Lynmouth, Tregonwell Guesthouse Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.2 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Lynmouth, Tregonwell Guesthouse - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Lynmouth, Tregonwell Guesthouse

Lynmouth, Tregonwell Guesthouse

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“Lunch”

Written on: 28/09/2011 by danmac (1 review written)

We stopped for lunch here and were amusingly disappointed. It was so bad all we could do was laugh! Welsh rarebit is not cheese microwaved on bread (also microwaved) with a smear of mustard and Worcestershire sauce. Cheap and nasty ingredients to the tune of nearly 15 quid for one 'welsh rarebit', one pasty (also microwaved) and one cheese and ham sandwich' WTF. I can only assume that the owners are mental as they allow such poor food to be attributed to their name. I hope their business fails… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Advantages: ”

Written on: 23/10/2010

Advantages:
Location of the Tregonwell Guest House is by the river - splendid. We were a group of 8 walking a section of the SW coastal footpath and this B&B is quite close to it.
Areas for improvement:
Interpersonal skills - we were made to feel as if we were a nuisance and an imposition rather than paying guests. Our welcome was cool and almost hostile.
Quality of food - the breakfast food was mediocre and uninspiring and the packed lunch was poor (value and quality). The sandwiches were… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very friendly and traditional B & B with extremely...”

Written on: 20/04/2010 by lifeboat (1 review written)

Very friendly and traditional B & B with extremely comfortable ensuite rooms plus a "jaw-dropping" location by the East Lyn river looking down towards Lynmouth. Clifford & Josie made us feel very welcome and it was a privaledge to stay in the house owned by the Sea Captain Jack Crocombe who lead the famous 1899 "Overland Launch" lifeboat rescue of the Forrest Hall ship. To see inside Jack's home was just an honour indeed!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We stayed at Tregonwell Guesthouse for two nights....”

Written on: 29/08/2009

We stayed at Tregonwell Guesthouse for two nights. Owner was very unkind to us from the beginning (until the very last end, he didn't even bother to say goodbye when we left!). Owner didn't listen to us when we ordered breakfast (and the breakfast was terrible, everything too fat and the toast was sompy & cold).

The rooms were very small and stuffed with useless junk. The shower was almost the same size as your body so you couldn't turn around in it.

And most of all: My partner had used her… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“We were greeted by a very rude owner who was very...”

Written on: 06/08/2008 by veedge (1 review written)

We were greeted by a very rude owner who was very unwelcoming. The whole house smelt of cheap air freshener and was very stuffy. The decoration was quite frankly hideous and depressing. The rooms were dingy and grubby. The breakfast was revolting with anaemic cold toast and a fry up swimming with grease and sausages with what looked like one percent meat content. As there were three of us staying we were in one twin and one single room. We assumed we would sit together for breakfast but were in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We gave our credit card details and were surprised to...”

Written on: 10/02/2008 by jadavies (1 review written)

We gave our credit card details and were surprised to find that the money had been taken out of our accounts in full months before our stay, not usual practice surely.
The website says that there is 'free car parking and garaging available to allow you to forget the car. When we arrived the owner told us to park on the road which was very narrow, we eventually found a space some way away from the B&B and carried our bags back. There was one garage that I could make out (for use by the owner… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“My husband and I stayed for two nights, to celebrate...”

Written on: 01/08/2007 by juliesahib (2 reviews written)

My husband and I stayed for two nights, to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary, an infrequent holiday without the kids.

We are both professional people, bored with impersonal hotels, who wanted to experience the warmth of staying in a small guest house. We paid extra for a superior room and were surprised, on entering our room, to find it actually was the room we'd booked, the Captain's Room, we'd expected something more themed and couldn't see what we'd paid the extra money for!

We also… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“I stayed one night in this place with a group of...”

Written on: 11/07/2007 by Pete Connolly (1 review written)

I stayed one night in this place with a group of walkers - and never again. We all had to stand outside in the pouring rain and take our boots off - nowhere to put them all - before we were allowed in; single occupancy of a double room cost 55 GBP and wasn't even ensuite; a lady who asked for croissants for breakfast was told there weren't any, so got no breakfast; a charge of 64 GBP was made for transferring our luggage to the next hotel (average for this was 25 GBP); packed lunch (5 GBP)… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“I wouldn't recommend this guesthouse to anyone, and...”

Written on: 04/07/2007 by ukmonkey (2 reviews written)

I wouldn't recommend this guesthouse to anyone, and wouldn't go back here myself… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“This property is in a lovely location and could be a...”

Written on: 07/06/2007 by Burty (1 review written)

This property is in a lovely location and could be a wonderful place to stay if things were brought up to scratch. At the moment the tariff is far too high for the level of accommodation, which is way below standard. The room we had was classed as superior but was far from that. The bedding was not co-ordinated to the decor, which was poor. The wardrobe was very old and too narrow to hang clothes. There was also a door behind it, which presumably led into the next room and we could hear the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Having just returned from an unsatisfactory stay at...”

Written on: 21/07/2006 by Stammers (3 reviews written)

Having just returned from an unsatisfactory stay at Tregonwell Guesthouse in Lynmouth, we have the following comments:-

The total charge for our stay was debited from our credit card immediately on booking, without our knowledge or permission.

Their advertising states that they were "B&B of the Year 2004". There are two certificates on display stating that "The Old Sea Captain's House" was judged "Highly Commended" in 2004. Not quite the same thing!

The "garage parking" on their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We just returned from a visit to Lynmouth, England and...”

Written on: 29/01/2006 by Susietaylor (3 reviews written)

We just returned from a visit to Lynmouth, England and stayed at Tregonwell, The Olde sea captains house. Their web site shows Englands B&B of the year-3 Diamonds. I found the place to be a nightmare with the owner was difficult. Booked a room with private bath but got a bath down the hall and had to pay extra because owner stated no one else would be using. He was totally rude to me and refused to do scrambled eggs dry as he stated you might as well eat wallpaper paste. No hand towel but a rag… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Toritally's Response to Susietaylor's Review

Written on: 22/03/2007

I'm extremely disappointed with Tregonwell. We paid well above average for a so-called luxury en-suite room in March 2007. It had no shower in the bathroom, communal one could be used, and had absolutely no toiletries provided, just a pot of cheap hand wash liquid soap on the basin. I don't expect to have to go to a local shop to buy a bar of soap on arrival! There were no hand towels provided, although there was a smelly bit of purple cloth on the back of the bathroom door. In the morning there was no hot water and the heating was not on when we arrived, it came on an hour later, which was far too late on a brisk, blustery March day. The mattress was completely ruined, presumably by all the previous occupants trying to keep warm. Everything about this place lacked attention to detail and was poor quality. It was very disappointing to pay so much money to sleep in a room that is far inferior to my bedroom at home!
<br/>Such a shame, as the building itself and the view/location were stunning, with different owners this place has the potential to be amazing!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview