Do you Spain www.doyouspain.com – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by nickyparkinson on 31st May 2019 Report this content
I have booked car hire for Alicante and taken out the online cover, am I going to have to pay for more insurance when I get there?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content monaghans Written on: 31/05/2019
I always take out the full insurance when I pick up car in spain The benefit is that they don’t ‘block’ the security, which may be as much as £2000, off your credit card and I have no worries as I am fully insured. I have hired cars from ‘do you spain’ for less than £ 5 for 9 days hire. So I put the savings into full insurance If you have an excess policy this means you don’t have to take out full insurance but you would have to pay for any accident and then claim back from your policy.. this may take some time to sort out
Report this content trotty110 Written on: 31/05/2019
No. But if you took the cover out through DoYouSpain you will get a hard sell from the car hire company, often with all sorts of false statements about what you have is not comprehensive enough. Ignore it and firmly say no thank you. Unfortunately, that means you will have to pay a huge deposit (usually around €1000-1500) so make sure you check the car for every tiny scratch before you leave the compound and ensure it is checked as the same as you picked it up. You will read some horror stories about subsequently being charged for all sorts of damage or faults although it is not endemic in all companies. Who did you end up with as a hire company? Generally DoYouSpain are excellent, especially on hire price.
Report this content slappa Written on: 31/05/2019
If the online cover is with somebody like icarhireinsurance.com, you are fully covered. Any car hire company abroad will try and sell you their insurance to bump up their profits. Be firm and politely refuse Icarhireinsurance covers you for everything with no excesses. Win win
See All Answers
Asked by CharlotteL91 on 8th July 2017 Report this content
I am 26 years old I'm going to be the main driver but on "OK car rental" it's offering a free additional driver, my fiancé is 24 will there be an extra fee because of his age?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content paulhorwitz Written on: 10/07/2017
Hi Charlotte, Just checked online for you and unfortunately, they do charge €10 per-day for additional drivers between 19 and 25 - see below. Kind regards, Paul Drivers must be at least 19 years old and must have been holders of a driver’s license for at least a year. The driver’s license must be valid for the entire period of hire and drivers must also present a valid European national identity card or passport. There is a Young Driver surcharge for drivers aged between 19 and 25 years inclusive, of €10 per day with a minimum of €24 and a maximum of €300.
Report this content Davio1965 Written on: 11/07/2017
I am sorry I do not know the answer to this question as I was the only driver maybe try ringing the firm you are hiring from a lot of the hire companies have English speaking reps
Asked by CharlotteL91 on 5th July 2017 Report this content
I have paid extra for the full insurance, does this mean I don't have to leave a 900 euro plus deposit when I collect the car from Alicante airport?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content paulhorwitz Written on: 07/07/2017
It depends on whether you have bought the DoYouSpain insurance OR the insurance from the car rental company. IF you bought the car rental company insurance then NO, you don't need to pay the €900 deposit BUT if you bought the insurance via DoYouSpain or have your own excess insurance policy (the cheapest method), then you have to pay the charge. The deposit is normally reserved from your credit card and not charged - then released when you return the vehicle. One or two companies actually deduct the money which, in my opinion, is completely unacceptable. I hope that helps.
Report this content johnboystaffs Written on: 07/07/2017
As far as I know it depends who you have paid the extra to. If it was Do You Spain, then I think the Car Hire Company will still ask for a deposit. If you took the car hire company's extra insurance then I believe they will waive the deposit. I never take the extra insurance myself, hence being unsure.
Report this content RuariJM Written on: 07/07/2017
I'm afraid the answer is that yu probably will have to leave the €900 deposit. Most hire companies waive the deposit ONLY if you buy their insurance - which is often cheaper than you would think, as it happens. I'm a big fan of DYS and I understand their reasons for offering the insurance but it doesn't exempt you from that €900 burden. On the bright side, if you bring the car back intact, you get the money back pretty promptly - depending on the from you're hiring from, AND it's taken from your credit card; yu don't have to leave it in cash. It's a balance you have to decide on: get DYS' cheaper insurance and have your credit reduced €900 while you're on holiday or keep the $900 credit and pay a bit more for the hire firms' insurance. Your choice.
Report this content gerryhobbs Written on: 07/07/2017
If you paid extra to the CAR HIRE Company you will not have to leave the deposit. BUT if you took out the extra insurance with DO YOU SPAIN then you WILL have to leave the deposit sorry! Still by far the cheapest hirer and I use them every time in Spain and Portugal!Gerry Hobbs
Report this content simonmiall Written on: 07/07/2017
Paul Horwitz answer below is correct.
Report this content Elinicat Written on: 07/07/2017
No sadly it does not, I guess you paid the insurance through do you Spain, and there is no need to pay extra insurance when you pick up your car, however the car rental company do not take this as insurance, and will still put 900 or 1000 euros on your credit card, which is not taken if you do not have any accident, but if you do have an accident they will keep this money and you will have to claim the amount they take from the insurance. There are many UK insurance companies that will give you cheaper insurance than do you Spain but likewise you will have to claim the money back after the event.
Report this content lowercroft Written on: 09/07/2017
If you have bought the extra insurance from Do You Spain you will not need to leave 900 euro. If the extra insurance is with any other company you will. The extra insurance is extremely expensive and can be obtained at a small fraction of the cost online. Hope this helps.
See All Answers
Asked by ronaldpaterson on 29th March 2017 Report this content
Why has fireflycar rental charged me £28.69 extra on my rental agreement via prepaid Do You Spain prepaid voucher and yet not returned my fair fuel rebate?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content simonmiall Written on: 30/03/2017
My experience of Firefly was very similar. All I can tell you is that I tried continuously to get my money back without success, they never responded or the website would crash conveniently and I've never used them again. I continue to use DoYouSpain, they are no frills but efficient, no hidden charges and you can amend/ cancel for free. However I'm fussy over which rental company I use, even if it seems I pay more at the outset (but probably less in the long run). At Barcelona and Girona I use InterRent, they are in the terminal, I always select Full/Full on fuel as they don't sneak in a fuel admin charge unlike many of the others and on return you usually get email confirmation with bill summary within 24 hours. For what it's worth I take an annual insurance policy for all those other bits they try and sting you for. Hope this helps!
Report this content mickeo Written on: 30/03/2017
The charges are usually a service charge for fueling the car, a bit cheeky but they have to make money somehow when only charging a few Euros for the hire
Asked by 978534 on 26th January 2016 Report this content
Does anyone know if Do You Spain offer the scwd insurance?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (6)
Report this content Fran2 Written on: 27/01/2016
Yes they do. If you make a booking on their website, some time afterwards you will get an email headed Insurance Information for your Booking, which will give the option to take their insurance and it will give you the price.
Report this content martidj Written on: 27/01/2016
I took out their Gold insurance and the Goldcar desk refused to accept it and Doyou would not offer a refund so i wouldnt touch it or them with a bargepole
Report this content Lisbeth77 Written on: 27/01/2016
They offer the extra insurance cheaper than the relevant car company. But the car company explained to me that they do not accept their insurance. It means that if there is a problem, you have to pay in the meantime and Do You Spain should pay you later, once the matter is settled.
Report this content kenshev Written on: 27/01/2016
Yes they do, It is very difficult to enforce, when you arrive at the various car hire booths at the various airports, as they tell you all the reasons that you should take their scwd insurance (at twice the price). Remember if you take out your own, or with Do you Spain, you have to leave a very high deposit,on a credit card,some times as much as 1000.00 euros, should you have an accident then the car hire use part or all of your deposit, leaving you to claim off your insurance, for a refund. Hoping that you find this useful. 
Report this content Mortonbyway1 Written on: 27/01/2016
They do, but you will pay through the nose for it. Better to take out a policy with Questor or a similar company to cover any excess not covered by the hire car companies insurance
Report this content Dessy51 Written on: 27/01/2016
Yes they do. Please donot use goldcar, initial rental was €50 for week then with insurance and fuel ended up paying €240. Try pluscar, €85 and you are fully insured.
See All Answers
Asked by villaboy on 13th December 2015 Report this content
Where is the Do you Spain kiosk in Alicante airport please?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content s.brierley Written on: 14/12/2015
Doyospain do not have a kiosk at alicante airport! You need to go to the kiosk of the the car rental company that your do you spain Order has allocated to you.
Report this content bert52 Written on: 14/12/2015
There is no Kiosk that I know of. Contact them via their website ! Easy solution.
Report this content Merlina07 Written on: 14/12/2015
DoYouSpain should put on your rental documents which agent they have booked you with. It is often Gold Car, but check your paperwork. They do not, themselves, have desks at airports.
Report this content kenshev Written on: 14/12/2015
They do not have a desk at alicante airport, When you book with Do you Spain they pass you on to the best hire company at the time to suit your requirements, and that will be the desk you go to. Hope this answers your question, Merry Christmas
Report this content Mortonbyway1 Written on: 14/12/2015
Doyouspain are not a car hire company, they are a booking agent, you need to have a look at the coupon/invoice issued by Doyouspain, that will identify the name of the company that your car hire will be provided by.
Report this content sussexvet Written on: 15/12/2015
I travel regularly to Alicante and as far as I know there is no contact point at the airport. DYS are effectively the agents for the car hire companies who are your contacts when at the airport.
Report this content buckers1971 Written on: 15/12/2015
You have to get a mini bus to an off airport site to collect the car - be very careful about them ripping you for insurance you say you don't need. I ended up paying over £380 for a few days car hire after they charged me twice on my debit card then took for insurance I said I didn't want. My advice to you is record the conversation you have with the guy at the desk and check how many times they have charged you. Their customer service is abysmal and I have had not one response from them. It may seem more expensive to go with main stream car hire companies but you get what you pay for (or rather with Do You Spain - you don't) Good luck!!!
Report this content dronfx Written on: 16/12/2015
There is no Do You Spain Kiosk there. You need to find car hire provider you got from Do You Spain. Otherwise you have to contact with Do You Spain by phone. They give you their phone number on your confirmation voucher once you become our customer.
Report this content kenshev Written on: 27/01/2016
No they are just an agency who put you in touch with various car hire company's. 
See All Answers
Asked by vincentjenkins on 27th February 2015 Report this content
Do Record go accept dys insurance and excess from another insurer without any problems?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (10)
Report this content Lisbeth77 Written on: 27/02/2015
I don't know what you mean by other insurer (your own at home?). Do You Spain offer an insurance to lower price than the car rentals. However, when I asked once about the difference in price, the rental agency said that if you take it via DYS you still have to pay in the meantime to the car rental and then ask the money back from DYS! I decided then that it is better to take the insurance directly with the rental company. We always do and never had a problem. Once you know which rental company you have you can always ask them directly. I hope this answers your questions. Best regards
Report this content Bazman1951 Written on: 27/02/2015
Big problems! I had annual car hire insurance certificate from icarhireinsurance.co.uk. Record wanted 800 - 1000 Euros deposit before contract. They guy said they wouldn't accept the DYS insurance either. "Always take the hire company insurance...much less hassle" he said. So I did.
Report this content Martinadams Written on: 27/02/2015
Do NOT take out DYS insurance. Goldcar for example will say they want a deposit (Large) if you use DYS. It is better to use the Hirers own insurance as it does cover you to their satisfaction and there should be no quibbles if unfortunately you do end up needing it. You,as always, "Get what you pay for" !!
Report this content Jockdownsouth Written on: 27/02/2015
I have been using DIY insurance through Insurance4CarHire for years, in Europe, USA and South Africa, including from RecordGo in Majorca. Never had any real problem, although some have given me the third degree to try to "prove" that the Insurance4CarHire doesn't provide proper cover. Most, if not all, do block off an amount of 500 - 1,000 Euros from your credit card but this isn't actually charged until or unless a claim is made. I've never had to claim (touch wood) but reviews I've seen of Insurance4carhire say the procedure is straightforward. I'm in Florida at the moment and the Budget guy asked about insurance. I told him I had my own and that was that.
Report this content ianfromderby Written on: 27/02/2015
Bear in mind that the insurance in question is not legally required to drive in spain and is therefore optional. It covers the additional costs like windows, wheels and tyres. Almost all hirer's will charge you a deposit if you decline to take their insurance (but not all, solmar and sixt were exceptions last time I used them). Again most of them will take a credit card authorisation rather than actually charge your card so there is no cost to you, only the loss of available credit for a few days. If you travel a lot you can take out an annual policy to cover the excess which is much cheaper than taking the hire company version each time you go. Or you can decide not to bother.
Report this content martidj01 Written on: 27/02/2015
From previous experience I would NOT prepay anything prior to collecting the car. It may take a little longer at the desk but better that than being ripped off by doyou.
Report this content tony990099 Written on: 28/02/2015
don't go with record gave me a car with no mot. get your insurance from uk £39 year but you do have to give a deposit.
Report this content JohnHawker Written on: 01/03/2015
I took the enhanced fully comprehensive dys insurance. When I picked up the car they still take a 700 euro deposit from your credit card, they also try to sell you their own fully comprehensive insurance and they say that if you do have an accident you would still have to pay from your deposit and claim it back!!! Also when you return the car nobody will come and inspect the car to ensure that it has not been damaged. You could leave the car in the car park and if it was damaged after you would get the bill. In future I will go to Avis or another reputable hire company. DYS car hire stinks.
Report this content martidj01 Written on: 02/03/2015
Do not under any circumstances take out a Doyou insurance policy. I did and Record refused to accept it. I lost 96 euros and Doyou refused to refund.I shudder to think what would have happened had I paid the car rental as well. Never again.
Report this content Merlina07 Written on: 14/12/2015
Most car hire desks will accept icarhireinsurnace.co.uk. Just tell them you don't want their insurance (depending on what they want to charge you) and they will slap on a huge deposit - nowadays up to 1000€ - but you get it refunded a few days after your rental; it is blocked so that it doesn't leave your credit card account unless you have incurred any damage. If you have, you can then claim it back from icarhire. Take your own insurance document with you, just in case.
See All Answers
Asked by Lorrainewalker on 12th September 2014 Report this content
Is it possible to hire a car without a credit card. If not, could I use my credit card to enable my daughter to hire a car?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (14)
Report this content gbsphotos Written on: 12/09/2014
The difficulty you would face is that they ask for a credit card when you collect and pay for the car. They 'block' a payment from the card in case of any damage etc. don't worry, no payment is taken. I'm sure you would need to present the card at the airport, so I think the answer to your question is no. Geoff
Report this content miedward Written on: 12/09/2014
Yes...Goldcar do debit card hires...all you need to do is book via Do You Spain, then call or email them giving them your booking reference, explain that you have no credit card and they'll ensure they switch you to the right car hire company. You will need to note that the car hire will become more expensive than that specified on the website...you will need to pay for the insurance up front rather than it being held on your credit card so figure an extra 70-100 Euros for this. May be easier to use your credit card but you do need to be there if your daughter is hiring out the car. My parents and friends have hired cars out this way with their debit cards and have found it no problem - you just need to bear in mind the added costs.
Report this content sramone Written on: 12/09/2014
Short answer to the first part - no. A credit card is needed when at the hire desk even if if the hire has been paid in full online etc prior to collection. Second part - I would check with the hire provider. I wouldn't envisage any reason why not providing she meets the hire requirements of age, qualification etc.
Report this content Mortonbyway1 Written on: 12/09/2014
Without a credit card, the plain and simple answer is NO.A credit card is required to secure the booking, and the same credit card must be presented at the desk upon collection of the vehicle. Even if you paid for the car hire in full prior to departure,a credit card would still be required to cover any excesses and fuel charges applicable to the car hire.
Report this content pjdkca Written on: 12/09/2014
The answer to both questions is yes. Just go on the website, fill your details and go to the payment page and all the options including all debit card options are there. Regarding booking for your daughter just ring them up. They speak perfect English and some of them are in fact English and they are very helpful.
Report this content Arell Written on: 12/09/2014
i have not tried to do this but the rules are very clear that you have to have a credit card (not prepay) when you pick up the car. It is possible to use a debit card to pay for the car hire but when you pick up the car they demand a credit card for fuel, added insurance and/or deposit. the car companies ysed have some variations so worth reading terms and conditions on the company website rather than abbreviated terms on doyouspain website. Dickmanns keep your credit card details and will make charges to the account without prior notice or permission - happened to me 3weeks after I arrived home, so I would stongly advise not to use them. They also will not respond to queries once your money has been taken.
Report this content Lisa.Loca Written on: 12/09/2014
If you make a booking through Do You Spain and specify that you want to use Record Go, then they will process through a debit card. They do not accept cash but debit card is possible. If you wish to use your credit card then you physically have to be there at the rental and you can then name your daughter as a named driver. Hope this helps.
Report this content meryon Written on: 12/09/2014
you need a credit card you can pay in advance. whether they will accept the card for security of hire maybe if you agree to this but i would never use do you spain again.. i had a fixed agreed price for car hire and at the desk they asked for more despite showing my email copy of the price. the lady said if you do not pay you do not get the car.she was very abrupt. i complained to do you spain various times without success. there was a long wait for the car as well. avoid at all costs is my advice
Report this content tony990099 Written on: 12/09/2014
Don't use do you Spain gold car record hidden charges not trusted will not answer emails. Use budget or a avis. If you don't use ether make sure that the car has mot if over 2 year's old . Also make sure you have 2 high visibility jackets. Report all scratches and bumps get rental car insurance in UK cost something like £40.
Report this content snowquin Written on: 12/09/2014
I believe that a valid credit card is required and the name on that card has to be the named driver of the hired car. This is all stated clearly when booking, however Do You Spain are quite helpful so give them a ring and see what they say.
Report this content pblgold Written on: 12/09/2014
I would NOT recommend this company. I had a very bad experience.
Report this content Landsheere Written on: 12/09/2014
Dear, This is not possible because the name on the credit card has to be the same as the name of the person renting the car.
Report this content Duharra Written on: 13/09/2014
Yes it is, but if you use laser or a debit ard it will be more expensive, you will be asked to pay an substancial amount to cover the exccess up front which will be returned if the car is returned in perfect condition but be aware, it must as it was when you collected it, take photgraphs of any areas of dents etc. secondly you cannot pay for your daughters car hire unless you are going to be present and be the main driver. the person hiring has to be the person with the card. Hope that answer your question, we have always used DoyouSpain and find them very good once you go by their rules, credit card is the best option overall. Donal
Report this content FootInMouth Written on: 13/09/2014
From my own experience, if you wish to hire a car with DYS at the advertised best price then you must give credit card details in the name of the hirer of the car. I've not tried to do so myself but it may benefit you to contact DYS direct to explain the situation. You may strike lucky and they will agree to take your credit card details for your daughter's car hire. Good luck :-)
See All Answers
Asked by marten1 on 23rd July 2014 Report this content
We are currently in Mallorca with a car hired from Do You Spain. Our contract clearly states we will pay initially for a full tank of fuel and be reimbursed for fuel not used at the end of the hire. However the sub-bcontracted hire company, Goldcar, say no refund will be made. Do others have similar experience, and is there a way to obtain redress through English small claims court?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (19)
Report this content M.T.Brown Written on: 23/07/2014
I booked trough Do You Spain but used a different provider to Goldcar because I have had problems with them in the past. Have you tried approaching Do You Spain, because they sorted out a similar problem for me some time ago. In my case I was refunded for fuel not used. I am not sure the small claims court is relevant, In any case that would involve Do You Spain
Report this content barryisland Written on: 23/07/2014
In previous dealing with Gold Car they seem to have their own agenda and not care what has been agreed or sold to the customer. They frequently ask for extra payments for insurance, tyre & windscreen cover and extra drivers even if this is pre paid with do you spain. My advice is contact do you spain as your contract is with them and they are not supplying the car within the agreed terms.Good Luck
Report this content sramone Written on: 23/07/2014
Hi I have hired through Goldcar direct in the past and opted for the Empty > Empty fuel policy and so cannot comment on this - other than to say that I have not had issues with Goldcar per se. However, as you have booked through Do You Spain, I would approach them and they will resolve you issue - I have found DYS to be very helpful in the past. Hope this helps
Report this content AlanVLC Written on: 23/07/2014
Hi, Sorry to hear you are going through the Goldcar wringer. I have stopped using Goldcar as I was charged several extras the last time I booked a car with them through DoYouSpain(DYS). DYS now give the option to only receive quotes from companies you trust, good to know for the future. Full refunds are normally given for 3 day hire - However Goldcar also try charge for Diesel vehicles as an extra, they don't refund the V.A.T. (IVA) charges (they are supposed to). I would phone DYS and explain your predicament. They might have more clout with the Goldcar offices or at least be able to offer some advice - they don't want their customers to be taken advantage of in this manner. Good luck!
Report this content vinasdevera Written on: 23/07/2014
We have hired many times with DYS and often this has involved Goldcar. I have to say that it is unusual for a hire company to refund unused fuel unless you hire for less than 3 days. Otherwise the onus is on you to return the car with the fuel tank as empty as possible. The best deals are usually to go for a full/full option whereby you don't have to pay for the fuel upfront. If your contract with DYS clearly states that you will be refunded for unused fuel then I would say that your complaint must go through DYS. Good luck.
Report this content gbsphotos Written on: 23/07/2014
I have used Doyouspain many times, always to book a car hire fom Malaga Airport. The subject of fuel in the car, an the various policies of different companies in respect of 'full/full' 'full/empty' are annoying. I don't believe it is the fault of Doyouspain, but I do think they should take a more active role in stopping the confusion Almost every time I am at the counters at Malaga Airport to collect my car there are dissatisfied customers, and this is not resticted to Goldcar. I have had car from most of the 6 or 7 companies based in the airport, and the level of servce varies, but in my expeiencehas generally been very good. My advice is for anybodybooking a car with doyouspain (and I will ntinue using them myself) to thoroughly check the paperwork when they receive their confirmation email, and if there is any aspect of the terms you are unhappy with, contact oyouspain immediately, before you even arrive at the place your car is waiting. I think the best course of action here is for the customer to write to the Head Office of Goldcar, as I would not think any UK small claims procedure would have any juristiction regarding a dispute in another country. Personally, I would write a strong letter to Goldcar, enclosing a copy of the contract, and involve Doyouspai by copying them in and asking them to support your complaint. Good luck! Geoff
Report this content jazzwine Written on: 23/07/2014
We hired with Goldcar through DYS in May/June, and received a very prompt refund for the half-tankful left in the car. However, this may be because we (after much pressure) took out Goldcar's all-inclusive insurance, despite informing them that we had our own policy to cover accident damage, tyres etc. Said pressure means we probably won't use Goldcar again, although the car was fine. Echoing other replies, I feel sure that DYS will help you receive a refund, if that's what your contract says.
Report this content Oliver32 Written on: 23/07/2014
We booked a 9-seater through Do You Spain last August - the hire company they used was Europcar. On arrival to collect the car at Paphos airpor Europcar informed us that they did not even own a 9-seater! A "9-seater Mercedes Vito (or similar)" was clearly stated on our voucher from Do You Spain, but on Europcar's information, it said a 7-seater. I don't think a 7-seater Zafira can be considered "similar" to a 9-seater of any description. We had to make do with the 7-seater for almost a week of our 2 week holiday and despite ringing Do You Spain several times (at considerable expense from Cyprus I might add) we were put on hold indefinitely and they did not return any of our calls. Europcar were brilliant and eventually exchanged our 7-seater for 2 smaller cars at no extra cost. I emailed Do You Spain several times on my return and have never received a reply. Although they do continue to send me "generic" emails! I would NEVER, EVER use them again. I'm sorry this doesn't help with your query about fuel but it does highlight the fact that Do You Spain don't communicate well with the hire companies they use, and certainly don't pass on the same information they've given to customers.
Report this content Otleyeagle Written on: 23/07/2014
Do you spain are based in Spain, and Goldcar, I believe, in Germany. So there's no-one to sue in the small claims court. DYS are just agents. The contract is with Goldcar. You can email both until the cows come home, but unless you're very lucky you won't get anywhere. I didn't! And I've always been suspicious of DYS's good reviews all looking very similar.....
Report this content sussexvet Written on: 23/07/2014
Hi, When I last hired a car through DYS with Goldcar it was in Alicante and they advised that there would be a credit for unused fuel in the tank. However, they do deduct a refuelling charge which could be as much as 20€ and therefore depending on how much fuel was left in the tank would determine if any credit would be given. In my case I think they advised through email that my tank was 3/8 full so after a few weeks my credit card was credited with about 20€ so that wasn't too bad.I think the refund was based upon the charge initially made which as you probably know is very high. If you knew for certain that a credit would be given it would probably pay to fill the tank as far as possible on returning the car as the cost to you would be far less than their charge. It is quite new for any of the car hire companies to give a credit so in the past hirers would try to have as little fuel as possible in the tank but this is, of course, fraught with danger in case you run dry before getting back to the airport. I don't know what prompted Goldcar to give a credit unless it is new legislation by the Spanish government.
Report this content sussexvet Written on: 23/07/2014
I have just read the other replies sent today and note they recommend contacting DYS. The person who has helped me in the past with queries is Jose who has been very helpful so give him a try by sending an email or call on the number in the DYS documentation when you booked the car.
Report this content Landsheere Written on: 23/07/2014
Good advice is to clearly ask by pick-up what there polecy is towards fuel. record-go makes you pay for the tank and gives back your mony the same day of return, they even thell you how much you will get back in advance. Naturely you looss a little for the service.
Report this content martidj01 Written on: 24/07/2014
When I collected my car from Goldcar in May this year they told me they would refund any surplus fuel. I am still waiting. As for contacting Do You Spain I wouldn't waste my time. They sold me additional insurance which Goldcar refused to accept. Contacted DoYou and just got fobbed off with a load of twaddle. Needless to say I didn't get a refund. Have used DoYOu for years but never again.
Report this content Bazman1951 Written on: 24/07/2014
I have never seen this type of contract before. My experience with Goldcar has been ok with their full/empty policy. DYS are usually very good at sorting disputes out. I see a few more full/full contracts now but I suppose you can't do the mileage on Majorca.
Report this content Crispycrittersdad Written on: 25/07/2014
I also deal with do you spain and find them very good but I refuse to take cars from gold car because of previous problems with them. I also take cars on a full to full contract because the full to empty is a rip off. I would try to get do you spain to sort it out for you they have always been helpful in the past. hope this helps
Report this content FootInMouth Written on: 26/07/2014
I book car hire on a full/full fuel basis, which is an unrestricted option with DoYouSpain. Having heard and read bad feedback for Goldcar I have chosen not to hire a car with them and always choose a company I am familiar with or have used before. I feel your best option would be to contact DoYouSpain in the first instance to give them the opportunity to sort this out for you.
Report this content MrMackay Written on: 31/07/2014
Gold car are always trying it on with customers, just last week I was charged 30 euros for special cleaning of the few grains of sand that were left in the car. They are unbelievable.
Report this content sramone Written on: 12/09/2014
I have used Goldcar directly in the past and have refilled the fuel before returning as I was unsure of their fuel policy. If the contract states unused fuel will be refunded then they have to refund it. Revisit the hire contract from Goldcar and then take up the matter with DoYouSpain if needed.
Report this content Griblands Written on: 27/02/2015
I wouldn't touch Do You Spain with a Barge Pole. I ensured that we had FULL cover when booking and the local representative in the airport insisted that we only had 3rd Party Cover and charged us extra. This seems to be their way of doing business - Sell it cheap and then get more out of you at the airport. Do You Spain were not interested in the slightest about helping us when we returned home. Book with someone with some integrity!
See All Answers
questionAnswer