Western Union Money Transfer – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by BonnieBills on 17th April 2018 Report this content
How do I get records of money I sent through Wester Union?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by AgileServices on 23rd February 2016 Report this content
I have sent them three emails on the last three days. Why do they not answer emails?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by lmckeogh on 27th January 2016 Report this content
When I try to collect a payment I am getting the error code T5665. What does this error mean?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by nephis on 9th August 2015 Report this content
Do I need a fixed amount or capital to be a western union agent?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by snydley49 on 24th April 2015 Report this content
I sent some money to an overseas friend and was told the money was refunded to me. I have sent money to this person before and have never had any problems. What is the issue now? Has this happened to anyone else?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content bebopper1012000 Written on: 24/04/2015
it has happened to me also. I was told that they would not permit me to send money through Western Union anymore, despite the fact that I had send thousands of dollars over several years. They refused to tell me why they had made this decision, leaving me feeling like I was some sort of criminal. I recommend World Remit instead. You can send money directly to someone's bank account. SCREW WESTERN UNION!!!
Report this content Heoflittlefaith Written on: 25/04/2015
Yes, I am partially supporting my son whilst he is living in Ireland and they banned him as a receiver and refused to give a reason why..I appealed against the ban and they then also banned me from using the service !!! They ignored any communication from me regarding this, and did not give a reason why. As a result I now use Moneygram , and am pleased that although Moneygram is not as convenient for my son, I am not paying commision to help support the self important clowns at western union !!!!
Report this content AgileServices Written on: 23/02/2016
I have also had the same problem and made a complaint. They sent me a proforma reply that does not fit my situation. Three emails later and they are not replying. Soon I will be passing my complaint to the Financial Ombudsman. I am surprised that so few others do that. If they did then they might be more careful with their customers.
See All Answers
Asked by Sammyyoyo on 18th November 2014 Report this content
I can't send money outside Japan. Does anyone know what the problem is?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by alanwalsh on 10th September 2014 Report this content
Does anyone know what the following error message from Western Union actually means? I am getting it using their online WU Pay. They told me it was a technical error but it happens quite frequently. I have sent them the money but I cannot complete the transfer. We cannot process your money transfer. T5665 We’re sorry, but there’s been a technical problem and we can’t complete your money transfer. Please try again later.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by siswoyo on 2nd May 2014 Report this content
I sent money to my son in Canada from Canada. He was not able to pick it up as he has no valid government issued ID. Government won't renew anything. Money sent in October 2013. He has problems with government due to child support issues (long story). I would like to get my money back from Western Union who have not been helpful. How do I do it? Worried mother.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content UserReview123 Written on: 12/05/2014
Since 2013! That's crazy! I would recommend going to a Financial Ombudsman. There's one for every country. They are an impartial third party who can deal with a claim on your behalf. They will request for you to speak with WU first though to resolve the issue. But obviously you have and the fact it's been so long should go in your favour to getting this resolved. I hope you've already managed to get your money back by now (sorry for the late post) but if not I would definitely harass WU for this to e returned to your account. If no one has claimed it after a certain amount of days then the money should be returned to you. Moving forward I would really recommend using PayPal. There may be a small fee of around $1 or so but it means you have control over your money and where it goes. Then this can go directly into your sons bank account. I hope this helps
Asked by cessiz on 21st April 2014 Report this content
Here is the situation, a few days ago my husband sent money thru western union from Vietnam to Guam to his sister..then when his sis is trying to get the money, she was told that the money was transferred in the United States! Not in Guam..but the agent was the one who put UNITED STATES GUAM as the location...what should we do..can we still change the location, the sender is no longer in Vietnam..please..help us..this is urgent...

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content UserReview123 Written on: 12/05/2014
Hi, just in case you've have no luck. If they have sent to the wrong country then this is something they obviously need to rectify as it wasn't a mistake made on your part. I would go through the Financial Ombudsman for your particular country who it was organised through. They'll be able to help you get your money back and you won't even have to deal with WU again, it will all go through them
Asked by Pritam.pritam on 20th March 2014 Report this content
Has Western Union Money Transfer shut services temporarily due to political problem in Ukraine? That's the answer I got when I went to the bank to receive a foreign transfer.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

questionAnswer