Thomas Lloyd Reviews - www.thomaslloyd.com

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
86% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Quality of website

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Thomas Lloyd - www.thomaslloyd.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Thomas Lloyd - www.thomaslloyd.com

Thomas Lloyd - www.thomaslloyd.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Excellent service”

Written on: 15/11/2017 by Gill30 (1 review written)

We recently visited the showroom with the view to hopefully purchase a leather sofa and chairs. The showroom was really welcoming and we were left to have a good look around on our own and then when we needed some information we were assisted. We chose the furniture and to our surprise we were given a rough date when the furniture would be ready. A week before the delivery date we were contacted by the Sales team and given the actual date of delivery which was the same date as we were given on… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to Gill30's Review

Written on: 16/11/2017

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is very much appreciated.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your show room visit and that everything promised went as expected including the delivery slot. Thanks for your comments regarding our delivery crew also.
We look forward to welcoming you again should you return to purchase a matching foot stool.
If you do come to purchase a stool, it may be an idea to bring along a cushion from your latest purchase so that we can hand antique the stool whilst you are here to match the furniture with which you are delighted.
Many thanks for your kind review,
REgards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment

Gill30's reply to Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2017

Already made an appointment for a further purchase.
Will be bringing a cushion as suggested.
Once again many thanks for your help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Leather furniture”

Written on: 02/10/2017 by Andrewrod (1 review written)

Ordered three and two seater settees with chair and footstool. From ordering to delivery was 4 weeks - well inside estimated time. Furniture exactly as ordered and the quality superb. Especially worthy of comment was the friendly effecient delivery by the two helpful and accommodating guys on the lorry. Bang on time and nothing too much trouble. Well done to them. This is my second leather suite from Thomas Lloyd (the first still looking like new in another room after a good few years use) At… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to Andrewrod's Review

Written on: 02/10/2017

Hi,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
Glad to hear that transaction went well from start to finish and great to hear your comments regarding our delivery team.
Please follow our care and maintenance instructions and I am sure your 2nd purchase with us will perform equally as well as your previous purchase and give you many years of pleasure.
Once again, many thanks for your kind review and endorsement of Thomas Lloyd,
Kind Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Fantastic company to deal with”

Written on: 05/09/2017 by Mossyman57 (1 review written)

Hi,our replacement cushions arrived today just as you said they would.I would like to take this opportunity to say a massive thank you as a company for the way with which you handled our problem. Your customer services is second to none they were fantastic with my wife who was ever so upset for ordering the wrong items. Nothing was to much trouble for them and they are a credit to your company.from start to finish I have nothing but the very highest regard for Thomas Lloyd and their work… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to Mossyman57's Review

Written on: 05/09/2017

Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your kind review, it is much appreciated.
We were happy to replace the cushions you erroneously ordered for the ones actually required and I hope you are delighted with them.
We strive to satisfy all our customers and more often than not we receive many comments of praise, just like yours. unfortunately, we are not able to satisfy all our customers who expect us to take action through no fault of ours.
Please adhere to our care and maintenance instructions and I am sure that your purchases from Thomas Lloyd will give you many years of pleasure.
Once again, many thanks,
kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Terrible product and service”

Written on: 04/09/2017 by Cortez189 (1 review written)

We purchased a leather suite from Thomas Lloyd six years ago that has aged so badly we are taking it to the rubbish dump. Note delivered in a Sofa Sofa lorry as they own this company. After speaking to the salesman we paid an extra £150 for what we were under the impression would be an extra stain protection coating: it turns out this was actually just an extended 5 year warranty insurance policy, with no extra coat added. We had not had the suite long before marks began to appear where

Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 05/09/2017

I am sorry that you have cause to post this review.
All Thomas Lloyd leaters are tested and approved to British and European standard tests for use on General Domestic Upholstery. Had you reported a problem with us within your 2 year guarantee period, we would have willingly uplifted the items of concern for our inspection and taken any remedial action necessary. You have also purchased the extended warranty with Castelan Ltd; one of the industry's leading warranty provides, and are insured for accidental damage and staining. I am very suprised that they have also not been able to satisfy your complaint, assuming of course you have contacted them.
Not all leather types are the same and I can assure you that you have not received "badly prepared leather" as you would have experienced problems with the rest of your upholstery and not just in the head areas. We go to great lengths to inform our customers throughout all our literature that direct contact with hair products, waxes, perspiration and other chemicals, including prescription medicines, applied directly on to our leathers will cause damage.
If you are still within the 5 year extended warranty period please feel free to contact me direct at Thomas Lloyd and I will endeavour to take up this case on your behalf with Castelan.
I look forward to hearing from you,
Yours sincerely
DT
MD

Reply to this comment

Wokb's Comment

Written on: 06/09/2017

It is interesting that you appear to be officially representing Thomas Lloyd but did not want to write your name, so how could you be contacted.
We did report the issues to you within the two year period several times and at no time did you make the offer to ' uplifted the items of concern for our inspection and taken any remedial action necessary'. Instead the replies we got ranged from cursory to down right rude. You tried to blame us for sitting on the seats with our heads resting on the back. Your suggestion of using the 'care products' purchased from you made no difference and the extended warranty with Castelan Ltd were not interested since you told them that this was in some way 'Normal use' . Funny how the leather suites we have had before never had this issue. Professional cleaners of leather products have told us that they would have expected the leather to be better prepared to stop this happening in normal use. In fact they told us that if there is no adequate barrier normal grease from your hair would penetrate and is impossible to remove. At no time did Thomas Lloyd tell us this.
Interestingly a cushion was damaged and replaced . This seems to be of a different quality entirely.
If you are as confident as your boasts above we are quite willing to have you retrieve the suite instead of taking it to the tip after 6 years. Others please make sure you are aware of the after care you are likely to receive . Also you may note that on the Thomas Lloyd web site there is not one even faintly critical review, coincidence ?

Reply to this comment

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 08/09/2017

I am Dave Tomlins (DT) and am the managing Director(MD) at Thomas Lloyd.
Had you contacted us within your 2 year guarantee period, particularly as you say you did on "several" occasions, we would have gladly uplifted the cushions of concern for our inspection and any remedial action necessary due to defective materials or workmanship. You previously stated that you believe you received badly prepared leather and now state that it is down to head grease. We do not have any remedies to correct this type of damage and it appears from your posting that neither do Castelan or Professional cleaners whom you have contacted. We have certainly not spoken with Castelan regarding your issue, as they trade totally independently from us, and would not state that this is down to 'normal use' particularly not having seen their condition.
Not all leather types are the same. We go to great lengths in all our literature to explain our leather types, their properties, and the 'do's and don'ts' in caring for them. You will have received a copy of these instructions with your order confirmation together with comprehensive care and maintenance instructions. These instructions are also attached to the base of your furniture. Had these tips been followed I have no doubt that your Thomas Lloyd furniture would have given you many more years of pleasure just like the vast majority of our customers who regularly inform us they have had our products for 20 years or more.
Please let me know your surname or post code at time of ordering and I will certainly speak to Castelan to ascertain the history of events resulting in your review.
I look forward to hearing from you,
Yours sincerely,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2017

I am totally disappointed with your decision to reinstate the review in question and am very aware of the data protection act and your responsibilities toward it.
I have already asked this customer to contact me with their details so that I can further investigate with a view to remedying their problem. They after all asked whether I had the right to respond to their initial review but they seem to have a reluctance to declare their hand.
What have they got to hide?
Are they a genuine Thomas Lloyd customer? We still do not know this.
Should you not be asking why they have a reluctance to do so, particularly as they have left a scathing and potentially damaging review to our family owned business.
It is not correct or fair that reviewers can/should be able do this to a business whilst wishing to hide behind a cloak of anonymity.
I do look forward to establishing the identity of this customer either from you or them directly so that I can take further action.
Yours sincerely,
Dave Tomlins.

Reply to this comment

Wokb's Comment

Written on: 16/10/2017

It seems that you are now not just questioning my right to criticise your products but also Review Centres right to publish it. Review Centre have proof I am a real customer. Readers should be aware that you have tried to have this review removed twice now, despite clarifications to make it clearer exactly what went on. To use your words is that ' correct or fair ' ? .This very aggressive response and comments about any form of criticism is why I am now not going to get in contact. You are showing yourselves in your true light as others have found out, as can be seen in other reviews when people have had issues.
Perhaps if you were not a family owned business, a more professional attitude would be given to helping customers when they had issues, rather than wait to suppress feedback.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 5 Comments
★★★★★

“Quality product Quality Company”

Written on: 26/08/2017 by LamontDavenport (1 review written)

Very late in life we could afford to buy a new leather 3 pce suite. We made a good choice. Excellent company, excellent choice. We are delighted with our purchase… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 30/08/2017

Dear,
many thanks for posting your kind review.
We are as delighted as you in finally welcoming you becoming a Thomas Lloyd customer.
Please follow our care and maintenance instructions and I am sure that your suite will give you many years of pleasure.
Kind regards,
DT
MD


Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“thomas lloyd sofas”

Written on: 24/08/2017 by Myrickpo1956 (1 review written)

great products well made to a very high standard yet well priced against imported sofas and delivered on time .i frequently recommend thomas lloyd… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 30/08/2017

Dear Myrickpo 1956,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is greatly appreciated.
You have "struck the nail on the head" in stating that our price structures, quality and delivery reach the standard expectation of most customers today. Our only secret is the fact that you are dealing direct with us, the manufacturer, and not your local retailer who has to source his products mainly from overseas and involve other unreliable third parties, and we are in full control of our business in being able to deal directly with you, our customer.
Our strategy is to cut out the middleman.
Kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Absolutely superb furniture, aftersales and delivery”

Written on: 22/06/2017 by AnjiM (1 review written)

I recently purchased an 'Antique Gold' leather Georgian chair from Thomas Lloyd and I must say; it is absolutely stunning! The quality, expertise and workmanship that has gone into crafting this chair is second to none and the authentic antique effect adds so much depth and character to the overall aesthetics of this very grand chair; giving it a slightly humbled, rustic appeal, which in turn, creates a lovely warm and cosy ambience in my bedroom. A great Team effort all round and excellent… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to AnjiM's Review

Written on: 26/06/2017

Many thanks for your kind review.
I am delighted to hear that our all round performance was to your expectation.
A special word of mention should go to our delivery crew who performed over and above "normal" practises, particularly in this litigious age in which we live, in positioning the chair in your bedroom.
I hope the chair gives you many years of pleasure and if there is anything further we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“A lovely comfy settee”

Written on: 03/03/2017 by Ayla458 (1 review written)

It was easy to order,was made quickly and to as high standard. Delivered on time by friendly and efficient staff. Our fourth order over two decades… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2017

Dear Ayla458,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review.
It is always great to hear from our loyal returning customers.
After 2 decades and on your 4th purchase you obviously know our furniture and our drill.
Please feel free to contact us should you require any further help or information.
Kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Furniture and service”

Written on: 01/03/2017 by Oxbloodred (1 review written)

This is the 2nd lot of furniture I have purchased from Thomas Lloyd the quality is great the service is great. No negative thing to say. My sister also has bought from them a few years ago on my recommendation and was thrilled with both her furniture and service of delivery… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to Oxbloodred's Review

Written on: 03/03/2017

Dear Oxbloodred,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
Great to hear that you are happy with our furniture and service - we do try hard!
It is always nice to hear from a returning customer - you are our best form of advertising - and many thanks to your other family members for purchasing from us which further endorses our value, quality and service.
If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Quality handcrafted furniture from a quality company”

Written on: 01/03/2017 by AveriCollins (1 review written)

From the time my wife and I visited your workshops / showrooms at Treorchy to delivery to our home in Pembrokeshire we have nothing but high praise and satisfaction from Thomas Lloyd. We were very impressed with your sales staff who were very courteous and extremely helpful and not all "pushy". We even called during their lunch break but the lady we saw still gave her full and undivided attention. Delivery was on time and only had to wait 5 weeks from the time the order was placed to the day… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 03/03/2017

Dear AveriCollins,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your showroom experience as I am sure my staff did in dealing with you, they always like to see visitors.
Glad to hear that you are happy with our quality and service levels and that the delivery staff did their job splendidly as well.
Many thanks for endorsing our product to other family and friends and if we can be of any further assistance to you or your son, please do not hesitate to contact us.
kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Very pleased with Thomas Lloyd”

Written on: 01/03/2017 by PaulR22 (1 review written)

The choice of Chesterfield style furniture and colours was great. No pressure in the sale room and the order was delivered promptly and good communication. The only downside is that you must travel to South Wales to view the actual furniture and buying totally on line etc. isn't for everyone spending a lot of money. It's worth the journey though… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to PaulR22's Review

Written on: 03/03/2017

Dear PaulR22,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
Our showroom is here for exactly the reason you have mentioned - for potential customers who are apprehensive on spending a large sum of money on our furniture without seeing or sitting on the product. At the end of the day, we are all different and have differing views on styles, colours and comfort levels that suit us as individuals.
We do not pressure sell in our showroom - we don't have to - the product, once customers have seen and sat on it, does that for us.
Also, you can see the quality of our raw materials and workmanship close up and in detail and whilst we try and explain this in detail in our brochure and web-site, not everyone truly believes.
I an sure you will be delighted with your purchase, please adhere to our care and maintenance instructions and your furniture will give you many years of pleasure.
Kind Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Three piece leather suite purchase”

Written on: 20/01/2017 by Tony_G (1 review written)

Getting older, we both needed a new three piece suite with a good seating position and high arms to enable easy rising. Fitted the bill perfectly… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to Tony_G's Review

Written on: 23/01/2017

Dear Tony_G,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
We are all getting older - unfortunately!
Glad to hear that we had products in our range that accommodated your requirement oh high arms and good - elevated - seating position.
Please follow our Care and Maintenance instructions and I am sure that your purchase will continue to be a source of pride and give you many years of comfort.
If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Many thanks,
Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Well made furniture”

Written on: 20/01/2017 by Lindabambury98 (1 review written)

Purchased three two seater sofas in the SENATOR range in antique green.Beaufifully made furniture that I am really pleased with.Really nice colour.The best thing I like about it is that the cushIons always retain that original look ,not like some sofas that loose that NEW look soon after purchase… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to Lindabambury98's Review

Written on: 23/01/2017

Dear Lindabambury98,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
With the purchase of your three 2 seater sofas, rotate the cushions to ensure even wear. Our injection moulded foams on this model will soften in use so rotation is the key to retain the same hardness in all the cushions and this will give you even greater longevity of the product.
Glad you like the colour chosen and if we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us..
Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Quality and good value”

Written on: 17/12/2016 by SalmaWood61 (1 review written)

Saw advertisement in papers for a chesterfield settee , the order process and selection of item was easy. The customer service was good delivered on time and the date specified. The settee is ideal , comfortable and beautifully designed. Very happy with the whole experience and looking forward to many years useage of the sette… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 19/12/2016

Dear SalmaWood61,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
Pleased to hear that the transaction from you first seeing our advertisement through to final delivery of your product was good and to your expectation.
Follow our care and maintenance instructions and I am sure that your settee will give you many years of pleasure.
Kind Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“love the chair fits in exactly with my room size and...”

Written on: 16/12/2016 by JosieSmith453 (1 review written)

love the chair fits in exactly with my room size and colour scheme and it is also extremely comfortable. Very easy to make my order over the telephone we arranged to pick the chair up from the factory. When we arrived it was ready at the time arranged - everyone was extremely helpful and friendly in fact an overall extremely positive experience. everyone who comes into my house says 'love your new chair' and I then explain that you advertise in all the 'mags' and I am a very happy customer… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 16/12/2016

Dear JosieSmith453,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
Glad to hear that you are happy with our overall service and I am sure that the chair will keep you happy and in comfort for many years.
I am also glad you enjoyed collecting from the factory where you will have had an opportunity to see for yourself the quality stated in our literature and that the staff were friendly.
Thanks once again,
Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“very efficient service, quality product”

Written on: 16/12/2016 by Yeseniae97 (1 review written)

Excellent ordering on phone, efficient and professional. Delivery very well managed, timings good and no problems with access. An excellent high quality product, built to last. very good quality leather, with good finishing details and stitching. Very comfortable suite… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 16/12/2016

Dear Yeseniae97,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
I am extremely pleased to hear that your order with us was efficient and professional which is exactly what we aim to achieve.
Pleasing also to note that the delivery went well as this can be the most difficult part of our operation (particularly with the infrastructure and volumes of traffic in the present day).
You have purchased direct from our factory and have had the benefit of price, quality and service which is, again, part of our mission statement.
I am sure that your purchase will give you many years of pleasure and comfort.
Kind Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent quality...”

Written on: 16/12/2016 by KadinMcAllister (1 review written)

From ordering to delivery,5 star treatment,and although I updated my leather suite,I wouldn't hesitate to recommend your company to my friends and family....One very happy customer...Thank you.... … Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 19/12/2016

Dear KadinMcAllister,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review and I am delighted at your comments.
Recommendations are greatly appreciated and is our best form of advertising.
We strive to make all our customers happy and I am sure that your furniture will give you many years of pleasure.
If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind Regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“top quality and service”

Written on: 14/12/2016 by JaylinStuart (1 review written)

last bought from this company 23 years ago, sofa and footstool still going strong but comandered by son so I have bought myself new chairs for smaller room The chairs arrived promptly and are perfect thankyou Thomas Lloyd once again for superb service… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 15/12/2016

Dear JaylinStuart,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
Glad to hear that you are happy with the new chairs and I am sure they will give you as much pleasure and longevity as the sofa commandeered by your son!
If we can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us,
Kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent Quality and value for money Thomas Lloyd”

Written on: 07/11/2016 by Penningtonql270 (1 review written)

We have shopped around for quality furniture for quite some time looking in furniture department of big name stores, We decided to go to see Thomas Lloyd and were immediately impressed by the quality of the leather, attention to detail and variety of styles. The 2 Chesterfield settes we have bought are comfortable and the comments of family and friends confirm that we made the right choice. There is nothing we don't like about the furniture as I have said the leather is a better quality and… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Comment

Written on: 08/11/2016

Dear Penningtonql270,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review, it is much appreciated.
You obviously did a bit of homework prior to purchasing from us and I can assure you that by buying direct from a family firm you have bought furniture of a far higher quality than you would have received from a local retailer - whilst also saving yourself a lot of money.
Please follow our care and maintenance instructions and your furniture will be a continued source of pride to you and the envy of family members.
If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us,
Kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Beautiful quality furniture”

Written on: 06/11/2016 by lyndadowling1 (1 review written)

I was very pleased with the professional service given by the staff and the efficient way our order was dealt with. The furniture itself is beautiful and my only negative comment is that the chairs seemed quite hard initially. However, after two months of wear they are much more comfortable!… Read Full Review

Dt225846's Response to lyndadowling1's Review

Written on: 08/11/2016

Dear lyndadowling1,
many thanks for taking the time to post your review it is much appreciated.
I am pleased to hear that you are satisfied with your Consort furniture and to hear your comments regarding our staff - we do try hard to please.
Your leather furniture, much like a pair of leather shoes, will soften, mould and become more comfortable, and personal, in use.
Please follow our care and maintenance instructions and your furniture will give you years of pleasure and continue to be a constant source of pride.
Kind regards,
DT
MD

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview