123-Reg - www.123-reg.co.uk Reviews

★★★★☆
4.2 / 5
289
84% of users recommend this
  • Value For Money

Summary

Note from Review Centre: In July 2013, 123-reg was bought out by a Private Equity Firm, Cinven.
? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
123-Reg - www.123-reg.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for 123-Reg - www.123-reg.co.uk

123-Reg - www.123-reg.co.uk
123-Reg - www.123-reg.co.uk
123-Reg - www.123-reg.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Showing star rating of:

(cancel refinement)

“Go to another provider who has a support function”

Written on: 16/10/2016 by Ashlynw161 (1 review written)

Hurrendous. The support team provides a 'how to' guide with the exception of one excellent employee,and trust me I have spoken to a lot, the rest do not get back to you and when they do they just send you a link to the FAQ. Having spent many years in marketing dealing with web hosting folks I have never ever exeprienced a shambollic support service such as this. You could get a job there as support. Copy and paste a link and you are done! … Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“Taking money - No notifications / reminders”

Written on: 05/05/2016 by Browne68 (1 review written)

So within the last 10 days £121 has been taken from my account. I received a reminder that a number of domains were due for renewal the morning the money was taken and nothing prior to this. I then spoke with a person from customer service who claimed this was my mistake and error. Sorry but taking the money at 3am and sending the reminder at 6am is pretty impossible to resolve / prevent. I then checked my bank account this morning expecting money in from a customer to see another £22.78… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2016

Hello,

I am really sorry to hear that services have renewed which you didn't wish to. I can confirm that we do send out renewal reminders, prior to the renewal and invoices once the domain name has been renewed. I would really like to have a look into this account and have a check on these emails. I will also be happy to have a look into the renewals and hep you resolve these.

If you can let me know a ticket ID or a domain name I will be in touch.

Kind Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Dysfunctional company”

Written on: 30/03/2016 by kokomorbt (5 reviews written)

Moving a client's domain to another Registrar. 123-Reg actioned their part of the move, then emailed me when the move was complete telling me if I had any problem I should log in to my account to update the ticket. The next day I discovered that my email address is still live in their system and causing problems, so I tried to login only to discover they had automatically disabled my account when the move occurred. How can I login to report a problem with a domain move when moving a domain… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“Slow Support with no idea what to do”

Written on: 15/03/2016 by AngieGriffin-Alt458 (1 review written)

I haven't used them for hosting and wouldn't dare to, I contacted support (live support first) just to unlock a domain, This couldn't be done via live support who "escalated it" 24 hours later, live support just asks me to wait, i have used other hosting companies who reply within 30 minutes to support queries, and this is just rediculous… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 15/03/2016

Hello,

My name is Nerys and I work here at 123-reg.

I am really sorry to hear that your issue was not resolved when you first contacted the support team, we do solve most problems in the fist contact, however there are occasions when we need to do a little extra work and they do need to be sent to a different team, to deal with, which can take a little longer.

If you could let me know your chat ID or ticket number I would be happy to have a look into this for you and check on the progress.

Kind Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Please read this before you use 123 reg”

Written on: 07/03/2016 by AdriannaBenton (1 review written)

I signed up with 123 reg shared hosting around three months ago and I would like to share my objective experience of the company. I am a freelance web designer and I hosted my own business site and 8 of my portfolio sites with this company. The sales team, as you would expect, are very friendly and helpful but i'm afraid the good standard of service stops at the point of sale. A constant problem for me was slow website loading times - sometimes my sites would take in excess of 20 seconds to… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 11/03/2016

Hello,

My name is Nerys and I work here at 123-reg. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. All feedback we receive is really important to us.

I am really sorry to hear that you experienced some problems with using our products. We really want all of our services to meet our customers' needs. To help us understand the problems you experienced with your hosting package I would like to be able to look into your account in some more detail. If you can provide a ticket ID or domain name you had with 123-reg I can get in touch with you and start finding out what has happened.

In regards to the Search Engine Optimiser we offer, I would like to assure you that the tool, and free trial, is offered in good faith. Within the results you are shown for the scan you will receive scan results specific to your particular website and also some general advice, which is applicable to everyone in their SEO efforts. The contact form is one of these general pieces of advice, which is why you were shown this. As a user of the product it would be great if we could have some further discussions with you about your experience. If you do wish to provide some details I will be touch with you.

Kind Regards,

Nerys
123-reg

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“The worst customer support ever”

Written on: 25/11/2015 by Macyb1958 (1 review written)

messTICKET ID: 151125-000168 My website was down for 5 days waiting for a SSL certificate. After is was finally issued I urgently needed 123 reg tech support to install which they said they would do. I spoke to 3 different people on chat support and 2 people on phone support (i expect i will have a huge phone bill) All in all I was given the complete run around for 24 hours by these various "tech people" saying it will be done in 1 hour, someone will contact me to help, we will open a new… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“Got terrorised by customer service to pay”

Written on: 07/10/2015 by igorchoromanski (1 review written)

Im a client for a while I've registered domaians got shared hostig. My WordPress website got hacked loosing the data base. 123 reg Customer service aggressively demanded £20 fee to recover my website threating that I will loose my website which happened later since I was late to pay the fee and back up was gone..They dont care about single client got so big that the only objective is to suck as much cash of the clients for bad service quality or terrorists customer service I will never use… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Response to igorchoromanski's Review

Written on: 20/11/2015

Hello,

My name is Nerys and I work here at 123-reg. I am really sorry to here that you have experienced problems and would like to be able to investigate this for you. Without looking at your account I cannot advise on your situation precisely. If you would like me to investigate please let me know your domain name or a support ticket ID and I will be in touch.

Kind Regards,

Nerys

123-reg

Reply to this comment

Igorchoromanski's reply to 123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2015

I have closed down my account and moved all the domains to honest service provider 150210-000864.

Reply to this comment

Igorchoromanski's reply to 123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 21/11/2015

Thanks to your company atrocious customer service I have lost £200 spent to create my website template I do regret ever opening account with 123reg !

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments

“Unauthorised transactions”

Written on: 09/07/2015 by Kasey221 (1 review written)

Do not trust this company! I have been subject to fraudulent transactions from this company that have never been agreed to. They avoid any possible way to support you and when you do finally find a way to get in contact they avoid talking to you because you dont have an account with them even though they've been taking money from your account?… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“Apporling ”

Written on: 26/06/2015 by AryannaVaughn (1 review written)

We used 123 for years and in the last two years they have gone down hill. We used there Webmail for business and at least twice a month we would suffer downtime. This means our business would have to stop as we are an online support team. I seriously suggest if you are thinking of using 123 regs. Only buy domains and nothing else. … Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

Tom2020's Comment

Written on: 26/06/2015

“Appalling" Sodding autocorrect

Reply to this comment

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2015

Hello,

I'm Nerys and I work here at 123-reg. I am really sorry to hear that you have been having trouble with your email. I can assure you that any time our customers services are effected we do all we can to make sure everything is up and working again as quickly as possible.

If you would like me to have a look into the problems you had on our account specifically please let me know a domain name or a support ticket ID I will be in touch with you,

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Website Offline more than it's online”

Written on: 22/06/2015 by bhBuckley482 (1 review written)

I am writing this review whilst incredibly upset, I purchased a business hosting package two weeks ago. since then the website has been down twice and is currently down now. The first time it was down for 12 hours and the support was very poor. The website has now been down for 24 hours, they have not replied to a single email, facebook message, tweet or ticket. It says on their website that support is closed today for training and also tomorrow. That means my website could be down for 3… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 03/07/2015

Hello,

I'm Nerys and I work here at 123-reg. I am really sorry to hear that you have been having trouble with your website,. I would be happy to have a look into for you.

If you can let me know a domain name or a support ticket ID I will be in touch with you,

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“this is second time terrible experience ”

Written on: 09/06/2015 by naeem12343 (1 review written)

sorry to say this. but u guys are not at all co-operate. live chat is really terrible the way they response is ages. and that to no clear response i was with a guy and itwas terrible expreince . not at all coopearte dont feel like to come back or prefer to have this any other sorry to say … Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“Charges”

Written on: 30/04/2015 by Carverhk381 (1 review written)

I have received a bill for £4.95.I have not asked for anything. Surely this is illegal??… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 12/05/2015

Hello,

I'm Nerys and I work at 123-reg. I would be happy to have a look into this for you and find out which service this is for. If you could let me know the domain name or a support ticket I will be in touch.

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Not pleased with service provided”

Written on: 14/04/2015 by 262Vargas (1 review written)

Quite definitely WOULD NOT recomend123-REG.co.uk they cancelled my Domain name . took a fortnight to straiten it out plus cost. very displeased… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 28/04/2015

Hello,

I'm Nerys and I work here at 123-reg.

I am really sorry to hear that you have had some problems. I would like to look into these for you and see what we could have done to improve your experience, and would also be willing to help with any further problems.

If you would like me to, please let me know your domain name or support ticket ID and I will get in touch.

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Slow and often secretly broken”

Written on: 09/04/2015 by JohnWebDev (1 review written)

I think 123-reg rely on having customers with websites that are rarely used so that they can get away with fixing problems before anyone has noticed. For the last two years I've noticed several issues which happen intermittently on the server-side. Along with it often running very slow this does not encourage confidence in 123's hosting. However, in the last two months their server-side email service has been blacklisted three times, stopping my site sending emails to the users for around a… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Response to JohnWebDev's Review

Written on: 14/04/2015

Hello,

My name is Nerys and I work here at 123-reg.

I would be more than happy to look into any problems you are having and work with you to get them resolved. for you. If you would like me to please let me know a support ticket ID or domain name, and I will be in touch.

Regard,

Nerys

Reply to this comment

Johnwebdev's reply to 123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 20/04/2015

This is the ticket number: 150302-000551

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Suspend domains without contact”

Written on: 02/04/2015 by Nelson408 (1 review written)

Sick of getting my domains suspended it takes nothing to pick up a phone and call us as its a service we pay you for. I will move everything away from 123 reg and i have been with them for years. Very very very poor gone down hill… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“dodging customer service”

Written on: 18/02/2015 by Lauris (2 reviews written)

Another site that is doing whatever they can, so that it would be as hard as possible to reach any human in resolving problems. Why can not they send an email telling my renewal is due in 7 days, do you want to keep it or cancel. Now I have to chase my money back and ask for a refund and cancel my agreement. WE ALL HAVE RIGHT TO CANCEL RENEWALS FOR QUITE SOME TIME AND GET OUR MONEY BACK… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Response to Lauris's Review

Written on: 24/02/2015

Hello,

My name is Nerys and I work here at 123-reg.

I would like to assist you with this matter. We have renewal reminders which are sent out to all of our customers to advise of upcoming renewals, and help each of our customers to manage their accounts. I am keen to look further into your particular problem and the reminders for your products, to find out what has happened and resolve any issues that are still outstanding. If you would like me to, please let me know a domain name or support ticket ID and I will be in touch.

regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Big Joke”

Written on: 31/01/2015 by Holderdt1 (1 review written)

When trying to process a payment it wants to throw me out and has blocked my card, THANKS 123-REG. When contacting support for this i get the option to call or live chat but the ticket is greyed out. The live chat box shows as unavailable so then i click call which clearly stats "We staff our lines 9:00 am to 7:00 pm Monday to Friday." ITS A SATURDAY SO WHY YOU OFFERING THIS TO ME. For a website company this is bit of a joke. Atleast Go Daddy offer support regardless of it being overseas… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Comment

Written on: 06/02/2015

Hello,

I'm Nerys and I work here at 123-reg. I would really like to look into this for you and also find out what has gone wrong with the contact options. If you can provide a domain name or support ticket ID I will be in touch further.

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Watch out for the small print”

Written on: 19/01/2015 by Dave_123_456 (1 review written)

123reg now charge £9.99 plus VAT to change the Tag of uk domain name if you want to transfer it away from them, even though they promised that they wouldn't do this in all their advertising material. Shameless, avoid at all costs. Heart Internet are a much better company. … Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk
Report this review

“Absolutely useless and hopeless”

Written on: 25/12/2014 by carsonshaun (2 reviews written)

If I could swear here I would use every expletive I could muster! What a pack of MONGRELS. Money grabbing Mongrels! They talk about service...NONE...they talk about support...NONE! We had domains and hosting initially made through a web designer... he was hopeless too... none of our billing and none of our booking systems were able to be applied to the web site and we couldnt get them to deal with us directly. So we informed them we would be sending our domains and hosting to another service… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

Webfusiononline's Response to carsonshaun's Review

Written on: 05/01/2015

Hello,

My name is Nerys and I work here at 123-reg. I would be happy to look into this for you. If you would like me to please confirm a ticket ID or domain name from your account and I will be in touch.

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment

Carsonshaun's reply to Webfusiononline's Comment

Written on: 06/01/2015

Nerys, thank you for your response however we are not interested. 123 REG cost us 10000's of baht in business. The reason we are not interested is that 123 REG showed that they were not interested. At least we have said so up front and with 24 hours.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“disaster instead of hosting”

Written on: 04/12/2014 by Harry1123reg (1 review written)

OK - 123-reg sucks - BECAUSE: As it turns out, the default settings on the server are for log files to grow infinitely. Not being a server guru, I would never guess that something like that needs to be set differently from the default setting. Needless to say, after a few months the logfiles are so huge that the server stops running. I open a support ticket, but after several hours no response. I have to wait until 9:00 AM until the support phones are answered. Fun enough now? All day, the… Read Full Review

Visit 123-reg.co.uk

123Regonline's Response to Harry1123reg's Review

Written on: 05/12/2014

Hello,

I'm Nerys and I work here at 123-reg.

I am very keen to be able to look into the troubles you have experienced with your server and find out what we can do to improve the situation.

If you would like me to can you please provide a support ticket and I will be in touch further.

Regards,

Nerys

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview
123-reg.co.uk