventually sorted out to my complete satisfaction which is why I used the company again and the second time - excellent no flaws at all. I would say that chips or misalignments are NOT acceptable in any fitted furniture - there was misalignment in mine which the trouble shooter first of all said that's just how it is and then used a tape measure and said errmm that's totally wonky.. the way I handled it was to be unreasonably nice... this embarrassed them into getting it fixed properly although that may not work for you... but you shouldn't just accept it.
Report this content Casandpaul Written on: 31/01/2017
Yes we have had to Have a door replaced twice due to the seal coming adrift call them they have been back to Us lots of times
Report this content susiekeefie Written on: 31/01/2017
We had Hammonds fit all our bedrooms in a previous house (2008 - 2012) and then all of them at our new house which we moved to in 2012. In the early fittings they were fantastic, but they have deteriorated so much in my opinion that I would never, ever use them again. We had so many problems with our last fitting we considered taking them to court. They fitted the bedroom (office furniture actually) poorly and tried every trick in the book to fob us off, including throwing a little piece of the small print at us when everything else was failing. Their 'service' I can only describe as utterly appalling. So, to answer your question. Yes, chipped and misaligned edges are normal for Hammonds. Does that mean you can't demand to have it righted to comply with the consumer law? No, it doesn't, but I'm afraid you're going to have to shout loud, shout long and shout hard to get a result, and then make a note to tell everyone you can about how appalling they really are. My advice, get a local joiner, or a small local company with a good name to do fit your rooms out.
Report this content MonicaTM Written on: 31/01/2017
Thank you for your very helpful comments. Everyone in the process has been really pleasant. As such, I would like to believe that the senior management team would be embarrassed to see what they are installing in people's homes and branding it as a Hammmonds product. Should there be no resolution, then there would be no option other than to escalate (media/ombudsman) and get everything taken out and start again from scratch.
Report this content usernamealreadytaken Written on: 31/01/2017
Hi MonicaM I had a similar experience to CWoodcockUK below - first installation (2013)had some chips/flaws in some of the mouldings and the doors were hung incorrectly - they sorted it out quickly and satisfactorily. We used them again in 2015 for second bedroom and the installation went really well, the furniture is great but the only thing I would mention is that there was a fair bit of mess left, but I am a bit OCD so others might not find it so bad! Good luck with getting a resolution.
Report this content penview Written on: 07/02/2017
Sorry for the late reply. Contrary to some of the answers I have just read, we had an excellent experience with Hammonds in July 2016. They fitted some bedroom wardrobes for us in a very awkward space and made a very neat and tidy job of it. They also made some bedside cabinets and a chest of drawers which we were very pleased with. There were no misalignments or chipped edges, and if there had been we would not have been at all happy and would not have paid the final balance until this was sorted out. The fitter was professional, tidy and courteous and did not leave any mess whatsoever. Perhaps we were lucky!!
Report this content HammondsOnline Written on: 13/03/2017
Hi, We are sorry that you have had these issues with your new furniture. We take all complaints seriously and always want to do our best to help sort these for our customers. If you haven't already, please do get in touch with our customer service team and they will be happy to help arrange to resolve this for you. Thanks, Matt, from the Hammonds online team
See All Answers
questionAnswer