GenieRecycling.com Reviews - www.genierecycling.com

★★★☆☆
3.3 / 5
55% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
GenieRecycling.com - www.genierecycling.com - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for GenieRecycling.com - www.genierecycling.com

GenieRecycling.com - www.genierecycling.com

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“Great way to unload unwanted clothes etc.”

Written on: 22/04/2018 by 128Ziegler (1 review written)

I've used this site 3 or 4 times now and have found them good to their word.Sometimes a few items are rejected but that's probably my own fault for not checking everything properly.You maybe have to wait in for collection of the sacks but hey so what? I donate any money received to my chosen charity so am grateful for the amounts I get.Friends donate stuff and I collect and bag up ...easy!… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE”

Written on: 04/04/2018 by Chantal31 (1 review written)

So I received my pack and collection was on the day that I requested and stated payment via cheque. I can see the bag was accepted however I have not received payment for the sum stated. This was over a month ago. I sent a contact message, no response. I have had to put one star but if I could state zero stars I would. People don’t waste your time with them, offer your unwanted goods elsewhere. At the end of the day you are a business and. As reviews will only be at detriment of your… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“No payment”

Written on: 14/03/2018 by Barrettt57 (1 review written)

My first genie bags were collected and payment made. The next bag I returned to them has been given a zero value and I'm very disappointed. There were some quality items in it… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Brilliant services ”

Written on: 13/03/2018

I have used this company and they are quick and delivery quick also brilliant in letting u know the process of ur clothing it may only be pocket money but it is worth it rather than throwing old clothes away at least they will be worn again with someone who needs them thank u for ur quick services… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Awesome used twice now”

Written on: 25/02/2018 by 401Crouch (1 review written)

Ignore the negative comments I've got nothing but praise for this company both times picked up quickly information about tracking good payment fast keep up the great work will use again… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful, donate to charity ”

Written on: 15/12/2017

I got £2.21 for a sack. If I could have my things back I would however the greedy people wouldn’t do that. Donate to charity, you’ll get satisfaction rather than £2 and an awful experience. They shouldn’t be allowed to refuse items as well as they’re just lowering the pay out for themselves. Rubbish false advertising, making people think they’ll get more than the price of a multipack of crisps. This company should be ashamed and by the sight of these reviews I don’t think… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 1 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Absolute joke”

Written on: 23/11/2017 by Frazdad (1 review written)

Requested some bags which eventually arrived. Filled them and requested a collection. Waited in all day and nobody turned up. Tried ringing but just got answer message that company was shut and to ring during office hours as on web site - which I had done ! Doesn't matter what time you ring - same message. Arranged another collection waited in all day and no one turned up ! Will not get another chance I will try another company . Absolutely shocking !… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“No payment recieved”

Written on: 16/11/2017 by Carly88 (1 review written)

I didn't recieve my £8.50 for my clothes. Says completed on my order information,but no money in my account. Contacted several times,and not one respose… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“The only thing they're good at is being terrible. Do...”

Written on: 02/09/2017 by Levesque111 (1 review written)

The only way they're genies is they make all point of attempting to recycle your clothes, disappear into thin miserable air. Useless customer service, no attempts at resolving the issue, never received our recycling packs and can't be bothered chasing them up. Read the other reviews and sarcastic/unprofessional responses to support this claim. Just don't bother. There are better companies to recycle clothes with. I did not like: Terrible customer services The horrifically sarcastic and… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“"Right Up There"!”

Written on: 21/08/2017 by SamBP (1 review written)

At First, i didnot Know:Would i?, Should i?,after-all, i had read a variety of different balanced review outcomes,some of which troubled me somewhat,but no matter, i wanted to try, had nothing to lose, if, i followed Guidelines and the Instructions.I had items, that in my view, were of very Good Quality, with some designer Labels as well.The Service Provision was all Free, and more-over, i could follow my departed Sacks, which i did.All the way to the main Depot.It was all there for me,all… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME. Whatever u expect 1/2”

Written on: 18/08/2017 by O'Learyai280 (1 review written)

Literally pick thru your stuff &if its not in brand new condition reject it...they obviously sell your clothes on as brand new condition in whatever poor 3rd world country ...diabolical liberty takers… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★☆☆☆

“be fully aware of what you're signing up for ”

Written on: 21/07/2017 by siKrause433 (1 review written)

After reading lots of not so good reviews, the biggest part of my hesitation about using this service was Genie's responses to others reviews, which at the very least were less than professional. After much deliberation, I decided to give Genie recycling a go, probably swayed by their claim for what seemed to be fair recompense. I filled both of the huge sacks with good quality clothes, bags and shoes and hoped for the best! However, I didn't receive an email with their calculations and… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not use this company!”

