Holiday Autos Reviews - www.holidayautos.co.uk

Click here if this is your business
★★★★☆
4.0 / 5
4859
83% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk

Holiday Autos - www.holidayautos.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

“extra insurance paid for, but had to pay again!”

Written on: 16/05/2016 by 1981Goodman (1 review written)

booked the car through holiday autos but the car was from Drivela. We paid for the the extra insurance to holiday autos and they stated we didnt need any further insurance. When we picked the car up at Alicante we were told that it didnt cover things such as towing if we broke down and the the right tyres etc etc. We were bullied into paying another £100 for the insuranace. We contacted holiday autos on return and told them about this but they were not interested. it seems they take no… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Dreadful experience ”

Written on: 05/05/2016 by Dkole (1 review written)

Rented a car through these guys While at the rental counter, interesting with their rental agent my purse was stolen with credit cards, drivers license and passport. Obviously even once the police report etc was handled I could not rent the car as I had no proof of identity. Even though it happened right in front of them they still charged me the full rental fees I'd never use them again!… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“No benefit”

Written on: 05/05/2016 by Traveler22222222 (1 review written)

This isn't a rental but just a reservation with a rental company. Causes more problems than benefit which was none. The insurance is for the deductible only. Still required to get insurance with the rental company. Will not use again… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Paid for a car, never got one and still no answer to...”

Written on: 28/04/2016 by Nasirh483 (1 review written)

When I arrived at Zurich airport with my confirmed booking voucher I was told by Alamo that they had no booking under this reference. I put Holiday Autos helpdesk in touch with Alamo - on roaming on own expenses! - but it did not help as Alamo maintained they did not recognise the booking and had no available car anyway (high season). I was told to go and find a car at another car rental company at my own expenses (to be sorted out later on)! In urgent need of a car I asked several other… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Incorrect information”

Written on: 12/04/2016 by RobynCox (1 review written)

I was perfectly happy with my actual car hire, which was East Coast Car Hire in Sydney, Australia. But I booked it through Holiday Autos, who gave me completely erroneous information about getting from the airport to the car hire company, claiming East Coast didn't have a shuttle bus from Sydney's Domestic Terminal and that instead I should switch to a more expensive car hire company. As a result I had to get a taxi - only to find East Coast does provide a shuttle. Holiday Autos denied… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“un service client minable”

Written on: 11/04/2016

Nous avions choisi holiday auto pour leur tarif ... quelle a notre erreur! Puisque 3 mois plus tard nous recevons une contravention comme quoi nous n'avons pas payé notre amende ... Alors oui l'amende c'est de notre faute si nous en avons eu une ! toutefois notre très cher intermédiaire francais n'a même pas pris la peine de noter dans ses informations utiles , le fait qu'une taxe d'entrée à Londres devait être payé sur un site internet avant le départ ! ne parlant pas Anglais nous… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Worst customer service”

Written on: 10/03/2016 by swicksy321 (1 review written)

We rented a car in Feb through Holiday Autos before our holiday in Lanzarote. They allocated us Orlando car hire based at the airport, and I paid for a Renault Clio. On arrival we were given a 10 year old clio in poor condition, full of scratches and dents and in a filthy condition, very different from the gleaming brand new clio picture on their website.I requested another vehicle from Orlando but they refused saying they had no others. The old vehicle was underpowered and kept jumping out of… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“DO NOT HIRE VIA THIS COMPANY”

Written on: 20/02/2016

I booked a car to be collected from an airport in Warsaw. When I arrived the desk was closed. I called the number on the desk to be told they didn't have any information about my booking. I had no choice but to pay three times the booking cost and hire the last car that Avis had. It was now dark at the airport. When I returned to the UK I contacted Holiday Autos which is not easy to do as they don't have a customer service number that is easy to find. They said they'd need to contact the hire… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Swicksy321's Comment

Written on: 10/03/2016

Very similar to my experience with this company, poor customer service and not a good experience in dealing with them when things go wrong. To be avoided at all costs.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Fraudulent practices, stay away”

Written on: 18/02/2016 by Lilooka (1 review written)

This company is the worst. I booked a car with them for travel to Mallorca. At the airport, the vendor, Goldcars, flatly refused to rent a car to me, claiming that they don't honor US driving licenses. My license is perfectly legal everywhere in the EU, it's an unlawful and discriminatory requirement. When I contacted Holiday Autos, they claimed that this caveat was in the contract and refused to process a refund. The contract did not contain any restrictions on US licenses… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Holiday Autos -Unable to provide 4x4 car booked and...”

Written on: 17/02/2016

I spent the extra money to reserve a 4x4 automatic Kuga as was expecting winter conditions. When I arrived at the airport, I was told that they did not have any automatic Kugas and was given a Citroen Picasso C4 which is basically just a large car. This is what Enterprise refer as a similar car to the Kuga. The rental contract just says Ford Kuga or similar. I would have thought that if I rented a 4x4 then I would get a 4x4 car of some kind. I phoned the desk at Holiday Autos and they said that… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Swicksy321's Comment

Written on: 10/03/2016

I'm Still waiting for a response from Holiday Autos to a similar complaint. Complete lack of Customer service. Not the best company to use for car hire.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Don't believe their free cancellation promise!”

Written on: 13/01/2016 by ChrisBird62 (1 review written)

HolidayAutos promise free cancellation but this promise is contradicted by onerous conditions and time limits you only discover in the small print. You also need to understand that they are an agent and not a rental company so it becomes really difficult to resolve any problems...and based on my experience with HolidayAutos (actually they are a company called Cartrawler based in Ireland) there are likely to be problems. I was left high and dry in Lisbon with no car and still had to pay the full… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“They apply hidden charges”

Written on: 11/01/2016 by asolakyan (1 review written)

Several months ago my fiance booked a car.  Then upon collecting the keys he was told he had to pay more for a set of winter tires which was NOT included in the total amount due stated in the booking confirmation. The company provides misleading information, which is NOT acceptable at all! We would never use them again, neither are our friends and family going to! Awful experience!… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Mikeymachen's Response to asolakyan's Review

Written on: 19/01/2016

Agree with you. They do have hidden charges. When you complain they just don't want to know.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Swicksy321's reply to Mikeymachen's Comment

Written on: 10/03/2016

One of the worst experiences I've had in car rental was through Holiday Autos. Would avoid using them in future.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments

“Used holiday autos to book car hire through Thrifty/Hertz”

Written on: 11/01/2016 by stution (1 review written)

I searched the web for car hire for 1 week hire to pick up at Fuerteventura Airport December 2015. I made the booking on the web chose the car and followed the link when deciding the car I proceeded to book and a page takes you to insurance waiver that I decided to use at additional cost. All seemed fine until I arrived at Airport and proceeded to hire desk, I was asked for licence and credit card and then told that I needed to pay another 94 euro for insurance when I explained that I had… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Alanr15's Response to stution's Review

Written on: 25/01/2016

A lot of car hire firms (not Holiday Auto who are an agent) TRY to make you pay for additional insurance for a waiver of the initial part of the damage charges (the excess) - but stick to your guns and refuse it if you do not want it or have already paid the additional charge to Holiday Autos.
Also scrutinise the vehicle on pick up and drop off and get their attendant to acknowledge on the car diagram showing ALL damages - and take photos before and after the hire. Sounds hard but it is fairly simple and stops them in their tracks.
Watch out for glass damage with other firms that appear invisible but end up with you paying for a new windscreen if it is not covered by additional insurance but they NEVER replace it but wait instead for the next mug so they get a repair paid many times over by numerous hirers for the same damage - applies to bodywork and fittings like parcel shelves etc.
Finally some firms take the deposit off your credit card and then immediately refund it but you lose out by the two different exchange rates that your credit card firm uses - complain to credit card and have it reimbursed.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment

“Booked car for 5 passengers and got car for 4 passengers!”

Written on: 07/01/2016 by marc_london (1 review written)

Terrible experience with Holiday Autos. I booked a car for 5 passengers and 2 bags for a trip to Switzerland. Instead I received a car for 4 passengers and 1 bag. According to Sixt (car provider) this is a known issue with bookings in Switzerland which Holiday Autos has failed to address. The bottom line is that I couldn't carry all the passengers I needed to carry. I contacted their customer care and they were useless. Providing the right number of seats and luggage capacity seems to a basic… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Awful company - how can they still trade?”

Written on: 04/01/2016 by Ryleel305 (1 review written)

We booked a vehicle in Canada that was the wrong one -completely different and far too small compared with that advertised and which we entered a contract. Ended up paying a large excess for the car advertised and still waiting for them to provide a refund. I reckon most of the reviews of five stars on here are fake. One liners with no detailed information. You have been warned… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“WORST COMPANY TO DEAL WITH”

Written on: 24/12/2015 by JCHETTY (1 review written)

I rented a vehicle for my visit to South Africa for a month. Holiday Autos charged me in full for this rental. I collected the vehicle in South Africa and had to return it after a week of using it as my travel plans had changed. NOTE: I kept my booking and collected the vehicle. 1. Their cancellation and no show policy DOES NOT make mention of changes to rental after collecting the vehicle. 2. I called after returning my car and was told that there will be no refund to me. 3. Further, they… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Extra charges for an illegal car ”

Written on: 16/12/2015 by atenga (1 review written)

The case is still not solved but this is what happened Extra charges of 180 Euros for extra Insurance and fuel cost. Some of it to be repaid if the car was returned with full tank but 40 Euros for in handling fee. 86 Euros for extra insurance although I had one from AXA but the lady at the sales desk informed me that the AXA insurance was only covering collision. Not true when checking with the Swedish customer service representative when I returned On my second day of use, I was stopped by… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“I would give 0 Stars if I could!!!”

Written on: 04/12/2015 by Magdalena121 (1 review written)

I spent quite some time looking at rental cars and charges and I specifically wanted a fuel policy that as full to full. I chose a car through Holiday Autos even though it was actually more money to hire the car in the first place to have the full to full fuel option through the site. At the rental desk they forced us to pay for a tank of fuel on credit card up front. I told them it was a full to full policy and I had never been anywhere in the world where you were charged and then refunded… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“they blame you off if flight delay happens”

Written on: 26/11/2015 by Jamison492 (1 review written)

This is a bad outfit company. They expect me to arrive to the airport exactly same time with standart arrivel time on the ticket, even if its international flight. They cancelled the booking and shut the office because my plane was 1 hour delayed !! I paid £70 for booking + £60 for late nignt taxi fare. They said no refund but they paid £20 on their own free will!! Holiday aoutos say: SORRY, BUT TELL YOUR PILOT TO BE ON TIME ON THE AIRPORT I have a proof of email that thay say exactly… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review

“Apalling customer focus - absolutely terrible - do not use”

Written on: 11/11/2015 by 272Allen (1 review written)

Last bank holiday we booked a car through Holiday Autos to collect at 1.00 p.m. (Saturday) from a well known company in central London. As we were delayed on the underground we arrived at their office at 1.20 to find that they were closed until Tuesday morning. We therefore telephoned the company as requested on the booking confirmation and were told we would receive a full refund. I have since been trying to obtain the refund from Holiday Autios who have not repaid a penny and have to date… Read Full Review

Visit holidayautos.co.uk
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview
holidayautos.co.uk