Start Rescue - www.startrescue.co.uk – Questions & Answers

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Barbara1963 on 10th August 2020 Report this content
Does startrescue cover Northern Ireland?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content taurustime Written on: 11/08/2020
Yes. Highly recommended service.
Asked by pach1962 on 16th January 2020 Report this content
I can not believe the price compared to green flag and aa etc is this genuine cover?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Pooty Written on: 17/01/2020
It is genuine cover but unlike the AA or RAC: They will only recover your vehicle local to wherever the car is. If your preferred garage is closed, they can take your car home but won't take your car to the garage at another time to the garage like AA/RAC They use third party recovery companies. Their attempt at fixing the car will not be as go5id as RAC/AA
Report this content Delta Echo Written on: 17/01/2020
For about five years I never needed to test Start then, last year, I suffered battery failure and was forced to call them out. My call was answered quickly and, despite it being 9pm, a breakdown technician got to me in under the hour. The control centre gave me regular updates on his arrival time. He apologised for the fact that it should have been half that time, but my local tech was already committed and they brought him in from a neighbouring patch. No doubt you will also find horror stories, but I can only tell you how good I found them.
Asked by SydCallaghan on 28th March 2018 Report this content
Will a 2 star policy cover my motorcycle on visit to Isle of Man from Mainland?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Dunromin2 Written on: 29/03/2018
I have called them out twice and received very good service. I would give them a call if you concerns about cover. They answer quickly and are helpful on the phone.
Report this content bob80847 Written on: 29/03/2018
My recommendation would be to contact Start Rescue directly to ensure you have the facts. In my humble opinion it would be dangerous to visit the Isle of Man on the opinion of someone other than from the company - no matter how well intentioned. I have found Start Rescue to be an excellent service but - as your question rightly asks - you do need to have the right cover. Hope this helps.
Asked by vronn on 16th August 2017 Report this content
After taking you home will they collect the car the next day to take to a local garage?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (2)
Report this content Nicknackday Written on: 18/08/2017
My understanding is that they take you to wherever you requested when making the call for the rescue - if that is home, then that is the end of it. So for my recent rescue I asked for a drop off to my local garage rather than home.
Report this content Pooty Written on: 17/01/2020
No they won't. This let's down their service significantly as it's not always practical to take your car to the garage straight away.
Asked by Nettie101 on 12th July 2017 Report this content
I am disabled and was let down by RAC was looking to join any disabled drivers reviews?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content Bagpuss332 Written on: 20/07/2017
Not really sure what you are asking..... If you're asking are Start Rescue good, yes they are. I've been with them for several years and unless they go bust, I'll not use anyone else and I have used most of the others in the past (AA, RAC, Green Flag etc). Start Rescue have always met my needs, including one very rainy Friday night, collecting me, the wife and son, plus a dead Renault Laguna from the services on the M6, taking us back to their depot, diagnosing that it was the alternator and couldn't be fixed til the morning, arranging a hire car, helping to transfer the car full of luggage (including the wifes wheelchair into the hire car) and seeing us safely on our way. The Laguna was delivered home around 4pm Monday, the hire car wasn't collected until the Wednesday, no need to panic and rush to get it ready to collect. I don't think you'll find a better service for the price anywhere..... If you're after a forum where other disabled drivers discuss their problems, I can't help, I'm not a member of any, nor have I looked for any, sorry.
Asked by Cathanne on 7th April 2017 Report this content
Who do they send out to breakdowns? Is it local garages?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content Navinwaghmare Written on: 12/04/2017
Yes, i believe they are local garages and in my case, they were pretty quick in response....
Report this content moimoimoi Written on: 12/04/2017
Yes-that's what happened to me. The chap was fast and very professional.This company doesn't want negative feedback.
Report this content djKRISS Written on: 12/04/2017
yes a local garage came out and because they were local they found us quick and sorted out our problem there and then . Would highly recommend Start rescue, and with the app on your phone they find you via GPS
Report this content Megan2002 Written on: 12/04/2017
Yes indeed, local garage and I could find no fault. Was very pleased with the whole service
Report this content Watchet Written on: 12/04/2017
Yes local garages and quick response
Report this content Lizanne Written on: 13/04/2017
Start Rescue sent the garage local to my home. I don't know what they do if you breakdown further away though, perhaps you should contact them and ask.
Report this content Pooty Written on: 17/01/2020
Local recovery agents. So the attempt to fix your car won't be as good as RAC or AA who are more specialised at trying to fix youe car
See All Answers
Asked by fudge17 on 28th December 2016 Report this content
Hi am I fully covered straight away after purchasing the breakdown cover? Other breakdown recovery companies only have roadside assistance, after 24 hours the fully policy is active. Thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (3)
Report this content LizzieK11 Written on: 29/12/2016
When we purchased our cover t didn't take affect til the next day, you can always call them they are very helpful we have always used them and had no problems at all
Report this content anitagrainger Written on: 29/12/2016
I doubt if you will find any company that will cover you there and then.. I am sure it it's to avoid people joining because they have JUST broken down, to save big costs to get a tow or a quick fix. I have been with this company for a few years, and never had problems. Their prices can't be beaten!
Report this content moimoimoi Written on: 12/04/2017
Next day activation for obvious reasons. If you buy a policy and contact them before 24 hrs it's obviously a problem you already have.
See All Answers
Asked by Joe051 on 14th November 2016 Report this content
How many call outs are allowed per year?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (1)
Report this content moimoimoi Written on: 12/04/2017
It tells you in the schedule you buy. Mine says 6 per year-I have the top policy+Europe cover.
Asked by gcrosta on 7th February 2015 Report this content
Does anyone have any experience of using Start Rescue when broken down in France?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Asked by 4syobb4 on 24th January 2015 Report this content
I just discovered their breakdown service tonight. I'm a motorist from Scotland, how do they manage such low quotes?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (7)
Report this content stevemartin67 Written on: 26/01/2015
They use local garages so don't have to have a fleet of breakdown vehicles of there own and the staff to pay. Start Rescue is part of a bigger national company. I've had to use them a couple of times and can't fault there service. Would never go to AA or RAC again, there prices are just rip off by comparison.
Report this content E9LOL Written on: 26/01/2015
They use local garages who then contact you to tell you what time they will be with you so no massive overheads for fleets of vehicles. cannot fault the service. Very quick and extremely efficient.
Report this content Shirl5 Written on: 26/01/2015
Their service is excellent. They use local garages and the times I have needed assistance they have arrived in good time and have been extremely helpful, would not use anyone else for recovery
Report this content tonyhorn Written on: 26/01/2015
To put it quite simple they cut out the middle man,and in my opinion are the best breakdown service anywhere in the UK, I have had them out 3 times and they got me back on the road every time.
Report this content smeesme Written on: 26/01/2015
As others have said it is all down to local services, having said that I did have one occasion when an AA van turned up and that was to change a puntchtered wheel.
Report this content moimoimoi Written on: 12/04/2017
They use local companies-to where you break down and they get a 'volume' of customers. Brilliant company as far as I'm concerned.
Report this content Pooty Written on: 17/01/2020
Because they only recover local to where car is -. So if you are a significant distance away from home then tough luck Also won't take you home (if local) first and then to garage the next day for example - just the one tow per incident. Third party recovery agents so the attempted fix won't be good as the the more well known providers who are more geared up to fix your car and are more like mobile mechanics
See All Answers
Asked by smokeythecat2 on 29th April 2014 Report this content
Some services want car service history before helping. Does start rescue demand this?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (5)
Report this content wiggo39 Written on: 30/04/2014
They didn't on both the occasions that they rescued me. Just asked where I was and what I thought the fault was and came and rescued me.
Report this content stevemartin67 Written on: 26/01/2015
No not at all
Report this content Andymat Written on: 26/01/2015
No they don't
Report this content anitagrainger Written on: 29/12/2016
In one word.....No!
Report this content moimoimoi Written on: 12/04/2017
No they didn't ask.
See All Answers
questionAnswer