White Horse, Winterbourne Bassett Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
From 8 reviews
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
White Horse, Winterbourne Bassett - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“Honest Review- People great! Food Not”

Written on: 10/12/2013

We really like this pub but will probably never go back .... We had a starter etc with the meal which was under seasoned, as was the garnish. The steak was not a sirloin steak unless it was one of the most poorest quality sirloin steaks we have ever had (more like rump with the marbling of fat running through it). BUT!!!! What is annoying is that the atmosphere of this pub is great!!!! Despite the food being substandard , the manager and manageress exude the kind of,charm you want from a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Good Village Pub”

Written on: 04/11/2013 by WroughtonRambler (1 review written)

Visited on Saturday Lunchtime with NE Wilts Ramblers. We preordered before walk Staff very helpfull. Beer is Wadsworths Food good value not ordinary pub offerings Farm animals in garden… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“A Real traditional Pub Restaurant”

Written on: 02/10/2013 by Issy1 (1 review written)

We have been using the pub since the new Landlord took over and have been impressed by his work commitment to build the buisiness. The menu has a great variety of home cooked food and some of the best game cooking we have had. We would recomend this place to anyone… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A truly appalling pub meal”

Written on: 18/04/2013

On a three day trip to the area we visited the White Horse because we read that it had a knife and fork symbol and so went expecting a great meal for our wedding anniversary. We asked for a bottle of red wine and were offered a very limited verbal selection which was given to us at the bar with the screw top still in place. At the bottom of the short main menu it suggested that we asked for the steak menu but we were told that they didn't have a steak chef that evening! We then asked what the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Issy1's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2013

i find this hard to believe as we have eaten here on several occasions and the food has been very good

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Issy1's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2013

You were very unlucky this is normally very good

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Never Again!”

Written on: 07/04/2013

We went for sunday lunch 4 adults and two small children. We ordered the roast and the children had home made chicken nuggetts. The nuggetts were raw inside which we sent back. Our meals came they were on very small oval plates and we hed to wait for the vegetables, this made the meal cold. My daughter found two hairs in her meal which she couldn't eat and this put everyone off eating what we had. When my son asked to see the manager he was very rude and quite aggresive. We and had to find… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Issy1's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2013

I am the landlord and the girls all still work here.

You were offered a free return meal which you turned down

And the reason for my arrogance that day was because of the abusive language your partner decided to use

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Issy1's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2013

I find these comments difficult to believe as we eat here regulary
and Kurt is far from arrogant

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★☆☆☆

“very disappointed , would not be going again or recommend”

Written on: 20/12/2012

we have eaten here many times before ,under the old owners and it was wondeful . went again in nov 2012 whth the new ownes and was very disappointed , the starter was lovely , our steaks came , and was awful really chewy could not eat it , the lad came over and asked if everthing was ok , i explained it wasnt i could not eat it , he saod oh and walked off. after a while the owner can over and asked i explained again , he said i see, after waiting a while with no one doing anything we paid and… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“The White Horse in Winterbourne Bassett offer...”

Written on: 26/12/2007

The White Horse in Winterbourne Bassett offer excellent, tasty food, and it is good value for money. Also, friendly and pleasant staff… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The White Horse restaurant is tucked away of the...”

Written on: 24/02/2006 by mister z (19 reviews written)

The White Horse restaurant is tucked away of the Swindon to Avebury Rd in the little hamlet of Winterbourne Bassett. The White Horse inn itself is a typical village Inn and is very quiet and homely. They have built a glass conservatory that is used as the main dining area and it is certainly a very pleasant location to sit and eat. The food ranges from a fixed menu to specials of the day all served with a wide choice of vegatables. To add to the homely atmosphere food is named using local names… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview