On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
869
32.9% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

“A No Star company”

Written on: 03/05/2015 by 195MacLean (1 review written)

OTB are the worst holiday company I have ever dealt with. They have a very inefficient method of contacting them via email on a site named Manage My Booking. You never get a reply from the same person.Just asking a question about an amendment costs you £25. All I wanted to do was add a hold bag as their website has a misleading method for selection and no way to amend your choice and it took them 3 weeks to confirm this change and then make an extra charge.Slow doesn't begin to describe their… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“Terrible service”

Written on: 01/05/2015 by tattytray (1 review written)

Their customer service is terrible I spent an hour and half on two occasions trying to speak to someone, i have sent them 5 emails 4 days ago and have not received one single reply, and my holiday is in a couple weeks to lanzarote, sandos papagayo beach resort… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“money grabbers ”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by kell40 (1 review written)

hello I have just booked also with on the beach I booked around 4pm and paid deposit I checked my bank in the morning as I hadn't got a email confirming holiday but they hadn't taken it I left it until tea time the money had left my account at 9am I got a phone call at 5.30pm saying price had gone up and they wanted another £400 off me I said no I had asked them why they had taken my deposit payment in the morning even though the price had gone up they said this is what they do but I… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 05/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry we were unable to confirm your order for you. You are right, we do not take payment unless we can confirm the order so I'm not sure why this has happened on your booking so I'm so very sorry. I'm not aware of your booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, I can only think that perhaps the flight price changed in the seconds between our system taking payment and it trying to confirm your flight seats. This is obviously a very rare occurrence so all I can do is apologise that this has happened. We will have refunded your payment straight away, however, it can sometimes take the bank a few days to process this and for it to show in your account again. I'm really sorry and if there's anything else we can do, please get in touch - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“LOOK ELSEWHERE ”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by KT1979 (1 review written)

yes its tempting that small deposit. caught me in its trap. Family of 3 and after 5 years we could finally plan for a short holiday that still would cost us at least £800 per person not including spending money. Deposit paid - simple. Need to change anything - NOT SIMPLE. Not even had any contact to discuss changes I needed and what the changes would cost me. Instead ignored and if I wanted to cancel they would charge me £608. No chance to change to another travel company now. In their… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 05/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you've been disappointed with our service. We do state 48 hours on messages, however, we have been extremely busy and have been getting through requests as quickly as we can. I understand your frustration regarding cancellation fees, unfortunately, these come mainly from the airlines and are completely out of our control. It's disappointing to read that you felt a member of our customer service department was rude to you on the phone, this is not the service we expect for our customers so if you would like us to listen to the call and take this further then please get in touch. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

Bethkd's Response to KT1979's Review

Written on: 01/05/2015

Wish I had seen this before I booked having the same issue, booked and paid deposit without any problems but have been trying to contact them for over a week with no luck, sent message after message with no reply have tried the 10p a minute telephone number, funny message says they are always experiencing a high level of calls, hold for 20mins or more but I never get a reply as line gets cut off. Awful service. My friend booked same hotel with Travel Republic, did have to pay a bigger deposit which I guess covered flights as deposit for hotel was only a £1, she has had no issue getting through to them on the phone and even called them a week after booking when she seen the hotel cheaper somewhere else and they did a price match on the hotel for her. Stay away from onthebeach really not worth the trouble.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Does anyone actually work there?”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by NatalieMurphy-Alt284 (1 review written)

Impossible to get through to anyone, the phones are always experiencing some kind of tecnical problem. Tried for 2 days to get through with no luck and ended up booking with another company. Can't be good for business as I wonder how many other people did the same. Get your act together on the beach… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 05/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you had trouble getting through to our sales line, we have been extremely busy. We are predominantly an online company and do have a website you can make a booking on, however, I'm sorry you were unable to confirm over the phone on this occasion. I'm glad you managed to get your holiday booked and hope you'll consider us again in the future. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“customer service”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by ficrook (1 review written)

Possibly one of the worst customer service centres I have experienced and problem still not resolved after 4 30 minute phone calls. Due to fly next week and still not had seats booked despite numerous attempts. The on line messaging service that guarantees reply within 48 hours is a farce… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting your seats booked, I think there was some confusion with one of our agents. I can see that this was passed to a manager to confirm for you last night. Sorry for any inconvenience

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“OMG”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by Sb1968 (1 review written)

I' contacted otB for a brief question re adding a passengers. It's was a v brief question, not an amendment or a change. They now have took 25 out of my bank without permission. All I am getting is check the small print. Yes it states if I make a change I am liable for the fee but as I didn't make any changes I do not feel this should be right. I have tried to speak to asupervisor. But not a chance. I have been so happy wi them up to this point. How disappointing. I hope the customer… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, we do not charge for a quote, we only take payment once you have agreed to make the change. The only thing I can think is that the money that has come from your account is for something else. I'm not aware of your booking and cannot take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, if you call our customer service team and ask them to tell you what the charge was for, then hopefully we can get to the bottom of this. Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Hotel not available”

Written on: 28/04/2015 by Wrenms205 (1 review written)

Last night me and my parter booked a holiday through OnTheBeach.com, good convenient flights and found this love quaint 4* hotel for one week in the best central location in Barcelona for 350.00 pp. We then got a call today saying that hotel was no longer available even though it was still listing on the internet. they also said several time that they would 'call me back in 10 mins' then an hour later I'm still waiting for their call and end up calling them at their premium rate number. Truly… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, it's disappointing to read that we were unable to confirm your booking for you, unfortunately, things like this can happen in the travel industry from time to time and are completely out of our control. When you place an order on our website and it states it can take up to 48 hours to confirm. This only happens on less than 5% of bookings and is the way all online travel agents work, however, I'm sorry this happened to you on this occasion. If you would like real-time availability, you can speak to our sales team and they get everything confirmed for you over the phone. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Poor customer service”

Written on: 27/04/2015 by PiperWood (1 review written)

I booked a holiday with on the beach a few months ago. My husband works on/off shore. 2 weeks on 2 off. At the time we booked it worked in with husbands shift pattern. However due to falling oil prices he was paid off. He has since got a new job but his new shift pattern doesn't work in with holidays. We contacted otb to which we were told 10 days to get a reply, tho on the website it advises 48 hours max. So that's 1st complaint. As we fly out in May we need to know before 10 days as my… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM”

Written on: 26/04/2015 by 428Hickey (1 review written)

We booked an all inclusive holiday to crete a few months before the holiday date. A week before we were meant to go on holiday my mother passed away and funeral was at the time we were meant to be away. I rang on the beach straight away to try change the dates only to get the most rude customer service agent who told me they wouldn't do anything outside of the 14 days and it wasn't their problem and it's not me or my partner who died ! This comment was beyond shocking and very insensitive. The… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear this, this is certainly not the service we expect for our customers and I am so sorry for your loss. I cannot take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, we would like to listen to the calls between yourself and the customer service agent so measures can be taken. I'm not sure what email address you have contacted us via, as we don't have an email address for customer queries. If you send us a message on the Manage Your Booking section on our website, or call our customer service number, we can look at getting your hotel cancelled and investigate the service you have received. Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“AVOID!! not flexible when making changes and rip you off”

Written on: 24/04/2015 by Arnoldfs321 (1 review written)

Have used on the beach previously never made any changes on booking, This time tried to change dates they took a week to reply back and give me price for change tried to charge for whole new flights when airline said it should be just the difference in price between flights take forever to respond and customer service take over 30mins to answer phone made my holiday cost a fortune will never use again, AVOiD if Possible… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry you were disappointed with our service, we have been extremely busy and are getting through amendments as quickly as possible. We take the cost to make a change directly from the suppliers, so if making a change to your flights, they will charge the difference in flight cost but also amendments fees which can be quite costly. If you would like any more information, please send us a message on 'Manage Your Booking' on our website and we will do our best to help

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Worst Holiday of my Life”

Written on: 23/04/2015 by Smurfette74 (1 review written)

Ruined my holiday only to spend the whole time trying to correct the errors and promises made by On The Beach. Do no Use this company. They promise refunds that never happen they promise compensation that never happens, they promise call backs that never happen and worst of all they promise customer service which definitely does not happen. I spent a week in a great hotel and flew out with Easyjet which was all great but the communication from on the beach caused us to be requested to check… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 29/04/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear you were disappointed with our service. If you have sent your complaint through then we will, of course, investigate this and find out what happened. We can then hopefully get this resolved to a point where you're happy with the outcome. Please allow us time to respond to your complaint and we will contact you ASAP. Thanks

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Rip Off!!! Never use again!!”

Written on: 20/04/2015 by yasmeen1 (1 review written)

Booked with OTB only to find the price had increased. Several excuses regarding Ryanair booking system being down all day however, automated phone stated OTB had a technical fault. As a result ending up paying an extra £150 for flights to Barcelona. Poor service with OTB no apology/explanation and will not recommend OTB to anyone and would warn others to stay clear!! Complaints procedure only by post with no service level agreements stating response time. Shocking customer service and not very… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 21/04/2015

Hi, thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you were affected by a price increase, unfortunately this can happen from time to time and is completely out of our control. We make it clear on the website and on your email that booking confirmation can take up to 48 hours. Almost all of our bookings (more than 95%) are confirmed straight away, however, due to the nature of the travel industry and the many supplier feeds and technologies that update our website, unfortunately not all bookings can be confirmed straight away (as per our terms and conditions). As you know, when this happens we contact the customer with a choice to either accept the updated price, look for a different holiday within budget or cancel the booking altogether if this cannot be done (free of charge - as no money is ever taken at this point). This is the way all online travel agents work and our team works hard to keep our website as up to date as possible and to reduce the impact of this to our customers, however I am very sorry you were affected by this. Thanks, Emily - On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Kell40's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 01/05/2015

in statement above you say online bookings
unfortunately not all bookings can be confirmed straight away (as per our terms and conditions). As you know, when this happens we contact the customer with a choice to either accept the updated price, look for a different holiday within budget or cancel the booking altogether if this cannot be done (free of charge - as no money is ever taken at this point).
I booked online with you and you rang to say prices had gone up I said I didn't want to pay the extra got email from you saying that Thank you for your enquiry with OntheBeach we apologise that we were unable to help you further at this time.
Should you have any more questions or would like another quote please do not hesitate to contact us
but you have taken my deposit from my bank it is showing up on my statement how and when do I get this back

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“A joke!”

Written on: 15/04/2015 by 156Maloney (1 review written)

Booked a holiday and paid deposit (£700) only to receive an email 2 months later to say flights were cancelled. After calling them, no other flights so had to cancel holiday. Said I would receive refund within 7 - 10 days! 5 weeks on I received part of the refund around 3 weeks ago but still due 295. After numerous phone calls which cost a fortune, them asking me to contact ryanair myself to resolve it and a letter of complaint (with no reply) I have now contacted ABTA to try and get my money… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 16/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that your flight was cancelled with the airline. Unfortunately things like this are completely out of our control and we have to wait for the airline to refund the money to us before we can refund this to you. I'm not aware of the booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum to better advise. If you send me your full name then I can try and search for your booking and see if I can help - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Awful terrible SCANDLOUS!!!,”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Cadbury03 (1 review written)

Partner and I booked holiday for this July through ON THE BEACH full payment went through however after few hours we received a phone call from on the beach saying hotel was fully booked!!! Never had I paid for a hotel to be told it wasn't available in first place! We were told we could choose another hotel which we did and told first holiday would be cancelled and refunded!!! However after a few days partner checked his card to find it had not been refunded and in fact now had two FULL… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 14/04/2015

Hi, I'm not aware of your booking myself and I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, so I'm not sure what's happened with your booking. From what you've said, it sounds like you're due a refund from the first booking but I would need to listen to the calls and have a look at the booking notes, would you be able to send me the lead passenger's full name and I'll see if I can find your booking on our system? - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Cadbury03's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/04/2015

Do you have an email address I can send the details you require as not sure If I reply to your message on here if everyone can see?

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 15/04/2015

Hi, unfortunately we cannot send email addresses as review centre removes them from the comments. If you have access to our Facebook or Twitter pages then please send us a message on there and we can take a look. I'm sorry, it's really difficult to communicate on this site as we can't take your booking info over a public forum - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“nightmare to make changes and lots of hidden costs !”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by JohnnyNunez367 (1 review written)

BEWARE .. i didn't read the terms and conditions where it states "charges will be applied at on the beach's discretion" .. their charges vary from day to day to make the smallest of changes from £40 to as much as £150 to cancel a booking ... they take weeks to respond to online messaging, they do not keep a record online of all the messages you send, and come back with generic responses that do not resolve/answer your query. I was notified they had made one change i requested, for ¢40! I… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 14/04/2015

Hi, as with all providers, amendment fees apply, the majority of which come directly from the suppliers with which your holiday has been booked and are entirely out of our control unfortunately. If you are making changes or cancellations regarding your flights, then the fees from the airlines can be quite high. We do keep a record of all messages sent via MYB, but I'm sorry you were unhappy with the responses.
I've tried searching your name on our system but am unable to find your booking, please could you send through the lead passenger's first name so I can take a look at your booking and see what's happened? (We can't take reference numbers over a public forum for security reasons). Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Pais_X's Comment

Written on: 17/04/2015

I'm in the process of having the worse service ever. I fly in 2 weeks and they still have done the appropriate changed even though they have the cheek to take full payment plus £80 amended fee plus a further £269 for changing a few days later!
I keep emailing and they avoid my query I've been waiting for a manager call back twice for the past week and run up a £90 phone bill to Hong them from my mobile trying to sort it whilst at work! Absolutely disgusting! Never again will I use them!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“No help what so ever”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Roach1949 (1 review written)

First of all my surname is incorrect although I am the lead name and the person paying the did not query this. I am trying to cancel my mum off the booking for 27/4 but no one can help just want there money today no one to help me now they have put a payment through and made me over drawn as I had not transferred the balance now threatening with more charges. I wanted to cancel the holiday or move to another date but no human can talk to me DISGUSTING DISGUSTING DISGUSTING… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/04/2015

Hi, I've just had a search of your surname on our system but am not 100% sure which booking is yours. I can't take your booking reference over a public forum for security reasons so please can you tell me the lead passenger's full name and I will have a look for you? - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Bad!!! Do Not Use”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Karley333 (1 review written)

They do not state it clearly that they charge 4.95 for each payment, fair enough you pay once for admin fee.But this was a joke lost money for no reason! Would not reccomend!!!… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/04/2015

Hi, there is a £4.95 charge for those paying through our low deposit scheme. This is stated in our terms of business and again on the booking summary page under your payment options, but I'm sorry you missed this. With our deposit scheme, you can pay off your balance 2 weeks before you fly, so I'd advise to save up and make one payment rather than pay bit by bit so that you avoid the transaction fee. Hope this helps - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Taken money without authorisation”

Written on: 12/04/2015 by Murdock170 (1 review written)

after booking and paying two instalments both of which had the surcharge included, I found an obscure payment to on the beach for £10.00. When I contacted them they had no idea why this had been taken and no record of it. It's on my bank statement so I have a record of it which I copied and pasted to them in an email. No response from that and after three lengthy expensive phone calls it is still unresolved.  I would have expected it to be refunded by now at the very least. Disgusting service… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/04/2015

Hi, I'm not aware of your booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum. I'd advise you to get the authorisation code of the transaction from your bank and send it on to us. We can then track the payment with our finance team and find out what has happened. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Useless Company ”

Written on: 08/04/2015 by miskyg29 (1 review written)

I am absolutely livid with this useless company. I have been waiting for 18 days to receive a price for an amendment. It states on their website this will take 48 hours. This is a blatant lie. Their customer service department have the ability to pick up a telephone and put it down and give out no information apart from them telling me they dont blame me for being angry due to waiting time but they can do nothing !! I holiday 4 times each year and stupidly used this useless company for… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review
overview
onthebeach.co.uk