Auto Europe Car Hire Reviews - www.auto-europe.co.uk

★★★☆☆
2.8 / 5
49% of users recommend this
  • Customer Service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk
Auto Europe Car Hire - www.auto-europe.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“500€ blocked on credit card by EUROPCAR Lisbon 10...”

Written on: 19/12/2014 by JasonGustafson1972 (1 review written)

I returned a car to Europcar Lisbon 10 days ago, I was told the 500€ deposit taken had been automatically refunded to my card. 10 days later and after 3 international phone calls to very unhelpful people, 3 un-answered emails to the customer service email address (supplied on Europcars website) the money is still blocked on my credit card. I checked with my bank and they said there has been no authorisation received from Europcar to cancel the 500€ charge, this leaves me with no available… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Car Hire from National at Derry Airport”

Written on: 18/12/2014 by Fostermi431 (1 review written)

The Staff at the National desk (A young man and girl) were very pleasent and helpful, explaining that if the car was to be taken out of Northen Ireland then the car would not be insured. and advised an additional rate for the period of the car Hire. Which that did happen visiting family. So the Insurance was upgraded. The Guy I was speaking to did not highlight the fact that there was damage to the car that had been picked up previous. (before my hire) I only spotted the dent on the wheel… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Do not believe their "Best Rate Guarantee" claim.”

Written on: 12/12/2014

I have used Auto-Europe for many years and without doubt they used to simply be the best, totally trustworthy and honest. On every occasion that I submitted a lower rate and asked to take advantage of their best price guarantee the competitive rate was checked and the cost of my rental was reduced accordingly. However in the last year or so their ethos has changed completely. They will now do anything to get out of honouring their claim. They are now simply dishonest. Let me substantiate what I… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 18/12/2014

Dear Client,
We are very sorry to hear this; Auto Europe do strive to commit with our price match policy and are concerned to learn that you feel this was not the case for your rental.
Please do contact our customer service team so that we can look into this further.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Very helpful when arrangements changed at short notice”

Written on: 07/12/2014 by Kieran443 (1 review written)

Had to re-arrange car booking three hours notice before due to collect car. changed to car hire in next week, with no additional costs or issues… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Excellent Service”

Written on: 04/12/2014 by Westcz18 (1 review written)

The lady at National car hire at The City of Derry airport is very friendly and polite.. she has great customer service and a pleasure to do business with. The whole process was fantastic, from the initial booking of the car through autoeurope, to handing the car back on my return journey. I would recommend autoeurope to everyone Thanks Stephen… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good cars, good value”

Written on: 26/11/2014 by 133Meredith (1 review written)

The cars are clean and in good condition , and good value compared to other providers… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“No interest when there's a problem”

Written on: 20/11/2014 by 1973Fuller (1 review written)

We hired a car through Auto Europe in July 2014 we got the car from Firefly. The car itself was old and in poor condition but did the job required. Upon returning home we found numerous transactions on our credit card that we weren't expecting. When this was queried with Firefly they told us to go to Auto Europe as we booked with them. Some charges were for fuel and Auto Europe have said we need to send in photo's of the fuel gage. We did get lots of holiday snaps but not one of the fuel gage… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 26/11/2014

Dear Client,
We are very sorry to learn you have not received the high level of customer care that we endeavour to provide to all of our customers.
Without a voucher reference number I am unable to look into this further; please do contact our Customer Service Team and mark the email for the attention of The Manager and advise that you have posted this review and have been advised to re-send the complaint in so it can be looked at by the management team.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“AUTOEUROPE BAD EXPERIENCE”

Written on: 16/11/2014 by Kimberly183 (1 review written)

I rent a car by internet for 3 days in Catania, total price 100 euro. Good price, but when I went to get the car in Catania Airport I discovered that GoldCar third party selected by Autoeurope to provide the service, wanted additional 130 euro for an assurance of block 1400 euro on credit card without that. Not clear conditions bad experience … Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 18/11/2014

Dear Client,
We are sorry to learn that you were not happy with your car hire experience. In a bid to be as transparent as we can on our website we do list the suppliers names and also high-light the suppliers terms and conditions.
For further information on this please do contact our reservations team.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment

Kristiebrown1's Comment

Written on: 20/11/2014

Is it listed that you charge for an additional driver when actually there was only one driver of the vehicle??!!. This is a cut and paste response which serves no value!! I have also contacted your reservations team on several occasions and got nowhere, so why would i want to contact them again?

Reply to this comment

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 03/12/2014

Dear Client

The additional driver would only be charged if they were named on the paperwork completed when you collected the vehicle. If you have a copy of this you can check if a 'second' driver is noted and has been signed for.

If you do not have a copy of the paperwork our customer service team can obtain this from the supplier.

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments Read Verified Business Response
★★★☆☆

“Good and bad”

Written on: 16/11/2014 by MalakiHalsey (1 review written)

Great car, great service, but a BIG but. The power steering broke down during a drive on the motorway; a very scary experience. Changing the car took longer than expected and I was asked why I didn't return the faulty car with a full tank of petrol - well, that kinda wasn't my priority at the time… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 18/11/2014

Dear Client,
We are sorry to hear this, should a vehicle break down we expect our suppliers to act quickly and provide the best possible service.
Please do feel free to contact us directly should you wish to provide further feedback.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Rip-off”

Written on: 15/11/2014 by Irentalotofcars (1 review written)

We rented a car including insurance for 12 days in Malta. When we arrived at the airport, we had to wait in a queue for over an hour at the GOLDCAR rentals desk. When it was finally our turn and we mentioned this, we were told that this was the normal wait time. As we thought we had covered everything required in paying for our rental, we expected to have a smooth reservation experience and pick up our car fairly easily - NO. We were given the option of paying a deposit of 1500 euros or paying… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 18/11/2014

