Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by chrislong27 on 27th July 2014 Report this content
Has anyone used Auto Europe for US rentals? They're coming up at almost half the price of going to Alamo direct, which is hard to refuse, but I sense a catch! Any ideas?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content Alexf240 Written on: 28/07/2014
I used them last year, booked and paid for a Ford Explorer (large luxury SUV, had one before, very nice) but got given a Nissan Rodeo (like a Qashqui, poor by comparison). No joy with the rental company at the airport, because it wasn't booked direct, and Auto Europe do not respond to complaints. So I wouldn't use them again, I would go direct to the rental company.
Report this content nickbeee Written on: 28/07/2014
I've used them for trips to the US over the last 6 years (mainly to Ohio). They pre-book your rental with the big companies but just be aware that some of them have local T&Cs such as Alamo no require an International Driving Permit, or Budget require additional drivers to present a credit card in their name. I usually go for a Gold Rate deal which includes up to three extra drivers and a tank of gas. You can usually get to speak to an agent over the phone for free or a local call, they are based in Maine, US.
Report this content hhvdblom Written on: 28/07/2014
The problem with Auto Europe is with the special Conditions they have. Auto Europe is NO thrustworthy company. If you book the car with them they send you a "special condition" paper. If anything goes wrong you have big problems or as in my case you wont get the car and lose 340 euro. If its to good to be true, trust me it is.
Report this content tp_wigwam Written on: 28/07/2014
3 times over the past few years at both Denver and Chicago. No problem with any of the rentals. Offered a choice of cars at Chicago by the rental desk.
Report this content ecbfriedman Written on: 29/07/2014
Yes I have, twice now, and no complaints (but also were going with the smallest car possible, weren't trying to book anything luxurious). The insurance is included, which is a big deal - we live in the UK now but rent cars when visiting family back in the US, so insurance included is a must.
See All Answers
Asked by WGoh on 3rd June 2014 Report this content
We chanced upon two links on customers' feedback - one of which is ReviewCentre's of course and the other is from Auto Europe and find the disparity between customers' reviews is really quite different. We are confused, so now based on calculated choice should we still take the risk with Auto Europe Car Hire?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (9)
Report this content hhvdblom Written on: 03/06/2014
Dont take the reviews serious on the AutoEurope site because the bad reviews are filtered out. Legal because there is no Internet police who stops companies like this. They make money with very bad conditions. With those conditions AutoEurope makes a lot of money, in my case 340 euro. I had prepaid, and if you prepay an amount of that you have to be sure you can trust that company. If you go on holiday and rent a car you dont want a feeling can I trust that company, believe me you dont want to take that risk.
Report this content dscoll Written on: 03/06/2014
Hi IMHO it doesn't matter which car company you go with, what matters are the actual people in the office where you get your car from. You will hand your car back when your done and someone will decide if you've damaged it or not/ filled it up with petrol / kept it clean enough etc. What constitutes "too dirty" and how much under full is "not full" , also it already had some small scratches on that were nothing to do with you. These are all subjective decisions. I've used Auto Europe a few times and there were no problems, but i attribute that more to the fact that I hired my car from Kerry airport, where the people are some of the easiest going and nicest natured around. DS
Report this content ian-cfh Written on: 03/06/2014
Auto Europe is essentially a broker - it doesn't hire the cars direct. So, to some extent what you get depends on the car hire company you actually rent the vehicle from. However, the advantages of Auto Europe (to me) are: 1.The rental prices are very competitive and often cheaper than you will get if you go direct to the car hire company website. 2.It reduces the normally very large insurances excesses charged by most rental firms (although it is still advisable to buy cheap supplementary insurance to reduce these excesses to virtually zero from somewhere like icarhireinsurance). 3. If something does go wrong, you can deal with a UK company rather than have to deal direct with a foreign car rental firm. I have now used Auto Europe twice - both times in Italy, using Europcar. I have had excellent service and a virually brand new car on both occasions but whether that is the influence of Auto Europe or just normal Europcar service I don't know. Europcar is not the cheapest airport car hire but it does seem to be reliable.
Report this content nicbarn Written on: 03/06/2014
In my experience of several bookings Auto Europe are OK and easy to deal with, even for cancellations. The main issue is the local car rental company you end up with. Some are very good, others are best to avoid. Read reviews of the rental company in the country (and city) of your destination.
Report this content Mgioiella Written on: 03/06/2014
My initial experience with auto Europe was good, the internet site works well and I always purchased additional insurance to cover myself from all risks. Unfortunately all seems fine until it goes wrong. My last experience with auto Europe I had a minor accident while exiting a garage and scratched the side door. When tried to claim from the insurance taken with Auto Europe I was made aware that accident caused while parking, in or out, are exempt from the cover. It was my fault, I should have read the small print, but who would have assumed that while parking are not classified as accidents. When dealing with customer service was very difficult as they are based in USA and eventually I gave up (this is what they aim for). Since I am using “economy car hire” and I make sure to take insurance cover with the actual rental company and not the broker. I hope this will help
Report this content gardbla Written on: 03/06/2014
We were ripped of at the northern airport in Tenerife in 2012 when we had booked a car through Auto Europe. The company that delivered the car was however a different one, Golden Cars or something like it. We had paid for the car in advance, but when we where to pick it up, the clerk asked for an additional insurance of 7 Euros or alternatively a substantial deposit. We were also told not to fill up the petrol, which felt strange. When coming back home we had a huge Visa bill, where the additional insurance was 70 Euros, not 7 and a petrolbill big enough to fill the tank of three cars. When were refunded half of the bill when we complained and wrote about this on the net.
Report this content ecdlevedarsh Written on: 03/06/2014
It is important to remember that Auto Europe are simply the agent who makes your reservation with the car rental company your voucher that they e mail to you will give you details of what you have reserved and paid for in all the years I have used Auto Europe they have always been the cheapest even via price comparison sites when a problem arises with the rental car (as has happened to me several times over the years) it is the rental companies responsibility to put things right if they don't they are in breach of their statutory duty I wouldn't expect Auto Europe to get involved as the contract is between me and the rental company
Report this content cmerchie Written on: 05/06/2014
hi there. This a price war and when you are online this the only thing that matters! Auto Europe is actually “Sicily by Car” a pretty small Co with not many offices and some good helpful staff. but they also act as 3rd party and selling other brands where they are not present, undercutting the big boys who are using them to get to you via their database, so you can get a "Europcar" at 10 or 20 % less. And always be charming with the nice lady behind the counter, 9 out of 10 you get an upgrade!
Report this content NoMoreAuto Written on: 08/06/2014
No don't do it at least if you going to Italy or Spain. Twice I've been fooled and 600 Euro poorer. I've sent several emails to them, and it's no surprise, they are not to blame! Fake images, no car even though I paid in advance! Never, never rent a car for this company!
See All Answers
questionAnswer