Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by PaulRowley on 8th April 2014 Report this content
How many people have managed to actually contact Holiday Autos and get an issue dealt with? I get put through to Poland and they don't seem to know anything or be able to put me through to someone who speaks English. It has cost me £25 just to get turned over by them.

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (4)
Report this content wroughtironron Written on: 08/04/2014
Their Customer Complaints Dept doesn't exist to resolve complaints, merely to fob you off with meaningless responses designed to deter you from persisting. If you feel you have been ripped off unfairly, you'll be in good company, and the way to get back at them is to take them to the Small Claims Court. They hate that, as they either have to turn up and defend, or else pay the damages.
Report this content jdricho47 Written on: 08/04/2014
I managed to speak to someone in English, but they were not at all interested in helping with the problem. They informed me that they were merely a booking agent and that any problem arising with the car rental was between the customer and the rental company. Problem is they deal with the car rental company 'Green Motion' and they are particularly suspect as a business.
Report this content Williamhugh Written on: 08/04/2014
Sorry I don!t know the answer to your question, all I can say is we had not trouble at any point with our booking, collection and return of our car with Air Autos booked through Holiday Autos.
Report this content garryainsley Written on: 08/04/2014
Tried to speak to someone after sending E mail complaint. Received an Irish number to call but was advised calls were £1 /min. Posted a written complaint to the Irish office but heard nothing. If there is a problem with this company you have virtually no chance of any customer service and they just fob you off with lame excuses. I eventually resolved my complaint through Barclaycard who refunded the payment themselves. I wouldn't touch this company again.
See All Answers
Asked by campbellkirkham on 25th March 2014 Report this content
Do the cars come with satnav?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content garryainsley Written on: 26/03/2014
Depends on the model you hire - Holiday Autos are just a broker they farm out your hire request to different car hire companies. Obviously if you want SATNAV they can probably provide it. All I would say about holiday Autos is be careful - they are one of the cheapest ways to get a hire car but you normally get what you pay for.
Report this content RobLeftwich Written on: 26/03/2014
Generally my experience is no and I always bring my TomTom with me. On one occasion renting in Italy we got lucky and ended up with a pair of nice Audi A6s which came with SatNav, but I would say this is the exception. It really depends on the level of car taken and in the average small/medium sized family car used on a holiday, it wouldn't come as standard.
Report this content Quasimodo116 Written on: 26/03/2014
Holiday Autos are indeed brokers and shop around for the best deals. Most of the larger companies which they work with (Hertz, Europcar, etc.) offer sat-navs: check the on-line booking form carefully to find a tick-box. You generally pay for this on arrival at the desk, in local currency. I've used them several times on Malta and have always had a clean good-quality car with never more than 15000 Km on the clock.
Report this content paulairey Written on: 26/03/2014
i personnaly would avoid booking anything through holiday autos anyway, we have had so many bad experiences with them i avoid them like the plague!it would cost yo umore than buying one and taking it with you
Report this content paynedave Written on: 26/03/2014
Satnav always seems to be offered as an optional extra. It may be included on luxuary models. I take my own TomTom. I have to agree with garryainsley, the car provided though Holiday Autos by Orlando on a recent trip to Lanzarote was a disgrace. They've lost my loyalty and made no attempt to retrieve it, when I complained.
Report this content CaptainjackSnr Written on: 26/03/2014
Most Cars don't - it is an extra. The car we had still had the marks on the inside of the window from prev user. Which we wiped off because thieves target the cars which may have satnavs inside.
Report this content mt1832 Written on: 26/03/2014
Car hire companies typically charge quite high prices per day for sat nav - almost certainly you'll find it cheaper to buy a basic sat nav with maps for where you're travelling either here before you leave or at a supermarket when you arrive. On a side not I would strongly suggest you don't use Holiday Autos or any other broker to book car hire, Holiday Autos have a long track record of letting customers down and being very very slow to refund charges when they do. Search on line for a local company or book with one of the majors (Hertz, Alamo etc.) if you need a car in Spain or the Canaries Cicar are excellent.
Report this content issie Written on: 26/03/2014
Hello, no they don't usually come with Sat Nav as standard but you can get one for an extra charge when you pick the car up. Beware of other extra charges that they try to make you pay when you pick the car up - like extra insurances to cover the uninsured losses - it's much cheaper to pay for that upfront on the holiday autos website but make sure you tell the car hire company you already have it or else they may try and charge you without telling you. Happy holiday!
Report this content goddo863 Written on: 26/03/2014
Like most hire companies, I believe holiday autos can offer you hire of a satnav as an optional extra (presumably with a fee payable too). In my opinion, buying your own satnav makes far more sense - once you have used it for two or three hires it will have paid for itself if you buy a simple one. Also, if you have our own you get to know its controls so you don't waste time on holiday trying to figure a strange one out. Lastly, if you buy the right one, you can make sure you have all the countries' maps that you need.
See All Answers
questionAnswer