John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★☆☆☆
2.2 / 5
38% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park

John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park
John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park
John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park
John Fowler, Ilfracombe Holiday Park

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★☆☆☆☆

“appalling!!!”

Written on: 30/08/2014 by gooner1960 (1 review written)

Just returned from a week at this so-called holiday park & very disappointed with everything about the place, ie: accommodation was absolute rubbish,beds hard as nails,carpet filthy & bed settee & falling apart . flatscreen tv lol what a joke you need binoculars to watch it, its that small. Food on site was not very good but very good Indian opposite site. Also the prices they charge to stay there are a complete joke!!. The company & site have lost my custom thats for sure!!… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Dodgy Council Estate”

Written on: 05/05/2014 by Pattersonva70 (1 review written)

If you want concrete chalets, rusted metal, empty planters, flooded swimming pool changing rooms, crazy golf made out of bricks, run down play area, no attempt at landscaping, stains on the furniture and kicked in doors, then Ilfracombe Holiday park is for you...Was there anything good about this park? Erm...let me think...in a word...NO. We couldn't believe what they charge at the height of the season - rip off just isn't in it. For the sake of a little planting, some painting and decent… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Grotty”

Written on: 27/10/2013

We booked this for my birthday & anniversary in October 2013 ,we were told we had been upgraded to a 3 bed apt ,when we found it was right at the very end we opened the door & was smelly & grotty stains on the carpet ,dirty bed settie. We went back to reception to ask if they had one nearer & she said no but have got one over the main road .we said no because we had a disabled son then she said we could have a caravan in Combe Martin ..when we asked if we could have the one that we booked she… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“Infracombe John Fowler holiday park”

Written on: 26/09/2013 by ojonathan (2 reviews written)

Staff were very pleasant and warm. Swimming pool nice and warm and did not stink of chlorine Accommodation basic though suited our needs- nice views, well maintained. Plenty of parking in the area. Nice high street, close by also. Supermarket in walking distance Scenery of a nice mix, ie quiet/ picturesque beaches/ harbour/ gift shops/ stone and sand beaches etc Plenty for all ages, wonderful for walkers. Good sea fishing spots, float fishing really advisable than weight due to snagging of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again!”

Written on: 02/11/2012 by julesthebear (1 review written)

We were really looking forward to our holiday, we had never stayed at a John Fowler site before and the brochure looked inviting. When we were given out room we were devastated to say the least. The staircase up to the room was rusted , the paint work on the frontdore all worn away and it looked condemed. Inside it smelt damp and the walls were cracked from the ceiling down to the floor. It had very small windonws which had views of the walls so no light was coming in. Carpets didn t fit… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Apartment gold”

Written on: 28/09/2012

Very disappointed not worth the original price 2days into the holiday a couple with dogs were put in the apartment above us we were woken one night to a lot of banging sounded like something or someone being thrown against the wall and every time they went out the door was slammed and running up and down stairs ,we were disturbed with them taking dogs up and down stairs then 6.30 every morning woken up by the dogs running across the room then taken down stairs .we were so fed up with it we came… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Sh&TholE”

Written on: 23/09/2012 by MoistOtter (1 review written)

Royal gold my ars3, please pease don't Come here a it looks lie a German council estate… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“needs updating”

Written on: 23/09/2012

In september, 2012, myself, my husband, my sister and brother-in-law went to Ilfracombe holiday park for a 3 night break. We were allocated a chalet which we could not find . When we evetually found it , we were very disappointed. It had a real musky smell. We had taken some air freshener so had to spray everywhere to try to get a decent aroma. The main disappointment for all of us was that there was no shower, in 2012, NO SHOWER!!!4 people having a bath each night wastes such a lot of… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Went to Ilfracombe Holiday Park on the 2nd September...”

Written on: 15/09/2012 by Bazaga (1 review written)

Went to Ilfracombe Holiday Park on the 2nd September 2012 for one week we took my grandaughter and my dog.It took 4 hours to get there,on arival we were allocated chalet No47 as soon as we opened the door you could smell it was damp.Over the week other things were not up a very good standard,the beds were lumpy skirting board was rotten,the heater bearly worked,cob webs in the bathroom and there was a lot of water on the window sils in the morning because of the condensation and finally the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Never again!!”

Written on: 27/08/2012

We travelled 5 hours to the Ilfracombe site, the children were really excited to be going on holiday. The Chalet we were put in was damp, mouldy, dirty and there was even a dirty sock left on the floor!!! The microwave was rusted, the heater didn't work, the shelf in the oven kept collapsing and the fridge kept defrosting, leaving everything wet. Every morning I woke with a headache and did not have a full nights sleep due to the most uncomfortable bed in the world. I paid quite a bit for… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“you could learn from our mistakes !”

Written on: 20/08/2012

We spent about 7 hours to get there, only to find that the room we had been given was very musty and dirty, carpet dirty long and short curtains,(mind you they did hide the cobwebs) small old tv in the corner that didnt work and was just a snowy picture most of the time. When it came to bed time, well it would have been more comfortable to have stayed in the car, at least we wouldn't have had the springs in our backs. Very very noisey from doors banging and people talking as we could hear… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“A messed up place”

Written on: 18/08/2012

Me and my family went to John Fowler Ilfracome and we were shocked! The beds were uncomftable, the TV had no channels the toilet looked as if someone threw up on it, the bath was full of mould, the Carpets were full of filth and other revolting stuff, the curtains were to short,the doors were broken,no room for a cot when the receptionist said there was and much more bad things. the only good thing about "John Fowler" was it was close to the beach. We were supposed to stay for 4 days and leave… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“Absolutely Brilliant, The most Amazing experience of...”

Written on: 14/06/2012 by Curtislol (1 review written)

I would recommend this place to anyone, There is lots to do and the accomidation is fabulous. I had a great time and any one who leaves a bad comment is a fool… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“never again”

Written on: 04/04/2012 by anthony181 (1 review written)

my mum and dad have been going to john fowler or 11 years, 10 of those years they stayed in the same chalet number 2, howerver august 2011 they where told they could not have number 2 becouse it was being pulled down so they gave them another chalet, on arrivel for there holiday they found the chalet was cold and damp and musty, there first night was a disaster my dad who had hart problems felt like he could not breath with he damp and cold the next day got worse the toilet broke and was… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“Check your accommodatoin BEFORE you go”

Written on: 20/03/2012 by LynnBanham (1 review written)

We arrived on friday after a 7 hour journey. Our accomodation was appalling. Only one heater. The room smelt of damp and chemical cleaner. The bed and setttees were damp.. It was awful. However, after a sleepless night (no way of getting warm or comfortable) in the morning I went to recetion to be greeted by two lovely ladies who went out of thier way to upgrade us to the site over the road. What a diffference. It was beautiful, and had we gone there first, I would have no hesitation in… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Roll on March”

Written on: 24/10/2011 by HuddersfieldJo (5 reviews written)

Me and my partner had never been to a John Fowler resort before last week...and foolishly didn't properly read the descrption of the accomodation before booking. Consequently we paid next to nothing for our chalet and got just what we paid for. I was devastated. The chalet was extremely musty and felt damp, despite the sun's heat, and was barely big enough to swing a puny cat. My partner, ever the optimist, rang reception to expalin our dilemma, and after a brief conversation with the… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“WORST PARK EVER .RUN BY "KIDS",VERY POOR ACCOMADATION.”

Written on: 18/09/2011 by HUSTO (1 review written)

AT 76 AND DISABLED,THE STAFF HAD ME IN TEARS ON MY LAST DAY,AFTER A GUEST WAS VERY RUDE TO ME,THE STAFF TOLD ME HE HAD MENTAL PROBLEMS,AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TOLD HIM OFF,AND IF I SAID ANYTHING TO HIM I WOULD BE EJECTED ?£180 OF MY PENSION WASTED,VERY RUDE AND THREATENING STAFF,OVERPRICED DRINKS,STUCK UP TOP OF STEEP SLOPE.MY WIFE AND I WERE OVERCHARGED ON DRINKS SEVERAL TIMES,AND WHEN WE COMPLAINED IT WAS A WASTE OF TIME.the INTERNET WAS £4 AN HOUR WHEN I SAID IT WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY I… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Response to HUSTO's Review

Written on: 28/10/2011

The management could not care at all about complaints and are very rude if you dare complain,especially on the phone they are without doubt the rudest and abrasive management i have ever dealt with.A TOTAL DISGRACE.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“entertainment team what a let down”

Written on: 09/09/2011

Previously visiting this site we had read some of the reviews on this holiday park and was not expecting much. We arrived at ilfracombe on saturday and was greated by a very helpful receptionist and shown the location of our apartment as we have two dogs it was a bronze apartment it was not anything outstanding but very clean no sign of mould or anything like that we switched the hot water on and unpacked, we then went to the tesco which is a 5 minute walk from the site as the on site shop is… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Guest's Comment

Written on: 18/09/2011

dead right worse place i have been to,threatened by staff,over priced drinks,etc,etc i am 76 and disabled,and last friday our last day. the manageress had me in tears.peter g woodley.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Poor accomodation mixed entertainment”

Written on: 27/08/2011 by backstreetkid (1 review written)

We got a good cheap deal for this holiday in a Basil apartment when we arrived we soon realized why it was cheap. The apartment consisted of a kitchen which had a fridge, a sink unit, 2 hobs for cooking and a micro wave. A living /sleeping area that had a very uncomfortable bed and a sofa bed that was just as bad as the bed and a small tv plus a bit of bedroom furniture.The one window looked out of over the roof with a view of all the air ducts from the the ball room and swimming pools that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“very poor holiday”

Written on: 03/08/2011

first visit and last visit to a john fowler holiday,booked as recommened but hated it ,we stayed at illfracombe poor accomadation ,deco terrible,stayed in 405 behind manor,front door u had to lock to keep it closed,no other door closed properly either,no plug sockets in bedrooms at all,no lights on as u come down the hill by accommdation ,lights on mannor but not on ,in front of manor gardens not gd looks bad ,trailer with flowers in car park taking up 3 car park places,entertaiment poor ,crazy… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
overview