Shepherd & Dog, Ipswich Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
1.5 / 5
16% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Quality of service

  • Quality of food

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Shepherd and Dog, Ipswich - Ask a question now

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★★☆☆

“Value for money, poor service”

Written on: 23/05/2012 by RClayt (1 review written)

I visited two Wednesday evening's running in May 2012. As a Diamond Club member I cannot fault the value for money side of the meal although the drinks available via the Diamond club menu should be printed on the menu rather than having to ask. Both times we chose the Carvery and that aspect of the meal was fine. As someone else has pointed out the drinks ordered with the meal did not arrive until some ten minutes after we had started eating. What was worse was the dessert did not arrive for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“First vist here........and LAST!!!!”

Written on: 20/05/2012

We took my Mother-in-Law here for Saturday lunch on 19th May 2012. We were greeted and seated within a few minutes of our arrival. At first sight everything looked quite encouraging, the restaurant was reasonably full and on looking at the menu the choice looked varied and interesting. However, we decided to go for the Carvery as my Mother-in-Law said that she had eaten here before and the Carvery was good. Before heading to the Carvery we were asked for our drinks choice. The choice that day… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Really enjoyed our meal”

Written on: 17/02/2012 by jacquiebg (1 review written)

We had a delicious meal and I'm saddened to have read such negative reviews, my husband and I had a lovely time. We eat out regularly and as we were visiting the area we decided on a carvery style roast meal for our tea. The Shepherd and Dog was easy to find, it had a great atmosphere inside (ambient lighting and stylish decor) despite being quiet - just gone 6pm on a Wednesday, though it soon filled up; which must say something for the quality of the food and service. We were warmly greeted… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Want to be treated like you're just a number?”

Written on: 30/01/2012

I'll keep this brief.. not a good experience for the following reasons: - Waiting: Expect to wait for a table (over an hour), then a waitress to take your order (20 mins), then the food (40+ mins). Expect to give up a large chunk of your sunday afternoon in this establishment and not in a good way. The only service which is quick is when they are taking your money! - The staff are unhelpful, clearly stressed and frankly quite rude. The motto "the customer is always right" does not apply here… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Army Barracks or Restaurant?”

Written on: 22/09/2011

This restaurant has all the regimentation of an army barracks, When you enter, the manager stands at the entrance, when he deems to look up at you from what he is doing he TELLS you to wait in the bar area, when asked if we could sit at a table as I had a disabled person with me he said he didn't know which table we would be sitting at so we had to sit in the bar. (there were empty restaurant tables clearly visible from the entrance). This clearly is a ploy to encourage you to spend more money… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“A Great Find.”

Written on: 06/08/2011 by JasonS98 (1 review written)

We went here during a break away, to celebrate my husband's 40th. The service was excellent, the waitress even advised how much longer our main course was going to be, and when our mixed grill arrived, we enjoyed every bit of it. Good presentation and tasty. We would throughly recommend this restuarant, and a shame to read of some of the bad reviews, which we could not understand… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Enjoyable food, and good value for money.”

Written on: 03/08/2011

Entered the establishment and was told to take a seat in the bar as my table was unavailable (table for 2), questioned this as there were clearly tables available but was informed that guest were bought into the restaurant in a timely manner to ensure a prompt and efficient service, this was not a problem and felt embarrassed i had doubted the way the restaurant was run. I ordered my drinks and sat down in the bar and was called through to my table 20 minutes later. For started i had a black… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingdog's Comment

Written on: 22/09/2011

I think you were sucked into the spiel about sitting in the bar to \"ensure a prompt and efficient service\". I think you are directed to the bar so as you spend more time and more money buying drinks before you eat. As you say there are always empty tables available when this happens so there is no excuse to be directed to the bar.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“The older lady (possibly manageress) who is on the...”

Written on: 27/04/2011

The older lady (possibly manageress) who is on the front desk is very miserable and unwelcoming -- it's like she's doing you a favour and is your customer. Carvery food not too bad though… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 05/07/2011

yes I believe she is the owner with her husband!!And totally agree -its like she is doing you a favour and not cheaply

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Gaviscon's Comment

Written on: 20/05/2012

She seated us as well, and you are right, she was a right miserable type, easily spotted from your description. However, give her the benefit of the doubt if this was the only job you could get and you had to work somewhere like this, you would be miserable too!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Sniffingdog's Comment

Written on: 22/09/2011

The (possibly) manager who was there on my visit is also no more welcoming so don't expect things to improve.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“well, i just wish i had found this site before we...”

Written on: 21/04/2011

well, i just wish i had found this site before we went... dire, no other word for it. we booked a table for 7.30....not late you would think ?....waitress ( Jess more about her later )ordered meal at 7.45 it was 8. 25 before we got just 3 starters, 2 soup and one posh bead and tomato's. tomato's straight out of the fridge, cold ciabatta. soup was like dishwater, we challenged the manager about it being homemade and he said it was thin as nobody liked it when we had it thicker....LOL… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I went to the Shepherd & Dog with my family for my...”

Written on: 13/02/2011

I went to the Shepherd & Dog with my family for my daughters 11th Birthday. There were nine of us but we were told there wasn't enough of us to pre book, but when we arrived it took half an hour to sort a table despite the restaurant being half empty. Then as 2 of us weren't having the carvery we then had to wait a further 1 hour 15 minuets for our food. The food was second rate, in fact the chain pubs do better food at half the cost. We complained to the manager about our disappointment, He… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“when writing this review I am dissapointed that 1 star...”

Written on: 02/02/2011

when writing this review I am dissapointed that 1 star is the lowest I can give, bnecause in my opinion that is far too high. Last night against my better judgement was persuaded to go again despite having horrendous times before.

I ordered what i felt was a safe bet in a Shepherds Pie, what was delivered was basically a dish of potatoe with I can only describe a 1mm layer of meat at the bottom.

The staff were totally disinterested in what the have served and were too wrapped up in having… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Attended the Shepherd and Dog this evening for a...”

Written on: 03/11/2010

Attended the Shepherd and Dog this evening for a family meal to celebrate a birthday. Never tasted such a poor carvery in all the places I have eaten. Meat was too tough to chew. Yorkshire Puddings were clearly Tesco value - tasteless and dry. Vegetables were under cooked, parsnips and roast potatoes were over cooked and everything was foul. Out of 5 desserts on the menu, 3 were already sold out and we were at a 6.30pm sitting on a week night!!!!! Will never visit again… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“My parents are (used to be ) regulars here and have...”

Written on: 29/09/2010

My parents are (used to be ) regulars here and have often taken me here when I visit them in Felixstowe. Not again. The carvery was aweful,dry meat, poorly cooked vegetables. Other tables were complaining about the food. When my parents (who are in their 80's) also complained , the supervisor (?) was extemly rude and accused them of trying to jump on the complaints bandwagon to get a refund. A truly miserable experience. Wont be back until the management changes… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I went to the Shephard and dog last night, it was a...”

Written on: 22/09/2010

I went to the Shephard and dog last night, it was a big family affair for my sisters birthday, we have been many times before and have been pleased with the meal, service etc, but last night he service we recieved was awful. the waiting staff were very rude and abrubt.We were seated in a the corner with 2 different tables put together that made us feel uncomfatable as almost had to sit on each others lap.
Before when we have been they did a set price for 2 or 3 courses..now you pay seperate… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“give a miss next time,had a meal only yesterday Sept...”

Written on: 11/09/2010

give a miss next time,had a meal only yesterday Sept 10th at the sheppard & dog & was very dissappointed.Been before & its been passable,but yesterdays meal was the worst i,ve had.Vegetables were all under cooked,the cabbage had,nt seen hot water im sure.Parsnips & potatoes were hard on the edges & dry.Yes the surroundings are ok & the price very reasonable,but thats no excuse for the bad food.For what its worth i did complain to the waitress. At least i know where i won't be dining for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I agree thoroughly with the comments on here. The...”

Written on: 17/08/2010

I agree thoroughly with the comments on here. The Greeting staff are extremly rude and brusque. The waiting time unrealistic. The only reason I did not walk out the last time was I had my elderly lesd than mobile Dad with me. We were then seated at one of the high tables and bench seating.....which i refused obviously not suitable for someone who had to walk with a walking frame!Food tastless . The waiting staff as far as I recall were ok… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What an absolute DISGRACE. Waited over an hour for a...”

Written on: 08/08/2010 by gem611 (1 review written)

What an absolute DISGRACE. Waited over an hour for a table, which we were informed aobut. When ordering our food, we were told most of our choices had sold out................. Oh but we have been busy today, was the answer............
My starter was burnt and my main meal was not cooked to my liking (steak).

VERY VERY VERY rude manager and staff. When we left we were informed we were not welcome back there. Don't worry we shall NOT be returning… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Had to wait over an hour and was told when asked how...”

Written on: 02/08/2010

Had to wait over an hour and was told when asked how long before our table was ready (buy some crisps from the bar)very rude lady said.They had no yorkshire puddings left and when i asked the chef if there was any more his reply was im sure you can live without a yorkshie mate, with that we left and went to the farmhouse pub… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“What a dreadful experience. Carvery, food dismal,...”

Written on: 19/04/2010

What a dreadful experience. Carvery, food dismal, uneatable, not to be repeated… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“I seriously dislike this restaurant unfortunately...”

Written on: 01/04/2010

I seriously dislike this restaurant unfortunately however my in- laws love it- i fail to see why. The carvery is cheap for a reason- the meat is dry and has clearly been kept on a hot plate for a long time- the veg is dry, tasteless at times still frozen (particularly the parsnips)the roast potatoes should be re-named as half hearted attempted at roast potatoes and you have to wait for ages in the bar when there clearly are tables free. the staff are ok but don't expect them to go out of their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview