Ovo Energy www.ovoenergy.com Reviews

★★☆☆☆
1.9 / 5
21% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Ovo Energy - www.ovoenergy.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Ovo Energy - www.ovoenergy.com

Ovo Energy www.ovoenergy.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“No customer service or badly untrained agents?”

written by on 23/08/2022

I told Ovo Energy I was moving house. I gave them the final meter readings for my old home, and set-up a direct debit of £143 for my new home account. Two weeks later I received two emails each one saying Your refund will be in your bank within 4 days, each with different amounts. I rang Ovo, and their agent said, "there is a problem with your account, caused by the last agent you spoke too, but I will sort it out." She said I had to set-up my direct debit again, this time it was £235. A week later I noticed my online ovo account was saying there were no active meters connected with this address. I rang Ovo again, told the agent the trouble I was having, and he waffled on for about 5 minutes. I said "can I speak to a manager" he said "there are no managers on site" He said "I will sort it out and ring you back". I found out the problem was they had closed down both accounts. They never rang me back, but an email from them said they had set-up a direct debit of £235 for me. So nothing sorted, I can't even give meter readings online. Was this done to get more money from the direct Debit? Such a good company 8 years ago, but I wouldn't touch them with your barge-pole now.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible company waited months still no refund”

written by Bigdw10 on 20/01/2022

Terrible company, please, for your wallets sake keep away from them, I Left OVO energy because the prices were too high, they owed me credit of over £60, over three months after switching from them and I’ve still not received the refund, if it was the other way round they would have taken legal action by now I’ve read about this happening to others on numerous reviews, so I’m not a one off here

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“nationalise them all”

written by Brady34 on 15/08/2019

UK energy should not be run by private companies. My acc was sold by economy energy to ovo, who then doubled the cost and refused to pay warm home discount or address complaints. The usual mix of bad automation and min wage call ctr staff. Profit over people. They're all as bad and won't stop screwing the customer til they nationalised.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Nightmare switch from British Gas”

written by Alani213 on 24/03/2019

I switched from BG on the 30th of Oct to OVO. Final gas read was 964. OVO installed a smart meter on the 20th of Nov and apparently took a final gas read as 1607 and billed me over 250£ for 21 days of use! I queried this and fingers were pointed to BG giving a very low reading of 964. It's a new development reason for the low reading. It turns out an error was made on Ovo's part, someone entered 1607 instead of 1007. I've been complaining of this since January and twice they billed me with the wrong figures.! No apology was given when I called this morning, fingers pointed again at someone else, this time "3rd party engineer" who Ovo claim sent the wrong reading. This is also factually incorrect. This 3rd party engineer took photos of the final reading. OVO misread this even when they had photographic evidence. I should've stayed with BG. I only left to save money but I've been fleeced instead. Thanks Ovo. Update. My 3 month gas bill, October 30th to 27th February, has now been revised from £311.99 to £110.50. I'm so glad I didn't give in, still no apology but that's alright

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★★☆☆☆

“Readings NEEDED every month on set date. DD increase...”

written by ukwoody on 14/09/2018

Increased dd from £76 to £180 pcm. They agreed to ammend it based on my reading and delay collection of DD for one month as I was well over in credit. Agreed DD was £83 pcm. Then received email trying to increase the DD to £160 pcm. You have to supply a reading every month on a set date. They will not rebill you two days later from your own reading. Been waiting over 6 months for smart meter and still cannot tell me when I will get one. Totally unimpressed and will move as soon as tariff ends. Never ever had this hassle with any other supplier.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Beware ”

written by Tilleyfz227 on 13/02/2018

I like many others found this company by Voltz and decided to give it a go as Voltz would arrange the transfer. All good until I received the following email from ovo. Just to say I live in a normal 4 bed house with my wife, son ,mother in law and 2 dogs. We have a normal size boiler that we only use in the winter(4 months). How we can classed as a large site beggars belief . Needless to say beware as this looks very much like a way of hooking vulnerable customers and then moving the goal posts. Dear ........ We’ve just discovered that your home is classified as a ‘large site’. That means it uses more than 73,200kWh of gas a year, which is the upper limit for a domestic property. As it costs us more to deliver gas that amount of gas to your home, you’ll need to pay a higher standing charge: If your consumption is between 73,200 kWh and 100,000 kWh, we’ll increase your standing charge to approximately £0.47 per day (excluding VAT) If it’s over 100,000 kWh, we’ll increase it to approximately £0.94 per day (excluding VAT) Once we find out exactly how much gas your home uses in a year, we’ll email you to let you know what your new standing charge will be. If you’re unhappy with the price increase, just let us know and we’ll stop the switch for you. Why wait for the info you need? Instead of emailing, get an instant answer to your question here. It's quick and easy to get information about all things energy and your account - just type in your question and get going.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★☆☆☆

“Still no opening electricity meter read”

written by JasonHoward1 on 11/12/2017

I switched at the end of September 2017 and gave OVO my opening meter readings as soon as they asked for them. I also gave IRESA my final meter readings as requested. It's now December and OVO still haven't confirmed the opening electricity reading so can't bill me. I can't get my IRESA account closed and a refund of £100 because they say OVO haven't sent them the opening meter read. OVO blame Siemens, apparently. Both companies agree I as the consumer have done what was asked of me. It's no wonder more people don't bother to switch supplier.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“disgraceful OVO”

written by 390Middleton on 13/11/2017

This company seems intent on maximising the DD from a customers bank account regardless of how much evidence and actual, daily usage from SMART meter information is provided to them. The web-page facilities of 'adjust your DD' and 'get a refund of credit' provides only a means to INCREASE your DD no matter how absurd the OVO 'estimates' and 'refunds' are not automatic but subject to their whim. Multiple estimates on their bills significantly contradict each other and have absolutely no basis whatsoever - they are completely fictitious - pure bingo numbers. Their complaints procedure is so convoluted such that actual complaints to the Ombudsman are almost impossible to progress. Unbelievable that they actually included a failed DD payment on my final account, attempted AFTER my contract period ended, and AFTER they state that no money was actually collected - OVO were accused of false a/c-ing yet still would not remove the false entry on my final account. Despite what must have been a mammoth accounting effort to itemise every single entry for my a/c they still could neither identify what I said was a false a/c, nor could they be humble enough to ask why I thought so. Were I a Director of this company I'd be wanting to know why these bean-counters can't even tally the days in a contractual period - only a few quid in my favour but multiplied by the x,000's of customers equates to a few P45 as far as I'm concerned. My dispute with them dragged on and on and on and ... simply because their 'customer support' was so bad. And despite a 60 penalty for getting out before the end of my 1 yr contract I am now making a sensible monthly payment instead of a totally absurd one which I had no control of. I read on another website a comment which suggested they were short of money, and it's a comment I agree with - it seemed to me they wanted the big DD simply to use as their working capital, a very risky strategy for those with large credits in their bank a/c. My suggestions: check very carefully how much of YOUR cash they have in their a/c, demand it be returned, demand a sensible monthly payment based on ACTUAL readings, or better still, walk away.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“never answer phone ”

written by 208Kirk on 10/11/2017

Tryed phoning ovo was on hold for half-hour listening to there music, only wanted to let them no was moving out my property will not be using this company again, just so hard to contact, my mistake by using this company

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible customer service”

written by Angeline228 on 03/11/2017

I switched to Ovo Energy everything to begin with was fine. I used my prepayment meter card to top up the balance did not show on my account telephoned them i was without electricity and gas all day over eight hours. They could not see the payment i emailed them the receipt they told me it would take until Monday to read it. After several phone calls and me protesting i was told at 6 pm that i would be supplied gas and electric until Monday. Monday came still no phone call fron them i rung them at 1pm as my electric and gas went off they told me oh yes we have the email we will put it on. That was it i have since filed a complaint as my son who is a Diabectic type one was not able to cook etc and had to go to someone elses house to eat on Friday. Ovo showed no compassion at all not even an apology. Since i have filed a complaint nothing has been said so i will contact the Ombudsman now. Do not go near this company they are good at drawing you in,and are very much complacent because of their awards but the reality is they do not care about their customers at all. They almost ridicule you when trying to explain whats happened you dont need to use them there are plenty of good cost effective suppliers who appreciate the customers, without the awards.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cheaters”

written by AryannaDonovan9 on 09/10/2017

I was with Ovo but switched in March, they carried on taking my D/D for 5 months, even though they weren't my supplier, when I cancelled the D/D on 30 August, they sent me no less than 7 emails asking me to re-instate it, my account at this time was £373 in credit, after numerous calls to reclaim my money I have still not received it. I have been promised so many times that I would receive my money, there is still nothing, the various people I spoke to all said it would be with me within 7 working days, they just lie, as I say this has been ongoing since August, without success, I would advise anyone to satay away from them they are earning interest on my money and they are cheats. I would never recommend them to my worst enemy.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“WILL BE UK NO.1 VERY SOON”

written by MultiplePropertyOwner on 26/09/2017

What a Company!! Customer Service offering is absolutely INCREDIBLE. Just switched 4 x dual fuel accounts from Brit Gas. Their Customer Service is so good, makes me want to go out and buy more properties, just so I have an excuse to call them again. If they're busy, they call you back without you losing your place in the queue ; their staff are unbelievable - awake; knowledgeable ; courteous ; professional ; polite and super efficient. This is a Company that makes sense of that statement I think was used in the old Gillette TV ads - 'I was so impressed, I bought the Company.' If you are sick to death of the horrendous service you get from your current Energy Supplier do yourself a huge favour - Move OVO to OVO. 

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 3
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT GET YOUR ENERGY FROM OVO - WORST SERVICE EVER ”

written by saajb on 04/09/2017

I decided to use OVO as there were really good reviewed online about the provider. They claim to underestimate usage then triple the fees you pay. They also claimed we used the most gas and electricity in June and July...at this point we had not had the heating on for 6 months! Stay away at all cost!!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“No regards for customer”

written by on 12/07/2017

Had a problem, where my electric meter stopped working. Called OVO and they say it might take 21 days to rectify the situation. What should I do for a bath/ shower, food, internet, telephone. Hear the term OVO,run as fast as you can, very bad company.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad choice for those on a careful budget”

written by Ashleigh1983 on 03/05/2017

This is a warning for all those who want to use Ovo to budget and not over-spend. This month I was contacted by Ovo to say that, unbeknown to me, 301 days ago there had been an ‘erroneous transfer’ of my account, and that for the past 10 months, Ovo had not been providing my gas. I had no way of knowing this, my gas supply was continuous, I was topping up on my app as normal, the homepage of my app said “your gas and electricity balance is...”. But apparently British Gas were supplying my gas, and it took Ovo 10 months to figure that out. So, yesterday I received an email saying they had “corrected the erroneous transfer” (again, which I had been totally unaware of) and that now I had a bill to pay of £220 to cover my 10 months of gas!! They said they would take a payment of £1 per day (which of course is an extra £30 a month on top of my usual payments), which may not sound much to some but to me it is! So either Ovo or British Gas made a mistake in erroneously transferring my account, and now I have a large bill to pay because of it! Surely having a pay-as-you-go account is so that you can keep track of your spending? But what if you can’t trust what your balance says, and what if you get a surprise bill 10 months later? The whole point of me being on Ovo is so that I can use their app and manage my money, but now I’m finding myself with huge extra costs each month until their mistake is paid off.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Choose OVO at your own risk.”

written by on 13/04/2017

I had been with this company for just over a year. That is until this seized an opportunity to inflate/hike/engineer, (call it what you will) my last 3 bills. I did ring to question their calculations but they refuted any suggestion of doing anything untoward. I think this is just another example of a utility provider taking advantage of a customer. The person on the other end of the phone said on completion of the transfer across to my new supplier they will refund anything owed to me. Based upon my recent experience with ovo I'm sure they will engineer a bill that makes sure I will owe them money. One last thing, they also told me I would be charged an early exit fee even though, I have a document they sent me at the start of my contract stating there is no early exit fee.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Appalling service ”

written by AmandaNic on 24/03/2017

e have had a terrible experience with Ovo. For over a year our meter has not worked, we have had numerous appointments booked to get it changed but they never turn up. We are wondering if Ovo engineers are a myth. Sometimes the company contact us during the appointment slot but sometimes they don't contact us at all. We have had personal assurances that it will be resolved but they never call back. We are desperate to change company but we are trapped with Ovo as they have stolen our money through exorbitant estimated bills collected by direct debit when they have no idea how much energy we have used! AVOID OVO and go with a company that has reliable and honest customer service!!

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip off and misrepresents Warm Home Discount ”

written by Darioq1970 on 20/02/2017

31p per day per meter service charge so one can't afford energy. Terrible customer service full of arrogant people who will send you photos of themselves - totally unprofessional service. Refuses to implement the Warm Home Discount to benefit the winter months and does everything possible to prevent a customer from switching. AVOID.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★☆☆☆

“Waiting for a refund”

written by 141MacPherson on 08/02/2017

Was with Ovo for a year, and all went well, with clear billing until they wanted to increase my tariff by 20% at the end of the fixed period, so switched. Switch went ok but Ovo took another debit after the switch date, as I hadn't cancelled at my bank. Received a final gas bill from Ovo, but still waiting for the final electricity bill to have the account closed, and see a refund. They tell me they are awaiting a final electricity reading, even after I submitted this to them and the new provider. The 6 weeks for Ovo to complete this change ends this week, so not hopeful that I will receive the £100+ very soon. Look like they hang on to customers money as long as they can.

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“what a rip off.”

written by Ginaq1970 on 01/02/2017

we changed to ovo because they said they were cheaper than British gas and to have smart meter.they put them in 23/oct 2016.we had £44 in credit -gas £15 in elec credit.we went on pay direct.25/oct took £20 and every 4 days we paid £20. dec 5 £20 dec 7 £20 dec 12 £20 from dec 12 £20.november we paid £140.i changed overto e.o.n. on dec 15.i contacted ovo who palmed me off by saying meter was correct and we used more because it was colder.only me and my wife live here we have been here 16 years and in winter we would put about £40 pounds in BOTH.i wrote this on this site not for any other family to experience we been through

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by rashrony on 1st September 2016 Report this content
I want to pay online. How can I do this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content RikTrik Written on: 05/09/2016
You have to have a PAYG plus account and then you simply visit the top-up website. Instead of paying gas and electric separately, the two are pooled together into 1 bill. In error they only installed the electric meter with me. I had credit vanishing into the system and other dodgy incidents which is why I left them. I'd steer clear.
Asked by davidparkinson929 on 17th December 2015 Report this content
I have a pre-payment metre. Can I change to monthly debit?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content ebok Written on: 22/12/2015
Subject to credit check by Ovo same with ALL monthly DD even if already on DD with other provider...All utilities companies do credit check on switching Apply ask for DD when applying see what happens. .good luck...
Asked by Bluevauxhall on 28th October 2014 Report this content
I have just moved into my new home which is been supplied by Ovo Energy (pervious owner) I have been told by Ovo that it takes 16 weeks to change gas companies.  Why? Can anyone help? I was thinking of staying with them but I'm not a high gas user and been told they have a minimal direct debit charge which goes up by 10% over winter.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content MrRee Written on: 29/10/2014
16 weeks is ridiculous, I must say that I have found OVO engaging in sharp practices and bordering on the unethical lately, they seem to play bad cop, good cop ..... don't know why as there is no need to as they are generally one of the better players
Report this content AndrewLGC Written on: 29/10/2014
I would not touch OVO. I signed up with them but after they put me on the wrong tariff with the wrong amount on the direct debit I bailed out within the cooling off period. Their customer service is awful. Please read other reviews of OVO, they confirm how terrible they are. Also bear in mind that if you do want to subsequently change they will penalise you with a £20-£50 charge per fuel type! I have no axe to grind but find edf's Blue+ fixed tariffs are competitive and their customer service very good. Good luck, I would stay well clear of OVO's clutches!
Report this content jamesperrett Written on: 29/10/2014
Just go to one of the comparison sites and find out who is cheapest. You can then initiate a switch from the comparison site or from your new supplier's web site which should only take 6 weeks or so. Of course, this assumes that you have a normal supply which doesn't involve an Independent Gas Transporter or a prepay meter. If it does, then you can still switch but your choice of suppliers may be more limited. I found that Ovo weren't the easiest company to deal with - if you want good service then look at SSE or one of their resellers like M&S.
Report this content dorsettyke Written on: 29/10/2014
From personal experience of just getting robbed by OVO (see my review) I had a lucky escape and received £50 compensation. It takes around six weeks to swap energy supplies when nothing goes wrong. My swap from Scottish Power to EDF took actually four weeks. Also beware of the minefield as I am still owed £143.81 by Scottish Power when my Electric account was shut on the 2nd Sept. It is now the 29th Oct. and when I call the on hold we will be with you shortly dies after I input my account number. I will be contacting the Ombudsman services within a week. GOOD LUCK they are all like the bankers!
Report this content oborne27 Written on: 29/10/2014
the 16 weeks change is not correct. it should take between 4 and 6 weeks. as to the 10% increase that's untrue as well. I've been with OVO for 4 years and never had a problem. Yes you have to have atleast 1 months DD in credit but that's not an issue for me. The credit balance earns you 3% per year anyway. No one is ripping anyone off as long as you abide by the rules they require to provide you with the cheapest energy of anyone. Personally I've always found them to be very good, easy to work with and when I wanted my credit repaid (£450) it arrived in 2 weeks.
Report this content stradbally Written on: 29/10/2014
I Joined Ovo, just under 2 Months ago, so I cant comment long term. In answer to your question,(1) It took approximately 1Month to switch TO OVO From my previous provider. (2) They increase the direct debit payments by 25% over the winter period (Although they do pay 3% interest on any overpayment in any billing period). I must say that I also have been a victim of their somewhat "questionable" practices----In my case in spite of me sending them meter readings on time, they sent out an estimated bill. It was only after I "jumped" on them by writing to their chief exec. that I was promised that this wont happen again.The bottom line is their tariffs are competitive, but you need to watch them like a hawk. Hope my feedback is helpful to you.
