Polycell SmoothOver Textured Walls & Ceilings Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★☆☆☆☆
1.4 / 5
23% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Polycell SmoothOver Textured Walls & Ceilings - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Polycell SmoothOver Textured Walls & Ceilings

Polycell SmoothOver Textured Walls & Ceilings
Polycell SmoothOver Textured Walls & Ceilings

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Just take your time”

Written on: 09/04/2014

I have just finished covering the artex on my kitchen walls. As long as you take your time and read the instructions its quite easy to get a descent finish. I used 2 tubs at £15.00 a time from Amazon and Ive still got some left over. It could be cheaper though!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful”

Written on: 19/02/2014 by Emma5959 (1 review written)

The sim seemed watery and left run bubbles. Filler worked better than this stuff. Really disappointed with this expensive time consuming mistake in purchase… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“expensive rubbish”

Written on: 11/02/2014

Paid around £50 for the product and "special tools was expensive. It would have been easier to coat the ceiling with cold porridge. The application roller and smoothing tool were useless. I'd like to see a video of someone applying this stuff to a ceiling. £250 from You've been framed would be a certainty ! My ceiling is going to need some serious sanding and possibly a plasterer. Don't waste your cash on this rubbish… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I wish I didn't. ...”

Written on: 05/12/2013

Recently I skimmed a wall for the first time. It was stressful and hard but satisfying. This is a nightmare. It is like a soft filler which refuses to smooth out, I have little lines all over and every inch needs to be sanded down. I'm wishing I just went with another skim coat because this stuff is horrendous!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Smooth over some joke”

Written on: 29/06/2013 by Stitchedupat64 (1 review written)

What a total nightmare and a mess I want my money back now need to get in a plasterer all I wanted was smooth walls. The jerk in the video was so smug when he did it should have known it was Cheated. I'm going to complain to the standards agency and get watchdog to feature it. What did I like about it NOTHING AT ALL… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Smooth Over?”

Written on: 28/05/2013 by garibaldi64 (1 review written)

I will rename this product ROUGH IT UP! Nightmare to apply and smooth, I was meant to be covering texture....what I ended up with was 100% worse than before, £40 poorer, wasted holiday. I say pay a plasterer… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Hard work but worth it”

Written on: 10/05/2013 by jenniferac (2 reviews written)

Well Im a mere female who was faced with a wall that looked like the person who took the paper off was very vary angry, then had just painted over it, it almost looked like textured wall paper, which is why i needed help, had i of read these reviews before buying this product i would have bothered, but i had..... first off it doesnt go on easy like the product video so only do about 12" sq at time I found it alot easier having a bowl of water next to me to dip the scrapy tool thing in before… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Awful product!! Avoid at all costs”

Written on: 12/01/2013 by sarahhol (1 review written)

Do not waste time, effort or money on this awful product. Polycell should be ashamed for producing such rubbish that does not do what it says. I followed the instructions closely. The product would not 'stick' to the roller, about half the tub fell onto the floor, it does not give a smooth finish and basically i am now left with no option but to pay for a plasterer. i will be heading back to homebase to give my feedback as retailers should not stock it if it is not fit for purpose… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Ageing_Matelot's Response to sarahhol's Review

Written on: 05/04/2013

Agree. This is a terrible - and expensive - waste of time and effort

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Spread It Like Butter”

Written on: 03/12/2012

After reading the reviews on here i was a bit worried of buyinhg this but for £25 at wilkos i thought what the hell. the tool kit is a waste of money,dont buy it but the smoothover it's self is well worth the cash. I ended up putting it on the artex wall and smoothing it over with a 100mm wallpaper scraper. spread it on like butter,it gets a little messy falling on to the floor,that was the only good thing in the end about part of the tool kit (smooth over tool),you can hold it under the paper… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“POLYCELL CEILING SMOOTHOVER .”

Written on: 18/11/2012

I cannot believe that Polycell produce this awful product that does nothing like it claims to do. I have just wasted £40:00 on it, 30 for the product and 10 for the roller and plastic spreader that are required for use with the smooth over. I don't know why they couldn't include the tools with the product but even then it would still be a big rip off! I am bitterly disappointed and wish I had saved my money towards botox treatment to smooth my wrinkles instead!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Wickes Smooth Skim is just as bad”

Written on: 02/09/2012

If the Wickes product is similar to Polycell (maybe even made by the same company?)then its no surprise it is just as useless. I think the product has been misnamed - its a floor covering rather than for ceilings and walls since most ends up on the floor. It doesn't stick to sandpapered/soap sugared surfaces and certainly doesn't leave a smooth surface ready for painting. I tried plastering skills to get it to stick and smooth off - utterly hopeless. Definitely a no-buy. The only thing good is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“this product is really poor, ”

Written on: 08/08/2012

Really wish I read these reviews before I brought the stuff!!! I was shocked how bad the application of it and the end result, terrible avoid it… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!”

Written on: 04/12/2011 by nphillip (1 review written)

Coming from Polycell I had high hopes for this product; however, it let me down badly, even after a second coat. I followed the instructions and covered an area on my bedroom wall of 1m squared. The result was terrible and the plaster just wouldn't cover properly, leaving a lot of uneven holes even after a second coat. Worse! My wife wouldn't stop laughing! I've tried filling in the holes and will now sand it but don't think it will make much difference. Yuk!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to nphillip's Review

Written on: 19/03/2012

I have used it for years with brilliant results
must be your technique. This stuff is brilliant
you do not need to get on smooth, because after it dries very light sandning renders the job perfect!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to nphillip's Review

Written on: 23/04/2012

I agree with your review. This product is expensive and it has let me down completely. Applied to a plaster ceiling and walls, this stuff will just come off in strips when you attempt to roller it a 2nd time. It appears to have zero adhesive properties and can be removed far more easily than wallpaper, which is frankly pathetic. Even worse is that the less it leaves behing is worse than what you started with. Frustrated is not the word really....

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Challenging”

Written on: 24/11/2011 by milene_alves (1 review written)

After reading some reviews I decided to give it a try and bough it to put on my popcorn ceiling of my 1960's house. It's not easy. Very tiring indeed. It took me about 5 days to do the whole job in my 20 square meter living room. I didn't apply a second coat as I already had paid £90 for 3 pots of 5 liters each pot. When I finished my first coat there were spots all around the living room, the ceiling looked awful. But then I realized that this product is water based, so after it was all dry I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dangerous Info on Polycell's Website”

Written on: 30/09/2011

If this is anything like Polycell's Smoothover Damaged Walls, it is absolute rubbish. Luckily B&Q refunded my money on that product! On a more serious note, on Polycell's webpage: www.polycell.co.uk/guides/cover_textured_ceiling.jsp 'How to cover up a textured ceiling' it give dangerous information in Step 2 about 'scraping off high peaks' from the ceiling. As mentioned previously in these reviews, most textured ceilings pre-1990 contain lethal asbestos. A company like Polycell should really… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“product seems like an expensive repackaging of a...”

Written on: 02/05/2011

product seems like an expensive repackaging of a watery ready mixed polycell multipurpose filler. The "toolkit" is not helpful - I finished off with a metal smoothing tool - after the second coat on less than 2 sq metres of ceiling - I think it will look OK once I have sanded it down - BUT - I have needed 2.5 litres - fortunately I picked a small patch of ceiling on stairs to trial it. I feel it is miss advertised and miss sold… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I purchased Polycell smooth over for ceilings and the...”

Written on: 27/04/2011

I purchased Polycell smooth over for ceilings and the Polycell tool set to smooth over a stippled ceiling. I followed the instructions carefully and watched the video. I have to say that this product is worse than useless and definitely NOT for a DIY job. I only hope that i can get a refund on the unopened container. I have now to get a professional plasterer in to sort out the mess. I think that I have bought my last Polycell product. If I had known how difficult this product was to use then I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The reviews on here make this product seem like it is...”

Written on: 25/04/2011

The reviews on here make this product seem like it is a complete waste of money and I was slightly terrified of using Smoothover afterward I has read them!

It's not perfect (a plasterer would have been better) but for the money you spend it's actually not too bad. I expected it to be a lot worse!!

As long as you are fairly intelligent and are not expecting this to be as easy as painting I don't think you will be disappointed.

The first coat is a little bit rough but the second coat makes a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 29/05/2011

Do you work for Polycell PR? Your comment "as long as you are fairly intelligent" is patronising and insulting. I don't think anyone would expect this to be as easy as painting. Polycell Smoothover is an expensive rip-off, which left my walls in a complete mess, and certainly in a worse condition than they were to start with. My advice - definitely don't buy this product.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 26/05/2012

I'm fairly intelligent (lol).

Just finished my small bathroom ceiling that was stippled. Tried a metre square area to start with and it was awful, the stipples were too high so therefore this particular area took four coats of the stuff before it was anything like. On realising my initial mistake I scraped the top off of the remaining stipples with a paint scraper and that gave me much better results. Two coats on that bit, three coats on the first bit, sanded at that and then a final coat all over, sanded again - PERFECT!

DON'T use the plastic flattening tool on stipples because the stipples tear little chunks off the tool and then you end up in a terrible mess. Fortunately for me I've got a large ceramic tile cement spreader with a flat edge which turned out to be ideal for the job. Maybe worthwhile investing in a proper plasterers spreading tool or whatever they're called?

Has been hard work but worth it in the end although I wouldn't want to attempt a larger ceiling than the one I've done - 2m x 2m.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★☆

“I just used Smooth Over over my "popcorn" textured...”

Written on: 20/04/2011

I just used Smooth Over over my "popcorn" textured walls, I had scraped back the texture a lot given it was greater than the 2mm the product reccomends, and this did an EXCELLENT job of filling any gaps and giving mye a perfect smooth surface to paint.
One thing I will say was it did take a bit of "getting the hang of it" - I did have to do a 2nd coat over the bit of the first wall I did.
My tips: Stir WELL, Dont submerge the roller fully just roll it in the tub to pickup optimal ammount. Do a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Having just applied the Polycell smooth over for...”

Written on: 22/04/2011

Having just applied the Polycell smooth over for textured ceilings I can confidently apply one star.

Whilst the product my be OK application by the Polycell roller is not feasible. We are told no need to work off any excess from the roller, it will "smartly" pick up the right amount of product. It doesn't. You wait until it decides it has enough by dropping excess in the can, you then move it to the ceiling and it deposits the remainder on the floor. I have wasted a 1/3rd of the can. If you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview