Policy Expert Home Insurance - www.policyexpert.co.uk – Questions & Answers

402 - 420 Silbury Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK9 2AF

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Lolskie on 15th February 2019 Report this content
Has anyone actually had to claim on their insurance with Policy Expert and if so, how did you find their service?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content PrincessPat Written on: 18/02/2019
Yes, I had to claim for treatment in South Africa for an infected insect bite. They made it very difficult to claim, sending claim forms by email, that I had to print, complete, scan, and email back, with all my receipts and treatment paperwork. I returned the email with 10 attachments! They even said they wanted a 3 page report from my GP to assure themselves that the treatment wasn’t for a pre-existing condition. I had to ring & say that I was only claiming £160, £110 after removal of the £50 excess. And that a GP report would probably cost more than I was claiming, and that I thought they were trying to dissuade me from claiming. After I spoke to a supervisor, they agreed to take my claim without a GP report. The claim was then paid within 7 days. But the aggro and the phone calls and all the emailing of paperwork were time consuming & annoying.
Report this content gauntlet Written on: 18/02/2019
No insurance company is going to pay out without rigorous checks and necessary evidence. People over the years have made fraudulent claims and attempted to cheat the system. Hence the considerable paperwork! They are obliged to work to certain standards...... just check the small print to check your cover!
Report this content Marypom Written on: 18/02/2019
No, I have never had to claim but I feel very confident that a claim would be handled efficiently.
Report this content Guilloumes Written on: 18/02/2019
I never had to claim but if they are as helpful as their customer service was when I renewed, it shouldn’t be a problem.
Report this content shornoff Written on: 19/02/2019
Yes. We had a small leak from the shower into the kitchen ceiling. Didn't realise it was bad until it eventually started dripping through the ceiling. We got a plumber in to sort the shower and a builder to replace the kitchen ceiling. Estimate was £250. Not worth claiming for. Shower was sorted for £100 but once ceiling was removed in kitchen: disasyer. Joist rotten and broke. Needed fungal treatment and new joists. Yikes! Cost over £1000 Claimed on the insurance. They said we didn't qualify for multiple reasons. I'm insured with John Lewis this year. Avoid Policy Expert they are cheap but not cheerful.
Report this content khanpi Written on: 19/02/2019
Yes I woke up in the middle of the night to find water coming through my bedroom ceiling - we had had heavy winds and very hard rain. Roofer came and said tiles were loose/dislodged. When I rang them to claim, they said they checked the weather and wind chart for my area for that day and the winds were not high enough so they refused to pay. I promptly cancelled my policy. They were rude and very unhelpful.
See All Answers
Asked by Garry168 on 27th November 2016 Report this content
When making a phone call to the company about a possible claim is it on a normal rate or premium rate?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content greglee Written on: 01/12/2016
I would have said normal rate
Report this content sharpeyes47 Written on: 01/12/2016
I have never made a claim but googled the number and got this: 0330 numbers - UK-wide geographic numbers Many organisations use 03 numbers as an alternative to more expensive 08 numbers. How much do calls cost? Calls cost no more than calls to geographic numbers (01 or 02) and must be included in inclusive minutes and discount schemes in the same way. Calls from landlines are typically charged between 2p and 10p per minute; calls from mobiles typically cost between 10p and 40p per minute. Calls from landlines and mobiles are included in free call packages
Report this content jon131 Written on: 01/12/2016
If I find out that I am going to have to pay for a telephone call to a conmpany, I visit the website 'Say no to 0870.COM' to see if there is a freephone number.
Report this content beastygirl Written on: 02/12/2016
It's an 0330 number which is normal rate
Report this content fbiarchie Written on: 02/12/2016
I am not able to tell you as I have never made a claim.
Report this content Fingers177 Written on: 05/12/2016
Sorry. Never made a claim and now with a different insurance company
See All Answers
Asked by KatLac1234 on 3rd November 2016 Report this content
Has anyone claimed for their key cover? If so how did it go?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content Nancyv1961 Written on: 08/11/2016
Although I have this policy, I have not claimed. Sorry I'm not much help.
Report this content happyretiree Written on: 09/11/2016
I'm afraid I haven't claimed.
Report this content Fingers177 Written on: 09/11/2016
During the period I had this policy I didn't have the need to make a claim.
Report this content jelcat1 Written on: 10/11/2016
Fortunately I haven't had to claim, sorry I couldn't be more help.
Report this content Marlcliffe Written on: 12/11/2016
I too have this policy but have not had any reason to claim for which I am thankful. so sorry unable to help with this question
See All Answers
Asked by JFJAllen on 9th July 2015 Report this content
How are the claims dealt with?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content greglee Written on: 10/07/2015
Dont know as never had to put in a claim.
Report this content Joanne1978 Written on: 10/07/2015
I've never had to put a claim in either.
Report this content Kdrury Written on: 11/07/2015
Claims are handled by Trinity Claims (insurance adjuster) in Tonbridge. Contact details and claims procedure are detailed in the Policy Wording, which you can download after you've set up your policy. But I've not had to claim in practice, so can't comment on the efficiency or attitude of this claims handling company.
See All Answers
Asked by ForbesLindsay on 18th November 2014 Report this content
Does anyone know if Policy Expert PRA and FCA authorised?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Doriss Written on: 19/11/2014
Not sure what you mean by PCA? Property Care Association? This is for contractors, not insurers isn't it? However, a quick look at their website shows that they are, as they are required to be in the UK, "Authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)".
Report this content rossmarland Written on: 19/11/2014
Yes they are...policy expert is actually Qmetric Ltd....they are FCA registered...look at the small print at the very bottom of the homepage... Ross
Asked by billbobuck on 10th October 2014 Report this content
How secure is this company? Is there any cover if this company went under?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content kenhill47 Written on: 13/10/2014
Hi, I have dealt with them on several occasions and found them very good to deal with. However, policy expert are only agents, they are not the insurance company, in my case I have my policy placed with the Co-Operative ins, previously I was with AXA Ins, so they actually find you the insurance company at competitive prices, hope this helps
Report this content MisterGPC Written on: 13/10/2014
Insurance companies in the UK can't go bust and leave consumers without protection, if they did go bust you're covered under the FSCS, the same scheme that covers your savings should your bank become insolvent. So, even if they did, you'd still be protected.
Report this content Ronnie2 Written on: 13/10/2014
Glade to see some answers here as I would not have known the answer. I have had the house insured with them for 3 years now and their premiums were very good. They have always answered my questions accurately.
Report this content MARKWILSON5 Written on: 22/10/2014
Well their claims department have a record of building up a company then flogging it off, they then resurface as trinity and start to catch claimants the best way they can. Don't worry about the inbetween man. (PE) find out who they have insured you with make sure they have accepted your cover and pray you do not need to claim. I' m sure by now you have the sense to realise that all the good sarred reviews on this site are from people who have yet to make a claim and have been prompted to the site by the sales person.
Report this content MARKWILSON5 Written on: 11/11/2014
Safe as houses, BUT YOU ONLY SPEND YOUR MONEY WITH THEM.... Your insured with other companies and MY GOD I hope you do not have to make a claim, no chance. RUN A MILE, EVEN GO DIRECT TO THE INSURANCE COMPANY BUT DO NOT. I REPEAT, DO NOT DEAL WITH THIS COMPANY.
See All Answers
Asked by jollymathew on 13th September 2014 Report this content
I noticed in their terms and condition that the property is not covered if the house is unoccupied. But it does not mention for how long. Does anyone know how long it can be unoccupied for?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (8)
Report this content crystal1951 Written on: 15/09/2014
Hi there, I do believe it's 30 days or more for your house to be unoccupied, it doesn't apply to me so didn't take a lot of notice but I'm sure that's what it is, I hope this helps.
Report this content Reng Written on: 15/09/2014
I would think this covered holidays I personally would never leave my property for any length of time in the present times with the escation of break ins it's common sense all round on this one
Report this content MisterGPC Written on: 15/09/2014
I only have the old terms and conditions and it was 28 days, so 4 weeks, however, you may get it cheaper if you can guarantee that the house is never going to be unoccupied for more than 2 weeks in a row.
Report this content iamthelaw Written on: 15/09/2014
From my last T+CS I saw, it was over 28 days when you need to notify them, or if you have it up for sale.
Report this content Skipper341 Written on: 15/09/2014
I also think it is 28 days but a quick phone call would sort it.
Report this content sue1911 Written on: 15/09/2014
Believe it to be 30 days
Report this content Micky2 Written on: 15/09/2014
The details are indeed contained within the terms: - Section 1 - Buildings: under paragraphs 3 & 4 'Exclusions' sub paras. b states "loss or damage whilst the Buildings are Unoccupied for 30 days or more" Section 2 - Contents: under paragraphs 3 & 4 'Exclusions' sub paras. b states "loss or damage whilst the Buildings are Unoccupied for 30 days or more"
Report this content cronk13 Written on: 16/09/2014
I am not sure if all their policies are the same but mine is with PRIMO and the max period of unoccupancy they will cover is 45days- I called to check- hope this helps
See All Answers
Asked by dcl1971 on 28th June 2014 Report this content
Has any policy holder made a claim with this company and if so what was your experience re making the claim?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (11)
Report this content Din0 Written on: 30/06/2014
I had to make a claim this year due to storm damage and they were first class. We had only been with them a year so we felt bad having to make the claim but they could not have been more helpful and were fast in getting someone out to access the damage and indeed in settling the claim.
Report this content sparx1 Written on: 30/06/2014
Policy Expert is the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. After a theft from my property they would not settle the claim due to the items not being in view at the time. Needless to say I did not renew with them and would not recommend them. I now insure with the NFU.
Report this content snoopyfan Written on: 30/06/2014
I lost a stone out of my engagement ring - which was fortunately covered by my home insurance - the entire process from start to finish was handled efficiently and promptly
Report this content kenhill47 Written on: 30/06/2014
I made a claim earlier in the year due to storm damage, they are the most unhelpful company I have ever encountered. They would not cover half of the claim, but covered me for Damage to my shed roof (£80 ) of which I had to pay an excess, and have had my premium increased because of the claim, so in fact I am worse off now by claiming against my policy. This has been only my second claim in about 15 years, once with a previous company, which I had clean forgotten about some years earlier, Policy expert were keen to point out this oversight on my part of not informing them and told me that it was being referred as to whether they would pay me out or not because of this. Be wary of this company
Report this content alant4 Written on: 30/06/2014
We have had two claims. One for lost/stolen bag containing Tablet and cash, the other for damaged glasses. Both claims were dealt with efficiently over the telephone. As soon as we sent receipts the first claim was settled immediately, the second took another telephone call, they apologized and settled within a week. Needless to say our renewal premium went up considerably, but still better than their competitors.
Report this content basrees Written on: 01/07/2014
I had to make a claim within two weeks of taking out this policy. The service was excellent and the claim was settled with a credit direct to my Bank Account within 14 days
Report this content campbek Written on: 02/07/2014
No I have not made a claim so sorry cannot help
Report this content colcab Written on: 03/07/2014
I have had a recent claim for a kitchen sink that shattered. Policy Expert could not have been more helpful to sort out the claim. It was settled and money in my Bank account in a matter of days. I would highly recommend.
Report this content tarmactel Written on: 18/07/2014
I made a claim and they settled quite quickly apart from my excess, which I had to chase them for repeatedly. The excess was due as my wall was damaged by a vehicle and the driver's insurance met the claim. My insurance was a 2 year deal, with no increase in premium for the second year providing no claims were made. Guess what happened at renewal? They tried to increase my premium significantly and said it was because I had made a claim! They seemed to conveniently forget that the driver's insurers had met the claim! After much arguing I got them to see sense, but only after giving them a bad review on this site - thank you Review Centre! They then promised me some M&S vouchers as compensation for the hassle, but they didn't arrive and they blamed M&S. It took many weeks and a number of phone calls before I eventually got the vouchers. I won't be using them again unless they offer me a very good renewal quote!
Report this content MARKWILSON5 Written on: 31/08/2014
When you make a claim you will be dealt with by a specialist company called Trinity M this firm will treat you like a criminal, tell you lies about your contract, try to get you to use their pet trades person and ask for monies up front to obtain an estimate. If you do not use their trades people they deduct monies from your account to pay for the estimate they obtained. RUBBISH.RUBBISH.RUBBISH.
Report this content MARKWILSON5 Written on: 22/10/2014
Phone calls not returned, sent from 1 department to another, left hanging on the phone, NOTE the claims line is not a free call. Eventually the service was so bad and in my opinion fraudulent that I had to forget the claim and get the work done at my expense. I am now fighting the company and have reported them to the Ombudsman, guess what, your correct, they apologies and say this is not our normal service BUT HAVE STILL NOT PAID ME OUT
See All Answers
Asked by Dashers734 on 22nd January 2014 Report this content
I took my Home Insurance Contents and Building out with Policy Expert on 1st Otcober 2013, with the promise of a £25 M&S voucher which I have yet to receive. Could you please advise my of the current position?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content MARKWILSON5 Written on: 31/08/2014
Took me 4 months to get my voucher, they the sent £20 instead of £25 I contacted them on their premium rate phone line (NOTE the only time you can get through on a normal phone line is when you are buying a product)Fter another 6 weeks they sent me the other £5. SHOP AROUND DONT FALL FOR THIS COMPANIES CLAIMS OF BEING GOOD THEY ARE RUBBISH
Report this content maskability Written on: 25/09/2014
Well if that's al you have to worry about I wouldn't bother. This happens quite often with all sort so deals ie:- If you refer someone to a company, they promise vouchers or cash for the both of you. I would prefer a better deal to start with rather than unfulfilled promises. I got £50 vouchers for M & S when I joined SKY, butthe deal was terrible, and I bought a mass of thick winter tights, never wore them either, as nothing else in the shop was needed or wanted.
questionAnswer