On The Beach Holidays Reviews - www.onthebeach.co.uk

★★☆☆☆
2.1 / 5
1553
30.3% of users recommend this
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

On The Beach Holidays - www.onthebeach.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“POOR SERVICE AND RUDE STAFF”

Written on: 17/07/2017 by MASimon123 (1 review written)

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE Please whatever you do not book an holiday through this company. If there is a problem with your holiday booking for any reason, something as simple as changing a name they will charge you a horrendous amount. When you speak to the staff they are rude and unhelpful and just do not seem to care about the service they are offering. To make a call it is 13 pence per minute and most of the tine there is a long wait before anyone picks up. Avoid, Avoid Avoid at all… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays
Report this review

“False advertisement of star ratings for hotel”

Written on: 09/07/2017 by cjDugan497 (1 review written)

Flights and coach transfers were very good both times around. However, this time we booked a '3-star' hotel/self-catering. Having just arrived, we could see that this hotel was not a 3 star standard (after the year before we booked 3-star in Turkey and the hotel was a very high standard). The reasons for this is that: - cold showers on a regular basis (not often would there be hot water) - no air conditioning - cockroaches were regular occurrences in the ground floor apartment - a lack of… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays
Report this review

“Holiday was great ”

Written on: 08/07/2017 by Supermario67 (1 review written)

I booked a holiday to Spain with on the beach and got a really good price. The holiday itself was brilliant, however the day before I flew out I check in with the airline only to find that my baggage had not been added. The airline suggested that I call on the beach and tell them which I did. To there credit the problem was rectified quickly and flew out the following day. My issue was when I returned. When I called On The Beach I was on the phone for 45mins holding. I understand that they… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays
Report this review

“They take your money then you're on your own !”

Written on: 21/06/2017 by traveltrev (1 review written)

We booked a holiday to Menorca with ON-THE-BEACH, we asked our friends to join us so the tried to book the exactly the same holiday, dates, hotels flights etc. Although they tried within minutes of our booking they could not get a vacancy so they booked with "Love Holidays". They were kept informed by email of all their arrangements and were able to pre book their seats and check in on line etc. We were left with a premium rate number and no information unless we chased them. We re-confirmed… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays
Report this review

“Flights and hotel dates didn't match”

Written on: 19/05/2017 by REBE1966 (1 review written)

Booked holiday with on the beach they messed up the dates so we went to the airport and was told the flight was the next day. Hotel was booked one day short. Spent hours trying to speak to on the beach but customer service is the worst. Out of pocket £100's on the beach refused to speak to us. My advise never book with on the beach. … Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Vickgus's Response to REBE1966's Review

Written on: 01/06/2017

They messed ours up as well - not only did they give us a flight back to a totally different airport, they also took an extra £1300 out of our bank account and we had to call customer services at 13p a minute on three occasions, waiting more than 45 minutes to get through to speak to someone. The first time I was cut off mid sentence, the second time I was told to call back to speak to someone else as she couldn't help and the third time I was told to just go to Manage My Bookings and send a message through there!!!! Absolutely disgusted and I will be reporting this company to Watchdog and Trading Standards.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“we had our holiday withon the beach it was a lovely...”

Written on: 12/05/2017 by betdavies123 (2 reviews written)

we had our holiday withon the beach it was a lovely holiday but i fell ill and had to pay £150 also the transfer to go home never turn up so we had to pay for the taxi please respect our question ,we have been with on the beach for a long time and had no problems with on the beach… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays
Report this review

“When Free cancellation of hotel doesn't mean Free!!”

Written on: 02/05/2017 by dcPorter484 (1 review written)

I have booked a flight and Hotel with on the Beach, Booked this because flight was good and cheap but mainly hotel was advertised as Free cancellation if cancelled 14 days prior to departure, I've called them today 2nd May 2017 asking process of cancelling hotel as looks like we don't need this accommodation as maybe staying somewhere else. After speaking to customer services I was told that Free cancellation doesn't mean that and I would have to pay them for cancelling !!! On the website it… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Johno10Is's Comment

Written on: 03/05/2017

Update on this

Had email from ontheBeach today so will give credit to them for responding within 24hrs and not up to 5 days as they say after sending email in.

As for Free cancellation on hotel as advertised on there website well no this is NOT true!!
The cost to make this change is £60.00 (this is the difference in hotel cost, including any admin fees and amendments to transfers where applicable)

So really free cancellation is impossible on there site as if cancelling or even amending incurs a fee!! so for them to show this I would say breaks some law in advertising this. I will look into and see what my options are.



Reply to this comment

Rebe1966's Comment

Written on: 19/05/2017

Booked holiday with on the beach they messed up the dates so we went to the airport and was told the flight was the next day. Hotel was booked one day short. Spent hours trying to speak to on the beach but customer service is the worst. Out of pocket £100's on the beach refused to speak to us. My advise never book with on the beach.

Reply to this comment

Betdavies123's Comment

Written on: 11/05/2017

i was ill on holiday but they refuse the atol insurance from on the beach and i had to pay 150 for bronquitis and chest infection they would not take the atol cerficiate hope you can help thank you

Reply to this comment

Betdavies123's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2017

why can you just pay its all because they wont accept the atol cercsificate we also had to pay a taxi did not because the transfer did not arrive so we had to pay taxi its not fair ,we have been with on the beach for a long time thanks

Reply to this comment

Johno10Is's Comment

Written on: 04/05/2017

Update on this

After replying to ontheBeach email saying I will be charged £60 cancellation fee, I emailed back to say ok I will pay this but the description is wrong to say its free cancellation when its not if you have to pay a fee!

Have received email from ontheBeach saying:
Not a problem, apologies we can cancel this free of cost you will receive an update confirmation shortly.

So after complaining and I think ontheBeach realising that them advertising free cancellation for hotel is not really true so they have dropped those charges as sure the are legally in the wrong.

Hope this helps anyone else that is being charged who they shouldn't be.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments

“Hidden Charges”

Written on: 26/04/2017 by Amaya500 (1 review written)

Hidden charges, rude customer service staff who hung up on me, will never use again… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays
Report this review

“Cancelled my booking after 2 days without so much as a...”

Written on: 11/01/2017 by Johnjbcarr (1 review written)

Obviously these guys have their share of happy customers so it looks like all is well for many of their customers. I have just had a very bad experience with them and I am leaving this review, not to badmouth them, but to warn people who may be in a similar position. I booked flights with OnTheBeach a few days ago as they were coming in slightly cheaper than elsewhere. I provided card details and was expecting to pay immediately. Instead I got email telling me my order was pending and would be… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Jackiehaughin's Response to Johnjbcarr's Review

Written on: 22/02/2017

Totally agree. Booked a holiday 2 nights ago. Email informing me it was pending. Did some checking myself to discover hotel was closed for refurbishment!!! They rang me said they did not know and had not taken any money from my account. Found another holiday - with OTB - a good deal. Booked and guess what another 'pending' Wonder what the excuse will be this time!

Reply to this comment

Mrsddx's Response to Johnjbcarr's Review

Written on: 23/02/2017

Similar thing happened to me! I booked a hotel through on the beach and as you went to pay took all details and then it said we would get confirmation email within 48 hours, less than 24 hours received email with cancellation and then few minutes later a call from them stating booking was cancelled with no apology or explanation, however advisor did offer us a telephone number ( 14p per minute plus provider costs) to see if they had alternative accommodation, we declined this option. We have since had a follow up call and they have offered us alternative accommodation in an undesirable area at a very higher cost. I booked flights and transfers as I didn't think there would be a problem and now am struggling to find a hotel, yet the hotel is still being advertised 6 days later

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Not to be trusted”

Written on: 25/10/2016 by eaMunro1955 (1 review written)

Please do not book through ON THE BEACH as they do not provide a trustworthy service. I'm actually on holiday In Fuerteventura booked online with ON THE BEACH. As they had a large choice online it took me a while to select the perfect hotel and location tho suit my needs. I was focused on finding a hotel located on the beach as quoting directly from ON THE BEACH website. So, I selected a 4 star hotel located directly on the beach according to ON THE BEACH website. Because of these options… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that you experienced delays with the flights, this can happen sometimes and is out of our control, if there were any time changes before your departure date we would update this on the confirmation paperwork and provide you with the updates.

There may sometimes be private transfers available on arrival at the airport however these cannot always be guaranteed, which is why we provide the option to book either private or shared transfers.

If there is any construction work or similar issues with the hotel, we should be advised this by the suppliers and would then contact you to advise this and discuss any options such as a change of hotel or cancellation for a hotel refund, if you arrive at the hotel and the problem occurs then our In-Resort team would be available to resolve the problem, contactable by calling the number within the confirmation paperwork.

We would usually attempt to reallocate you to an alternative hotel and we can then chase the supplier for reimbursement for the charges incurred on arrival in the U.K., as the supplier would be responsible to resolve the issue we unfortunately cannot cover the additional costs applied.

Please contact our customer care team to advise of the issues and they will be able to discuss this further, if you need assistance with this please send a message via your MYB account.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Cancelled flights yet available 2 days later more...”

Written on: 11/10/2016 by Andysparks (1 review written)

I booked 4 flights for my family only to be called 24 hours later that they were not available any longer. Checked and 24 hours later still available, and two days later they re advertised them for more money !!! Unbelievable way to run a company and rip off family's, will never use them again… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to Andysparks's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback.

