On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
1425
32.4% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“Total farce ”

Written on: 24/05/2015 by CristinaDunn (1 review written)

do not use this company to book your holiday they are by far the worse company i have ever had the misfortune to use their web page has cross links so you think your booking the hotel of your choice once booked and monies taken you are sent an image of a totally different hotel then you are left trying to resolve the issue you can not contact them by phone after waiting 20mins at 10p a min you are suddenly cut off they do not respond to emails it takes them up to four weeks to answer any… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“unsatisfactory customer service ”

Written on: 22/05/2015 by Daj1975 (1 review written)

Extremely disappointed with this company. We have booked a holiday for Xmas this year that is reasonably priced,we have paid just under a third for the initial deposit then we receive the confirmation email which state that all of the holiday minus 250 pounds is going to come out of the bank the next month. This must be an error so we have left 2 messages over the last five days which we have had no reply so decided to try the live chat and let me tell you there is nothing live about that chat… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk
Report this review

“TERRIBLE COMPANY”

Written on: 22/05/2015 by Hobden5 (1 review written)

I booked hoilday 3rd may in 2 hours tooled money out of bank. Tried to book transferes to resort they don't do ? They advertise transferes . Rang straight away on the phone for 2 hours waiting for manager would not speak to me to busy?. Was told to change hotel pick on website and phone back then can't do any more hung up. Rang with change hotel said look in message box would send quote in 48 hours. Nothing in message boxes sent many always saying waiting for agent response. Rang again hung up… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

Archie084's Response to Hobden5's Review

Written on: 23/05/2015

Totally agree with you Lisa it is criminal how they operate. This is the first time I have ever used On The Beach and shall never use them again. They are a complete and utter rip off from start to finish.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Do not use this company... Read why HERE”

Written on: 21/05/2015 by Xander239 (1 review written)

Do not use this company. The travel industry have no ombudsman so if anything goes wrong you will be on your own. Reported on the beach to trading standards, travel watchdog,ABTA but Unfortunatley they can basically do what they want? And simply get away with it. Nobody cares! On the beach advertise as ABTA registered which is correct BUT they use supplies overseas that are not! So ABTA recommend an arbitration through a third party which will cost you money. Absolute rubbish company, don't… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 22/05/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that you've been disappointed with our service. I'm not sure what's happened with your booking and can't take your reference number over a public forum to investigate this for you unfortunately. If a customer has a problem in resort, we will do everything we can to resolve the situation and subsequently aid your complaint upon return. As your holiday is booked through suppliers, we have to give them the opportunity to respond to your complaint. If you are unhappy with their response, we will send on your further comments to try and resolve this. If you would like some advice, I'd advise to use the free live chat function on our website's 'contact us' page and an advisor will be able to help. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

M4Drums's Comment

Written on: 23/05/2015

AVOID THIS COMPANY

Possibly the worst travel company I've ever had the misfortune of dealing with!

Unhelpful, unprofessional, unaccommodating . . . . . the list goes on and on.

I needed to shorten our forthcoming September holiday by a week to care for my elderly mother. I used their online message system to register the request (no confirmation from OTB by the way, so you don't even know if they've received it!)

Then I get a message telling me that the airline don't operate a flight on the date I require, and I should have checked before making the request?
I immediately check with the airline and the DO fly on the date I require plus they have seat availability.

I email OTB back (no response) but they've retracted the original message!

I'll be taking it up with trading standards on Tuesday. If I can find the CEO's personal phone number I'll let you all know. Maybe we can all give him a call and express our dissatisfaction?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“ABSOLUTELY AWFUL COMPANY!!”

Written on: 21/05/2015 by vkStanton1975 (1 review written)

i HAVE NEVER DEALT WITH A COMPANY AS POORLY RUN AS THIS COMPANY! asked to make a change had to do this online apparently by sending a message and could take 48 hours to get back to me - no luck called back fri advised to send another message thy would mark it urgently, 5 days later still nothing 55 MINS on hold and finally answered. Not my issue its their fault given 48 hrs to change bookin, asked to reduce my days and change to next year a holiday that is featured on their website for £247… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 21/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you've found it difficult to contact us, we're extremely busy at the moment and are working through amendments as quickly as possible. I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, so I can't advise 100% on the charges you have been quoted, however, fees to change your holiday can be quite costly and come, in most part, directly from the airlines and hotel suppliers. If you'd like a full breakdown of your costs and explanation of the fees, I'd advise you to use our live chat function on our website's 'contact us' page and an advisor will try to help. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“terrible customer service I asked to change the date...”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by ann01255 (1 review written)

terrible customer service I asked to change the date of my holiday from may to september said it was being looked into then took my final payment and said they cant offer me another holiday as mine had now travelled.so they take full payment and nothing in return .Fed up with phoning cant get through and cant find their email address so have contacted Abta would never recommend them or use again. I could have stopped the payment at the bank and not lost all the money… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 20/05/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you couldn't travel on your holiday this month, a lot of suppliers will not allow you to change your holiday close to your departure date, which I imagine is why we were unable to move your holiday to September (without your reference number, it's difficult for me to advise further on this). If we couldn't change the holiday, I'm afraid we would still have needed the payment as cancellation fees apply with most suppliers. I would advise you to use the live chat function on our website's 'contact us' page and an advisor can look into this further for you - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Changing anything is a nightmare!! ”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by mar29ia (1 review written)

I originally booked a week in Albufeira for myself & my husband, having spoken to friends they decided to come as well. I booked their holiday through on the beach also but the hotel we are staying in isn't available so I have requested to change my hotel booking to same hotel as my friends. Total joke! I've put the request in and called up to make sure request was received which it was, the call handler was very vague as to when I would have this looked at although website states 48 hours… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for how long it's taking to process your amendment, we are getting through requests as quickly as possible. It can take up to 7 days to receive an acknowledgement for your complaint so please bear with us. I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, if you use our live chat service on our website, we can advise where we're up to. I'm sorry for any inconvenience caused - Emily

Reply to this comment

Patriciaconnelly's Response to mar29ia's Review

Written on: 19/05/2015

Totally agree. Have had the same problem when trying to change booking. Worryingly similar to the Goldtrail crash. I'm due to travel in July but have no confidence. Absolutely appalling customer service

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Nightmare at its best ..”

Written on: 19/05/2015 by ulSilva98 (1 review written)

I have booked a holiday with on the beach .... nightmare I want to check in on line for my ryanair flight , no chance , need to phone this nightmare company , as they do not return Emails .... 30 minute waiting time , is this a real company , anybody actually been on Holiday with them, don't know if my flight is actually booked going ! end up in Benidorm ....... think I will give it a miss… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 23/05/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear that. All the instructions you need to check in for your Ryanair flight are on the booking confirmation email we sent you under flight details. You will need your outbound and inbound reference numbers and the email address we generated for you, all of which is on your confirmation email. We send millions of happy customers away every year, so please don't be concerned. If you're still having problems checking in, we have a free live chat service on our website's 'contact us' page. Hope this helps

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Terrible Response Time”

Written on: 18/05/2015 by D1sappointed (1 review written)

I have been trying to amend my holiday booking for 2 months. I have booked a 10 day holiday to Tunisia, as a result of recent terrorist events I requested that the booking be changed, I was told that this would not be a problem and had to send the details of the hotel that we would like to change to, I waited over 3 weeks for a reply only for the request to be rejected. I have sent two more requests and am still awaiting a reply, I can never get through on the telephone I was on hold for 45… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm so sorry for the delay in processing your change request, we're extremely busy and are getting through amendments as quickly as possible. I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, we are prioritising bookings by departure date so should be dealing with your booking very soon. If you'd like to speak to someone, please feel free to use the free live chat function on our website's 'contact us' page. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment

Archie084's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 23/05/2015

Your facilities on manage your booking do not seem to have any urgency. As for your free live chat its a complete and utter joke. I would never recommend your company in fact I would warn people off. Also your policy states that if a comparable holiday is found cheaper elsewhere, you will refund the difference, that also must be a complete and utter joke on your behalf. Our flights are £300 more expensive with yourselves than the airline operator. You are quite simply just one big joke.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“de[posit”

Written on: 18/05/2015 by johnkayll (1 review written)

had to cancel my holiday last minute lost all money which was ok but I was due to small refund £30 no response and I have sent them 4 messages over a week… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you had to cancel your holiday. Once we have processed your refund, it can take 5-7 working days for the bank to put this back into your account. If you haven't received your refund in that time scale, please give us a call so that we can trace the payment. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Very disappointed no cluster re service or help at all”

Written on: 18/05/2015 by Derekx130 (1 review written)

Booking was relatively easy and I thought booking through an agent would give you extra security and customer back up. Our flight was delayed by 14 hours. We were very cold tired and distressed. We we're put up eventually at airport but it was absolute chaos. I tried ringing on the beach for advice as I was worried the hotel rooms may have been given away if we did not show on time but as others had said impossible to get through and kept cutting me off . I emailed eventually to log complaint… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 21/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear you were affected by a flight delay, I can understand how disappointing this must have been to lose a day of your holiday. We can, of course, forward your complaint on to the airline to see if there is anything they can do. If you call us or speak to us on live chat, we can advise yu of the complaints procedure. Once again, I'm sorry this happened on your holiday - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Do not use this company”

Written on: 17/05/2015 by NI-customer (1 review written)

I booked my holiday to Tenerif. The flight was with Thomas Cook. Apparently the flight schedule was changed and other passangers had advanced notice. We arrived in the airport 5 hours earlier with the transport company booked through On the beach. They never informed of us of any flight change. We had to pay additional 25 Euro to check in our luggages a bit earlier plus spend 30 euro on additional food and drink. I also was miss sold my holiday. I booked Bahia Principa Costa Adeje but end of in… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you weren't advised of a flight time change. We will need to investigate this to find out why this happened. Unfortunately, I can't take your reference number over a public forum, however, if you ring our call centre, we will be able to advise you of the complaints procedure and we can try and get this sorted for you. When you opt to pay for your holiday via our low deposit scheme, there is a £4.95 transaction fee for every payment. There is also a 2.2% charge for paying on your credit card, which is explained on the payment page, however, I'm sorry you missed this information. I'm, sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Worst choice i ever made!”

Written on: 14/05/2015

My heart has sunk after seeing the amount of bad reviews, also how repetitive they are and much like my own experience. I also got drawn into the trap of a low price which isn't what it turns out to be. Found the holiday we wanted, appeared to have booked it...until all i got was an email saying they've received my request of a booking and to wait up to 48 hours for confirmation, well all i got was a phone call saying that the price i thought i had was no longer available and to book the… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear that we couldn't confirm your booking at the price showing online, this is unfortunately how all online travel agents work, however, it only occurs on less than 5% of our bookings. If this does happen, we call the customer and ask if they wish to continue or cancel free of charge as we don't take any money from your account. You are under no obligation to accept this increase. It's disappointing to read that you have been worried by online reviews, we send millions of happy customers away every year and are rated very highly on review sites such as Feefo. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't offered hold luggage at the time of booking, this is an added extra with the majority of airlines. This should, however, have been offered to you so if you would like us to listen to the call, please give us a ring and we can look into this. Cancellation charges come directly from the airline and suppliers unfortunately and are out of our control. I'm really sorry for the upset this has caused you - Emily

Reply to this comment

Ni-Customer's Comment

Written on: 17/05/2015

I booked my holiday to Tenerif via On The Beach. The flight was with Thomas Cook. Apparently the flight schedule was changed and other passangers had advanced notice. We arrived in the airport 5 hours earlier with the transport company booked through On the beach. They never informed of us of any flight change . We had to pay additional 25 Euro to check in our luggages a bit earlier plus spend 30 euro on additional food and drink. I also was miss sold my holiday. I booked Bahia Principa Costa Adeje but end of in the adjacent hotel. Tenerif. In terms of instalments, in every transaction, they debited around 10 pounds credit card charges, so paid over 30 pounds for using my credit card. Never again. Communication with their customer is appalling. They have a very good web site but don't bother responding to messages left from. Avoid them.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“fly in 2 days, no tickets, added luggage still no...”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by KerryHorstead (1 review written)

I am due to fly out to Salou on Saturday, we still have not received our tickets for the flight. I added and extra bag to our luggage allowance and we still haven't had confirmation or the charge for it taken from our account. Getting very worried now. I have booked with ion the beach several times and never had a problem but this is terrible, no replies to the message system on manage your booking, no answer on the phone after 2 day of trying. Wont be using OTB again!… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you were struggling to get hold of us. We don't send out flight tickets, the instructions for how to get your tickets with the airline will have been on your confirmation email. I hope everything got sorted for you and you're enjoying your holiday - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“waiting weeks to hear back from them”

Written on: 14/05/2015 by paulas1966 (1 review written)

Been trying to change hotel have sent a few emails waited 2 weeks for a reply then that was no help had to send another still waiting to hear back that's been over a week they won't speak to you on the phone go on holiday in less than 3 weeks now then they will tell us we can't change it because we are due to go soon but we emailed them in plenty off time to change it… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting back to you, we are working through amendment requests as quickly as possible. We are prioritising requests based on departure dates so we will be looking at yours very soon to get this changed over for you. Once again, I'm really sorry for the inconvenience this has caused - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“terrible customer services”

Written on: 11/05/2015 by Alison41 (1 review written)

Been trying too add a passenger to my booking for the last three weeks sent countless emails and messages tried to call to make the change takes 30 mins to get through and then they tell you they cant help, meanwhile the flight has increased £70, will never book through this company again, terrible customer service… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry you're having problems making an amendment to your booking, we're extremely busy at the moment and are working our way through change requests as quickly as possible. I'm sorry for the inconvenience caused - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“DO NOT USE!!!”

Written on: 11/05/2015 by Filiz-k (1 review written)

Yesterday evening my family booked flights to Turkey Izmir, we went through the whole process including payment. After hearing no word back my parents rang to see if it had gone through, for them to cut us off three times!! Then to be told that the flights are too cheap and will not process them. Not only this, but the customer service was awful. No apologises or alternatives. I am furious. Worst customer service ever. Complete waste of time. DO NOT USE… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, it's disappointing to read that we were unable to confirm your booking for you, unfortunately, things like this can happen in the travel industry from time to time and are completely out of our control. When you place an order on our website and it states it can take up to 48 hours to confirm. This only happens on less than 5% of bookings and is the way all online travel agents work, however, I'm sorry this happened to you on this occasion. If you would like real-time availability, you can speak to our sales team and they get everything confirmed for you over the phone. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment

Liavans's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 14/05/2015

I find it quite unbelievable that you can reply to a complaint on here but not to the messages that are being sent to you through messages or requests.
I have tried to contact onthebeach via 3 messages, 1 request and 3 phone calls (2 of which I had the phone put down on me and no call back)
People are willing to pay to add an extra guest or make an amendment to their stay but this doesn't seem to bother you?!
If you are too "busy" to reply within the stated time frames on your website then they should not be on there!

Reply to this comment

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 19/05/2015

Hi, this site is not manned by the customer service team. They are working to get through amendments as quickly as possible, however, we have a backlog which is causing delays. Timescales for amendments are no longer stated on the website as unfortunately we are seeing too high a number of requests to get through within 48 hours. Thanks - Emily

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response

“Terrible customer support”

Written on: 11/05/2015 by 338Flynn (1 review written)

I WAS TRYING TO MAKE CHANGE ON MY BOOKING BUT IT IS ALMOST IMPOSIBLE.I TRIEND TO CALL AND I WAITED 30 MINUTES But no answer.i sent messages 11 days ago but have not replied yet. … Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting back to you, we're extremely busy at the moment and are working through amendment requests as quickly as possible. I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons, however, we will send you a response to your request ASAP - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Appalling service with hidden costs”

Written on: 08/05/2015 by RaeganGoodman309 (1 review written)

I would stay clear of this company where possible. We booked a family holiday and later that night found it cheaper elsewhere so we sent them all the info they required and we're still waiting on feedback - not holding out any hope to be paid the £200+ difference. We also paid the deposit by debit card - as they stated this was free - only to receive a £4.95 handling fee for not paying the full amount and will receive this for every Debit Card payment we make!! Phoned customer service only… Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry for the delay in getting back to you about a price match, we are extremely busy at the moment, however, I'd advise you to speak to our customer service department about this. I've searched your name and can't find your booking and unfortunately I can't take your reference number over a public forum for security reasons. We don't charge for debit cards, however, there is a £4.95 transaction fee for all payments made via our low deposit scheme. This information is stated on the payment page and in our terms and conditions, however, I'm sorry you missed this. If you require any more information, please don't hesitate in getting in touch - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review

“Would never use again”

Written on: 07/05/2015 by Coco56 (1 review written)

After booking I cancelled my hotel and kept the flights.. Then paid for flights in full.. Only to find they then took another £720 from my account.. Can't understand why this has happened. Now I'm going to have to phone them again and wait for ever to get to speak to someone to have my money refunded. This is outrageous taking all that extra money from my bank account when I had already paid in full. … Read Full Review

Visit onthebeach.co.uk

By Onthebeachholidays

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear you've had problems with your order. I can't take your reference number over a public forum so I'm unaware of your booking myself. I hope this has been sorted for you and I'm sorry for any inconvenience - Emily, On the Beach

Reply to this comment
Report this review
overview
onthebeach.co.uk