Welcome Cottages Reviews - www.welcomecottages.com

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.3 / 5
24% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Welcome Cottages www.welcomecottages.com - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★☆

“good place to stay”

Written on: 19/10/2014 by xiReese43 (1 review written)

The house we stayed at was not as good this year as it was last year. The garden needed a lot of attention,& we only visited in early September so it should not of looked the way it did. Liked the shower& plenty of hot water… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“lovely place to stay”

Written on: 22/09/2014

springtide in hunstanton,norfolk lovely clean property,quiet location,no need to use the car everyday,close to centre of hunstanton… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Mews cottage Tintagel”

Written on: 20/08/2014 by happy daughter (3 reviews written)

We arrived at 4:30 on a Friday, had difficulty getting into the "key Safe" but whilst trying noticed one of the garden chairs had a broken back, and the area needed a tidy up. Finally we got inside, could be a nice cottage but was very tired looking. Went upstairs and checked the bedrooms, and found a half empty beer can under one of the single beds. Next day we decided to do some laundry (we had a small child with us and they make a lot of washing) tried the dryer, didn't work, called the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“elderberry cottage somerset”

Written on: 11/08/2014

Cottage clean and spacious but basic. looked tired and needed some TlC e.g new throws on sofas which were faded and worn. Mugs stained and had to buy our own. Only three cereal bowls one was cracked and one chipped. Dinner plate chipped. Poorly stocked kitchen with incomplete set of cutlery. No hooks for towels. Not enough clothes hangers. No hooks in bedroom. No battery in kitchen clock which had stopped. Kettle should have been PAT tested in June. Also told to bring tea towels although this… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Waterside Mill, North Elmham”

Written on: 05/08/2014 by Baird165 (1 review written)

Very nice and well presented apartment in an old water mill. The setting on the River Wensum was beautiful, private grounds were stunning and very well maintained. The apartment was very clean with fairly new fixtures and fittings. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend this accommodation, we also consider it good value for money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Cottage at Cilau Aeron - ref W42509 West Wales”

Written on: 15/06/2014 by Corinnlo (1 review written)

Stayed 7-14 June 2014. Lovely location and great accommodation. Just one minor thing on Health & Safety note, sponge or rubber buffers needed on end of shelf supports where the microwave is mounted on wall. You can hit your head on this when bending down to load washing machine (done this 3 times). We have regularly booked with welcome cottages over a few years and always pleased with accommodation especially being dog friendly. Corinne & Rick from Essex… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“the cottage st cyrus”

Written on: 08/06/2014

very disapointing dark dirty and depressing. garden unsuitable for dogs as very overgrown, wild is not the word we would use,and not as pictured could not sit outside glass,slugs everywhere and not gated so not secure. cottage full of spiders, ceilings held together with sticky paper, could not open windows as covered in slugs but on the up side beach fantastic… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Tsitika, Torgormack. Beauly”

Written on: 08/06/2014 by JoyceG1 (1 review written)

A jewel in the crown, my husband and I had a fabulous welcome for our 2 weeks stay from our Scottish hosts along with various gifts. The apartment was well equipped, pristine and tasteful and the view from the balcony revealed a panorama of breath taking scenery, including an abundance of wildlife. A resident red squirrel entertained in the tree outside. Only a short drive from Inverness and an ideal touring point for numerous other beauty resorts… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Keep well away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Written on: 30/04/2014 by BennettFischer (1 review written)

First time i have booked with welcome cottages, never again, i booked a holiday for july 2014 in march hoping to give me time to pay i paid the deposit only to be told i have to pay the full balance in april, I fnd that disgusting i have just had yet again another cancer scare in which i wont know until the end of this week may 2nd, i explained this to them they said i will have to pay for a doctors note, also they will keep most of my money due to canceling if i have to, HOW… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“The Smithy, North Brentor, Devon”

Written on: 07/03/2014 by rockape716 (1 review written)

A great little cottage for the couple wanting to get away from it all. Plenty of walks locally to keep fit also some great pubs. The property has a recently refurbished shower room, very clean and well designed. Just the job after a long muddy walk on the moors. Highly recommended, we will stay there again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“The Worst Customer Service Ever”

Written on: 28/02/2014 by EmeliaHuffman213 (1 review written)

Website broke, took twice as much money off me. Tried to get it sorted, so found out what I needed to get them to do from my bank, and contacted. First call lasted ages, at my expense. When I checked they'd not sent the fax I asked for, and when I rang to find out where it was, they asked would I like to make a payment! They then tried to go through all the same conversation as I went through last time. Don't any of them make notes? Don't any of them actually do what they promise? Won't use… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Prospect Cottage turned out to be 'Poor Prospects Cottage'”

Written on: 12/11/2013 by Peeceegee (1 review written)

Welcome Cottages' website is easy to use and the cottage we chose - Prospect Cottage, Kirklevington, Yorkshire looked and sounded quite nice. Welcome Cottages described it as a 'Cosy holiday bungalow' and quoted good reviews. Total fiction - the cottage was dreadful! It was thirty years out of date, cold, damp and smelly, dirty and dingy. They said it has 3 bedrooms - it doesn't as one 'bedroom' consists of bunkbeds positioned in the 'L' shaped hallway. We discussed ways in which we could… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Barlocco Cottage Kirkcudbright”

Written on: 13/10/2013 by Hubsynsue (1 review written)

We found this an ideal retreat for us and our dogs. The cottage is comfortable and spacious with lovely views. The outdoor space is ideal for the dogs and the walk down to the beach was just perfect each morning. Plenty of walking to be found and we would make a point of walking to Loch Fleet from Dromore. We wouldn't hesitate in using the cottage again although the track up to the cottage could do with improvement. The only fault!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“If you think of using this company think again and don't! ”

Written on: 15/08/2013

Cottage ref : W14684 (Le Chalard France) We expected a warm welcome but arrived at a gite with massive electrical problems obviously going back several years judging from the comments left in the guest book. If you put on anymore than the hob, everything tripped. We had to buy a bar b que as the one supplied filthy and not fit for use. Thick dust under furniture, filthy cloths in kitchen and bathroom, ants everywhere in kitchen on arrival, overgrown garden & the splash pool was used by… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“The Stables Longmoor Farm Ennerdale Bridge”

Written on: 13/08/2013 by Tanner4 (1 review written)

Not warned in advance of a bat colony there! Bedroom carpets very dirty. Beds incredibly hard. Overall cleanliness lacking. Certainly not worth £800 per week. Also extremely isolated. We were all very disappointed… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“As described”

Written on: 22/06/2013

Booked a holiday cottage for 4 nights in June through welcome cottages. Found welcome cottages website fairly simple to use and particularly liked their pet friendly search feature. Booking was simple with confirmation and details all emailed in advance. Like the fact a few days before the trip we had an email suggesting things like cancel your newspaper deliveries. The cottage was as stated on the description, very nice, great facilities and equipment. Cottage owner was pleasant… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Be aware, unscrupulous.”

Written on: 14/03/2013 by jimmytown (1 review written)

I made two mistakes when booking through this company. Assuming I was booking a cottage with no problems and also then assuming I could cancel the booking plenty ahead of time (over 6 months) and maybe only lose out on the initial deposit of £25. I find out the cottage is up for sale on Rightmove, this had me thinking I need to find an alteranative. Be warned Welcome Cottages will require you to find an alternate with them. If you do not and be honest with them you will have to pay £100 ( a… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“ "All properties are cleaned between lets!"”

Written on: 09/11/2012

After returning from a holiday in Wales, I was upset to find a phone message from the cottage owner stating she had to send in a team of cleaners and was sending us the bill! Welcome Cottages promised to get in touch with the owner, and let me know what was going on. They never returned my call, and later said it was between us and the cottage owner. Every cottage I have ever stayed at, I have left in a tidy state, with no problems whatsoever. On their website Welcome Cottages claim "All… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst 'cottage' ever”

Written on: 06/10/2012 by DaveG38 (1 review written)

Booked a cottage with Welcome Cottages at Ilfracombe in the grounds of a hotel called the Darnley. Prior to the stay, welcome was hardly the term I'd use when my wife phoned the owners with a couple of queries, the attitude being that they were too busy to consider anything we might want. On arrival, we were met by a man who was a cross between Basil Fawlty and Norman Bates from Pscho - not a good start! The cottage was at the bottom of the garden and was so overhung by trees that on the grey… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

St11943's Response to DaveG38's Review

Written on: 30/10/2012


Re:Camelot, ref, 25795. Norfolk

We had a very good holiday at this cottage. Everything we required was at the cottage, there was extras not mentioned in the discription which added to our comfort and pleasure.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★☆

“Buggatti house ledbury”

Written on: 20/09/2012

stayed at Buggatti house saturdy 15th sept my wife was attacked by the owners dog 6pm just as we were going out of the door for evening meal my wife picked our dog chest high to get it out of reach but it put cuts to our small dogs stomach and my wife feet scratches welcome cottages are in process of investigateing but for people which my use this property please be aware if you have small children or a dog there my be aproblem. the cottage is very nice from what time we speny there we left… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview