Discount Flooring Depot Reviews - www.discountflooringdepot.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
33% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

Media Gallery for Discount Flooring Depot - www.discountflooringdepot.co.uk

Discount Flooring Depot - www.discountflooringdepot.co.uk

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Be careful with their recommendations! ”

Written on: 16/09/2022 by MayLosada (1 review written)

The sales person over the phone told us to order the only type of underlay they have for LVT. As soon as the product arrived, our builder, plumber AND manufacture of our underfloor heating advised strongly against putting this underlay down. When I raised this with them, they said product would be 'suitable' although it wouldn't be at all energy efficient. They made me paid for the return, even when they sent me something I didn't ask for Their customer service is a joke, it doesn't matter who you speak to, all emails come from the same inbox with no names anywhere, so even if you ask to speak to the manager or escalate the issue with a format complain, it's probably the same person answering. Their return policy said it takes 10 days for a refund to be processed, and of course they waited until the last minute to do so. I would not recommend this company at all,

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Poor customer service, Month late ”

Written on: 24/09/2021 by Wantlaminate (1 review written)

Ordered flooring that was stated as in stock, and picked a delivery date 4 days later. I had someone wait at home all day awaiting arrival. No communication until 1730 stating they did not have it in stock until 4 weeks later. The website was still showing as them holding it available for delivery within 4 days. Avoid.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“not interested in complaints”

Written on: 29/04/2021 by Doddgk148 (1 review written)

Flooring chipped and scratched within days of laying. Customer service dismissed my complaints saying that no flooring is scratch proof. But the flooring they supply is rubbish. Thin and very easily scratched and chips under normal usage. Avoid this company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“POOR”

Written on: 20/02/2021 by Dipesh1118 (1 review written)

Very poor customer service! Ordered some flooring off the website put my measurements in with 10% wasteage allowance. I was told on the website calculations that I would require 3 packs to complete my room. Upon receiving my flooring there was the exact amount of boards for the job nothing spare. Unfortunately an error was made on my last few boards which required to order a whole pack again which as you would at 1030pm order online. Everything on the website showed to be the same with NO HIGHLIGHTED areas. Placed an order again and upon receiving my pack a week later on time the new boards didn’t click into my already laid floor. Upon ringing customer services the gentleman seemed to know right away without me giving any information what type of floor this click system was not working with which I found to be odd and knew it was clearly an issue already. I was told there was nothing they could do and the click system had been changed in that short space of time and they have supplied me with the right product that I ordered and I should have rang to order and not ordered through the website. This was not helpful whatsoever! I asked what they were going to do as I was under quoted the number of packs I would need in the first place due to the poor online account age for waste. I had to pay for delivery for the extra pack yet again and on top of that the click system had miraculously changed in a space of a week. He said he would speak to his manager. He then later emailed saying we are not liable and as you can see from the image shown it clearly states the click system is different. I’m sorry but it was not CLEAR. Definition of clear is not small italic writing first of all! Secondly your “clear” writing is in a section where the customer would have to scroll down the page click product description and then scroll all the way down again! To then see they have put new click system at the bottom of the page. I’m sorry but which customer would read a product description of something they have just ordered and need an extra pack for. Your website needs to make it clear over the product picture “see description details” or “new click system” not in a section where someone would clearly not see. Your customer service was shocking that you didn’t have the decency to call back and emailed instead. I have spend £300+ on flooring that luckily I salvaged somehow through cutting the ends off the boards you sent. Poor customer service not even apologising once or saying how you may improve your website to make sure this doesnt happen to another customer. I will not be recommending your website to anyone very poor and hope people take time to read this review!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid Avoid Avoid”

Written on: 15/02/2021 by Rolands147 (1 review written)

Absolutely disgraceful - wouldn't even give 1 star, but I had to. The quality is shocking, breaking on installation, exchanged several emails with their customer service who won't accept any liability for supplying goods which are not fit for purpose and are not of satisfactory quality. Tried to tell me I don't have the right to reject goods under the Consumer Rights Act as ownership transfers to me on delivery - I think they need to read up on the legislation! They also tried to tell us 'it's not like normal laminate' as though we were stupid. Asked us for pictures and to fill in a complaint form which we did so they could pass it to the manufacturer, even though the contract is with them so they are the ones liable. They keep repeating questions and trying to duck out of responsibility any way they can. Shocking goods and shocking customer service. They have over 4,000 reviews on their website, yet I can't leave one - very suspicious. Will be reporting to trading standards. Wished I'd have read the reviews on here before buying!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Incorrect products in categories ”

Written on: 15/07/2020 by OmarCunningham71 (1 review written)

I wanted to purchase some waterproof laminate flooring for my bathroom. I went on discount flooring depot, went through the categories and selected "waterproof flooring" and ordered something I liked within that page. When I received the item the instructions clearly stated "not suitable for bathrooms". When I emailed customer service, I received a very abrupt and email saying it was pretty much tough and if I wanted to return it, would cost me £75 to return (more than the flooring cost itself!!) The most terrible customer service I've ever received. I definitely wouldn't recommend ordering from this company. Atrocious.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“AVOID AVOID AVOID”

Written on: 19/07/2019 by dpSheehan214 (1 review written)

Although packs had no signs of damage from the outside, a significant amount of laminate boards had some form of damage. Contacted company within a few minutes of courier leaving. A few days later we received a reply to say damage was obvious and should have been noticed on delivery. No replacement offered. AVOID AVOID AVOID

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Great website, easy to order with fast delivery”

Written on: 17/04/2018 by 188Fanning (1 review written)

Placed order for samples which arrived two days later. I then placed order for 16 boxes of laminate. Boxes arrived next day with a pallet courier. Overall very easy experience. Prices are very competitive. I will be using the company again.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this company at all costs”

Written on: 07/04/2018 by Jordin84 (1 review written)

Ordered my laminate from discount flooring on 02/03/2018 after having paid £35 delivery charge. Order was delivered very very late. When we contacted DFD to chase this up. The order was eventually delivered but an extra pallet of laminate was delivered. Rang DfD to advise them of this as we only realised when the order was left by courier. this order was supposed to have been collected in March. Now in April and order still has not been collected. Courier eventually came to collect but would not take pallet because it was in hallway. Advised courier that due to health reasons I could not lift the pallet. DfD stated it is your responsibility to make sure the order is collected yet it was DfD errror to begin with. They expect an unwell person to lift 18 packs of laminate, leave them outside in the rain and only to charge me for the order again if they are damaged.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Discount flooring company - AVOID”

Written on: 27/10/2017 by 134Cantrell (1 review written)

I ordered 22 packs of flooring. I was told it would be delivered between 12 and 3pm and not to worry waiting in. I was suspicious and stayed home. Half an hour later at 10.30am the delivery arrived. Having read reviews about this company on various sites I opened the first six boxes. All were damaged I regused delivery under s14(2) goods not of merchantable quality. The damage was not during transit as none of the boxes were damaged. Four packs had the groove edges missing. It was uniform for each plank and clearly a manufacturing fault. Two boxes had the backs of the flooring damaged. Again no packaging was damaged and the damaged planks were in the middle of the pack. The planks either side were not damaged. The underlay was torn and again the plastic wrapping around it was indamaged. I received an email and voicemail advising they cannot resell as I have opened the packs and so could not be resold. I advised that they state after purchase they repackage the flooring so this is not true and faulty flooring cannot be resold. Also by law I am entitled to fully inspect the goods. They promised to send a form for a refund and blamed the courier company. I have no form and I am now seeking a refund through my credit card company. Anything a £100 or more is covered by them. So I always pay this way for protection.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unrepresentative samples, unfair refund policy”

Written on: 27/03/2017 by Keyon89 (1 review written)

Beware: Purestone Limestone laminate pictures on their website look nothing like the actual product, and the samples sent are not representative of the whole product as there is colour variation. The floor is not neutral as pictured - it is an ok cream colour at one end but pink at the other, and looks nothing like stone, but has a fake rag-rolled paint effect at the pink end. On trying to return product for this reason, the company has been rude, duplicitous and intransigent, and have imposed charges such that a return is not financially worth it.

Kelliecem's Response to Keyon89's Review

Written on: 19/04/2017

HI,

I have personally been responsible for looking after your order. You had been sent a sample which you had been happy with. Once the floor arrived with you you had had decided that you did not like the product. The picture on our website would depend on the resolution of your computer. Although it was not company policy to organise your return I did this for you, as you had stipulated the cost was too high and you had then decided to keep the product. I explained that if you wanted me to I would organise and prepay for this service giving you our rate. (this is not company policy but offered to you to make the return of the items simpler and cheaper) You agreed to this and this was organised for you, returned to us and then refunded. I am sorry if you felt the service offered was not good enough.


Kellie.

Reply to this comment

Sugarell01's reply to Kelliecem's Comment

Written on: 31/05/2017

Having read your t&cs I googled reviews and can honestly say this ridiculous policy whereby returning goods from an online purchase basically makes the return in ineffective due to the costs of admin, original deliver and return by pallet carrier. I will not be purchasing as I feel like your policy is not customer friendly and the reviews you made original concerns valid. I do not want a response, I work in a commercial job in retail and am giving you feedback that this will stop customers buying from you.

Reply to this comment

Bojangles15's reply to Sugarell01's Comment

Written on: 29/01/2021

I totally agree. I'm sick of internet companies like these who cant wait to take your money but the second the goods are dumped on your driveway, they want nothing more to do with you. Customer service non existent. Will not take stuff back even when it's their fault. Hope they go out of business. My advice would be to always read trustpilot reviews. They are the most honest reviews. This company clearly sucks.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
Read 3 Comments
★★★★☆

“Good service good flooring”

Written on: 05/07/2016 by fruitbat44 (1 review written)

We visited the showroom and found the staff to be helpful and offered advice when we asked. we ordered solid wood flooring - ordered it on a Saturday and took delivery Thursday. Only ordered flooring. bough our own underlay and nailed the flooring. Happy with the product and the look and was easy to lay. they warned us about the courier company and the need to check the goods as they cannot claim back themselves if goods not signed for damaged. I can understand that having experience of the courier company but can see how it is frustrating if you do get damage. Luckily all was fine with our wood, delivery and happy with the price so cannot find any faults with the company. Customer services were also really helpful giving me an ETA on the day for delivery

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“GREAT START TO FINISH”

Written on: 03/02/2016 by nessie998 (2 reviews written)

Easy ordering, easy communication, samples arrived, picked what we wanted, delivered and checked everything over which you are warned to do. thankfully no damage. very good quality product for the price and got it on a 0% finance deal for 6 months! overall one very satisfied customer

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Buyers beware”

Written on: 05/12/2015 by Naughty0161 (1 review written)

Buyers beware.......if any of you're items are damaged discount flooring depot will not refund you!!.. Unless you open every pack and professionally examine every board whilst the delivery driver is there. This happened to me ... 12 packs out of 25 of my flooring was found damaged when my fitter opened them - no visible damage from the packaging. When I reported this to them they basically told me they would not replace as they had no proof they delivery company damaged it. If you feel like taking a chance good luck but be warned... A bit of advice... Don't trust their "ekomi" review site as they make it difficult for you to leave a negative review, Google their London address ( a bit suspect) and use google to mediate they reimbursed me not discount flooring

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“Excellent Customer Service”

Written on: 26/08/2015

Ordered the Sydney Grey Oak. Unfortunately It was not available due to its popularity. I choose to wait on it coming in. I was called by a great staff member to inform me delivery was ready for the next day. Explained their Kerbside delivery (I knew as I had read my emails) and told me to check for damages. I am glad I did as 2 out of my 45 had been damaged in transit. Rang customer services who asked me to send pictures and as I was prepared I had a picture of the Proof of delivery. The lady organised my replacements and I have them already. Excellent service kept me informed through out the process.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalled ”

Written on: 29/04/2015 by Hayleyseaham (1 review written)

I have no doubt if everything arrived ok, then my review would have also been a good one !!! However I do hope nobody has cause to call them for some after care !!!! I am diaguated My delivery arrived after a week, My decorator took receipt as I had popped to the local shop, The courier advaied him to check the boxes and everuthing appeared fine I arrived home just as the courier was leaving and did ask Do we need to check every board and he laughed !!! It was poring down with rain and he advaied no to just check the boxes externally as we wouldn't be able to lift them otherwise And plus they may get wet !!!! My decorator and I, carried the 15 packs into the house and he immediately opened the first 3 and advised me that he couldn't believe Out of 3 packs 11 boards were damaged I said ok, I am sure everything will be fine as the company appear to be ok. I was worried about the next 12 boxes but didnt want to open them until needed I called up and wished the woman good morning and advaied I had an issue with an order Immediatley she became extremely argumentative and defensive !!!!! Advaied me before even knowing the issue Nothing we can do !!!! She told me that I should have opened every box and checked every board Therefore my issue not hers I was appalled and advised I didn't wish to argue but I had not signed for them My decorator asked the courier to wait for me And he said he could leave them with a neighbour I advaied her that it was raining and would have been ludricous to open each and every box At which point I asked for a manager and she said ok and then hung up on me !!!! I called back and she answered, I asked for a manager and this time she was a manager and refused to get anyone higher I feel so sad and let down and damned right conned !!!!! This was not my fault and this company had no service skills whatsoever Last year I got the same flooring from floor maker U.K. And 2 boards were damaged They sent me 4 boards out next day delivery no quibble They just wanted a photo of the damaged item. Sadly Floor maker didn't have this flooring in stock, Hence me going to diacount flooring I am shocked and appalled I have no floor in my sons room or our bedroom and have waited. And waiter to get it done I have already arranged my decorator to be here and if he doesn't lay it today then I still have to pay him for a day, for the work and time he has spent this morning So I am now in catch 22 Do I lay what I have and deal with the next bedroom when the time comes I refuse to purchase an extra 2 packs as I wait a week for it to come and i have never ever seen customwr service like it Notice this company do have some good reviews But I also bet that they haven't had cause to get in touch after !!! Beware

Naughty0161's Response to Hayleyseaham's Review

Written on: 03/11/2015

Same thing happened to me... 12 packs out of 15 were damaged any they refused to exchange

Reply to this comment

Naughty0161's Response to Hayleyseaham's Review

Written on: 03/11/2015

Same thing happened to me... 12 packs out of 15 were damaged any they refused to exchange

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“excellent service”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by Keatinghh1980 (1 review written)

great from start to finish, no problems whatsoever will definitely use again

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Distinctly average”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by LibertyWhite (1 review written)

Went to the showroom in Salford, which was understaffed and hung around for half an hour, my first choice was out of stock and had to start the selection process again, no warning that the glue would be over £300, the ordering process was painfully slow, double checking stock in various warehouses. It takes a week to deliver unless you pay £30 delivery charge, which means with acclimatisation you need to order over two weeks in advance of laying. Product was delivered on time on a pallets service, which was okay for me as my builders were in site, but, is not really suitable for home delivery. Flooring looks nice but was delivered in random lengths which was not explained clearly. Hopefully when it's laid it will look good, but, this is not a cheap thing to do so I would shop around, earlier.

Dougiemillward's Comment

Written on: 02/03/2015

I bought some flooring and got an email from a company called Ekomi asking to review my purchase from Discount Flooring Depot, I reviewed it as average and they have never put my review online, all the reviews that they show online are rated as 4 and above, this is really poor and makes you wonder just how many people have reviewed them lower than 4 and were not put onto the site. This type of practice needs to be outlawed and really shows what type of company they are.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Easy and Stress-free Shopping! ”

Written on: 11/02/2015 by JusticeO'Rourke (1 review written)

Had a great experience with Discount Flooring Depot, customer service was exceptional and staff knowledge unbeatable! Delivery arrived promptly on the date given and we currently hsve a fitter in to lay it, can't wait to see the end result! Will be shopping here again when we make a start on our other rooms!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling Customer Service”

Written on: 03/02/2015 by Hartleyxe466 (1 review written)

I have made an order online beginning Jan 2015 and It i now beginning of Feb and I am still waiting. When I passed the order online, I was told AFTER that they didn't have it in stock and had to wait 3 more weeks for it, Then when it came to the delivery day, it was cancelled because of Snow. I had call a 7:50 am on a Sat to tell me that... I called them today to reconfirm the new delivery day and they are telling me they haven't booked the redelivery in their system!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
overview