Loch Fyne Seafood, Loch Fyne Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
8% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Loch Fyne Seafood, Loch Fyne - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Fyne Food in a beautiful setting”

Written on: 04/08/2012 by BillTheGill (4 reviews written)

I just laugh at all the mugs who are writing bad reviews of Loch Fyne when they've been to some stinker of a restaurant tacked onto a shopping centre. If you want Loch Fyne then there's only one place to come...LOCH FYNE!!! The Loch Fyne restaurant is to Fish what the Champagne region of France is to Grapes. Everything there tastes better. Amazing smoked fish, mussels etc in a very cozy restaurant. Fantastic on a cold day! The shop next door is a peach too...so stop moaning and get yorsels… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Not that impressed”

Written on: 07/07/2012

I booked a table for 20 at the Wokmgham restaurant, received a call the day before to check everything was still as planned. I told them yes but that there may be 18-19 of us, was told this was no problem. We arrived the next day to find we had been allocated room for 16..... John said he spoke to me and I told him we only needed 15-16 seats, an absolute lie. They managed to shuffle some tables and seats around to cater for us. I must admit it was very very noisy as the tables were so close… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Ignored-No service”

Written on: 16/02/2012 by LochFynenotfine (1 review written)

My boyfriend and I went to our favourite restaurant, Loch Fyne, somewhere in the southwest, for our first Valentine's Day together and to each have our favourite meals. There were about 5 tables of customers when we arrived, 2-5 people at each table. Not busy. We sat there for 20 minutes with no service at all and our orders not taken. We were completely ignored at a restaurant where we WERE regular customers. We quietly walked out and went to another restaurant. My boyfriend ended up feeling… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Time to Forget about Loch Fyne”

Written on: 02/09/2011 by Proflair (1 review written)

Loch Fyne - Its a long way from Fyne. Having booked a table for 5 in the restaurant in bristol were were in for a real experiance....not a good one. Of the meals we had here is what you can expect. Mussles - Over cooked, old and falling apart in the shells Mushroom Gratin - Not so much gratin as mushroom stewed with soggy bread on the top. Prawns - Acceptable but no better than frozen stuff from a packet Seafood Platter - Over cooked salmon, Crispy sea bass, Rocks of Scallops and gritty… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Have passed Edinburgh restaurant many times and it...”

Written on: 21/09/2010

Have passed Edinburgh restaurant many times and it looked impressive. Booked a table for 4 on a Sun night in September. The only time available 8pm. Soup arrived cold. Lemon sole wasn't, particularly fresh, it smelt very fishy and we couldn't eat it. Would have liked a second bottle of wine but waitress disappeared to speak to other staff and gave the impression she just wanted to finish up for the night. .Given very high prices they charge it was extremely disappointing… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We booked a table at the Loch fyne in Wokingham. We...”

Written on: 11/07/2010

We booked a table at the Loch fyne in Wokingham. We were herded into a noisy area at the centre of the resturant next to a big party. We ordered a starter, the crab seafood platter and dessert.

The overall service as very slow and the waitress ignored us several times when we tried to get her attention and ask about progress. The starter was fine, but we could see that the seafood on the main course had not been cleaned properly. Their was a lot of prawns and not much seafood for the price… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Visited the Oxford Loch Fyne in June 2010. The place...”

Written on: 03/07/2010

Visited the Oxford Loch Fyne in June 2010. The place was really nice and the service/staff spot on. The starter of Thai fish cakes was nice, but too salty. My main course was a fish platter (sea bass, prawn, salmon, scallops). For £16.50 the portion size was a disgrace. Even with a starter/sides there was insufficient food. If you have a decent appetite look elsewhere… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Just for a treat two of us dined at the branch in...”

Written on: 28/05/2010 by Fell Faulty (2 reviews written)

Just for a treat two of us dined at the branch in Henley on Thames. Atmosphere, setting and welcome were faultless. Length of time to get served, acceptable. Mussels were very nice but just not quite "steaming" hot. Main course for me was grilled mixed platter. The fish was very heavily salted and overcooked. Forget soft white flakes of sea bass, think crispy. Cod in batter was also said to be too salty. Was slightly unwell next morning, details too graphic to publish… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“The Edinburgh/Newhaven Loch Fyne Seafood restaurant...”

Written on: 26/08/2009 by muffindog (1 review written)

The Edinburgh/Newhaven Loch Fyne Seafood restaurant used to be a favourite. I handed back my order of Mussels twice, many empty, some dead. No apologies offered.
The chips used to be fresh, cooked in dripping, now soggy nasty McCain offerings. The plaice still had a nasty bit of gut in it.
The house red was powerful but all 3 glasses we had were spoiled by sediment.
Pity we were not warned of the sad deterioration in standards!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“We attended as a large group of professionals for a...”

Written on: 04/06/2009

We attended as a large group of professionals for a casual meeting at loch fyne. The food was dangerously undercooked. Many of the orders were wrong in each course and we had to be content with whatever they chose to serve us. Many items on the menu were out of stock. Each time they messed up the order there was no apology. Overall a very unpleasant experience with poorly cooked food and terrible service… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“We had booked lunch for four peple at 1.30pm on a...”

Written on: 23/06/2008 by melaniem (1 review written)

We had booked lunch for four peple at 1.30pm on a Saturday afternoon (last week June 14th 2008). We thought we would be late by about 5 mintues (we weren't in the end), and we called to let them know on the phone. We arrived on time and the despite having booked a table had to wait for 10 minutes in a queue at the door to be seated. We ordered a £40 bottle of wine, which was not poured, or offered to taste and was just placed on the table. This was finished before we had even eaten anything as… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
☆☆☆☆☆

“When travelling in the area, we decided at lunchtime...”

Written on: 29/03/2005 by NOVAR1 (8 reviews written)

When travelling in the area, we decided at lunchtime that it would be nice to try the Loch Fyne Seafood for dinner, went in at noon and asked to book a table for the evening. We were told that there was no need, as the restaurant had plenty of room, so we left it. On our return around 7pm, we were asked for our booking, and as we had none, we were turned away. Our story failed to impress. - Staff need to sort their attitude, and management are best advised to replace them fast… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview