Zapper Reviews - www.zapper.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
3.8 / 5
77% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Ease Of Site Navigation

  • Quality of Content

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Zapper - www.zapper.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Zapper - www.zapper.co.uk

Zapper - www.zapper.co.uk

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“System down for selling books for over 3 weeks now ”

Written on: 23/07/2022

I’ve been trying to scan books for over 3 weeks now and keep getting a message saying the system is down for essential maintenance .

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I had 100 books and DVDs to give away, in very good...”

Written on: 15/05/2022

I had 100 books and DVDs to give away, in very good condition, and didn't have the time or energy to sell in ebay myself, especially as I haven't had much luck with selling things in the past. So I thought I would use a book and DVD selling place to at least make something off all of it. Zapper was the only place that would accept all of them, so went with them. By the time I had finished scanning the 100 items, my offer came to just under £6. An absolute insult! But it took me such a while to do it all, I didn't have the energy to look elsewhere. So I boxed them all up and sent them. It took over a month for them to process my boxes, and to add insult to injury the final offer was £2.75! An absolute joke for 100 items in very good condition! One of those items alone would have sold for more than that, so they should be getting more than 100% profit off my items. It makes me sick that I have given them to such a money grabbing company, who will have made loads off my stuff. Needless to say, I will not be using them again, and urge you to do the same. I do not wish to take part in lining the back pockets of people who must be sickeningly rich, while those giving to it are struggling to make ends meet. Next time, although I will make no money whatsoever (though £2.75 isn't far off nothing anyway) I will be giving to charity, so then I at least know it is going to people in need rather than people full of greed.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY. If I had read the reviews...”

Written on: 24/02/2022 by 204Griffith (1 review written)

NEVER EVER USE THIS COMPANY. If I had read the reviews first I certainly wouldn't have. I sent two boxes, correctly labelled and with contents photographed. Part of the contents - the ones they are giving you the most money for.... amazingly weren't there. How can that be that part of a boxes contents is there and the other isn't. They refused to entertain that this could happen. They are just cowards who take ages to do anything and denie everything, saying you as the customer is incompetent

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Scanned large box of 'as new' books all 1p each”

Written on: 20/01/2022 by NicolasRoberts (1 review written)

I had a large box of books, all in excellent condition, some brand new hard backs and texts - every booked I scanned they were paying 1p each - what an insult, better to decline offering. Uninstalling the app - rubbish.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“**Avoid obtains YOUR STUFF AND NEVER PAYS **”

Written on: 21/09/2018 by Haysid475 (1 review written)

**Avoid obtains YOUR STUFF AND NEVER PAYS ** so far sent off 3 boxes and I am awaiting payment.. Well that was over 14 days now (30DAYS COMING UP). I have emailed them asking where the cheques are... the reply was Oh sorry blar blar blar.. We will re issue them Or send over your bank details and we will make payment asap.. Well that was Monday and still no payment.. Chased yesterday and still nothing.. WILL BE LOOKING AT TAKING IT FURTHER Fraud-act-2006

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★☆☆

“My experience was OK.”

Written on: 04/02/2018 by Dale-icious (3 reviews written)

I received a good price for my items, however, after waiting for some time, I didn't receive payment until I sent an email requesting for it's whereabouts.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Used to use them, but not any more”

Written on: 09/06/2014 by GuillermoBrady (1 review written)

At one time I was really enthusiastic for this site, and sent them all my old stuff. But the delays between them receiving the parcels, and paying out was infuriating. Nice enough people on the phone when I phoned to grumble, but have now moved to a rival of theirs which pays much more promptly. Which is a real pity, as I have no complaints about their site or its prices, but they really have to up their game on payout times.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Dreadful. Avoid”

Written on: 05/06/2014 by Malloy12 (1 review written)

People want payment not promise. It's unacceptable for Zapper to take 5 weeks to send a cheque on a small trade when competitors can achieve the same in 5 days. I've used Zapper once. Never again. I'm concerned that they have cash flow or solvency difficulty. Poor communication and delay is not a convincing business model.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Slow process”

Written on: 01/05/2014 by Spears136 (1 review written)

The website is easy to use and there are convenient drop off points. Those are the good points. The bad points: they don't pay much for items and cheques take the full 21 days to be issued and printed. Then you have to wait for them to be posted and arrive. Plus when you contact customer services they say the cheque has been posted when it hasn't because you get an email two days later to say your cheque has only just been printed. Still at least it's a way of getting a little cash back in the recession.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Strangely inconsistent”

Written on: 28/09/2013 by Malcolm273 (1 review written)

Entered book barcodes and was offered 20p each for first two, remainder not wanted. Later, going back to the site, I entered the same books, in a different order, and was again offered 20p for the first two (which were previously not wanted) and the remainder were again not wanted - including the two previous worth 20p !!! This happened several times. So is this a deliberate policy to initially offer a pittance to suck you in to the system, or a glitch, or what ? Obviously 20p is not of interest and I just took the books to a local charity shop, but this inconsistent valuuing system seems very odd and doesn't build any confidence in the accuracy of the bidding

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“I sent in around 30 items. I was told 3 of these were...”

Written on: 22/05/2013 by MikeM2013 (1 review written)

I sent in around 30 items. I was told 3 of these were damaged and as such would not get paid for them. 1 of these items was the most valuable in the pack, and was definitely not damaged. It was infact, new, unwatched. The other 2 were also unwatched and in perfect condition. Apparantly, they were damaged in transit. The box itself was packed to the brim, nothing could have possibly moved around, and these items in particular, being the most valuable, were packaged in the securest place. There were DVD's in MUCH worse condition that I expected might fail as the cases were damaged, but apparently not. 3 DVD's in perfect condition fail, as they are the most valuable inside the pack. Most of the DVD's were 25p, these happened to be £2. Will definitely not use again. Recommend people go to musicmagpie, at least you are pretty much guaranteed to get your money.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Overall better value than some other sites”

Written on: 18/05/2013

Out of around 100 books including fiction and non-fiction which I wanted to sell to Zapper, the site accepted only about 20. (Which was still better than some other websites). However in terms of price many of the other websites offered slightly better rates for individual books.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“excellent,fast and efficient service.give good value.”

Written on: 16/05/2013 by harpic21 (1 review written)

I RECEIVED A GOOD PRICE FOR MY ITEMS AND IT WAS EASY AS PIE TO SEND THEM OFF. THE CASH WAS SENT BY CHEQUE IN A MATTER OF DAYS. IN FACT I WAS SURPRISED AT THE SPEED IT WAS RETURNED. MANY THANKS FOR YOUR EXCELLENT SERVICE. KIND REGARDS. PAUL TUNSTILL.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★☆☆

“Prices getting worse”

Written on: 16/05/2013

Prices seem to be dropping to about 25p for most books and CDs. Becoming very difficult to make up a £10 order due to low offer prices so should move to minimum number of items rather than value to complete a sale like Music Magpie. If a sale can't be completed in 7 days then open list is reviewed by Zapper and items are usually rejected by Zapper as no longer required. This makes the process of finding the average 35-40 items required to complete a sale more difficult. Frustratingly, if you re-input the rejected items a few days latter Zapper often offer to buy most of them again! Website is easy and quick to use with very good response times and cheques are sent out much and received much quicker than Music Magpie.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Easy, Convenient & No problems”

Written on: 14/05/2013

I found the process of using Zapper easy & what they offered me for my items was better than other buyers I had tried. I only had to take my parcel to my local shop, for the courier they organised,to collect it. They contacted me the next day, to let me know they had received it & then again, once my delivery had been checked. I didn't have to wait too long before I received my cheque. The transaction went smoothly & I have recommended to my friends & will to you. I will be using again in the future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Much improved”

Written on: 14/05/2013

On the negative side; only take a small proportion of what's offered. But a great deal more than in the past. And have at long last sorted their website out. Could do with offering a bit more for Cd's and DVDs. However compared with other sites they have now gone from bad to pretty good. Keep on improving (still room) it make life much more pleasurable.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Sell sell sell”

Written on: 13/05/2013

Zapper offered excellent rates for my unwanted items, so much so that Zapper gave me 75% more for my things than music magpie! Do I need to say anymore. The Web site easy to navigate and use, and if your item is not required instead of offering you a pittance of a few pennies they give you a comprehensive reason as to why they do not need your unwanted CD's etc. Once you have accepted their offer, its as easy as printing a label, boxing the sold items, they even give you instructions on the best way way to do this, and quite literally taking it to your local shop! It doesn't cost you anything to post the parcel, and you are advised by Zapper to keep receipt as proof of purchase. The system is idiot proof, as every step is explained in plain english with no jargon. The only criticism that I have is that Zapper offer a cheque only service and no BACs transfer. I would definitely use zapper again and recommend them to everyone.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good but....”

Written on: 13/05/2013

Good that they buy your old CDs/DVDs and books but their prices are not really tempting at all. However, if you are in short of money, it is somewhere you can cash some money in. One other thing not good about Zapper is that they take 2 weeks to send you the cheque!!!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“well worth it”

Written on: 13/05/2013

Great to be able to offload unwanted cds dvds and books that might not sell on amazon or ebay and be guaranteed a return on them. A pity older items not accepted even if in very good condition or barcodes not recognised which seems strange! Without courier pick ups it means amount of items sold is limited unless you have means of transporting them to pick up points. But still worked well for me and will use it again in future.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“so easy to sell ”

Written on: 12/05/2013

i was reccomended to zapper by a good friend and i easily found zapper on the internet i loved the way it guided me through the rules of selling my unwanted books and dvd's i think the entering of the bar codes is so much fun it feels very professional and somehow reassuring when it tells you how much you could get for you're item and if there were to many of the item it was that easy i will certainly be using zapper again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview