Motorpoint Reviews - www.motorpoint.co.uk

★★★★☆
4.4 / 5
2415
89% of users recommend this
  • Customer service

  • Value For Money

? Ask our helpful community of experts about this product or company
Motorpoint www.motorpoint.co.uk - Ask a question now

Media Gallery for Motorpoint www.motorpoint.co.uk

Motorpoint www.motorpoint.co.uk

Refine your search

Use the tools below to refine your search by only displaying reviews with a certain number of star ratings or to only show reviews from a certain time period. Eg click on '1 star' to just display the reviews we have which received a 1 star rating click or 'Within the last month' to display just reviews posted over the last month.

Latest Reviews

★★★★★

“Great all round service”

Written on: 10/02/2016 by Bondse215 (1 review written)

Initially went looking for a Nissan Xtrail 7seats had 2 cars to trade in however had large negative equity staff at britley explained how we could reduce the negative equity by choosing a car slightly cheaper and showed us a quashqai plus 2 which was showing as having just came into stock in glasgow the car was transferred to britley within 4days and was in immaculate condition except from a small chip on the drivers side alloy before we drove off it was booked in to be repaired 3days later… Read Full Review

Report this review
★★★★☆

“Struck by their word to get a problem solved”

Written on: 27/01/2016

We bought a Vauxhall from Motorpoint Derby in November 2015. Top spec and good priced. As ever despite paying cash you get little discount but then you know that as their prices tend to be cheaper than main dealers. We picked up a few items that needed touch up/repair and picked the car up 3 days later. We noted that one of the items, a roof trim, was not properly repaired. We pointed this out to the handover staff and they logged it and we arranged to have it brought back for a new trim to be… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 05/02/2016

I'm sorry that you had issues during your experience with us. I am glad to read that all was resolved to your satisfaction and the gesture we provided helped to smooth things over. I would like to offer my assistance in future should you need it, just contact Neil in customer care.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“TERRIBLE, APPALLING, DISGUSTED”

Written on: 26/01/2016 by joanne1988 (1 review written)

I first ordered a vauxhall astra on 09/01/2016 through the online sales centre. On first impressions everything seemed ok. I got a call 3 days later to arrange an appointment to view and collect the car as it had been transferred from Burnley to Peterborough. On 16/01/2016 i went to view the car at the Peterborough branch only to be disgusted by the state of it. The whole car was scratched to bits with one solid scratch right across the front and back doors on the passengers side. Also the… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to joanne1988's Review

Written on: 05/02/2016

Thank you for taking the time to detail everything, I appreciate there was a lot to cover and there isn't any excuse for the issues you had on site. I can only imagine that lack of communication and a lack of due care and attention lead to your experience being awful. I wish to truly apologise on Motorpoints behalf for the poor way in which everything has been handled which has now resulted in you not considering our company for future car purchases. If you would like to discuss your review or anything related to your experience further I'd be very happy to listen and pass this information back to our site. Just contact customer care and ask to speak with Neil.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Shocking service from the top of the company to the...”

Written on: 30/12/2015 by PeterA3 (1 review written)

Below are the 2 emails i had to send to the MD and got no help from him! In the end i have ended up losing £3500 because Motorpoint damaged my car! Senior management are at Motorpoint Burnley completely unprofessional. Once they have your money the friendliness stops!! I bought my Audi A3 07/09/14, when we looked at the car we noticed a 2 inch scratch on the bumper. We showed this to the sales person he agreed this would be repaired by the time we pick the car up. We came back the week… Read Full Review

Report this review
★☆☆☆☆

“Bad customer service, telesales clueless, wrong finance”

Written on: 18/11/2015 by MichaelMcCready89 (1 review written)

Where do i start. I thought motorpoint was a good company but the further into the sale i got, the worse everything became. I arrived to pick up the car. All the finance was wrong, there was damage to the car, no SD card for the sat nav, the agreed amount of fuel was NOT in the car, the valet was poorly done. I wasnt able to have the car because of all these issues. So a wasted trip accross the city. The business manager  was going to hide the mileage change to the finance company in order to… Read Full Review

Bewaremotorpoint's Response to MichaelMcCready89's Review

Written on: 01/12/2015

Hi, have you tried the 'unwind your contract' route?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Lucky Escape ”

Written on: 14/11/2015 by MrAngry69 (1 review written)

Made an appointment to view a vehicle yesterday, I was taken to the vehicle and the salesman left me with the keys then went off for 20 mins leaving me waiting with the car, this car would not start and when salesman came back I told him and he went off again saying to get can of petrol any way he came back wth another set of keys to another similar car, when we found it that too wouldn't start. By now I lost interest and left. Very poor service. They could of at least made sure the car was ok… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to MrAngry69's Review

Written on: 17/11/2015

Thank you very much for your feedback, I appreciate your situation has been poor and certainly the member of staff showing you the car should have ensured the car was starting before leaving you to have a play around. All the cars are driven to the spots that they sit at on the pitch so the last time the car would have been started it was fine. It is possible that other customers have started the vehicle in place and it has ran out of fuel but this is purely speculation on my part. I do apologise for this experience and would appreciate the opportunity to speak to you. Please call us and ask to speak with Neil in customer care.

Reply to this comment

Michaelmccready89's Response to MrAngry69's Review

Written on: 20/11/2015

Ive had an ongoing complaint for quite some time and motorpoint has washed its hands off me. Ive been lied to numerous times. I have now contacted the ombudsman to get the situation sorted. Call it a lucky escape. Good luck getting a vehicle.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Professional and hassle free service”

Written on: 02/11/2015

Great communication from the moment of placing the reserve deposit. Car transferred to Birmingham branch for review and test drive. Car exceeded our expectations on condition and price. Handover by staff made the whole buying experience pleasurable. With any buying experience always ask the right question at the right time. No dislikes car had all the relevant documents and was cleaned and polished to a very high standard… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 10/11/2015

Thank you very much for your wonderful review, it's rewarding to read your comments and I really appreciate you taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Should you need us for any reason in future, please give us a call.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“shocking service bordering on dishonest”

Written on: 20/10/2015 by simonshrewsbury (1 review written)

we were really looking forward to picking up a white kia sportage, arrived really excited at Motorpoint Birmingham only to notice upon close inspection that the bonnet was covered in hundreds of tiny oxidized specks. Pointed this out to a member of staff who inspected it and conceded it wasnt right and said he was going to inform the manager. The manager came marching in and with no introduction blurted out "dont you know what that is? Its called factory fallout and its not just on the bonnet… Read Full Review

Simonshrewsbury's Response to simonshrewsbury's Review

Written on: 20/10/2015

i have since been contacted by Motorpoint head office who have apologised profusely on behalf of their Birmingham branch. It doesnt help me but hopefully it will improve that particular branches service in the future. The apology felt well intentioned and on my part is accepted.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Imports, ex hire, ex lease Cars”

Written on: 27/09/2015 by EliasFox (1 review written)

Ask, ask ask! They sell Imports, ex hire and ex lease cars. They are not required to tell you this unless you ask. The spec is different on Imports and the paint is not suitable for UK. Stick with a main dealer. Would not give them a Star on the review but have to unfortunately to get the review published… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 30/09/2015

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. Import specs can differ but this varies for vehicle to vehicle, sometimes there are more items on an import, sometimes there are less, it would be a choice you need to make when you review the car if it meets all your criteria. We do not hide the fact that a vehicle is imported and will discuss this with you. Should you have any questions we'd happily answer them for you.


I'm not sure where you have sourced the information regarding the paintwork not being suitable for the UK, this is the first time anyone has mentioned this, to the best of our knowledge this is not the case.

I am sorry you've not left our company with a good impression, if there is anything more you'd like me to answer for you, you're welcome to contact Neil from the customer care team between the hours of 9 and 5, Monday to Friday.

Reply to this comment

Bewaremotorpoint's Comment

Written on: 02/10/2015

Nissan UK head office warned me that paint treatments are different depending on country.
You should contact them. I'm sure they would live to hear from motorpoint selling imports to people without telling them where they have come from.

Reply to this comment

Arran500's Comment

Written on: 29/11/2015

Most cars on our roads are imports BMW and Mercs from Germany, Porsche from GermanyFiat from Italy and many others from France and Japan. I think this is a main dealer employee who can't make his targets because Motorpoint is doing so well. Up to 25 cars a day leaving my showroom alone. Happy days!!!

Reply to this comment

Bewaremotorpoint's Comment

Written on: 30/11/2015

No not a main dealer employee. I am a unfortunate, previous Motorpoint customer. I am aware that cars are made abroad for UK market with UK spec. Motorpoint import cars from abroad, not UK spec. You must inform insurance about import status. It made my premium go up about £400 a year. Motorpoint have blocked me from commenting on their facebook page as they only want to seem like they get positive reviews. I am only commenting to warn others, if they are thinking of buying at Motorpoint to ask if the car is an import. I got a refund on my import and bought from a main dealer.

Reply to this comment

Xfactor222111's Comment

Written on: 08/12/2015

sorry, newbie to England and considering buying a newly car. found motorpoint because of the price. read lots of their reviews. So, they mostly sell import cars? and the insurance company will charge you more if it's an import car? and the service will be a bit difficult than the main dealer ?

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 5 Comments
★★★★☆

“My wife wanted a Seat Leon that was advertised on line...”

Written on: 10/09/2015 by 1973McKnight (1 review written)

My wife wanted a Seat Leon that was advertised on line and when we approached the salesman to get it sent up from another branch, this was done with no hassle. However on checking the car prior to buying it, we noticed a number of cigarette burns on the drivers seat, and pointed out to the salesman that we would purchase the car if the seat was recovered, and were assured that it would be done. We came back a few days later and checked the seat again to find a poor repair done to it, and again… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 10/09/2015

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience with Motorpoint. I sincerely apologise that the seat repair was not done to a satisfactory standard on your first visit back to us to collect your vehicle. I am glad to see this was resolved on the second visit, please do not hesitate to contact Motorpoint Customer Care if you need any assistance in the future.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“£22.000 car full of scratches!”

Written on: 28/08/2015 by Gymalan (1 review written)

Went to pick up my 15 plate VW golf gtd I couldn't believe the amount of scratches on the vehicle the bumper the tailgate the doors the roof and the bonnet was worst of all!i don't understand how it can be quality checked and then put on sale they tried to get some scratches out from a mobile guy who was on site but it needed professional work from a body shop my PX was in better condition and that was 2 and a half years old!so having taken time off work to collect the car 3 hour round trip… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Gymalan's Review

Written on: 09/09/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback from your time with us. I'm sorry that these issues were present at time of collection. I sincerely apologise for all the issues surrounding your vehicle.

Reply to this comment

Michaelmccready89's Response to Gymalan's Review

Written on: 20/11/2015

Your lucky you got out. I have taken my complaint to the financial ombudsman to try and get it resolved. I don't no how many times ive hear "im sorry" but sometimes a sorry isn't good enough. Good luck with your new car.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Sold dangerous vehicle”

Written on: 28/08/2015 by Sspears (1 review written)

Purchased our new car from motor point Newport. Our car had obviously had the battery disconnected to 'jump start' it prior to our arrival to view the car. According to the AA employee who recovered our vehicle from the motorway, the battery had not even been secured back into the compartment. Whilst driving in the fast lane of the motorway my vehicle quite literally died, no brake lights or anything and I had to drift it onto the hard shoulder. I thank god that my children and I are still… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Sspears's Review

Written on: 02/09/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write down your concerns, please contact any Motorpoint number and ask for Jacob in Customer Care. I have spoken to you previously and did pass on your concerns so I’d like to look into this further for you.

Reply to this comment

Sspears's reply to Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 03/09/2015

I have tried once again to re contact you but again no reply as promised so sadly I have had to resort to warning others about this fault.
I feel the rush to clear the car from the sales car park has lead to your staff hastily jump starting the battery on my new car prior to our arrival to view. I have since discovered that many of the cars you recover from Ireland cheaply arrive with flat batteries so this is often done. They obviously didn't take the time to ensures he battery was resecured properly afterwards. I would certainly not recommend Motorpoint to anybody nor shall I be purchasing any vehicles more from yourselves in the future.

Reply to this comment

Michaelmccready89's Response to Sspears's Review

Written on: 20/11/2015

Have you reported to trading standards? If so what has the outcome been? I currently have a complaint that the financial ombudsman are dealing with. Wish I went to a main dealer.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Worst in the country”

Written on: 24/08/2015 by John295 (1 review written)

After picking a car that we wanted and pointing out a few scratches and problems they said that all the repairs will be done when we picked up the car ot was raining hard the car looked ok we paid cash and of we went next day in the dry the scratches not done motorpont informed not interested they had the money did not want to no my advice do not deal with this firm… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 25/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback with Motorpoint. Please contact any Motorpoint number and ask for Jacob in the Customer Care team I would like to discuss this in more detail.

Reply to this comment

Larryuk's Comment

Written on: 26/08/2015

After ringing motorpoint 3times and getting no joy ive had the work done you have no chance of me ever using motor point or recommending you to eny one ever

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★☆☆☆☆

“Pestered and insulted”

Written on: 15/08/2015

Having just looked around other car dealerships in and around Derby with no salesmen by our side, we walked into Motorpoint Derby and were approached immediately with a "welcome pack". I asked the salesman not to hassle us and to just let us look round. He retreated and thirty seconds later another, in a dark fleece ( a manager?), shot out from the side of the building with the same pack to insist that we took one, saying " this is a hassle- free zone". We asked again to be left to look and he… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 19/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. I'd like to discuss this in more detail, if you could contact any Motorpoint and ask for Customer Care I'd appreciate it.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Outstanding customer service”

Written on: 14/08/2015 by Mattingly99 (1 review written)