Report this content ebok Written on: 31/10/2014
Firstly ....count to to 10...I understand your frustrations,anger and financial worries! OVO was good offered very low prices to attract new customers then hiked them up - BUT has now got greedy like the rest of the energy vultures: My advice write a letter in a style that you were writing to your best friend, keep the anger and rage out of the content no matter how you feel and just go back to the very start and write in time order the list of issues that you have endured with readings, letters, and no help. Try and be as accurate as possible with dates: Conclude in last part of letter to seek legal advice from citizens advice if the content of your letter is not responded to within 14 days. Good Luck - Always change supplier when any Fixed deal is over and you move house as loyalty is now not rewarded in this sector with cheap prices!
See All Answers
Asked by coldandgettingcolder on 15th October 2014 Report this content
I need help with this company as they are incompetent and have got my readings in a real mess. I also have no heating, the heaters work (I had them checked out) it's the timers or whatever that are at fault, plus the economy 7 is all over the place. Ovo sent out a meter reader (twice) so they know the score of the old meters, but they will not do anything about it. They have racked me up as owing well over £1500 which is just so ludicrous, I would laugh if I was not so fed up with it all, I want to change suppliers, but I can't with my account in this mess. What the heck can I do, I am talking to a brick wall when I deal with them, even the (extra care team) or whatever they call them, who should be the ones dealing with me, seem not to remember what they said to me. I need help, What should I do? I live alone and cannot take this anymore, once the weather gets cold, I shall be in a real mess. Thank You.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content th0mas Written on: 15/10/2014
You have my condolences, OVO are absolute rubbish and do not care about customrs only their money. You have to keep onto them and the only way you will get anywhere is by getting aname of somebody other than the minions who answer the phone - you will have to bluff your way to speaking to somebody higher up. I got the name of a team leader or something, ringing her until she gets so fed she does something - but, you will have to bluff your way through to speak to her. Best of luck.
Report this content MrRee Written on: 15/10/2014
Talk to the Citizen Advice Bureau - do NOT suffer alone or in silence. They will give you the best advice you can get. Report back!
Report this content oborne27 Written on: 15/10/2014
How do you send them your meter readings. Do you do it monthly online? if not why not as then they wouldn't have the wrong readings. Have you checked the meter readings against the monthly bills, if so are they the same or different? If they are different then you need to see if its an incorrect meter read or if you are using a lot of energy due to the messed up timers. The heaters are nothing to do with OVO as they are just a energy supplier not an installer. You need to get a heating engineer to check out the heaters. It could be the heaters that are making the high meter readings. So you need to: 1. get an engineer to check out the messed up heaters - this will be nothing to do with OVO so get someone local. 2. check the meter readings are the same/similar to the bills. If they are then you are using a lot of energy, if its not the same then you need to find out why - wrong meter read, meter not working properly (very unlikely) or OVO have entered the wrong meter read to your bill. 3. update your meter reads every month via the online meter reading facility. This way you will get a correct bill each month. I've been with OVO for 4 years now and have always had excellent service from them. I'm sure this is just a blip. keeps us informed. good luck
Report this content th0mas Written on: 29/10/2014
Complaints to them are water off a ducks back. Suggest you write a hard copy letter, not email setting out your case and at the bottom show you have sent copies of that letter to your local MP (always good) and the energy ombudsman. One of Ovo's tricks when I tried to change was to say I owed money by producing an ESTIMATED account (despite them having actual readings) showing I owed them money, hence I could not change because I owed them money - a vicous circle!
Report this content Phil298 Written on: 29/10/2014
I had the same problems with ovo, they got the meter readings wrong,I was on eco7 and they were billing me rate 1 for rate 2 and rate 2 for rate 1, this ran up a large bill which they were going to take me to court for, in the end I borrowed the money to get rid of them, now 4 months after me leaving them they are pursuing me for another £165 which they say is for the energy I used in the transition stage to the new company, yet my calculations only come to £70??. get rid of them ASAP they are the worse of the worse. Good luck.
Report this content ebok Written on: 31/10/2014
Sorry see answer for Bluevauxall - above... 28/10/14 intended for you Good Luck!
See All Answers
overview