Record Go - www.recordrentacar.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
14% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Record Go - www.recordrentacar.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Record Go - www.recordrentacar.com

Record Go - www.recordrentacar.com

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible Company”

written by taylord31 on 02/02/2023

AVOID USING THIS COMPANY. Im now in dispute for additional charges of £188.40 due to returning the car to the wrong car park. However I agreed with the attendant that they would collect it as it was 100 metres away and I had a flight to catch. They then took over a day to collect it and then had the hard neck to hit me with every charge that they could. Unfortunately I can't do anything about it as it's in the small print of the contract. However the fact they took a day to recover the car tells me they are not straight and playing games to apply extra charges. AVOID USING THIS COMPANY

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cancelled us then accused us of breach of contract”

written by Anonymous180 on 25/01/2023

Horrendous. See email chain below (anonymised) which pretty much sums up this company. Please warn all of your friends and family. Case number: X Dear Mr. X, We hereby would like to inform you that, due to your customer profile and/or to a breach of contract, our company will no longer rent vehicles to you. Sincerely, Customer Service - Record go "Dear Sir / Madam, I write to complain about the way I was treated and the manner in which my reservation noted above was cancelled. I am a record club member, email address: x. This was meant to be my first of many reservations as we have purchased a new holiday house in Malaga. However, I have and will not make any further reservations until I feel this has been resolved. I showed up with my wife and children all set with a confirmed reservation that I had already paid in advance. When a problem showed up, the lady at the desk refused to even deal with me! She told me to go away and phone customer services ! This took time, only for me to be told there was no vehicle for us. No apology. My family and I were then stranded at the airport for a long time until we managed to find a company that could rent us an appropriate vehicle. Being last minute, it cost a lot more than the reservation I THOUGHT I had with Record. I have now been refunded but would appreciate a voucher to go towards my next Record booking given how badly we have been treated and how much it cost us in the end. Please can you respond and let me know if this is possible. Kind Regards

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Cheap rental is always the most expensive”

written by Anadibi on 14/01/2023

We booked a small category vehicle (Seat Ibiza) via Booking.com with full cover through Booking.com. In the meantime, before the trip, my card was lost and then cancelled. Since this was Christmas time, the bank took longer to issue a new card and it didn't arrive on time. At the airport we paid for the second driver, who had all his cards, but the lady at the counter said she couldn’t give us the car then. I asked if she could change the main driver. Of course, but only if she charged us extra 275 euro for full cover. She also said she had no problem showing me where it said so. Pretty rude, I’d say. There was no "Just a second, I'll talk to my manager and see what we can do". Nothing. It was like her sole goal was to squeeze out all the money she could. She left the wrong address and email and phone number in the system and on the document (mine). I checked it before she changed the driver, but she never asked us to recheck the data after. Nothing really mattered any more as soon as she took money. And we got C3 Aircross, which is twice the size we wanted. Why did we choose the vehicle category if they give us whatever they want anyway? No manual, of course. We had to look online for all the initial issues. We travel a lot and frequently rent cars. Sometimes there are unexpected problems and in such cases all the companies so far have tried to help or find a compromise. Record Go apologized. They are thankful they can benefit from my experience and improve. They'll forward the complaint to their staff manager. I'm so grateful for the opportunity to help them improve. Cost me a few, but helping companies to do better is... priceless?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t use these guys… They will use your credit card ”

written by tsingleton_99 on 16/12/2022

Previously I recommended RecordGo and had trusted experiences and ignored all the bad reviews. There are many. But now I have been shammed like so many others. Hired a car from Alicante for a week. As my flight was before 8m I had to return the car to an unattended desk, dropping the keys. I hardly drove the car much and certainly was not aware of any damage I caused. There was extensive damage on several panels. RecordGo did refund the petrol fees they were holding. Of course, after I was out of the country and well gone, they claimed to identify a small scratch under the bumper near the wheel arch and claimed I caused this. This would not be visible from the standing position. They sent photos of the scratch but despite many requests they DID NOT send a photo showing the scratch was actually on the car I hired. It was just a photo of a panel on a similar car of the same colour. Will not provide evidence or enter into a discussion even though the car needs extensive bodywork repairs already. This industry has a practice of sending cars out with known damage that is not reported to the hirer. Then claiming damage is new. See all the other reviews. This company has not morals, rewards staff for upselling and will try to sham anyone that does not take their insurance cover. Do yourself a favour. Go elsewhere