Written on: 15/05/2017 by FinleyMcGuire21 (1 review written)

I received the sacks to put my clothes in in a timely manner however, when I went to arrange the courier, it had very limiting time frames which I am unable to meet. Nor could I leave the sacks outside my property as my flat opens directly on a busy street. I have tried to contact Genie multiple times regarding an alternative collection time, but my emails are not being replied to and every time I call, the phone centre is down. Do not use this company, they are unhelpful and according to the… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★★★★★

“Quick and profitable way of getting rid of unwanted stuff”

Written on: 19/03/2017 by Nola491 (1 review written)

I have used this Company once and have had a good experience, cannot complain as I got £12 for two sacks of unwanted clothes , shoes and bags! I was expecting more but to be fair collections are free and they send you the bags so they need to cover their costs understandably. It's a small fortune and you are able to have a good clear out without having to run around charity shops as they are becoming more fussy about what they accept! The payment cheque arrived couple of weeks after, which I… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Total rip off merchants”

Written on: 03/03/2017 by Haroldw1973 (1 review written)

Disgraceful, 2 full sacks £7 ! Weighed myself before sending. The weight they told me was wrong!Yet nothing was refused so how do you work that one out Wasn't expecting much but £7 is an insult … Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 07/03/2017

Dear Customer, thank you for your review.

As stated online on our website, we pay 50p per kilo for all acceptable clothing.

As you have stated that all your items were accepted, the 14kgs of clothing you returned would only receive a payment of £7.00.

As the sacks we send out can hold approximately 15kgs per sack, when filling the sacks, they may look full, however, the type of clothing and the material that the clothing is made out of can affect the weight.

Please be aware that it is our experience that bathroom scales and/or travel scales are simply not accurate when it comes to weighing clothes collection sacks where the weight is distributed unevenly.

If you wish to speak to our support team regards your collection pack please call us, Monday-Friday 10am-4pm.

Best regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Uncontactable!”

Written on: 15/09/2016

I sent one bag of clothing just over one week and I'm still waiting for my email confirmation. Tried calling on several occassions but im told by the automated voicemail that the office is closed despite me ringing within opening hours. Tried emailing. Twice. No reply. I appreciate 9 days isn't really any length of time but as Genie promote a 24 hour processing turnaround and to contact them after 5 days if no email is received, this is slightly worrying. Not a happy customer… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 19/09/2016

Dear Customer,

As per the information on our website, we were closed until today (Monday the 19th September), for staff training.

We do apologise that your query is still awaiting to be resolved and this will be responded to as soon as possible.

Regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment

Karensturt's Comment

Written on: 23/01/2017

I have also had the same problem, twice

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“better than nothing”

Written on: 26/06/2016 by OmarStuart353 (1 review written)

if you want hassle free quick money because you cant be bothered selling on ebay or facebook groups and you want the money so don't want to donate it for free to charity then use genie recycling. you wont get a lot of money (in most cases) but the process is simple and some money is better than nothing isn't it! you wont get what you think its all worth but that is inevitable as we are ripped off when we buy clothes any way. have used this company 4 times now and have never had a problem… Read Full Review

Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
★☆☆☆☆

“Will never use again”

Written on: 16/06/2016 by 1980jh (1 review written)

What a fix ....weighed bag was 10 they weigh its 6 so won't pay out and then keep hold of your propety and profit from it… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Response to 1980jh's Review

Written on: 17/06/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

As previously stated in the email sent to you:

Unfortunately as stated in the terms and conditions (7.2) online that you have ticked as read and accepted when requesting your free Genie Recycling Pack, the welcome letter we sent and on the communication emails, we cannot process clothing that is found to be under our minimum processing weight of less than 10kgs in total!

"7.2 If the Genie Collection Pack is found not to include a fully completed payment form, to be inappropriately filled with damaged, worn or torn Clothing as stated 6.3, or filled under the minimum processing weight of less than 10kgs in total, We reserve the right to process the Clothing without payment to You. We do not provide a return service for clothing."

Unfortunately your Genie Collection Pack was found only to weigh only 6kgs, which means we cannot provide a payment for your clothing. As it states online our collection packs hold 30kg+ of clothing, so filling the sacks greater than 10kgs or more, should not be an issue.

It is unfortunate that this rule has had to be included but it is necessary to stop individuals only including one or two items in their collection sacks and expecting ourselves to pay the transport costs which are the same be it 1kg or 30kg!

We are sorry that we cannot help you, but our terms and conditions are there to not only protect you the customer but ourselves. All the information about our services is provided very clearly on our website and in communication with you via letter and/or email and not just our terms and conditions.

As per the terms & conditions you ticked as read and accepted, we do not return clothing.

Regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Rude and incompetent company”

Written on: 14/06/2016

I read the review online but had so many useless clothes lying around that I wanted rid of so thought I'd use it anyway and see how much I could get. Luckily for me, this company is so awful I didn't even get past the collection stage so didn't get mugged off with money as other people have. I arranged my delivery and waited in all day as well as leaving a note on the door so they knew where the bags were. By 3.30 I still hadn't heard anything and my bags were still in the porch. I rang the… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

However, you are providing a false and distorted account.

When you called the Customer Support Team, you were spoken to politely and we provided all the information we could provide.

As we stated, we book the collections using a 3rd party courier (APC Overnight) and we are not in contact with their drivers. We also have no control over their routes etc.

If there is an issue with a collection failing or being missed, we are informed on the next working day. This information is stated on our website.

As you sent in an email and stating falsehoods about the person you spoke to on the phone, the decision was to simply not allow you to use our services in the future for the benefit of the hard working staff members of the company.

We are not here to be lied about, insulted or abused in any form.

We do hope that you find a suitable home for your clothing.

Regards,

The customer support team.

Reply to this comment

Lucy.scott24's Comment

Written on: 16/06/2016

Dear Genie Recycling,

Thank you so much for your rapid response to my review. I really appreciate the speed in which you've responded to my concerns, sadly the speed of the responses is the only positive thing about your customer service; the quality of the responses is sadly lacking.

Rather than claiming my account is distorted and false - it isn't, you should address why a customer might feel this way about your business. Judging by the many reviews, I'm not alone.

It's not for me to claim your positive reviews are fabricated to increase your ratings, although they do seem extremely uniform, but a company will always be judged by its negative reviews and how it handles these situations, and in that judgement you have failed time and time again. (Just take a look through the other reviews and you'll see a recurring theme.)

Unfortunately we have varying definitions of politeness, and the burden of being polite falls on you, the company. This is especially true when dealing with a customer for whom your service has failed.

I ordered a courier, waited all day for them to arrive, called you to ask where they might be, and then was told you had no idea and could not find out until they either had or had not arrived. That is a lapse in the service you are supposed to provide. Considering it is 2016, and most couriers can be tracked by sender and receiver, it is slightly concerning that you have no involvement in this side of the business which is arguably the most important.

The patronising tone used during the call, not to mention the passive-aggressive response in your emails and your responses to this review, leave a LOT to be desired with regard to how you speak to customers - the lifeblood of your business.

(Note: accusing your customer of lying, insulting, or abusing you, does not constitute good customer service, particularly when those accusations are entirely false.)

Perhaps if you spent a little more time focusing on how you can improve your service and your customer relations, and a little less time attacking negative (yet correct) reviews, you might create a better reputation for yourselves.

My clothes have thankfully found a home with a company that was incredibly organised and their service exceeded your own in the quality of their customer relations and the payments offered for the goods.

I sincerely hope you take my comments on board in order to improve your service.

Good luck

Reply to this comment

Katems86's Comment

Written on: 02/09/2017

Hello,

Hearing many bad things about this company...already had trouble contacting them to even get a pack! Could you tell me who you did use in the end as really eager to use a service like this for my old clothes!

Many Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful company. DO NOT USE!!!!!”

Written on: 08/06/2016 by ZaireCrouch268 (1 review written)

Sent off two sacks to genie, with a couple of items of clothing that were 'unaacceptable' did not get one penny for the kilograms of acceptable clothing. This is wrong in my eyes. They are rude and untrustworthy and I would advise anyone NOT TO USE… Read Full Review

Genierecycling.com's Comment

Written on: 08/06/2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review.

As you have not stated your reference number, I am unable to provide a satisfactory reply here.

We assume that you have sent in two sacks that weighed less than the minimum of 10kgs in total to have a payment provided.

As all the information is clearly provided on our website and you have agreed to the terms & conditions (you ticked the box to say you read and accepted them when you requested your pack), your only answer to this is to post negative feedback on review sites.

We do provide a service that requires a minimum processing weight and we also state that the clothing returned must meet our criteria outlined on the "What Genie Buys" page on our website.

We do apologise that you feel that we are rude and untrustworthy, however, all the information has been provided to you on multiple occasions.

Regards,
The customer support team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Read 1 Comment
overview