OakFurnitureLand.co.uk - www.oakfurnitureland.co.uk – Questions & Answers

DC2 Viscount Way, South Marston Industrial Estate, Swindon, SN3 4TN

Our helpful community of likeminded people will be happy to answer any questions that you have.

Before posting your question please check to see that it has not already been asked.

Thanks for asking a question.

Once we've checked over your question we will put it live on the site and our strong community of experts will hopefully give you some great answers that you find useful.

We will email you when the question is on the site

Asked by Deanbeckett on 10th April 2016 Report this content
Has anyone had any experiences regarding the 5 year insurance, i.e French polishing, repair of furniture etc? Many thanks

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (11)
Report this content AnnNorfolk Written on: 11/04/2016
Sorry - not had to use the insurance but would feel confident they would fulfill their side of the deal. Good luck !
Report this content gezcaz Written on: 11/04/2016
Yes no problems sorted very quickly and efficiently.
Report this content happy daughter Written on: 11/04/2016
No sorry cannot help with this, as my furniture is still in good condition.
Report this content petegeoff Written on: 11/04/2016
Not needed to use them. Nothing gone wrong yet.
Report this content atlanticblue Written on: 11/04/2016
I haven't used the insurance but as the service from the company is 100% I would have no qualms regarding using this.
Report this content heavenly51 Written on: 11/04/2016
Sorry I have not had need to use the insurance, well not sorry im happy about it but sorry i cant help answer your questiom
Report this content Cookie97 Written on: 11/04/2016
Hi Sorry unable to help, I have not used this service, as mu furniture is still in good condition.
Report this content taxiperson Written on: 11/04/2016
No, 'haven't had the need, I'm pleased to say.
Report this content jdunton Written on: 11/04/2016
i did not have to use insurance , but i have recently had to contact oak furniture land about a dinning room chair purchased less than 12 months ago. They contacted me swiftly, located a new chair in their warehouse and delivered me a new one, and the whole matter was resolved in just over a week.
Report this content avoidliketheplagueofrats Written on: 12/04/2016
I'm less optimistic than those below. I had dreadful time with OFL, but won in the end. Put everything in writing to OFL. If they call you, then again summarise the conversation in an email to them. Then if (when) you get no joy you have a provable written record. Write to The Furniture Ombudsman, or if you bought it on finance, the Financial Ombudsman. This is an easy process and they are both lovely and easy to work with. You can write to them even if the finance has finished - you're still protected. Check out their websites. The law says that OFL have to deal with your issue within strict time lines - use this against them - or they'll run you in circles until you lose the will to live. DON'T GIVE UP. GOOD LUCK!
Report this content Slowprof Written on: 12/04/2016
Sorry - again not needed but the other services would make me confident that this would be fine
See All Answers
Asked by grandadB220453 on 26th February 2016 Report this content
Thinking of buying sofas and armchairs from Oak Furniture land and would be interested on views about the quality of the products. Can anyone help?

Thanks for answering this question.

Once we've checked over your answer we will put it live on the site so others can gain from your experience. We rely on members like you to sustain our vibrant community so thanks again, we couldn't do it without you.

We will email your when your answer is on the site

Answers (49)
Report this content 24FML2 Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought a coffee table and a low side table. They were easy to assemble and the quality is excellent. I would thoroughly recommend Oak Furniture land.
Report this content Mrbethell Written on: 01/03/2016
I wouldn't bother for me I wouldn't buy anything else I've sent 2 emails with no reply then I talk to someone regarding my problem with a Facebook advert they asked me to resend the emails to a different email address but again had no reply 4 emails now and not had one reply
Report this content JohnJun Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought a dining suite from Oak Furniture Land and I'm very happy with it. Good quality, well made and the delivery service was one of the best I've ever known. I would buy from them again without hesitation.
Report this content krobaa Written on: 01/03/2016
We bought leather sofas and chairs and they seem to be good quality although we have only had them for about 3 months. We did do a lot of research as we had previously bought leather recliners from Furniture Village which were not of satisfactory quality. We did buy the Oak Furniture extended warranty product which seems very comprehensive unlike the Furniture Village insurance which only covered accidental damge and not inferior product. Do some research on what questions to ask.
Report this content VJKmidlands Written on: 01/03/2016
I have purchased their oak furniture and have been really pleased with the quality. Can only hope the same level of quality is extended to their sofas and armchairs
Report this content Linda1258 Written on: 01/03/2016
I purchased a TV stand and a bedroom Tall Boy from this company. The quality is excellent. Delivery was a little slow but well worth the wait. They are admired by all.
Report this content Tomrhodes85 Written on: 01/03/2016
I found that they were very helpful and the furniture is of a very good standard. My wife and I purchased a King-size Oak bed, and it was packaged well on delivery. The assembly was very straight forward and the instructions were easy to follow. I would highly recommend Oak furniture land to anyone and I would go into a store and have a good look at the furniture and you can see the quality of the build. Happy shopping!
Report this content Jmidrew Written on: 01/03/2016
You will not be disappointed everything is top quality we only went to buy a coffee table and we're so impressed with the quality we ended up spending over £3000 pounds and we are over the moon with all the purchases we made ,and if we need anything else oak furniture would be our first port of call.hope this helps.
Report this content avieira Written on: 01/03/2016
I have a sofa and armchair I bought in August 2014 and have had no problems and it is very comfortable. I also bought coffee table and cabinet and would certainly recommend.
Report this content fatface10 Written on: 01/03/2016
I just know they never delivered the products I ordered on the two delivery dates they gave so I cancelled the order as the second cancellation was 6 weeks after I'd placed the order & I needed the items. I don't trust them to deliver when they say they will, they have every reason in the book, but the one off became two off.................
Report this content Louie1212 Written on: 01/03/2016
Unfortunately i haven't bought sofas or armchairs from Oak furniture land, however did buy a kingsize bed, wardrobe, 3 dressers, blanket box, computer desk and stool and 2 bedside cabinets and couldn't be more pleased. Oh and they gave me the extra large mirror for nothing!!! I was so impressed with the quality of the products that i have been back to the shop (just a month later) to buy bedroom furniture for my 2nd bedroom and also a TV cabinet for my lounge. The quality was outstanding, delivered by very professional carriers, who even took the time out to show me the best way to unpack each item so as not to hurt my back. The goods were very well packaged and it just took me 2 trips to the tip to dispose of it - they had told me in advance that i would need to dispose of this myself so it wasn't a shock. It was an amazing experience from start to finish and nothing was to much trouble. Would definitely recommend them to my friends and family and will be using them again in the not too distant future!
Report this content vivvywin Written on: 01/03/2016
We have not bought sofas, only wooden items but they are made beautifully. We found the customer service was excellent and I am sure you would receive the same standard and quality and service with their other items.
Report this content Lumpybits Written on: 01/03/2016
I had a lot of trouble with my 3 seater sofa and had to have their technicians out on 8 occasions to fix the issues. The faults were more design issues rather than poor quality. My issues have now finally been resolved. The customer service is impeccable and they have never not attended to my issues. I would urge you not to buy online and visit a store to make sure you get a good look at what you want to buy.
Report this content JXALLAN Written on: 01/03/2016
Furniture ordered, delivered early (only gripe I have is that I could have paid for early delivery, when it clearly wasn't necessary with standard delivery arriving before estimated date). Furniture is of good quality, looks good, and was reasonably priced.
Report this content TonyHoldroyd Written on: 01/03/2016
We have had seveal items from Oak Furniture Land and have never been less than dlighted with the quality of their products and with their delivery service. I wouldn't hesitate to buy from them again.
Report this content Co-ordinator Written on: 01/03/2016
I'm afraid I have no experience of purchasing 'soft' furnishings from Oak Furniture Land: that said I would look for a hardwood frame. real leather, not a plastic alternative as was highlighted last week from another manufacturer, microfiber synthetic leather, or leather faced!
Report this content CharlesMoffett Written on: 01/03/2016
I am sorry that it took so long for Oak furniture Land to arrive in Belfast, but now they are here we can see the quality of their products first hand. I would recommend Oak Furniture to all that are interesting in buying furniture from this company. Not only is their products of the highest quality but the staff and delivery service are above all other furniture retailers, Yes go to Oak Furniture for the total experience of quality and service you will not be disappointed.
Report this content happy daughter Written on: 01/03/2016
We bought dining table and chairs, and we are more than pleased with the quality and the service we rec'd from Oak furniture land, we had to do a little DIY to put it together, and that wasn't beyond even my skills (non-existent), so very happy.
Report this content grandkids123 Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought a super king size mattress from Oak Furniture Land and am very pleased with the quality. The service was very good and the item was delivered on time, all in all I would buy from them again
Report this content Varypistol Written on: 01/03/2016
I cannot recommend them highly enough. It is the first time that I have bought solid furniture but once had a contract in a solid furniture assembly factory so I was used to seeing good quality furniture being made. The service from start to finish was superb. Delivery on time, called by the driver before to give me notice of his arrival, helped up some very difficult stairs to the first floor, assisted with arranging the boxes in the right order and then I was left to put the furniture together. Very robust, superbly made furniture, easy to follow assembly instructions, all parts were there and were not cheap tacky components either. Once assembled, the triple wardrobe looks like it will outlast me! Superb finishes on all surfaces. I was so pleased, I phoned their customer service team JUST to thank them for the service and quality of product. I've never used them before and have no connection to them at all but would never hesitate to use them to replace other furniture.
Report this content christophergardner Written on: 01/03/2016
as a customer of o.f.l. for many items [ including a sofa and 2 chairs ] I can only state that the quality,value & service is something that I personally would be proud of ...... I have never ever had a problem with them ..... just make your own choice , I know where I will be going for items that they sell !!!!
Report this content Mkaroth Written on: 01/03/2016
We bought quite a lot of oak furniture and it really is quality. Everything is assembled and no self assembly is required. Excellent delivery service, placed where we wanted it, and easy checking service. Would recommend
Report this content Glamgran57 Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought a suite from them last year. I've been very pleased with the quality so far. The cushion pads are well upholstered so don't sag, the material quality is lovely and the furniture is solidly built and sturdy.
Report this content BlogginForQuality Written on: 01/03/2016
yes they are beautiful quality I highly recommend them and my review will be altered as their customer service has now been fantastic. they are just beautifully made I can show you a pic of mine
Report this content Kingfielder Written on: 01/03/2016
Last year after much deliberation we bought a Dreser sideboard & table & 4 chairs.We haven't had much use because we have hardly been at home. However,they were just what we expected,good quality,very easy to assemble.The service was simply superb!!
Report this content bill5224 Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought a large range of bedroom furniture 3 double wardrobes, two sets of drawers, a dressing table and two bedside tables. The wardrobes were good but all had a slight fault, nothing glaring most people wouldn`t see them but the rest of the furniture was first class. If you do buy remember to make sure they can fit through your doors and this includes the packaging. Would I recommend them, yes but check your purchases throughly.
Report this content taxiperson Written on: 01/03/2016
Can't comment on sofas & armchairs; but if the oak dining table with 6 leather chairs, sideboard and (free) mirror, that this company shipped to the depths of Cornwall (March 2015), is anything to go by; then I'd say the quality is likely to be excellent. We had no problems with this company nor with the delivery (we'd arranged to be in Cornwall at the time). Assembly was easy (with table upside down to install the legs) BUT the table was so exceedingly heavy I had to get a local friend, the next day, to help us upright it. My experience with Oak Furniture Land was very good.
Report this content southafrica1975 Written on: 01/03/2016
Avoid,I bought leather 3 piece suite, had no end of bother with them.been waiting since 21/12/15 for them to come and repair one of the chairs.
Report this content wykytara Written on: 01/03/2016
Bought my stuff (corner unit, kingsize bed, wardrobes, table and chairs) in 2014. First class delivery and quality, professional, courteous sales and aftersales service .. no hesitation in recommending. Hope this helps (and no, don't work for them :)
Report this content Geoff C Written on: 01/03/2016
So far everything I have bought from Oak furnitureLand has been of a good quality and build, I would not hesitate to look there if I wanted new furniture
Report this content Shelli-d Written on: 01/03/2016
I have only purchased wooden products from them but the quality it exceptional. The customer service in my experience is also very good as I did have the need to contact them once but other wise it is a very simple process, you are also kept well informed about the delivery side too.
Report this content Boxxrboy Written on: 01/03/2016
Honest opinion I would not go near them. Quality of goods that I received were very poor/damaged and they were not interested in replacing, they wanted to repair? Why repair new goods that are damaged. I don't remember opting to buy damaged goods. So was left with no option of sending it all back at my own cost! Very poor customer service not what I expected.
Report this content heavenly51 Written on: 01/03/2016
Personally I had a great experience with Oak Furniture Land. They were helpful, quick to deliver and I am still very pleased with my sofa and arm chairs, I have had no problems with the quality I am very pleased to say.
Report this content will54 Written on: 01/03/2016
Bought a coffee table , 6 draws, fully assembled, great quality, I will be changing the aluminium handles for wooden knows, more in vogue with oak..so yes, ok quality????????
Report this content MillyAnn32 Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought two bedside cupboards and a taller chest of drawers in the bella range. They are actually for my lounge to go beside my sofas and in an alcove. They are really solid and the cream colour is lovely. All drawers are solid and well made. Communication was excellent throughout the whole process and delivery was accurate. The packaging was absolutely fantastic. Layers and layers of bubble wrap and cardboard so very well protected. I would have no hesitation in ordering from them again.
Report this content atlanticblue Written on: 01/03/2016
i bought coffee table/side tables (2) chest of drawers & bedside unit & the quality is excellent, best wooden furniture I have ever purchased
Report this content FlyingCol Written on: 01/03/2016
We bought a dining table and six of the more expensive chairs. Excellent quality-we are very pleased with our purchase and good value for money
Report this content TimboDollar Written on: 01/03/2016
I bought a television cabinet and a sideboard from oakfurnitueland in the last year. Both were assembled when bought and are well made. I would buy from them in the future.
Report this content Ally50 Written on: 01/03/2016
I have bought sideboards coffee tables and dining table and chairs I am extremely pleaded with my purchases and value for money would definitely recommend oak furnitureland
Report this content Kinkyboots71 Written on: 02/03/2016
I've not brought sofas but have brought dinning table chairs kitchen dressed and all my bedroom including bed from them and the quality and workmanship is outstanding would recommend 100% on everything I've brought
Report this content avoidliketheplagueofrats Written on: 02/03/2016
Do yourself a favour and either use old bread crates or old tea chests, or planks on blocks!! OFL is the WORST company I have ever dealt with. The table I had collapsed within a year. but still OFL would not replace it - despite a Professional Survey (which they finally organised) saying it was a manufacturing fault. PEOPLE OF THE UK - IF YOU MUST BUY FROM OFL THEN USE THE INTEREST FREE CREDIT. THEN WHEN YOU HAVE PROBLEMS YOU CAN CONTACT THE FINANCE COMPANY (WHO WONT HELP BECAUSE THEY'RE AFRAID OF OFL). BUT THEN YOU CAN WRITE TO THE FINANCIAL OMBUDSMAN WHO WILL FORCE THE FINACNE COMPANY TO FIX THE PROBLEM. This is what I had to do. OFL would do NOTHING and still did NOTHING. It took me ages and ages to get the problem sorted out - it is only sorted out now because of my following the pathway above. Best advice - AVOID.
Report this content johnplumb1 Written on: 02/03/2016
happy to help have 2 sofas a 2 seater and a 3 seater both in material ,have had them over 7 months and they seem sturdy enough,the material is quite coarse and needs covers,our last sofas were in leather and also came from the same place they also lasted well bu were cold when you first sit on them which is why we made a change,hope this is of help .
Report this content bsandhur Written on: 02/03/2016
Hi, We recently bought dining table, chairs, sideboard, entertainment centre and coffee table from Oak Furnitureland and are very happy with the quality of the furniture. We were happy with the carefully packaged and prompt delivery of our furniture. The seats of the dining chairs are comfy, easy to clean and well made. Even though we haven't bought any sofas or armchairs we would happily return to Oak Furnitureland if we needed to buy any. Hope this helps with your purchase decision.
Report this content bsandhur Written on: 02/03/2016
I have recently bought several pieces of furniture from Oak Furnitureland - dininig set, coffee table, entertainment center - and would happily return to them if I was looking to buy sofas or armchairs. I have been very pleased with the quality, look and workmanship of all our furniture. The seating of the chairs is comfy and easy to clean - basically very practical. Hope this helps you with your purchase decision. Good luck!
Report this content Surreysteev Written on: 02/03/2016
We bought two electric recliner leather armchairs and a two seater electric recliner leather sofa, we paid over two thousand pounds in May 2015. The quality (in my opinion) is total rubbish. The seats on all three pieces have sunken, the sponge in all the seats is near enough flat and the leather therefore is baggy on the seat area. All the mechanics in the three pieces squeak and rattle and the leather has a very shabby look about it despite using the leather cleaner and polish we were talked into buying when we bought the suite. There is only my wife and I, we have no other family and we have very few visitors, so the suite has never been abused, but it looks years old. We had problems from day one, the company (including the owner) don't answer letters or emails. The customer service people will just fob you off with anything they can get away with. The company are not members of the Furniture Ombudsman, therefore cannot be challenged by the authorities. Any decent company will be members of the Furniture Ombudsman, it is obvious why they are not members. Take my advice and buy anywhere else but Oak Furniture Land and save yourself hundreds of pounds. Oak Furniture Land were slated by Watchdog on the television in 2015 (unfortunately after we bought). If you do decide to buy from Oak Furniture Land make sure you use a Credit Card, you can then apply for "charge back" from the card company if you have problems. We bought with a debit card so we didn't have that option.
Report this content flipgarner Written on: 04/03/2016
Make sure they will fit through your door and into your living room as the one I purchased wouldn't, and I had to return it and it cost me £300 as they charge you 30% to return anything. It's the last time I buy anything from them.
Report this content Zebbedee Written on: 08/03/2016
Hi The quality of the products are great but the attitude of Oak Furniture Land Customer Services stinks. Be careful ordering sofas & armchairs. If they decide that they cannot get them through your front door easily (It's too difficult for them to remove cushions) they will give you the choice of leaving them on your drive or taking them back but adding 30% on the bill for the inconvenience. As much as the products are good I would not order from them for the above reasons. It seems that once you have signed on the dotted line & paid the money they will not put themselves out to help you. The drivers are so tied up by Oaks policies that they are scared of their own shadows
Report this content SusieQ60 Written on: 05/04/2016
Don't bother with their leather furniture. I have the Clarence corner sofa and armchair that don't match in colour or finish and they fob you off with all sorts of excuses. They have deemed them not outside of their tolerance levels and say the difference is minimal. So they are admitting there is a difference but wont do anything about it. Have got finance company involved, as they are equally liable under section 75 of the Consumer Credit Act, who have said I have to take my complaint to the Furniture Ombudsman.
Report this content Frankanlynn Written on: 18/11/2016
I can only go from our experience, and it was a tragedy; a costly one at that. We purchased double wardrobe, triple wardrobe, double bed, bedding box and two bedside cabinets. It's a lengthy story, so I won't get into it here, but I would say that we wouldn't deal with them ever again. The five star ratings are all well and good; it's hard to tell someone that this company is a shambles when everything goes right. But when things go wrong? Look out, because their customer services will wear you down to your knees. Shoddy workmanship, each piece falling about, they wouldn't offer a refund and the only way was to pay to send the items back; actually, the snatched our hands off in charging us £200 for us to be rid of them. We each deal with suppliers and judge them by the way they perform; sadly, for us it was an abysmal affair which had my wife in tears and £200 poorer. Cross your fingers and hope that you will not be one of the 'one-star- raters' who have been ripped off by this unscrupulous company. I could only say that I truly wish you luck should you purchase, and then wish you luck, in that nothing goes wrong or becomes untowards from then-on.
See All Answers
questionAnswer