I can not speak highly enough of the team at Birmingham. After a 60 mile trip to look at the car ,which we had thought was going to be transported back to our nearest branch, the manager offered us a free lunch and sorted all the paperwork out so that we could drive the car home. They all worked as a team to make it an easy process for us. We were so impressed by them that we have decided to go back to them when we are ready to change our car again. Brilliant all round service!!… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 14/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Motorpoint. We're pleased to see that your time with us was an enjoyable one. Should you need any assistance in the future please do not hesitate to contact the Customer Care team, we'll be happy to help.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★★★★

“Excellent car and painless professional experience”

Written on: 08/08/2015 by Webby12345 (1 review written)

This was my first visit to a Motorpoint and I was very cautions about the price of the car as it seemed to be too good to be true on a high spec Ford Focus with just under 2000 miles on the clock. Two of my local Ford dealerships put doubt on the cars legitimacy, so I asked for the registion number over the phone through a very helpful person from the Motorpoint Derby call centre, after finding the a car on Auto Trader. Motorpoint provided me with this so I could begin to check the cars… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Webby12345's Review

Written on: 10/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Motorpoint. I'm glad that our Online Sales team were able to assist you in finding the details on your vehicle and pleased to see the staff at our Birmingham site were able to answer your questions. Please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care team if you should have any issues or questions.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★☆☆☆☆

“Motor point chingford”

Written on: 03/08/2015 by Jase57 (1 review written)

I bought a car from your chingford branch about a month ago now, the car was good value but the customer service and the knowledge of the salesman was very limited and was basically useless. They was very slow in regards to paperwork and everything got lost within the long chain of people I had to deal with. Following that I am still awaiting on a HPI check after chasing every week and being told it will be sent out to me. I paid extra for this document and made it clear this was very important… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 05/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Motorpoint. I apologise for the issues you have incurred, I have arranged for the HPI certificate to be sent to you as soon as possible. If you need us for anything else, please contact the Customer Care team.

Reply to this comment

Colebrookmark's Comment

Written on: 05/08/2015

I have emailed your customer care team a few times and still have not heard anything back. In regards to a HPI certificate how would this be arranged?

Reply to this comment

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 07/08/2015

I have spoken to the admin team at Chingford and they have sent you a letter along with a HPI report explaining the situation in detail. This will be sent in the post, if this hasn't been recieved please contact Customer Care and ask for Jacob.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 3 Comments
★★★☆☆

“Good but be careful”

Written on: 03/08/2015 by Aedjames (1 review written)

I have bought several cars from Motorpoint , you will get good value for money and good but not great service. Recently I bought a car using finance to bridge for a couple of months. Be very careful, if you plan to do this. The sales people assured me I would only pay interest for the days I borrowed. NOT TRUE their Blackhorse finance scheme penalised me for early repayment after 2 months. I ended up paying for 3 months borrowing. Had Inread the fine print I would have noticed but I foolishly… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Aedjames's Review

Written on: 21/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback from your time with Motorpoint. I’m sorry to see about the issues you had whilst with us on our site. If you require any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care team.

Reply to this comment

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Aedjames's Review

Written on: 21/08/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write down your feedback from your time with Motorpoint. I’m sorry to see about the issues you had whilst with us on our site. If you require any assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Care team.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 2 Comments
★★★★★

“Excellent service at Motorpoint Peterborough”

Written on: 19/07/2015 by Andrew-S (1 review written)

I must admit that I had some reservations when I decided to buy a nearly new Nissan X-Trail from Motorpoint, having read a few bad reviews beforehand. I can say my own experience was everything I could have hoped for, and that I would have no hesitation in recommending the Peterborough branch to anybody who is looking for a new car and is happy with the concept of buying from a car supermarket. Ok, you probably don't get the knowledge on specific models or vehicle features that you might expect… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Response to Andrew-S's Review

Written on: 22/07/2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with Motorpoint. I'm glad to see your time with us was generally good, though I apologise for the conduct of your original Sales Person. Should you need assistance with anything in the future, please do not hesitate to contact Motorpoint and ask for Customer Care.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
★★☆☆☆

“Overall was a disappointing experience!”

Written on: 15/07/2015

I have just purchased a car from Motorpoint in Newport. This was my first BIG purchase and my first new car in 7 years so needless to say I was excited! We originally went in just to compare 2 cars as we knew they had them on site, and decided we'd like to test drive the one just to get a feel of whether it was the right engine etc we were looking for. Now, at first glance you think, oh! this is great, I can have a look around the various cars and have a look inside at my own leisure with no… Read Full Review

Motorpoint Aftersales's Comment

Written on: 20/07/2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your recent purchase on Review Centre. I'm very sorry to hear of these issues, if this has yet to be resolved pelase contact Customer Care and ask for Jacob.

Reply to this comment
Report this review Read 1 Comment
overview