DOUBLED PREMIUM FOR NO CLAIM AND TAKEN WITH NO PERMISSION

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
49% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Adalynn1990's review of Diamond Car Insurance www.diamond.co.uk

★☆☆☆☆

“DOUBLED PREMIUM FOR NO CLAIM AND TAKEN WITH NO PERMISSION”

Written on: 10/03/2016 by Adalynn1990 (1 review written)

Diamond doubled our premium to over £1000 because of a non claim report and a glass repair and removed from our account with no permission. We had been assured would not affect our premium or no claims bonus and were encouraged to make it by their own operatives. You can read below my response and diamond's long long answer.

please take this as a formal complaint against the reply from  complaint officer it fails your own code of practice by imposing unreasonable and unfair terms.


---------- forwarded message ----------

date: 9 march 2016 at 18:13
subject: re: di amo xxxxxxxxx
to: fm_renewals quality

thank you for your very full answer.

however an intrinsic part of every contract of insurance is that the insurer exhibits uberirrae fidei to its clients and acts reasonably, honestly and in their best interests. This you have failed so to do in that you have not acted honestly or reasonably.

when i asked your officers - in different calls before claiming - whether the claim for the rear windscreen would affect my no claims bonus or my premium level i was assured repeatedly that as a 'windscreen or glass repair' without fault it would not affect either. This is why i made it. I was encouraged by your staff to make the claim.

it is clear now that they were not correct and misled me. You have a strict liability so to train your operatives as to avoid such situations. It is deemed wilful negligence on your part not to do this.

please quote the parts of your contract covering glass repairs and that they also increase premiums. If you can do so then i must take action with respect to your wilful negligence.

secondly you have given me 5 days to accept your offer of a discounted - extremely high premium. That is grossly unreasonable as you have deliberately not told me what my premium was last year. I would need to research alternatives.

thirdly, and separately, and perhaps most revealingly, you have ignored my separate requests to inform me of last year's premium.

having often appeared in court professionally when individuals have taken on gigantic bully organisations, i may advise you that judges always back the little man when they can. I shall of course have no legal costs and know that corporations hiding behind unfair or distorted contracts usually receive a beating. The arguments you present for the increase are likely to be deemed risible in court. Statistics when thus used are merely a smoke screen. Any sane judge will simply ask how a a non-claim report and glass repair can possibly justify your behaviour.

please be so kind as to reply immediately giving me longer to consider this matter and making your re-considered offer, and please again, could you actually include in that my previous premium amount. I can then consider that which i trust will be a more realistic offer for next year's premium.

thank you,





on 7 march 2016 at 09:29, fm_renewals quality  wrote:

policy number: di amo 7xxxxxxxx

complaint reference: xxxxxxxxxxx


thank you for your e-mail, received on 29/02/16. As a complaint officer for diamond, i have looked into your concerns.

i understand you are unhappy you did not receive any notification from us and we automatically renewed your policy. Having reviewed our records, i hope you will accept my apologies for the confusion and frustration caused as this was not our intention. I have looked into your complaint and would like to explain our actions.

we sent a renewal notice e-mail to xxxxxxxxxxxxxm on 24/01/16 ready for your cover to begin on 11/02/16. This e-mail directs you to our website to view your insurance pack. We advise you will receive documents this way when you accept the policy. This pack confirms your quote and tells you we will automatically renew the policy based on the information we hold. We ask you to let us know if any of your details have changed or if you want to cancel your cover. Our pack also explains we would debit the premium quoted using the existing payment details if we have no contact from you. This is the same way we renewed your policy in 2015.

i am sorry to hear you did not receive this correspondence and i want to assure you we would not have renewed your policy if you had told us not to in advance. I have checked with our it department and they have confirmed this e-mail delivered on 24/01/16. Motor insurance is a legal requirement and this method protects our customers. It ensures there is no unintended break in cover, if for any reason you are unaware of when your insurance runs out. We send our documents 18 days before the renewal date to give you time to shop around and contact us to cancel if we are not competitive. This method of automatic renewal is common throughout the insurance industry.

when you accepted the policy, you agreed to our terms and conditions. We explain we will renew your cover until you tell us to cancel in the welcome pack we sent you. We also ask you to visit our website and read your policy booklet for important information about your cover. Under ‘general conditions of your cover’ we state:

in order to offer you continuous cover on your policy, eui limited will arrange for your policy to be automatically renewed. Unless you contact us we will automatically apply for your renewal premium from the payment details we have on file, shortly after your renewal date. This is to make sure there is no interruption in your insurance cover.

as you did not tell us to cancel your insurance, we continued providing cover. I am sorry this was not the course of action you wanted us to take and would like to tell you why we use automatic renewal.

motor insurance is a legal requirement and this method protects our customers. It ensures there is no unintended break in cover, if for any reason you are unaware of when your insurance runs out. We send our documents before the renewal date to give you time to shop around and contact us to cancel if we are not competitive. This method of automatic renewal is common throughout the insurance industry.

we also wish to protect our customers from receiving a fine from the dvla under continuous insurance enforcement. There must be a record on the motor insurance database showing you have insured your car or you have declared it as ‘off-road’ (sorn). Failing these conditions, you will receive a warning letter saying you could face a fine.

following this you could face prosecution and the car could be clamped, seized and eventually, destroyed. By automatically renewing our policies we hope to prevent our customers from receiving such fines accidentally. This applies even if you have not driven your car. As a responsible insurer, we would not wish to leave you liable to prosecution under the road traffic act.

i am sorry our renewal procedure has caused you upset. It is never our aim to disappoint our customers, and we would not have renewed your policy if you had told us not to in advance.

i understand you are unhappy with the renewal price we have offered. When we calculate a renewal premium, we include as many items of information as possible and this helps us ensure we are charging a fair amount. As you would expect, these include personal details, car details, address and claims history, to name a few. We update how much influence each of these rating factors have every 21 days to reflect our claims statistics. This will result in variations in price over time and between insurers. I have confirmed with our pricing team and they assure me the price we have offered is correct.

i can see you reported an incident to our claims department on 08/01/16. While i appreciate there was no claim made, it is something we consider when calculating a renewal premium.

we ask you to tell us immediately if you or any driver named on your policy, are involved in an accident or suffers a loss, no matter how trivial and even if you do not wish to make a claim. We outline this in our terms and conditions which you can view on the website under the keeping your policy up to date section.

i agree our decision to rate on no claim incidents may seem unfair, and i would like to explain why we rate this way. Insurance is a business of calculating risks and we work out the premium we charge each customer from detailed statistics. These study past claims experience for customers with similar details to you. We have found, looking at these figures, customers who have a non-fault incident often go on to have a fault one within a relatively short time. There are many possible reasons for this, the most likely suggesting a higher than average exposure to everyday driving risks. The higher your exposure, the more likely you may be to claim.

when you take out insurance with any provider, they ask if you have had any previous claims or incidents, regardless of fault. The decision to rate on non-fault accidents is not unique to elephant.

our choice to rate on no claim incidents is a business decision we have made and we have no plans to change this in the future. I realise you still may not be happy with our rating strategy, but i hope i have explained our reasons for pricing policies the way we do and why we cannot remove the incident from your policy.

i would like to explain our motor proposal confirmation form also confirms the following about payments:

i authorise admiral until further notice in writing to charge the payment details held on record for any amounts due, including the renewal of my policy. If i am not the account holder, i agree to advise the account holder of this agreement.

our privacy and security statement explains when we will collect certain information and what type of information this could be. This includes credit or debit card details. We are fully compliant with the terms laid down by the financial conduct authority and the data protection act and do not feel we are infringing any law in holding such information. I am sorry you are unhappy with this condition of the insurance policy.

while we value and do not want to lose your custom, the motor insurance market is very competitive. It is impossible for us to offer the lowest quotes for everyone at each renewal.

i should note, we have based this price on last year’s information. If you would like to call us, or provide us with a convenient time to call you, we can check we are quoting you on your most up-to date details.

our renewal quote is what we consider to be our most competitive. However, i understand this price is higher than you expected. I note you have been with us since 2014, and i am pleased to offer a discount of £227. 27. This makes your new renewal price £837. 07. This is the best quote we can provide this year without making changes to your policy. I have updated your documents online from today’s date.

if you wish to cancel your policy i am pleased to waive our cancellation charge as you did not see your renewal documents. I would just ask you to pay a pro rata amount for time on cover since renewal. Please let me know by 16/03/13 how you would like to proceed and i can calculate this charge or send you a new set of documents.

i am sorry you have found it necessary to complain, as at admiral we take customer satisfaction seriously. While i realise you may remain disappointed, i hope i have explained the reasons for our actions. The refund should appear in your account in 3 -10 working days onto the original card.

at diamond we aim to work with our customers to resolve all complaints fairly. While i hope my response answers your concerns, i understand you may have further queries or more information you would like us to consider. You are still welcome to contact me on 0800 118 1620 or e-mail me at quali[email protected] Co. Uk. For your reference, i have attached a link outlining our complaint procedure.
should you remain dissatisfied, you have the right to refer your complaint to the financial ombudsman service, free of charge but you must do so within six months of the date of this letter.

if you do not refer your complaint in time, the ombudsman will not have our permission to consider your complaint and so will only be able to do so in very limited circumstances. For example, if the ombudsman believes that the delay was as a result of exceptional circumstances.

i have attached a link to the leaflet ‘your complaint and the ombudsman’. However, we can post you a hardcopy if you prefer.
yours sincerely

complaint officer

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0