363 DAYS OF D.F.S. SOFA HELL!

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.7 / 5
17% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Layout of shop

  • Value For Money

Guest's review of DFS - www.dfs.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆

“363 DAYS OF D.F.S. SOFA HELL!”

Written on: 11/08/2018

Yes 365 days from our first complaint to our sofas being returned and getting a FULL refund. DFS tried every trick in the book, but with the help and a visit from an independent furniture ombudsman, DFS finally had to admit they were wrong and our sofas were not fit for purpose.
7-4-17.
We took delivery of 2 DFS three seater Peyton sofas in nubuck brushed leather. After a few weeks(especially on one sofa) the leather had gone all shiny, the foam in the seating had started to collapse and you sank right down in the middle or could not sit straight up at either end. On 8-8-17 we went into the Lincoln store where we had purchased the sofas and reported the condition.
HERE IS A VERY BRIEF OUTLINE OF THE NEXT 12 MONTHS OF HELL. !!!
14-08-17. A visit from DFS service manager who stated he had more than 30yrs experience as a upholstery and all issues were normal and down to usage.
1-9-17. A visit from DFS sales manager who also said it was normal natural wear.
25-9-17. Went in to Lincoln store to see the manager, who was very rude, arrogant and did his best to patronize me saying his staff were right and I would have to accept it.
1-12-17. A visit from Top manager of Brigg and Lincoln stores, at last someone prepared to listen, he admitted the foam had collapsed, leather had gone shiny, and some stitching needed redoing. He would arrange for both sofas to be collected and re-foamed, leather to be treated and the stitching redone.
18-1-18. Sofas collected for repair.
31-1-18. Sofas returned, FOAM not replaced, just bodged. 1hr later sofas picked up again for further work.
15-2-18. Sofas returned again, cushions had lost all dome shape, they looked awful, they were solid and uncomfortable, leather looked the same,but the stitching had be repaired.
4-4-18. 2nd visit from DFS service manager, once again said sofas were ok, there was no problem with them, nothing more could be done.

We then went back to the furniture ombudsman, sent photos, and information.
31-5-18. An independent furniture ombudsman came and the sofas, were given a full inspection.
19-7-18 Received Ombudsmans report agreeing with us, stating it would cost more to repair than it would to replace them, therefore DFS should take the sofas away and give us a full refund, all monies spent including delivery and cleaning kit.
25-7-18. Sofas taken back.!!
1-8-18. Money repaid, only to be £150 short. !!!!
6-8-18. £150 repaid.
END OF SAGA. !!!!!
We have not received any form of apology from DFS.
If anyone has any problems similar keep records of, times, day, dates, names, take photos, write everything down. They will try to undermine you in every way they can to make you give up.
BUY FROM DFS AT YOUR PERIL. 

  • Quality of service

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 8 0