Not happy

4.6 / 5
93% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

HappytravellerDj's review of Zest Car Rental -


“Not happy”

Written on: 29/04/2012 by HappytravellerDj (1 review written)

I ordered and paid for a diesel Hyyundai Getz and got a a Renault Symbol which could not even get up the hills and ate petrol.

On complaining about this on my return they told me they had the right to vary the car and that there was no refund due!,
How can you charge for one standard of car, provide another and refuse to refund the difference?

On a previous occassion the 24 hour supposed help-line received no response despite repeated calls leaving me having to call the UK ( total cost of calls £. 30).

Not impressed at all.

  • April 2012, September 2011

    Date of hire (month/year)

  • Turkey, Bodrum

    Country & City of hire

  • Average

    Condition of vehicle

  • Poor

    Choice of vehicles

  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

Click here for great deals on Expedia

Economy Car Hire's Response to HappytravellerDj's Review

Written on: 30/04/2012


We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the vehicle received during your recent hire.

Following your recent correspondence with our Customer Relations department, I can see that you booked a Hyundai Getz or similar however upon collection, this particular vehicle was unavailable for your rental duration. Every effort is made to provide the specified model, however due to circumstances beyond the suppliers control, e.g. peak periods or when the vehicle has been returned late by the previous customer, it may be necessary to provide a vehicle with similar specifications or better.

Therefore, the supplier provided you with a Renault Symbol, an upgrade from the next vehicle category. As you were supplied with an upgraded vehicle on this occasion, there is no refund due.

With regards to the fuel type of the vehicle, a diesel vehicle is not guaranteed unless it states this explicitly on the vehicle description. On this occasion, you booked a petrol car and therefore a petrol car was provided upon collection.

Whilst we would like to apologise for problems you may have experienced whilst trying to contacting the supplier on a previous rental, unfortunately this is outside of our control.

We do hope that despite your disappointment on this occasion, we can be of assistance to you in the future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review
Was this review helpful? 0 0
Deals on Expedia