I'm sorry to hear the flights were not available for you, we are a third party agent and use an order placement website, this means we need to confirm the order with suppliers before confirming the holiday for you, there may sometimes be a delay in the pricing and availability updating on our website therefore if there was a change we would contact you to discuss this along with any options, such as a suitable alternative or cancellation of the order with no payment or charge applied.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Disgusting. Booked and paid top money. Awfull”

Written on: 04/10/2016 by Dogman107 (1 review written)

Booked a last min holiday. Three days before departure was told it was no longer available. Couldn't get money back straight away. Was told I had to wait up to five days one it had all gone "through finance". Only option was to book anther holiday through them as we wanted to go that week. Booked a luxury holiday only to be told on arrival by the transfer people that our hotel had been changed. Other people at new hotel had paid a third of what we paid and they we still disgusted with the… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to Dogman107's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise for the inconvenience although it is not possible for us to arrange an immediate refund, the finance team will need to authorise the refunds for you, this may take 3-5 days for the refund to be arranged.

If an issue occurred with the hotel we should be made aware of this and would contact you to discuss the issue, I'm sorry you had experienced these problems. Please contact our customer care team to express your concerns or send a message via your MYB account for assistance.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Completely incompetent!!! On The Beach”

Written on: 04/10/2016 by kwMcMahon1969 (1 review written)

I have just booked 9 nights in Cyprus for May 2017 with On The Beach, I have just received a call from the company to say that the price has gone up by £100 due to the hotel increasing the price, when I was on the phone to the member of staff I check OTB website and the price is still the same???? I ask the member of staff why the price has not been changed on her website and she said she would have to look in to this, finially after being on hold for what seemed like forever she comes back to… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately, we are a third party agent and use an order placement website and need to confirm the order with the suppliers before we can confirm the holiday for you. As the price and availability on our website is automatically updated there may sometimes be a delay in the information being updated which means the price or availability may no longer be available.

If there is an issue with confirming the booking we would then contact you to discuss any possible alternatives, discuss the change in price or cancel the order with no payment or charge being applied.

I'm not sure why the payment issue would have occurred, if this has not yet been refunded please contact our customer care team to arrange this for you.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Booking Issues”

Written on: 26/08/2016 by gilbertthegoalie (1 review written)

I booked flights to Alicante from Manchester and paid by AMEX. Received email stating that I should wait 48 hours for confirmation. Next day I received an email asking me to call premium rate number as OTB had supposedly tried to contact me. I called the number and eventually was told that AMEX was not acceptable and would I like them to try and re-book using alternative Credit Card details which I agreed to. The original price of £260 had jumped to about £480 (apparently) so went direct… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to gilbertthegoalie's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

Unfortunately, we are currently unable to accept American Express, our system cannot detect the card type and therefore will accept the order, it is then within the 48 hour period that an agent would notice the holiday is pending due to the card type and we would attempt to contact you.

Dean

Reply to this comment

Gilberthegoalie's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2016

The issue is not really about the Credit Card type. Couldn't understand why your price had jumped significantly when it was still available for less direct with Airline.

From other comments left on the Review site, it would appear my experience is not unusual

Reply to this comment

Onthebeachholidays's reply to Gilberthegoalie's Comment

Written on: 15/12/2016

Thank you for your reply.

As you can imagine, because we are a third party agent we still use these suppliers for the bookings therefore depending on the flight provider we may not be able to provide the flight cheaper than they can, there may also be an additional percentage added to this however if booking a holiday with the hotel included and any other extras, this would usually work out a better value than booking all the products separately.

Dean

Reply to this comment

Gilberthegoalie's reply to Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 15/12/2016

Im not sure OTB have really addressed this. Bottom line is OTB price increased from £260 to £480 - if this is due to an "additional percentage" then that level of percentage is extortion!

I wouldn't expect the flight to be cheaper by going with OTB - I would expect it to be similar and to not have increased from £260 to £480!

Lesson learned - Ill use the facility to check flight times and routes but will always now revert directly to the airline's own booking system.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 4 Comments

“Terrible room !”

Written on: 23/08/2016 by Lilyana48 (1 review written)

We have recently returned from a week in the Corallia Bay Apartments in Paphos Cyprus. We booked a self catering studio and were allocated an awful dark room with no balcony and a tiny window . As we were self catering we expected to have balcony where we cuould sit and eat our meals and a room with proper facilities. There was no kettle, toaster and only one pan to cook with. The crockrey was stored in a chest of drawers designed for clothes. There was only one cereal dish and no saucers… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodation, if you have any issues with the holiday on arrival our In-Resort team can be reached at any time of day by calling the number within the confirmation paperwork, they should be able to resolve any issues and maybe reallocate the room for you.

Unfortunately as we are a third party agent we cannot be held liable for the problems caused by the hotel, they would be required to resolve the problem or provide any reimbursement if possible, On the Beach cannot cover this cost for them.

I hope you were able to eventually resolve this issue.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Phone queue ”

Written on: 26/07/2016 by 1964Fletcher (1 review written)

Didn't even get as far as booking a holiday! Calls charged at 10p per minute plus network charges so they keep you holding on with terrible music for ages - good but unethical way to make money. I'd tried to book flights direct but came up as sold out, even though OTB were still advertising them - I hung up eventually thinking all they would do is tell me flights were sold out anyway. Completecwastecofvtimecand energy, wish I had read reviews first… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Comment

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise for the wait in reaching our Sales team, we are very busy over the Summer period and this can result in long waiting times. If the suppliers have no remaining availability for the desired booking then unfortunately we would not be able to provide this either.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Terrible customer service”

Written on: 24/07/2016 by Benbeth (1 review written)

You may think that you are getting a cheaper holiday through booking with OTB but if you need to contact them you can never get through on the phone cueing system. If you leave a message online it takes about 5 days for them to reply. I was due a car parking refund after they made a change to the airport I was traveling from. The airline was happy to refund me, but it had to go through OTB. Unfortunately OTB would not help with this. When we arrived at the hotel we arranged to meet the OTB… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to Benbeth's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

I apologise for the delay to get through to an agent, we have been very busy over the summer period resulting in long waiting times for messages and calls to be answered.

If there is a refund due for the booking, we should be able to claim this from the suppliers for you, please contact our customer care team to look into this for you or send a message via your MYB account for assistance.

As we are an online travel agent, we do not provide representatives at the resorts, instead we provide a 24 hour In-Resort line that can be contacted at any time, the number for this team can be found within the confirmation paperwork.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“WORST HOLIDAY COMPANY EVER EXPERIENCED”

Written on: 12/07/2016 by greenlantern77 (2 reviews written)

ON THE BEACH. Booked in March 2016, Solana Hotel Malta. Agreed Price £1271.58. Subject to increases to £1291.39, change of price some identified others ? NOT THE CHEAPEST Try another if you require a Sunshine Holiday. Stipulated, and apparently by on the beach agreed no BASEMENT rooms, this further to Trip Advisors feedbacks. What did we get a single basement room!, though booked a Studio deluxe apartment, NOT BASEMENT. BUT worst of all NO notification or indication of what was to… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to greenlantern77's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

The increase in price may be including the transactions fees applied to payments made, this is advised at the time of booking and will be £4.95 per balance payment made on a booking with the low deposit scheme.

I'm sorry you did not receive the requested room, this should have been provided. We do have a 24 hour In-Resort team which can be contact to resolve such issues with the hotel, the number for this team is found within the confirmation paperwork.

We do advise within the confirmation paperwork that you are required to check-in for Ryan Air within 7 days of departure, this is advised within the 'Flight Voucher' under 'Ticketing Information'. You will need to check-in for some airlines and print the boarding passes to board the flight otherwise they can levy such fees at the airport.

I apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced, please contact our customer care team if you would like to express your concerns, if you need assistance with this please send a message via your MYB account.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“THE WORST ”

Written on: 08/07/2016 by 0710x (1 review written)

PLEASE do not use this site. The customer service is the worst I have ever experienced. £30 administration fee every time you add extras (you cannot ad more than one extra at a time to save this fee) no updated flight information. NO way of getting through to anyone. I am 1 month away from my holiday and regretting using this site so much. Looking for a way to formally complain as it has caused so much stress! I will defiantly be going back to booking my holidays by myself, so much… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to 0710x's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry if you are not happy with the experience received. The admin fees are advised within the terms of business and agreed at the time of booking however we would only apply the admin fee once for any extras requested at the same time.

Our service team will be available to contact either over the phone or via messages on the MYB account that you have online with On the Beach. If you are still unhappy please express your concerns to our customer care team, if you need assistance with this please send a message via your MYB account.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“The worst service, avoid avoid avoid”

Written on: 06/07/2016 by Jmylk (1 review written)

The worst customer service ever! Booked premium seats on a flight for £90 (front 6 rows on the website) were given row 23. When we complained and asked for a refund we were then told we would only be refunded £30? After complaint after complaint and ridiculously long waiting times on phone calls to customer service, arranging management call backs that never happened and finally the threat of legal action and recording the phone calls they agreed to a full refund. Only £30 was refunded. A… Read Full Review

Click here to see all offers from On The Beach Holidays

Onthebeachholidays's Response to Jmylk's Review

Written on: 17/11/2016

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to hear this, we would provide the seats requested unless advised otherwise, if the seats selected are classed as 'Premium Seats' with the suppliers, we would book these for you.

Please send a message through your MYB account if you would like to discuss this further and so that we can review the booking in more detail for you.

Dean

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview
Visit On The Beach