Bugibba, Topaz Aparthotel Reviews

Click here if this is your business
★★★☆☆
2.9 / 5
50% of users recommend this
Click here if this is your business
  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Bugibba, Topaz Aparthotel - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Bugibba, Topaz Aparthotel

Bugibba, Topaz Aparthotel

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

  • Average Rating Over Time
  • Within the last month ***** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 6 months *** (From 0 reviews)
  • Within the last 12 months * (From 0 reviews)

Latest Reviews

★★☆☆☆

“topaz timeshare”

Written on: 06/12/2012

visited my timeshare 3 years ago,noticed deterioration,spoke to staff member and was assured all apartments were being refurbished and would be complete in 18 months.My son used it this year 2012 and said pool sunbeds limited,dirty and broken.Furnishing in apartment grubby.They spent every day away from Topaz so they could have nice surroundings which is not satisfactory. They were offered 2 alternatives but both were even worse than there own.Would be interested to see what other owners think… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Essiescott's Comment

Written on: 12/09/2013

i have a time share also and after a recent stay found the same problems i am not going to pay the maitenance bill as there has been no maitenence they have put a debt collector on the case see you in court i have reports and photo to back up my case you gave it two star you must be a very very generous person

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Keithineastyorkshire's Comment

Written on: 15/10/2013

I am in the same position regarding the threat of prosecution by a debt collecting agency.
I stopped using the hotel as the room, amenities and service had deteriorated to nothing more than a shambles.
Unfortunately I inherited this when the loss of my parents in 2005 with approx' 7 years remaining but stopped using this in 2009.
No communications whatsoever were ever received between 2010 to 2013 from the Topaz until 5 days after the last contracted week. When this was questioned I was informed that numerous communications had been posted out 'but unfortunately due to the Royal Mail' sometimes items are not received!!! (Prior to 2010 I received all AGM minutes/invoices/newsletters etc).
I would be interested if anybody would be be able to forward their views and opinions and if they have any photographs they are prepared to share.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Very Angry Horrible Place to Stay”

Written on: 04/09/2012 by sharonmccreadie (1 review written)

Just returned from a week of total depressive hell.Both me and my husband went here on 25th August and had booked as suited our budget and due to its 4*rating. How wrong did i get it. On arrival the staff didnt even greet us we waited and only to be told after a very long night flight that we had to wait until 2pm for a room. We went for lunch until this was ready and this was the start of our holiday nightmare. Being vegetarian im quite easy to please but what was on offer there was fly filled… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Topaz greed”

Written on: 24/08/2011 by mike8962 (2 reviews written)

Topaz Hotel, Bugibba, Malta - worst hotel I have stayed in. Food, for all-inclusive, is very poor. Greedy hotel management ask guests to vacate areas for private parties to the annoyance of paying guests. Evening entertainment ridiculous. All inclusive rules changed during our stay requiring guests to queue at a till, sign till slip, present till slip at bar and receive one drink only........could not initially get drinks for the rest of the family as they had to individually get their… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Good time”

Written on: 17/08/2011

The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, couldn't do enough for us. The food was great although breakfast became somewhat tedious after 2 weeks of the same things every day with only boiled eggs or scrambled powdered eggs. The rooms although old were clean and the girls came in every day to change towels and see if we needed anything. The entertainment was not to everyones taste and the pool with it being the school holidays was full of kids so you were unable to swim as although… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“good value for money”

Written on: 11/08/2011 by yplx (1 review written)

Just got back from one week holiday in Malta. The hotel is good value for money. The people at reception is very friendly and helpful and responsive. The room is spacious and clean. Food variety is good. Very convenient location for public transport. For holiday makers like us whose holiday routine is going out around the city and come back to hotel for a satisfactory meal and shower and relaxing, this hotel is perfect… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Hotel stay with kids”

Written on: 01/08/2011

Great as a base, basic but clean and good choice of food. Malta is a lovely place to go out every day and explore car hire is good value. Hotel stay was used as a place to sleep and eat and the topaz is fine for that purpose… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Is not a good hotel. You can't rest because the...”

Written on: 09/09/2010

Is not a good hotel. You can't rest because the cleaning personnel goes screaming by the hotel, the cleaning of the rooms do it so later and badly, you can find the door of the room wide open when you returns of your daily visit. The mattresses have the docks broken, is impossible sleep. In the corridor you can find broken glasses, and alfombrillas of bathroom. The cleaning personnel blocks the elevator doors for they use, and the customer have to go up the lugagge by the stairs, and when you… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“After reading the reviews on the internet I was rather...”

Written on: 11/10/2009

After reading the reviews on the internet I was rather worried. But when we got there the staff were really helpful and friendly. The rooms was very clean. The sheets were changed regulary and the towels changed daily. The smell that people are moaning about was when you go to the appartments, its underground and is where I assum the pipes are for the swimming pool, its not that bad and you only smell this when underground. We didnt spend much time at the pool as we were there to see Malta not… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★☆☆

“I have been a timeshare member of the Topaz Aparthotel...”

Written on: 07/09/2009

I have been a timeshare member of the Topaz Aparthotel for over 15 years and can honestly state that the hotel has changed for the worse but some of the issues raised relate to the general decline in tourism throughout the island / travel industry (cut backs). Yes, it's definitely not 4 star but 3, most of the staff are friendly and the accommodation is basic but clean. The lifts need to have a major service as they regularly brake down and people who comment, it's a walk to the beach, surely… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Agreeing with the majority of reviews on Topaz...”

Written on: 16/09/2007 by benspence78 (1 review written)

Agreeing with the majority of reviews on Topaz Aparthotel, the 4 Star rating is not correct. Seems more like 2 Star. Although the foyer is smart enough, the rest of the building leaves a lot to be desired.

Firstly the room, and more importantly the bed. Although we booked a double room we were presented with twin beds. Although we told reception they said there's nothing they can do until the following morning. Apparently the beds in every room are singles. The next day when we came back later… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“This was our first trip to Malta and the Topaz...”

Written on: 07/07/2006 by Marie Hession (1 review written)

This was our first trip to Malta and the Topaz aparthotel was a very good choice. We had an apartment which was very clean with a hugh balcony and excellent air-conditioning. It is located about seven minutes walk from the main square where a lot of pubs and restaurants are located. Only a minute's walk from the hotel we found a bar and restaurant where we ate most of our meals and had at least a few drinks every night (La Pasion). The location of the topaz is excellent for people that want to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“The Topaz Aparthotel in Malta is listed in some...”

Written on: 06/04/2006 by petendeb64 (1 review written)

The Topaz Aparthotel in Malta is listed in some reviews as 4 star, and that is what I expected. Some other reviews list it as 3 star, and that is about what we got, although I have stayed in better 3 star accommodation. The reception area is the only 4 star area.

We had several nights of disturbed sleep from guests walking and talking in the tiled corridors. Carpet would deaden the sound, but the long, narrow corridors echo and amplify the noise.

The food was OK, but definitely not 4… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★★

“This was our first trip to Malta and I was worried...”

Written on: 10/10/2005 by stw1974 (1 review written)

This was our first trip to Malta and I was worried after reading some mixed reviews about the Topaz, but it is a lovely hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to return. The food was excellent everyday and the choice was always very good. Our room was a family room with a seperate living area. Both the room and the hotel in general were very clean. The entertainment on at night was always good fun… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Abdoujarapov's Response to stw1974's Review

Written on: 02/11/2006

I stayed at the Topaz Aparthotel in Buggiba in October 2006, and I agree with the good comments about it.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Although the Topaz Aparthotel reception area looked...”

Written on: 04/10/2005 by alan mapp (1 review written)

Although the Topaz Aparthotel reception area looked the part, the staff had little idea of how to help. No resort hotel details in room. Although there are plenty of pool rules none of them are enforced or adhered to. There is no lifeguard, which makes the pool a potentially unsafe area. No inflatables, no diving, no reserving of sunbeds with towels, all rules totally ignored because they are not enforced by hotel staff. It took me six attempts with reception to find a working remote control… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

Abdoujarapov's Response to alan mapp's Review

Written on: 02/11/2006

Sounds like a different hotel to the Topaz Aparthotel in Buggiba that I stayed in during October 2006.

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent 2 weeks in Malta again. Topaz Aparthotel...”

Written on: 01/09/2005 by taffyspur (1 review written)

Excellent 2 weeks in Malta again. Topaz Aparthotel only really formed a base but a very good base at that… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Topaz Aparthotel has spent over a million pounds in...”

Written on: 23/07/2005 by Michelle George (1 review written)

Topaz Aparthotel has spent over a million pounds in the past few years upgrading its facilities. We as a family - two adults and two teenagers - love it! We are even happier that this year finally they are no longer offering 'all inclusive' holidays. This turned this hotel into a busy, crowded place - due to people on all inclusive - not budging all day and night long so they can drink and eat as much as they can! We have always been happy with the staff and our rooms are cleaned every day to… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★★★☆

“Bugibba, Topaz Aparthotel - Just returned (June 2005)...”

Written on: 06/07/2005 by neil w russell (1 review written)

Bugibba, Topaz Aparthotel - Just returned (June 2005) from a week's half board at the Topaz in Bugibba. Had a very good stay, food, room, pool, staff, etc., all excellent value for money. Felt that most people that we spoke to were enjoying the hotel as we were. Highly recommended… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review
★★☆☆☆

“I have stayed in everything from a 2* to a 5* and I...”

Written on: 21/09/2004 by travelling c (3 reviews written)

I have stayed in everything from a 2* to a 5* and I found that the Topaz was definitely a 3* and NOTHING MORE. The location is okay but if you want a sandy beach, the nearest one is about a 20 minute bus ride away, the hotel was not very impressive, our room was cleaned only ONCE for the whole week that we were there, we went self-catering and found that our hot plates in the kitchen area did not work, other guests complained about how awful the hotel food was.
If you don't really travel, then… Read Full Review

If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.

197886_G Brown's Response to travelling c's Review

Written on: 16/06/2005

We visited the Topaz in June 2005. It was a cheap last minute holiday - however, if you expect 4* don't come to this hotel. At times, staff were unhelpful bordering on rude. Expect a long walk if you are situated in the part of the hotel which is on the other side of the road! Don't expect any help with directions to the lifts or offers of help with your luggage!!
<br>
<br>If you want a quiet time around the pool - forget it. Music blares out all the time from the hotel's sound system and that is from the 60s!!!
<br>Take your own personal stereo if you want to escape the noise.
<br>
<br>This hotel wants to have a good look at itself. It's so obviously not a 4* hotel - and we have been in many. Our rating is no more than 3*!!!

Reply to this comment
If you are commenting on behalf of the company that has been reviewed, please consider upgrading to Official Business Response for higher impact replies.
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview