On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
1390
33% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“A joke!”

Written on: 15/04/2015 by 156Maloney (1 review written)

Booked a holiday and paid deposit (£700) only to receive an email 2 months later to say flights were cancelled. After calling them, no other flights so had to cancel holiday. Said I would receive refund within 7 - 10 days! 5 weeks on I received part of the refund around 3 weeks ago but still due 295. After numerous phone calls which cost a fortune, them asking me to contact ryanair myself to resolve it and a letter of complaint (with no reply) I have now contacted ABTA to try and get my money… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 16/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that your flight was cancelled with the airline. Unfortunately things like this are completely out of our control and we have to wait for the airline to refund the money to us before we can refund this to you. I'm not aware of the booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum to better advise. If you send me your full name then I can try and search for your booking and see if I can help - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Awful terrible SCANDLOUS!!!,”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Cadbury03 (1 review written)

Partner and I booked holiday for this July through ON THE BEACH full payment went through however after few hours we received a phone call from on the beach saying hotel was fully booked!!! Never had I paid for a hotel to be told it wasn't available in first place! We were told we could choose another hotel which we did and told first holiday would be cancelled and refunded!!! However after a few days partner checked his card to find it had not been refunded and in fact now had two FULL… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 14/04/2015

Hi, I'm not aware of your booking myself and I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, so I'm not sure what's happened with your booking. From what you've said, it sounds like you're due a refund from the first booking but I would need to listen to the calls and have a look at the booking notes, would you be able to send me the lead passenger's full name and I'll see if I can find your booking on our system? - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Cadbury03's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/04/2015

Do you have an email address I can send the details you require as not sure If I reply to your message on here if everyone can see?

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 15/04/2015

Hi, unfortunately we cannot send email addresses as review centre removes them from the comments. If you have access to our Facebook or Twitter pages then please send us a message on there and we can take a look. I'm sorry, it's really difficult to communicate on this site as we can't take your booking info over a public forum - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“nightmare to make changes and lots of hidden costs !”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by JohnnyNunez367 (1 review written)

BEWARE .. i didn't read the terms and conditions where it states "charges will be applied at on the beach's discretion" .. their charges vary from day to day to make the smallest of changes from £40 to as much as £150 to cancel a booking ... they take weeks to respond to online messaging, they do not keep a record online of all the messages you send, and come back with generic responses that do not resolve/answer your query. I was notified they had made one change i requested, for ¢40! I… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 14/04/2015

Hi, as with all providers, amendment fees apply, the majority of which come directly from the suppliers with which your holiday has been booked and are entirely out of our control unfortunately. If you are making changes or cancellations regarding your flights, then the fees from the airlines can be quite high. We do keep a record of all messages sent via MYB, but I'm sorry you were unhappy with the responses.
I've tried searching your name on our system but am unable to find your booking, please could you send through the lead passenger's first name so I can take a look at your booking and see what's happened? (We can't take reference numbers over a public forum for security reasons). Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Pais_X's Comment

Written on: 17/04/2015

I'm in the process of having the worse service ever. I fly in 2 weeks and they still have done the appropriate changed even though they have the cheek to take full payment plus £80 amended fee plus a further £269 for changing a few days later!
I keep emailing and they avoid my query I've been waiting for a manager call back twice for the past week and run up a £90 phone bill to Hong them from my mobile trying to sort it whilst at work! Absolutely disgusting! Never again will I use them!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“No help what so ever”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Roach1949 (1 review written)

First of all my surname is incorrect although I am the lead name and the person paying the did not query this. I am trying to cancel my mum off the booking for 27/4 but no one can help just want there money today no one to help me now they have put a payment through and made me over drawn as I had not transferred the balance now threatening with more charges. I wanted to cancel the holiday or move to another date but no human can talk to me DISGUSTING DISGUSTING DISGUSTING… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/04/2015

Hi, I've just had a search of your surname on our system but am not 100% sure which booking is yours. I can't take your booking reference over a public forum for security reasons so please can you tell me the lead passenger's full name and I will have a look for you? - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Bad!!! Do Not Use”

Written on: 13/04/2015 by Karley333 (1 review written)

They do not state it clearly that they charge 4.95 for each payment, fair enough you pay once for admin fee.But this was a joke lost money for no reason! Would not reccomend!!!… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/04/2015

Hi, there is a £4.95 charge for those paying through our low deposit scheme. This is stated in our terms of business and again on the booking summary page under your payment options, but I'm sorry you missed this. With our deposit scheme, you can pay off your balance 2 weeks before you fly, so I'd advise to save up and make one payment rather than pay bit by bit so that you avoid the transaction fee. Hope this helps - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Taken money without authorisation”

Written on: 12/04/2015 by Murdock170 (1 review written)

after booking and paying two instalments both of which had the surcharge included, I found an obscure payment to on the beach for £10.00. When I contacted them they had no idea why this had been taken and no record of it. It's on my bank statement so I have a record of it which I copied and pasted to them in an email. No response from that and after three lengthy expensive phone calls it is still unresolved.  I would have expected it to be refunded by now at the very least. Disgusting service… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 13/04/2015

Hi, I'm not aware of your booking myself and can't take your reference number over a public forum. I'd advise you to get the authorisation code of the transaction from your bank and send it on to us. We can then track the payment with our finance team and find out what has happened. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Useless Company ”

Written on: 08/04/2015 by miskyg29 (1 review written)

I am absolutely livid with this useless company. I have been waiting for 18 days to receive a price for an amendment. It states on their website this will take 48 hours. This is a blatant lie. Their customer service department have the ability to pick up a telephone and put it down and give out no information apart from them telling me they dont blame me for being angry due to waiting time but they can do nothing !! I holiday 4 times each year and stupidly used this useless company for… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“Useless”

Written on: 07/04/2015

I have been trying to add an extra hold bag to an existing booking for 3 weeks and to request a twin room not a double room. I have been fobbed off,misdirected and generally messed about. I will NEVER EVER book with this useless company again. 1 star is overrating it. They are the most appalling unprofessional group of incompetents. If you phone them they cut you off after 4 minutes… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“They are bad”

Written on: 07/04/2015 by vdFox313 (1 review written)

They basically provide with all the incorrect information. Dis-honest team Hungry for your money No customer service waste your time on the phone TERRIBLE DONT BOOK WITH THEM… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 07/04/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that you have had a bad experience with us, it's not the service we expect for our customers. If you'd like to give more information then I can try and explain things for you, or if you call our customer service team we can look into your complaint for you. Unfortunately I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“stole my money”

Written on: 05/04/2015 by leroyburnley (1 review written)

Last night 4/4/15 I tried booking a holiday with this company but I received an email saying payment declined so I contacted my bank and they put a temp block on card so in the meantime I decided to go through another company instead so I've booked a £3150 holiday elsewhere then I noticed that on the beach had unlawfully successfully had taken £3052 out of my account 10 hours after the original order was declined so I've today 5/4/15 spoke with my banks fraud team and also bbc's watchdog and… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 08/04/2015

Hi, it does state on our website that it can take up to 48 hours to process your order. When we first attempted to confirm it, you card was declined and we tried to contact you. The next day our system attempted payment again and it went through, so we confirmed the booking. At no point did you contact us after placing your order to tell us you no longer wanted this booking. I'm really sorry that you have now ended up with 2 bookings, however, we were simply confirming the order you placed with us and your consent to take the payment was given by placing the order with us. If the bank told you they had put a block on your card then this is their error as they clearly did not, and I advise you to take that up with them. I can see that we have refunded your hotel and transfers for you but unfortunately flights are non-refundable with the airline and we cannot get your money back from them. I'm so sorry for any upset this has caused you, but we have done everything that we can - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Sorry doesn't solve everything! ”

Written on: 29/03/2015 by BRIDGET40 (1 review written)

I am travelling on Monday 30th March. Requested adding an additional passenger around the 6th March. Phoned up regularly to be told 'would be sorted in next 48hours' 'sorry for delay by the end of the week' 'we are dealing with amendments requests from the 5th of March so won't be long' this continues until the 25th of March. Eventually J gave me a break down of additional charges and I quickly gave the go head. Told it will be amended by the end of the day. IT WASNT! phoned the next day to be… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

Joanelizabeth's Response to BRIDGET40's Review

Written on: 02/04/2015

we are having exactly the same problem - ours still hasn't been resolved. On The Beach said a week ago that she couldn't see why they couldn't have added my friend's sister at the time. It isn't an amendment it is a potential sale for god's sake... they are useless and we will NEVER use them again. We have messaged them, emailed the complaints team, phoned them and all they say is they've got a backlog and we should be patient!!!!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Holiday not as described!”

Written on: 29/03/2015 by Darrenwhite351 (1 review written)

Here is my complaint: Good Afternoon, As per conversation with your Resort Advisor I am writing to complain about the holiday which we have just returned form in Aqualand Corfu. The main reason for selecting this Hotel was the wonderful Water Park (Details of which are at the bottom of this email in Blue), I have also included the description of the hotel etc from your website. At no time during the booking process was it indicated that it was end of season and the hotel would be… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 30/03/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to read about the problems you had in resort. I've spoken to the team who are dealing with this for you and they have advised that they have sent your further comments on to the hotel along with the photos you have provided. As soon as they come back to us, we will send you their response. Once again, I'm really sorry for the disappointment caused during your holiday. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“ company that take money from your account”

Written on: 20/03/2015 by daviddownes (1 review written)

I booked my holiday with this company using their 3 instalment deposit scheme. I was aware that each time a deposit was taken from my account a charge of £4.95 would be charged. When they took the 2nd deposit they took it in 2 payments instead of 1 subsequently this means that you have to pay another £4.95 on top of the first £4.95. I queried this by using their messaging system also by telephone asking why this had been taken in 2 goes and they replied by saying "that the funds may not have… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 26/03/2015

Hi, I'm so sorry for all the confusion with your payments. I've found your booking through your name and can see that the transaction fee was taken twice due to the deposit being taken in 2 parts. While I'm unaware why this happened, I've requested that the second £4.95 be refunded to you today, this should be available for you to collect on Manage Your Booking. Once again, I'm so sorry about all of this and glad we could get this resolved for you. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Daviddownes's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 29/03/2015

I have tried the link you have sent me and surprise surprise I get a message saying
" the page you were looking for does that exist."
Once again your company has proved to be incompetent.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 30/03/2015

Hi, I've just logged into your account and it seems to be working fine. You just need to log in and click the link at the top of the page, then it asks you to enter your security code to claim it. Let me know if you have any further problems - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“Not sure what to do now?”

Written on: 20/03/2015 by xkBarry318 (1 review written)

I've recently booked a holiday with On the Beach and we've requested to add another passenger on. As it is only 8 weeks away until we go it may be cutting it a bit fine if our 3rd passenger isn't added on. I was informed I would be contacted within 48 hours and 3 days later still not had an email or response to it. I know there is a £50 fee to add another passenger but as the other passenger and I (who have already booked) have paid for a 3 people room and not per person, will the third… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 20/03/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you've not had a response to your amendment yet, we've been extremely busy. I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, but if you send us a private message on either our Facebook or Twitter pages with your reference, we will get your booking looked at straight away. Alternatively, if you could provide your full name and departure date, I could try and find your booking on our system. Thanks, Emily - On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“UNHELPFUL .. No customer services!!”

Written on: 19/03/2015 by AbrahamHodges423 (1 review written)

Tried to make amendments to our booking over a month ago. We got a reply which was over 2 weeks later that gave me no information and totally unhelpfull and then just closed the case so i couldnt reply. So i had to start again..( another waiting game) and in the time im waiting the hotels i've requested have sold out. I sent messages asking for info on my requests and all the messages i get is sorry we are dealing with alot of amendments at the moment. Well i dont think that is good enough. As… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/03/2015

Hi, I'm so sorry to hear about the trouble you've had with making an amendment to your booking, we are extremely busy with them at the moment and our staff are trying their best to complete them as quickly as possible, but I understand how that doesn't help you. It's disappointing to read that you've had to cancel your hotel and I really hope that you are able to find one that you're happy with. If you would like to give us the opportunity to change your opinion of us and find you one, please don't hesitate to get in touch and ask for myself. Once again, I'm very sorry that the service you received was not at the standard we would hope. Thanks - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Love2Chill's Comment

Written on: 21/03/2015

Do you have a direct email address so i could send you my number to contact me please? To try and resolve the issues i have at the moment.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 23/03/2015

Please send an email to us and I will try my best to help - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Love2Chill's Comment

Written on: 23/03/2015

Do you have a direct email address so i could send you my number to contact me please? To try and resolve the issues i have at the moment.

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 24/03/2015

I'm really sorry, review centre won't allow me to send an email address in the comments (I tried to on my last comment). If you give us a call, or contact us via social media, we will do everything we can - Emily

Reply to this comment

Love2Chill's Comment

Written on: 31/03/2015

I rang up several times... No one in the call centre knows of anyone by your name.. Apparently!!

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 6 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“On The Beach”

Written on: 17/03/2015 by assumption (1 review written)

Just booked a holiday last minute with on the beach. Followed all the process names extras transfers. Credit card details. Received confirmation of booking. I found quite strange it was provisional. I received a call this morning telling me that the holiday was not available. Surely as I explained to them I did not advertise this holiday they did and that I followed all your online procedures as requested on your booking system . I asked why did you not call me last night as you say you are… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 18/03/2015

Hi, thank you for your comments. I'm sorry you were affected by a price increase, unfortunately in this can happen from time to time and is completely out of our control. We make it clear on the website and on your email that booking confirmation can take up to 48 hours. Almost all of our bookings (more than 95%) are confirmed straight away. However, due to the nature of the travel industry and the many supplier feeds and technologies that update our website, unfortunately not all bookings can be confirmed straight away (as per our terms and conditions). As you know, when this happens we contact the customer with a choice to either accept the updated price, look for a different holiday within budget or cancel the booking altogether if this cannot be done (free of charge - as no money is ever taken at this point). This is the way all online travel agents work and our team works hard to keep our website as up to date as possible and to reduce the impact of this to our customers, however I am very sorry you were affected by this.Thanks, Emily - On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“I would nver reccomend this site to anyone terrible...”

Written on: 02/03/2015 by EastonMacKay21 (1 review written)

This site is totally terrible, i made a booking and ended up with the wrong depature dates and wrong departure airport. called customer service to rectify this. they were not helpful at all and also issued me with further charges to fly out on dates i require and to still go from the wrong airport, so they did not resolve my issue and continued to be unhelpful was disgusted by the service i would nver reccomend this site to anyone, stay well away unless you have money to throw away… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 06/03/2015

Hi, it's really disappointing to read your comments. When you place an order on our website, our system will check availability and confirm everything for you straight away. This means that if you need to make any amendments to your booking, we have to pass on any fees from the airline and hotel supplier which can unfortunately be quite costly and are entirely out of our control. If you would like us to listen to any of the calls between you and our advisors then please get in touch and we can do so as this isn't what we expect for our customers. Once again, I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“No point booking as they don't have intend to honour. ”

Written on: 27/02/2015 by Ninnivah (1 review written)

So we booked and paid for a holiday to Turkey, granted the booking says it can take upto 48hrs. Get a phone call the next day to say flight sold out and it would be £1000 more!!! I truly believe that the price we booked the holiday for was a totally untrue and made up price that was only used to lure us into purchasing our holiday with them. We are very frequent holiday makers who have used many online companies before and who's prices never change once my card details have been taken. Using… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 03/03/2015

Hi,

Thank you for your comments. Firstly, at no point was any money taken from your account. As you mentioned in your review, we make it very clear that booking confirmation can take up to 48 hours.

Almost all of our bookings (more than 95%) are confirmed straight away. However, due to the nature of the travel industry and the many supplier feeds and technologies that update our website, unfortunately not all bookings can be confirmed straight away (as per our terms and conditions and detail throughout the website).

As you know, when this happens we contact the customer with a choice to either accept the updated price, look for a different holiday within budget or cancel the booking altogether if this cannot be done (free of charge - as no money is ever taken at this point). This is the way all online travel agents work and our team works hard to keep our website as up to date as possible, and to reduce the impact of this to our customers.

We are sorry you remain unhappy, good luck finding your holiday.

Kind regards,
On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Shocking company ”

Written on: 27/02/2015 by Key777 (1 review written)

I booked a holiday through on the beach, however due to emergency circumstance I'v asked to change the date of my holiday, it's took on the beach 15 days to reply ( that's through me ringing near enough everyday) which has cost me a fortune, they have come back with a figure of £211 for the flight changes although the flights on the date I want to change it to are cheaper than original a fee of £25 extra for the hotel and an £80 admin fee with a total cost of £316!!! I understand the charge… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 03/03/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear this. When you have to make a change to your booking, it can sometimes be quite expensive due to the fees from the airlines. Unfortunately this would be the same with any online travel agent as we have to pass the costs from the suppliers on to the customer. If the change is due to medical reasons or anything like that then you may be able to claim for this. I would advise you to contact your insurance company to see if this is an option. Once again, I'm sorry for any disappointment - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“SHOCKING COMPANY”

Written on: 26/02/2015 by Martinezry20 (1 review written)

I have been laughed at down the phone, been told I'm wasting their time as they work on commission. Been told I'm due to receive phone calls and never received them! The only complaint I can put in is writing - yet on all websites where I've read about them receiving written complaints they simply close the case that doesn't surprise me! Every single member of the team gives you different excuses, reasons, some agree and some just laugh at you! Absolutely disgusting customer service they… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review
overview
onthebeach.co.uk