Delpaso Car Hire - www.delpasocarhire.com Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.4 / 5
35% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Delpaso Car Hire - www.delpasocarhire.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Delpaso Car Hire - www.delpasocarhire.com

Delpaso Car Hire - www.delpasocarhire.com

Refine your search

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“WARNING BRITISH TOURISTS DELPASO CAR RENTAL ”

written by dlHunt95 on 22/11/2022

WARNING BEWARE : DELPASO CAR RENTAL MALAGA OFF AIRPORT … 19/11/2022 booked through DO YOU SPAIN .COM(NO HELP) Your Rental Voucher - DYS-52343207 You must have a international driving license to hire any of their vehicles as British driving license not valid unless you pay for an extra insurance cover ,my was another €209 on top of the price I already paid so now €313 euros if you have a British Driving license obviously refused. contacted Do You Spain immediately by phone while in the office and they also refused a refund……. Other British tourists in their office told me they facing the same issue, stung with the same clause in there T&Cs. I returned to airport got my car hire from firefly at €94 all in collected my car in 10mins and incidentally they never asked or mentioned an international driving license….STRANGE that. I have been hiring cars in Malaga 10 years and 2 -3 times a year and this is the first time I was told I need international driving or pay full insurance add on as UK license not recognised or valid only if you take there insurance

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Del Paso all the way ”

written by Lobres2016 on 07/11/2022

If your travelling into Malaga airport and your looking to hire a vehicle for your onward journey look no further than Del Paso car hire Excellent vehicles Excellent rates Excellent service The staff are all ver helpful and friendly

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Deffinately recommed”

written by Rawlly on 26/10/2022

Was dubious abiut using after reading reviews . Booked direct and confirmed that the price inc full insurance at no extra charge . Arrived and was picked up and check in was smooth didnt have to privide 2000 euro deposit as with previous hir companies . Lady on reception very polite and helpfull . No need to check van over as fully insured . Arrived back dropped van off no issue first class service will deff use again next year . Just e mail them and confirm what you require the price was the best by a long way

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid like the plague!”

written by Kade386 on 11/10/2022

Attended Delpaso car hire to pick up our car at appointed time. The sales rep who claimed to be the manager, asked me to sign for extra insurance which I didn't want. He then stated he couldn't give us our car because I didn't have an international driver's licence. I showed him on the government website that it wasn't required and that the booking details didn't state specifically that it was needed coming from the UK. His colleague sat next to him gave a car to an American customer next to us who didn't have an international driver's licence because he paid for the extra insurance. When I challenged him about this he said it was true because she made an exception but he refused to do this for us because we had refused to take out the extra insurance. They then pretended to call the police because I was making an issue about being ripped off. I am disabled and was only in Spain for a couple of days to see my dying mother who lives in the mountains. I was left stranded away from any other car hire places. At the time, there were 3 other customers who were also stood outside complaining about how they had been treated by the company. One had been refused a car. Another had been forced to pay an extra 400 euros. The company seems to have a policy of find any excuse to screw extra money out of the customer and if they complain don't give them a car. Never use Del Paso Car Hire! 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“NO SERVICE”

written by 192Law on 27/08/2022

She is highly unprofessional! If this is customer service or corrupt sales - You dont match the booking criteria which is in the terms and conditions from your booking agent economycarrentals. becuase you dont have the extra paperwork which is required for a UK licence ( Despite it actually not being needed for 6 months as pr UK goverment). We can forget about that, if you pay another 300 Euros for our insurance all is sorted and forgotten! Which would double my booking to 600 Euro's. I have my own EU insurance anyway. She ripped the piece of paper in half antgonisingly saying im cancelling your booking. WOW! Her response was i am just doing my job! I was not willing to be bribed by the awful lady, she was obnoxious & was clutching onto that little power she has, i wasnt rude and i just decided to leave. I knew my night was not going to be easy to find the next solution at short notice, but dont fall for the black mail and abuse of power when your stuck. Ive used a lot & recommended to friends, but have heard that they have got really greedy & proof is now apparent.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“This beats everything!”

written by Slookisen on 09/08/2022

Listen up! So i arrived today at the rental for my car, that I paid up front weeks ago. Ready to pick up the car, the guy tells me the boss has blocked me for rentals as I posted a negative feedback some years ago!! So I stand here with my daughter first day of holiday with no car, and the money they took I have to fix myself through a claim! This is totally crazy, and can’t be legal!. Do never trust this company and don’t let them take your money and destroy your holiday! And btw, the reason for the “negative feedback” I gave some years ago was cause they demanded four times the cost they presented in the beginning. 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 5 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid!! Terrible experience!! ”

written by McDougall377 on 26/07/2022

Tried to hire a car, took my money and then said I couldn't hire it because of their system and only returned some of the money!!! £100 down for a car I never hired!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid ”

written by y_geordie on 17/04/2022

Horrible company We hired a car as significantly cheaper by £100 for a week in Malaga (about £180 for a week car hire 4 people 4 doors). All the search engines and meta sites pointed towards it so it clearly signs up to all the right places. Problem starts as you get taken by mini bus to a dodgy place outside. It is on a road where all the car hire places are but usually they take their car to the airport. Huge queue whatever time you turn up at. Their main drive is to upsell you comprehensive insurance which is an additional £26 per day. I bought separately but unlike other places they really try to force you to take comprehensive insurance as their basic package: 1) Does not include breakdown cover - if you breakdown you have to organise your own retrieval 2) Does not take American Express 3) They will not accept photos of existing damage unless it is your phone with meta data. Any existing scratches they won't acknowledge just ask you to take photos 4) Any spelling mistakes 5) I saw plenty of customers being fobbed off or being told because they bought via search engine it's via intermediary so they refuse to help or will cancel your contract as they is little choice when you are physically stranded in the middle of nowhere 6) Read somewhere there is a mileage limit on basic but couldn't see it on mine First car we got the engine kept overheating going uphill - as had no breakdown insurance we nursed it back to the company site. They gave us a 7 seater bigger car in good nick. When we returned at end of the week an aggressive manager type chap tried all the above tricks but luckily he stood down as I became aggressive myself saying how dangerous first car was. I didn't need to as they could have charged my own extended insurance but that just feeds into this and everyone's premier goes up.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Arrived at Delpaso, Malaga late on a sunday night....”

written by ECrowhurst on 14/03/2022

Arrived at Delpaso, Malaga late on a sunday night. Handed over a valid UK drivers license to be told "NO SIR! You need an international driver's license or you cant take the car away (Not True). UNLESS we cancel your contract and you pay 3 times as much then no car" (or words to that effect). So... trapped on an offsite car lot in the middle of nowhere and threatened with no car, we had to pay a bill 3 times that of the original. I argued, as you do. They got agressive. No choice. Depressingly it seems Delpaso are a sham car hire company.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Credit card refusal”

written by Aldok on 21/02/2022

Refused credit cards for insurance excess block as only had initial not full first name. Charged for full insurance which I had already covered. Strangely they accepted same card for insurance payment. Avoid

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Don't rent as out to take your money”

written by Finley255 on 07/12/2021

Car covered in scratches dents and scuff marks..up to you to photo and video..impossible to catch every bit of damage as in dark and lighting poor. Scuff marks do not photo in poor lighting and on returning after clerk spent time looking up possible damage traps on pc will succeed in catching you out.No manager willing to double check that the scruff mark (about 1 inch) discovered wasn't a scratch and very likely already there.Very unhappy and as I was leaving a lady clerk said 'you think we had a gun to your head'..how obnoxious and threatening. Yes it was like that and you have no choice but to pay up to get paperwork for the car excess insurance co. While it will cost me nothing in the end I do want the insurance co to be robbed. Avoid! 

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“avoid !”

written by Quinten405 on 11/11/2021

Avoid , avoid and avoid!! I have booked a car for 3 days with them. I came to collect the car and I had : - an international driving license (together with my British driving license) - Credit card my with name on it - Passport - Private excess insurance. They refused to rent a car without buying from them a private insurance for 60 Euro, as they said that my credit card only includes a first letter of my first name and my full surname. Regarding to them, on my credit card must be also a first name. I had other 3 cards, but without my full first name , they did not accepted them as they said this can me my sister's card, who's first name starts also with a letter 'm'. Even I wanted to pay using the pin number. I've offered them to pay deposit of £1200 by bank transfer or cash, they also refused. They said that If I wont pay them 60 euro for the private insurance they won't rent a car to me and I will loose my booking money which I paid to rent a car and I don't meet their terms and conditions. (which are against VISA cc regulations) In front of me in Delpasso Malaga, was about 8 customers - all arguing about the damage of the car etc. Stay away from this company. Their renting prices are cheap, but they are trying to make a money somewhere else. Their customer service was extremely rude. I just rang my bank, and I'm recommending everyone who has been cheated by this company to make a claim to get a money back using 'charge back '. The waiting time to collect the car was 1hr 20min

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Delpaso never again”

written by Oscarpolak on 30/10/2021

Do not rent here. If you don’t have your full name on the creditcard they will force you to take an extra and expansive insurance, it cost me more than €250 extra. And there is nothing you can do. To be clear, i was there with my own credit card, the credit card that i used for the booking. But my hole name is not there only the first letter, that’s why they say I can’t use it.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Money grabbing with damaged cars”

written by gmullan on 28/09/2021

What an absolute bunch of money-grabbing! I had booked 2 weeks car hire (4-18 Sep 2021). Before travelling, I carefully checked on the UK Government website whether I needed an IDP/International Drivers Permit, and no, I didn't. I got the DVLA check code, and printed out a copy of this and took it with me. I also have my own excess insurance, to avoid having to pay extortionate rates at the desk (this will be relevant later). When we arrived, it was a bit of a walk to the shuttle bus stop, we had a bit of a wait for the shuttle bus from the airport to the car hire place, but not too bad, and the queue when I got there was not too long. So far, so normal for a discount car hire firm. However - this is where the trouble started. Initially, I refused their excess insurance, saying I had my own, which was fine. Then, despite having checked that not only did I need, but I cannot obtain, an IDP, they insisted that I needed one to hire the car. I explained that was not the case, even offered to show them the page on the UK Government website. They said it didn't matter, I needed to provide one, claiming it was a legal requirement, which it isn't. They then said that if I didn't like their terms and conditions, I could go and try and find another car hire company. Having checked prices (out of curiosity) just before I left the UK, I knew there was virtually nothing available, and what there was cripplingly expensive. I also had no guarantee that any other firm wouldn't pull the same stunt. After some more back and forth, they said they would let me take the car, but I had to take their excess insurance. Faced with not having any car at all (essential for our holiday), I felt I had no option but to agree. (This obviously makes a mockery of an IDP being a legal requirement - additional excess insurance would not change that, and makes it clear this is just a money-making scheme). Then, they offered me a diesel Caddy or Doblo, but only for 1 week. They also tried to put me on a fuel policy with an absurdly high administration charge and fuel cost. I spotted the mistake on dates and corrected them, at which point they redid the paperwork, but offered me a 1.4l petrol Fiat Tipo. Not knowing that car, I accepted (I'll come back to this later). They also then informed me that the excess insurance amount I'd paid was only for 1 week, and I'd need to pay even more. I ended up having to pay *€252* for two weeks excess insurance! My *annual* policy for this that I mentioned earlier is just over £31. The excess insurance they charged was approximately *double* what I'd paid for the car hire itself! The car itself was covered in scratches and scuffs, and, as I discovered, massively underpowered for travelling round the steep roads of the region, and even milder inclines, to the point of being dangerous. I don't know whether it was a fault of maintenance, or just having to be driven regularly with my foot flat to the floor to make any kind of reasonable progress up hills, but it drank petrol at a seemingly ridiculous rate. During our time on holiday, I tried to dispute the excess insurance with Del Paso office, but they also told me that I had to provide an IDP (which I physically can't) and that other UK customers provided them (if true, I've no idea how), and that if I checked the Spanish DVLA website I would see it is a requirement, which it isn't. I tried disputing the charge with my credit card company when I get back but was told that because I had signed the contract and taken the vehicle, then I didn't have a leg to stand on, and that the situation I'd had didn't count as duress. I am *beyond* angry that a company can swindle you like this with (apparently) no comeback at all. They need to be banned from doing this, and until then, you need to avoid this company like the plague!

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Connollygd's Response to gmullan's Review

Written on: 26/10/2021

This has happened to me today I was left stranded at the airport on my own no car they chucked the paperwork at me because I refused the insurance I had my own they insisted I needed a IDL but if I took the insurance out I did not need to produce an IDL being stubborn I refused to pay he shouted at me well that's Brexit for you madam go and find another car company it's half term I ended up pay a lot of money for a taxi left in tears never use this company, I did ask to speak to the manager he said he was the manager I was not the only person arguing with them over the same issue at the desk they are getting away with it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gmullan's reply to Connollygd's Comment

Written on: 27/10/2021

They should be shut down for this kind of behaviour!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Avoid - Terrible Disgraceful Appalling Customer Service”

written by dauwalder2 on 05/09/2021

Avoid - Terrible Disgraceful Appalling Customer Service DelPaso were aware of our booking three weeks before the date. They collected us from the airport late at night and when we arrived at their office, unaware to us they had blacklisted us and refused to hire us a car despite knowing we were coming and entering into a contract. The obnoxious lady operator THREW my documents across the floor. They reluctantly took us back to the Airport and we ended up paying a €109 taxi bill to our destination. We were never previously told that we were blacklisted yet they accepted our booking. It all related to us turning up with a Debit Card 3 years ago and complaining that they forced us to pay €180 for their inflated insurance in order to get a car. There was no manager on duty and they refused to call the manager up leaving us stranded late at night. There were other customers in the office complaint that they were being forced to take out the extra insurance. Avoid DelPaso if you want trouble free car hire

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE DELPASO!!!!!”

written by HV9494 on 31/08/2021

TERRIBLE SERVICE! There was 30+ people waiting in the burning sun in Malaga airport car park for over an hour for the van to take us to the rental location. The van could hold 9 people and there was one driver going back and forth. There was no proper system in place to ensure those that had been waiting for the longest got priority. Finally on getting a place on the van and getting to the rental location, we waited another 45 minutes in a queue to pick up the car. On getting to the front desk, despite my booking being accepted in advance, I was informed that I have been ‘blacklisted’ from renting a car with Delpaso at the ‘managers discretion’. They alleged that when returning my car last year (for which I had paid for full cover), there was ‘damage to the vehicle’ that I had not informed them about. This is despite there being FULL COVER on the vehicle and despite a member of their team walking through the vehicle with us and checking for any damage before we left it. It is completely unacceptable to ‘blacklist’ someone for damage that 1) they did not cause or if they did, had no knowledge of causing and 2) without informing them thereafter before blocking them! Let alone to accept a booking and take someone’s money despite them being ‘blacklisted’. I had gone against the advice of family and friends in renting from Delpaso as I know two people that have had problems with them before either attempting to falsely claim money for damage that had already been there or just generally providing shocking service. I should have listened!! Do not be fooled by the cheap prices, it is NOT WORTH IT. Spend the small amount extra and go to another more reputable rental, it will save you money and stress in the long run.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this company”

written by Kenur on 17/08/2021

I rented from this company in Aug 21. I was delayed at the airport due to COVID checks and passport. Delayed further by the 30 min wait for their bus. Arrived 2 hours after the time on the booking. Told the booking was cancelled and no cars available. That is unless you buy their insurance which after much argument I was forced to do car available then of course. . The lady at the desk was disgraceful in her attitude. Take it or start walking she said. Car quality was poor. Never use this company again. Avoid at all costs. I was just over 2 hours late. Poor service.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 2 0
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST CAR HIRE EXPERIENCE EVER ”

written by EithneH on 30/07/2021

Booked through Opodo online in advance… met the rudest customer service male official I have ever encountered… because I declined to purchase the insurance on offer he advised that I was not welcome to use their service in the future (as if) he used scare tactics when referring to the €1300 held as deposit from my credit card and even though car was being picked up at midnight when it was impossible to see any existing dents/scratches etc he told me to take photos … it appears (similar to other reviews on here) if you don’t purchase the inordinately expensive insurance they are not happy ! AVOID AT ALL COSTS … I was nervous driving for the ten days I was using the car as I didn’t trust them … all worked out in the end but would NOT recommend this company… first and last time using them

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Delpaso: Worst customer treatment I have ever experienced!”

written by Henric on 09/04/2018

I booked the car through EconomyCarRental and got a final price to pay upon pick-up at Delpaso, 84€. When we arrived our flight was 2hours early and at first this was unacceptable. We could not pick up the car 2hrs early even though it was standing on the lot just outside (understand that huh!?). We were asked to buy an extra insurance, but I told the lady I already had this in my travel insurance. Now the big misleading campaign started and I felt a very hostile approach to make me buy the unnecessary insurance. I was told every little scratch would be blamed on me and I did not even get an overview of pre-existing damages. Apparently it was my task to document all pre-existing damages not to be forced to pay for them. Additionally I had to pay an extra admin fee for NOT buying the extra insurance of 25€ (how the hell can they charge an extra fee when you do NOT buy a certain product?) I was also aggressively instructed to arrive upon return at least 3 hrs prior to flight departure because they would go through the car with hawks eyes to find every little scratch and make me pay for it and this would take a long time. When I questioned the pricing and showed my reservation I just got ignored and told to come back in 2hrs (with two small kids waiting outside and a long flight behind us, thank you very much!). So I had to accept the 25€ for extra admin cost and 29€ for early arrival. Plus of course the pre-payment of a full tank (but that's more common so I didn't make too much fuss of it). So the 84€ for the rental ended up to cost me 138€. I have rented several cars from several rental companies in the years and this is by far the worst I have experienced. Not only forced to pay more than agreed but the total lack of friendliness and comprehension that I as a customer might be treated with some understanding and courtesy.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 3 0
★★★★★

“No problems”

written by MaBo on 20/07/2017

We used Delpaso for the first time this year after many years using Malagacar.com, who have got quite expensive. We had no problems at all. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant, smiley and helpful. We were upgraded (actually offer a choice of car) and had no issues on collection and return of the car. Couldn't fault the service we got, or the car. We always take the fully comprehensive insurance offered by any car hire company as have found (through past experience of hiring cars for 20 years) that it's the easiest and most cost effective way to ensure a hassle free and smooth car hire. As with Delpaso we just arrive, pay, collect the car and drive off and when we return just give them the keys. So simple and everything is covered and we don't need to do anything.

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0

Do you have a question about this product or company? Simply type it in the box below and one of our community will give you an answer

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

overview