Dear Client,
We are sorry to learn that your car hire experience was not a pleasurable one. In a bid to be as transparent as we can be with the suppliers terms and conditions we do high light these on our website and also list the conditions on your car hire voucher.
Although underhand tactics by the local depot staff are not acceptable and your review will be passed to our management team.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★★

“Everything was as advertised”

Written on: 13/11/2014 by 336England (1 review written)

It was not the first time to book the car with Auto Europe. They always have good prices, but sometimes the cars are off airport. This time the price was really the best available, even lower then on the Hertz web site. The provider, Hertz was, of course, on the airport. The car was almost new, with only 13000 kms on the clock. Everything went extremely well so we are happy customers… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Disappointed with cleanliness of vehicle”

Written on: 08/11/2014 by MelanyO'Neal (1 review written)

Recently hired an economy class vehicle from Brive airport (HERTZ). The car had not been cleaned, the inside of the windows were extremely dirty causing poor vision, the outside was covered in dried mud and the inside smelt strongly of stale cigarette smoke. Very disappointed as have never experienced such a filthy car before with Autoeurope… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 10/11/2014

Dear Mrs O'Neal
Thank you for taking the time to provide Auto Europe with your feedback.
This will be passed to our management team, who will work with Hertz and the local depot to ensure this does not happen in the future.
We do expect all of our suppliers to ensure that vehicles are provided in a road worthy and clean condition and we are sorry to learn that this was not the case for your booking.
If you would like to contact us with further information please do so.
Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Very happy with this service”

Written on: 08/11/2014 by Brice399 (1 review written)

Car hire very reasonable. Friendly service on telephone. Be back… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“great”

Written on: 04/11/2014 by Esther77 (1 review written)

no hassle, very efficient, can't fault it… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Great value, no hassle car rental”

Written on: 03/11/2014 by mj.robinson (1 review written)

As usual auto-Europe came up with by far the best value offer, this time with Hertz. Booking was easy and has good cancellation options. Car rental was what it should be - no hassle pick up with the voucher, car in good condition etc… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★★

“Always use auto-europe”

Written on: 01/11/2014 by Leeski (1 review written)

Previously used other car hire companies but for some years now have used auto-europe for my trips to europe. Hire process is straight forward and the car is always ready when we are through baggage collection… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Duplicate credit card charge”

Written on: 30/10/2014 by fjungi39 (1 review written)

I booked a car in the US on 8/25/14 for pick-up in Brussels, Belgium, on 9/24. I checked the GPS box on the application form and Auto Europe charged USD 211.50 to my credit card on the same day. This debit was supposed to cover all charges. When I got to Hertz in Brussels on 9/24, they told me that the GPS was not included. I needed the car and didn't dispute this point. When I returned the car on 9/29, I dropped the car off at Brussels airport instead of at the train station in Brussels and I… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 30/10/2014

Dear Client

Please contact our customer service team and they will handle this with Hertz on your behalf.

Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment

Mellani's Response to fjungi39's Review

Written on: 07/11/2014

I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME THING! It is very frustrating as I keep calling them to check up on the issue and I get the same response - That they're still waiting for HERTZ to respond to them. When I called the last time, they said I need to wait 20 days because that's their waiting period. When I called back 20 days later, they said again that they will communicate to HERTZ AGAIN and give them an "ultimatum" (for the third time..and mind you every time they wait..its a 20-day wait period for me). It's just seems like a waiting game and both just seems to be pointing their fingers.

Reply to this comment

Caerus88's Response to fjungi39's Review

Written on: 03/11/2014

I've had the same overcharging problem with Hertz in Rome and Europe car in Paris. I agree with the business response comment. Twice I've had to contact autoeurope to straighten out extra, unjustified charges. They handled it quickly and the money was returned to my credit card. The problem is the rental company not the broker (AutoEurope). Go through AutoEurope not your credit card company.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“DO NOT USE AUTO EUROPE”

Written on: 27/10/2014 by Csirju (1 review written)

Booked a car with them in the us. Gues what, the car they reserved had 64000 miles on it. No way will I ever deal with this poor service… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 28/10/2014

Dear Client,

We are sorry to learn that you were not happy with the vehicle provided by our supplier.
As a car hire broker we expect all of our partners to provide all vehicles in a clean and road worthy condition.
Please note we have a number of different suppliers that we deal with and you may contact us at any point during your rental.
Many Thanks
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Auto-Europe excess refund cover is a big SHAM –...”

Written on: 24/10/2014 by kavinda (1 review written)

Auto-Europe excess refund cover is a BIG SHAM – AVOID IT LIKE THE PLAGUE. Took the Excess refund cover for a car hired at Lisbon airport through Auto-Europe/Hertz. The fender of the passenger side got scratched. No other vehicle was involved. Contact the Police to get a report. They refused to give a report as no other vehicle was involved. I received an invoice from the rental company HERTZ for 374EUR a week after I returned the car. Auto-Europe is refusing to pay the excess saying that I… Read Full Review

By Autoeuropeuk

Written on: 28/10/2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for your feedback, I have asked that our management team look at your file and answer you directly.

The Excess Refund Programme we have in place works well and the average turn around time for refunds, with all documents submitted, is 2-3 weeks.

However we do understand that there are cases when paperwork may be missing.

A member of our team will be in contact.

Thank you for your patience.

Kind Regards
Melanie
Auto Europe

Reply to this comment
Report this review
★★★★☆

“unexpected upgrade”

Written on: 23/10/2014 by ConnorHarding365 (1 review written)

I booked the cheapest model available and when we got to the parking bay we found an Audi A3. At no extra cost. … Read Full Review

Report this review
overview