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No Car??”

written by StanDeMancini on 26/10/2022

Earlier this year, we arrived at Malaga airport to collect a pre-booked car from Record Go. Went to the car park desk and was instructed to wait outside. Stood there like a lemon for about 10 mins until a guy come out and asked if I had used the outside terminal to make a reservation. I explained I already had a reservation, but he proceeded to enter details in said terminal. After about 5 mins he said there was a problem. We went into the office and he entered details again on his PC. He eventually told us there was no car available. I asked why not and he said he didn't know. He said we would have to wait until a car became available. I asked how long and he just shrugged. I explained we had an appointment and would be late. As our reserved car was not available, we respectfully asked for an alternative. He said no. We went back and forth for about 45 mins and eventually a manager arrived looking irate. Without looking at us she started tapping at a keyboard. We asked what she was doing and she angrily said "Getting you a car". After another 10 mins, she got up, gave us the keys and agreement, and told us to follow her. I asked why she was being so aggressive and she replied because "we had demanded a car". I explained that we had booked a car in good faith and therefore had good reason to expect a car to be available. She said "If it was my choice, you wouldn't be getting a car at all". I replied that I would be conveying this to Record Go at which point she demanded the keys back and told us she wasn't giving us a car and that we wouldn't get a refund. Absolutely bizarre. There were 4 other people waiting for cars, one guy saying he had been there for an hour and a half. Bear in mind this was off-season in early May and there were loads of cars in their parking area. We eventually had to go to another supplier and pay a fortune for an alternative car. Then had to go through my credit card provider to get a chargeback from Record Go. Sent a letter of complaint back in May but never heard anything back. Horrible staff and company to deal with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No Car??”

written by StanDeMancini on 26/10/2022

Earlier this year, we arrived at Malaga airport to collect a pre-booked car from Record Go. Went to the car park desk and was instructed to wait outside. Stood there like a lemon for about 10 mins until a guy come out and asked if I had used the outside terminal to make a reservation. I explained I already had a reservation, but he proceeded to enter details in said terminal. After about 5 mins he said there was a problem. We went into the office and he entered details again on his PC. He eventually told us there was no car available. I asked why not and he said he didn't know. He said we would have to wait until a car became available. I asked how long and he just shrugged. I explained we had an appointment and would be late. As our reserved car was not available, we respectfully asked for an alternative. He said no. We went back and forth for about 45 mins and eventually a manager arrived looking irate. Without looking at us she started tapping at a keyboard. We asked what she was doing and she angrily said "Getting you a car". After another 10 mins, she got up, gave us the keys and agreement, and told us to follow her. I asked why she was being so aggressive and she replied because "we had demanded a car". I explained that we had booked a car in good faith and therefore had good reason to expect a car to be available. She said "If it was my choice, you wouldn't be getting a car at all". I replied that I would be conveying this to Record Go at which point she demanded the keys back and told us she wasn't giving us a car and that we wouldn't get a refund. Absolutely bizarre. There were 4 other people waiting for cars, one guy saying he had been there for an hour and a half. Bear in mind this was off-season in mid May and there were loads of cars in their parking area. We eventually had to go to another supplier and pay a fortune for an alternative car. Then had to go through my credit card provider to get a chargeback from Record Go. Sent a letter of complaint but never heard anything back. Horrible staff and company to deal with.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Tricked for over £1,000”

written by Vickyfenton on 13/10/2022

Absolutely devastated to return our car with the damage jt came to us with and charged £1,000. They claimed the font left damage marked on the form was a flat tyre. Obviously when collecting a car there is no flat tyre. Awful end to our holiday so we return to take it up with our credit card and hope for the best. DO NOT USE!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★☆

“Good Service and a Nice Car”

written by Gianah168 on 23/09/2022

We rented a car from the Airport and opted for the insurance given by Record Go, though a bit expensive, it did mean that we were fully covered and didn't need to pay the £1500 payment up front, the BMW X1 we had was very nice and I was impressed with it and how economical it was, I forgot to leave the final Fuel receipt in the car when I posted the keys back in the late evening deposit box back at the airport, but I took a photograph of the receipt and emailed to Record Go and they refunded me the fuel charge a promised. Overall extremely please and thank you.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“Cheating with the gasoline”

written by Kanen278 on 03/09/2022

Record Go has charged a petrol fee even though I have refuelled the car 200 metres from the car drop-off. The receipt from the gas station was in the car. I have subsequently sent the company pictures of the tank gauge - one from the pick-up of the car - one from the delivery of the car. The tank needle is exactly the same (full) and yet they have charged 30 EUR. They don't reply to my mails :-(

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this firm they are terrable”

written by TonyCohen on 21/08/2022

I booked a car in Spain and paid for full insurance. I made an error and took the car off the mainland which is a no-no in the contract. They took 2000 euros from my credit card without warning or explanation. Do not use this company as they are a bad company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Excellent service, vehicle and overall experience ”

written by on 18/08/2022

I was very reluctant to hire a bike after reading so many negative reviews about Record Go. I took a chance and I am so glad I did. The staff at collection and return were very friendly and helpful. The 3 wheeler bike was almost new and in excellent condition. We had a wonderful time driving up and down the coast in Malaga and all the way up to Nerja. The location is excellent near the bus and train station in Malaga. The fuel and security deposit were returned within 42 hours. Highly recommended.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Deposit was never returned”

written by Aydan373 on 10/08/2022

Rented a car with full coverage in valencia. Turns out you also have to to pay a deposit for fuel that they will return to you once you return the car with full tank. It has been two months and my deposit with 100+ euro has not been returned! No one replies to my emails! Complete sham, will never rent again. Avoid at all costs.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★★★★★

“No problem with car rental in Palma de Mallorca”

written by on 16/07/2022

Was hesitant to reserve with Record Go due to the many negative reviews. But the rental price was much cheaper (rented through Expedia; $11.30/day!) than other car rental companies, and I assume most people write reviews when they have a negative experience. Our experience was excellent. We traveled in February 2022, and received a brand new, small Mercedes with automatic transmission (you want automatic if you plan to drive the mountainous coast; many narrow roads with stone walls). Staff at PMI was polite and helpful, both when we picked up and dropped off the car. We took many pictures of the car before leaving the lot and after we returned, should a "problem" arise later. No one checked the car when we dropped it off, which was a bit of a concern. We did not get their insurance, as our credit card covered it, however, we would have been liable for up to Euro 1400 had we damaged the car. In retrospect, I would have gotten the insurance, as it was very stressful driving the mountainous roads (and backing down when another car came around the corner). There was preauthorization for the fuel, but we were never charged, as we gave the receipt to the Record Go employee when we returned the car. The only issue we had was that we inadvertently drove into the historical section of Palma and were fined by the city government because the car was not authorized to drive in that area. Record Go informed us of the fine in April and charged our credit card Euro 40 (it's in the car rental contract that we agreed to). The traffic citation arrived three months later (and was reduced from 90E to 45E if paid immediately). It would have been nice it Record Go had informed us of the traffic restrictions in the city of Palma and provided us a map so we could stay out of it. Based on our experience, I'd rent from Record Go again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Unauthorized debit of approx. 500 €, Alleged damage...”

written by on 08/06/2022

Here is really ATTENTION required, because the way of proceeding and handling feels bad to us. And we are certainly not the only ones. We were after delivery of the car from Record Go written by e-mail and informed that due to damage to the car an amount of about 500.00 € is retained. However, all the damage indicated by Record Go were already present and not caused by us. At the handover, despite asking, no employee was available to us to record the condition of the vehicle. Instead, we were instructed to inspect the rental car ourselves and to photograph any damage we found. There we had already no good feeling, since so some at dents and scratches already came together. And as feared, this damage was then charged to us. Now we have the trouble and have to prove that not we have caused this damage and e-mail / document battle goes off. Just what you want to have after the vacation. For us, this car rental is NOT SERIOUS. Hands off!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Record Go tries to take your money any way it can”

written by 203Moran on 07/06/2022

Rented car from Alicante for 2 weeks. First positives: - Car was as promised, less than 6 months old, though this was something I was paying extra for and it was not exactly cheap - Returning the car went fine also. Showed the receipt of filling the tank and everything was ok. But then: Car was rented so that I had to pay extra for full fuel tank and I should get refund after returning it with full tank. After a while I checked my credit card charges and there was an extra charge of fuel for 15,98 €. No explanation of why was ever send to me. Maybe the fuel prices rose I figured, so let it be. Then I noticed there's also extra charge of 30,00 €. Also no explanation. I send them email about these. And another one. No one answered. Then I sent them more annoyed email demanding an answer or I'll complain to my credit card company and write here. This started a long discussion where they tried to justify taking my money. 1. They claimed the tank was missing more than 1/8 of the fuel. I send them photo, taken when returning the car, with full tank. 2. Then they claimed the car was not refueled as agreement states (10 kms from returning point). I sent them receipt that it was. 3. Then they claimed I refueled the car previous day and therefore it's against the contract. I explained I drove straight to hotel on the way to returning point and in the contract it does not state that the refueling needs to be done the same day. 4. Then they claimed that the fuel station is more than 10 km's from returning point. I send them Google Maps route that shows the distance being 5,4 kms. After this they just told me that the issue is finished. So if you use their service, make sure that you have all the proof for complaint, as they will want to have extra money from you if they can.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again!”

written by bobvac on 12/05/2022

My car broke down and they are charging me an extra $900 with no explanation whatsoever. I have my credit card company put a stop on payment. Avoid this company at all cost. Furthermore, I had to pay another company another day's rental above and beyond. Worst.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don’t use record go. They make you think there is...”

written by Parksqt389 on 05/05/2022

Don’t use record go. They make you think there is something wrong with your card and make you take out their insurance instead.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“terrible customer service”

written by Shyanner119 on 23/04/2022

rented a car fully insured with booking.com and they try to sell you insurance which you don't need. booked an automatic and they told me they didn't have any and gave me a manual car which was also very dirty inside and outside on day 2 we changed the car to automatic (only positive point) on my return I asked to look at the car and confirm everything was fine and they said yes all is OK and you will get your fuel deposit back when back to UK I noticed they only partially refunded the fuel deposit for no reason and no explanation give Wrote to customer services twice and no response I am now raising the claim via Booking.com, surely I will get a better service avoid this company! Staff is also very rude

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Klacker47's Comment

Written on: 02/06/2022

Hi Shyanner, how long did it take for the refund of the security deposit and fuel to come through for you? it’s been a long time and mine still not come, all my emails are being left unanswered

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid this company at all cost”

written by McClellan357 on 19/04/2022

Be very careful with Record go rent a car! They have charged me €265, corresponding to the complete repair of the bumper! when it was already seriously damaged everywhere, alleging a supposed scratch that I did. It is unfair to have to pay such an amount of money, when the panel was already damaged beforehand. Will they make money doing this to each person who rents it, without fixing it and charging for the complete repair several times? YOU MAY NOT GIVE IT IMPORTANCE NOW, BUT WHAT IF IT HAPPENED TO YOU, WOULD YOU RENT FROM THEM AT THIS RISK?

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible service. The staff is rude. They would not...”

written by SanLorenzo04 on 17/04/2022

Terrible service. The staff is rude. They would not help because we booked with booking.com. Even though we had full insurance with booking.com, they said that the booking.con insurance was not valid and we had two options: they would either take €1,400 hold on the card while they await to assess damages or we could get their insurance at €200. We did the latter. We wanted to extend the contract for 5 extra hours, we were trying to get a quote for that, but were told that as we booked using a third party, there was absolutely no way and returning the car later would invalidate the insurance, plus cost more than the entire rental car for the whole period (5 days). We spoke twice to someone at Record go, and he was very rude and absolutely unhelpful, unwilling to find a solution. We will never use this company again.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview