Holiday Autos Reviews - www.holidayautos.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4 / 5
4897
82.2% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk

Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“cancelled my car on christmas holiday ”

Written on: 19/01/2017 by Kael181 (1 review written)

I had reserved a car a month in advance to avoid the last minute prices, they charged my credit card for the car and silly me also bought the insurance. when I went to pick up my car (Dec 26 2016) they told me because I was more than 2 hours late (I was 2:20 minutes late!!) they have gave my car to someone else basically making double money on the car! I had to rent from a third company on Dec 26 on a very popular tourist destination (Rome), for 560$! (yes this is the last minute price I very… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Be Warned - 3rd party insurance - extra $2,000 waiver...”

Written on: 17/01/2017 by 231Munoz (1 review written)

VERY MISLEADING insurance - despite taking out full excess waiver from Holiday Autos (an additional extra on their website), when we arrived to collect the car, Ezi in New Zealand required an additional $2,000 as the waiver we paid for through Holiday Autos was not valid. Several other people at the counter at the same time had the same issue. Even the woman at the Ezi counter admitted that it was a common issue and that the insurance was a rip-off. Condition of car very poor. While we… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Dishonest policies”

Written on: 08/01/2017 by appolll (1 review written)

All I can say is stay far away from holidayrentals! I had the unfortunate experience of having to return the vehicle back early since the rental was no longer required. Also they claim its fully paid but when you go to pick up the car many other costs start being added on your bill! When I requested a refund for the days not used, they simply sent me their NO REFUND policy! So I lost $400 on this booking! I will never use them again and will most certainly spread the word! Even though this is… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Misleading description of car”

Written on: 07/01/2017

I hired a car via you from the 27th to 31st Dece 2016 I wanted a 7 seater and was promised a Citroen C4 Grand Picasso or similar What I got was a vauxhall zafira. Although this had 7 seats two of the seats were only suitable for children and not at all similar to the Citroen which can have 7 adults very comfortably The reply I got back was Quote "With respect to the model, the reservation is for a 7 seater vehicle with space for 1 piece of luggage. While the vehicle model is used… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Terrible customer service ”

Written on: 06/12/2016 by Kianikiani (1 review written)

Made an online booking to collect car from airport, when went to collect car was told I need to bring utility bills! I have been hiring cars at airports for 10+ years and have never been asked to do so before! Usually a credit card and driving license is sufficient. When rang holiday autos I received terrible customer service and was not offered a refund although I didn't collect the car and at no point I was told to take utility bill with me! They started quoting point something something in… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Charged TWICE :(”

Written on: 30/11/2016 by Keating266 (1 review written)

Saw price on website paid deposit which i was told was a booking fee when i got to Thrifty. Paid all excess waiver and had to pay it again:( Actual Hire cost was more than shown on website. All round a total disappointment… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“A rip Off”

Written on: 23/11/2016 by Woodard61 (1 review written)

I would not touch this company with a barge pole I got charged twice for a recent hire in Faro airport and they do not bother responding to correspondence about the matter. The one consolation was that the vehicle provided by Budget / Avis was excellent … Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Limited Mileage policy”

Written on: 22/11/2016 by BraidenHenry (1 review written)

Have used Holiday autos many times in the US, Spain and UK, always wary of the different hire companies Fuel and Mileage policy, once t & c checked you normally get a good deal. However just booked 5 days in the UK, (Green Motion car hire) great price, mileage limited to 90 Miles per day, I should be fine with that, once booked and paid for the booking voucher states the Miles had become KM, and each KM over 90 would be 25p. Checked with the car company and they confirmed it was in KM… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Really appalling customer service...”

Written on: 06/11/2016 by ColonelSirBuffyHorseTrouser (1 review written)

Used Holiday Autos to book a hire car in France this year. Completely filled up the car with fuel 5 miles down the road from the airport upon return to drop the car off and which was acknowledged by Hertz Rep. when we handed the keys back - it was only three quarters full when we were first given the car with Hertz though!!. Upon getting back to the UK was sent a bill to refuel the car!! Complained to Holiday Autos as advised we should if we had a problem, provided proof of no wrong doing and… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Terrible car and terrible aftersales service”

Written on: 02/11/2016 by Solihullrambler (1 review written)

If you're even thinking about using Holiday Autos - please think again! We prebooked and paid in advance for a car here in the UK for collection at Paphos Airport via Europcar. Arriving at Paphos we were subjected to super aggressive sales techniques to upgrade and then to take out extra insurances that we had already paid to Holiday Autos which Europcar staff said weren't valid. Having got past that, we were then given the worst car imaginable. We collected in the dark so only in the morning… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“£30 Admin Fee!”

Written on: 01/11/2016 by Garza43 (1 review written)

Returned car at airport with full tank of fuel. Firefly agent confirmed full tank and there would be no charges. Returned home to find €30 had been debited. Contacted Holiday Autos who said it was the fuel policy. I sent them proof that car was returned with a full tank of fuel. Heard nothing back. Chased 4 times. Finally told that the fuel policy is that a €30 admin fee is charged upon return and it was in the small print when I arranged the car hire! Contacted them again to say I… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Please don't risk your holiday with Holiday Autos”

Written on: 23/10/2016

Etrawler (the Dublin based parent of Holiday Autos), should NEVER be used to book your car hire. Use their search engine to fund deals, but then nook direct with the car hire company. Although Holiday Autos will take your money when you make a booking through them, they will not accept any liability whatsoever for the quality of car hire service you receive. Their T&Cs say you have no contract with them, and that your contract will be with the car hire company. If everything runs smoothly, this… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wetheconsumers's Comment

Written on: 23/10/2016

Yes, Holiday Autos are creaming revenue off the top car hire charges without taking any responsibility for the service or accepting any liability when things go wrong. Holiday Autos do not believe users of their booking system are their customers. The parent company is registered in the Irish Republic (likely for corporation tax purposes), and are no better than ticket touts!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Exegesis's Comment

Written on: 15/11/2016

The contract is with the customer and the company who makes the hire - not the ultimate hire company. If I have a problem with a washing m/c my contract is with the retailer, not the manufacturer. This principal was established some years ago to banish unscrupulous suppliers getting out of their responsibilities.
So Holiday Autos is the responsible party, not the company they engage to supply.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Wetheconsumers's Comment

Written on: 23/10/2016

Yes, Holiday Autos are creaming revenue off the top car hire charges without taking any responsibility for the service or accepting any liability when things go wrong. Holiday Autos do not believe users of their booking system are their customers. The parent company is registered in the Irish Republic (likely for corporation tax purposes), and are no better than ticket touts!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments

“Holiday Autos. . After you pay your'e on your own! ”

Written on: 20/10/2016 by chrishart (1 review written)

Booked a car through Holiday Autos online and paid for 8 days rather than 7 as there were a couple of hours overlap. Paid in full and got my voucher to hand over. . .fine . . .but when I returned the car I was charged extra by the Rental company on my credit card. After two months of contacting Holiday Autos to find out why, I'm finally told that because I wrote down a return time of 13.00hrs and I didn't get the vehicle checked back into them until 13.40hrs (all because there was a queue to… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Hidden fees and poor service”

Written on: 07/10/2016 by gxPrater89 (1 review written)

We booked a car in Malta using this hire company. We turned up at the hotel but the company hadn't processed the order within their 48 hour promise. We were offered another car but then we were hit with extra hidden charges. We tried to get these back through an ombudsman but to no avail. Really rubbish experience, use someone else… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Maggiore Rome”

Written on: 03/10/2016 by Millswg499 (1 review written)

Took 2 hours to get the right car, unhelpful rude staff... Left mobile in car on return and called from airport but no reply ... Have emailed and called (they just hang up on you) ... Never got my phone back ... Terrible car hire company… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“We hired a car with holidays autos in July .At...”

Written on: 26/09/2016 by Jean001 (1 review written)

We hired a car with holidays autos in July .At arrival at airport this was with Firefly. After 3 days the car broke down and we were left stranded . The hire company wanted us to travel 2 1/2 hours back to airport for replacement at a cost of £250 taxi. We were told this would be refunded on our return. We declined and were without transport the rest of holiday. After numerous phone calls to holiday autos it was agreed they would refund taxi cost back to airport but would have to claim when… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“terrible experience - avoid at all costs!”

Written on: 20/09/2016 by Harris321 (1 review written)

Booked & paid for a car in Crete for 2 weeks months before we travelled - we arrived at the car rental office to find a huge queue & chaos - the company did not have cars for the customers that had booked with them. We eventually found a car from another company but on our return had to fight for 9 weeks for a refund & no apology was ever offered - terrible customer service!NB This company also uses the name Car Trawler… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Terrible service, extortionate behaviour, the worst! AVOID”

Written on: 19/09/2016 by bigblockofcheese (1 review written)

I booked with Holiday Autos, who subcontract to local rental companies, in my case this was with Firefly. My Holiday Autos reservation was to pick up a vehicle on 15th August at 2.00pm, and we arrived at the rental pickup desk at 2.15pm after clearing passport control. The queue was enormous, and it became apparent that this was because all the customers in front of us were complaining, because they had NO CARS AVAILABLE for the people who had got confirmed reservations that they had paid for… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Credit card nonsense”

Written on: 19/09/2016 by ColbyTrevino (1 review written)

Recently had a car booked for kefalonia at on OK price. Wife secured deposit on her credit card. I was named as lead driver and upon arrival to europcar, tried to pay the balance of 180 and cover the damage excess with my wife's card again. But now they wanted a card in my name, if which I didn't have. They wouldn't accept the payment, wouldn't let us change the name of lead driver and just said it happens often and nothing can be done. No attempt to help but instead seemed happy to leave me… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Completely unresponsive to customer complaints”

Written on: 19/09/2016 by AdamABlackie (3 reviews written)

I booked a car at Venice Airport with Firefly, via Holiday Auto's and was 2 and a half hours delayed on pickup. When I arrived I was told that my booking had been cancelled. They had not and still have not sent any communication explaining this decision to me. There were no cars available as they had been let to other people. I was told bluntly that this was my problem and that Firefly were not responsible for finding me another car. I eventually found a car at spot price via Maggiore car… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview
holidayautos.co.uk